Tesla在电池日发布新技术,ASX电池股欢欣鼓舞

Tesla battery day electric vehicle EV 2020 cobalt lithium nickel cathode
Tesla的电池日公告包括计划逐步淘汰钴,一种更高效的“无台面”电池,以及打造一辆价值2.5万美元的电动汽车的目标。

周二,在备受期待的电池日投资者活动上,电动汽车制造巨头Tesla向全世界更新了其电池技术的进展。

这场独特的“免下车”活动在Tesla位于美国加州弗里蒙特的制造工厂举行,特斯拉首席执行官Elon Musk坐在停着的汽车里,向与社会疏远的股东们做演示,股东们鸣着喇叭回应这次演示。

该活动的主要公告包括,Tesla将在其阴极电池中取消备受争议的钴使用,将新建阴极工厂以简化美国的电池生产,以及建立一辆价值2.5万美元(3.5万澳元)、使用新型“无台式”电池的电动汽车的宏伟目标。

钴淘汰

Musk在发布会上表示,尽管特斯拉在现有电池中使用的钴比业内其他公司要少,但Tesla计划完全取消钴的使用。

钴的开采不仅昂贵且困难,而且在刚果民主共和国(Democratic Republic of Congo)也有不道德开采钴的名声。在刚果民主共和国,包括童工行为在内的侵犯人权行为十分普遍。

该公司此前曾表示,将寻求减少对钴的依赖,但与此相反,该公司最近才在6月份与Glencore签署了一项大规模钴供应协议,条件是Glencore确保其所有钴都是合乎道德地生产的。

Musk没有透露逐步淘汰的确切时间表,但表示此举将使Tesla的电池大幅便宜。

他说:“我们生产人们买得起的汽车绝对是至关重要的。”

25000美元的汽车的目标

因此,Tesla宣布了它的雄心壮志,以2.5万美元(3.5万澳元)的入门价格生产一款电动汽车。

该公司打算通过使用其新型的“无表”电池电池,以及改变电池内部的材料来实现这一目标,这些结合起来有望使每千瓦时的价格“减半”,并在性能和范围方面带来其他好处。

这些被命名为4860电池的新电池的工作原理和术语一样:Tesla将去掉连接电池和电源的标签。它们的威力预计会增加六倍,射程增加16%。

这个名字来源于电池的尺寸——46mm * 80mm——比Tesla目前的电池要大。

Musk表示:“与带有标签的小型电池相比,在大型无标签电池中,路径长度实际上更短……因此,即使电池更大,它实际上拥有更大的电量。”

电池将自行生产,这是另一项成本削减战略,Musk表示,这将使Tesla电动汽车的售价接近汽油动力汽车。

Musk首先承诺在2018年推出一款2.5万美元的电动汽车,并表示这将在三年内实现,因此该计划似乎已步入正轨。

新的阴极工厂

Musk还表示,特斯拉将在北美新建阴极工厂,这是该公司削减供应链成本、简化电池生产计划的一部分。

他没有透露工厂的位置,但该公司今年7月宣布,将在得克萨斯州奥斯汀建立下一家美国工厂。俄克拉荷马州的塔尔萨也被列为未来项目的重要考虑对象。

该公司还计划对其工艺进行改进,这样就不会产生废水,阴极的成本可以降低76%。

Tesla动力系统和能源工程高级副总裁Drew Baglino也在电池日活动上发表了讲话,他表示,该工厂将“利用北美现有的所有镍和锂资源”。

他说:“只要将我们的阴极供应链和生产本地化,我们就可以将所有阴极材料的运输里程减少80%。”

Baglino表示,在阴极电池生产中增加镍的使用是Baglino的目标,因为镍是“最便宜、能量密度最高的金属”。

Musk还透露,Baglino已获得内华达州一处1万英亩的粘土锂矿的开采权,此举将降低电池成本,并让Baglino的供应链更靠近本土。

新型高性能的Model S Plaid将于明年上市

在电池日上,另一个令人兴奋的新发现是Baglino Model S轿车的新款Plaid动力系统,这款车充电520英里(836公里),从零到60英里(96公里/小时)只需两秒钟。

它的最高时速可达200英里(322公里/小时),但价格最高可达139,990美元(196,325澳元)。

Plaid机型将于2021年底上市。

ASX小型股欢迎电池革命

Baglino有关新阴极厂及其从美国采购的原料的言论,肯定会让美国的锂和镍生产商感到兴奋。考虑到目前的供应问题和全球疫情,美国电动汽车企业寻求原材料本地供应也就不足为奇了。

锂离子电池材料和测试先锋Novonix (ASX: NVX)在周三的一份声明中对电池日的话题做出了积极回应。

Novonix首席执行官Chris Burns博士表示,Tesla重新思考电池制造的方法与公司重新思考电池材料制造的方法“完全一致”。

他表示:“电池和材料的生产成本一直受制于现有技术,通过重新设计的解决方案,有机会扰乱这些行业。”

“Novonix阳极材料加工技术的一个例子提供低成本、高性能石墨支持长循环寿命的应用程序,和干燥粒子Microgranulation (DPMG)是另一个,作为一个过程来消除废水和使用简单的金属投入减少阴极阳极制造生产成本或提高产量。”

“正如Novonix不断强调的那样,高镍阴极材料将在电池行业的增长中发挥关键作用,而低成本、先进的制造方法,如DPMG,将很好地支持该行业所需的增长和成本效益,”Burns博士补充说。

Novonix公司目前正在开发“百万英里”汽车电池技术,采用革命性的阳极和阴极材料,并设计、制造和销售电池测试设备给主要公司,包括Panasonic(为Tesla供货)、Samsung, Honda, CATL, SK Innovation, Dyson和Apple。

上个月,Lake Resources (ASX: LKE)宣布与Novonix达成协议,向后者提供碳酸锂,用于生产基于nmc622的锂离子电池。该公司从其旗舰项目Kachi开发高纯度锂,在阿根廷还有其他三个锂卤水项目。

“随着电动汽车制造商加快他们的生产计划,高纯度和可靠来源的锂在全球供应日益短缺。”我们期待尽快从Novonix公司得到结果,并向潜在的承购合作伙伴提供样品。

与此同时,石墨公司EcoGraf (ASX: EGR)在基准矿业公司的电池日上进行了展示,该活动让小型清洁能源公司有机会展示他们的工作成果,以响应Tesla的电池日。

EcoGraf展示了其在西澳大利亚的2万吨/年处理设施的计划,预计这将是中国以外第一个商业化的石墨净化工厂,预计将花费约1.01亿澳元来建设其2万tpa的全部产能。

它还强调了初步取得的积极成果,表明EcoGraf净化工艺可用于从回收的锂离子电池中回收高纯度的碳阳极材料,并注意到该工艺得到了澳大利亚政府的资金支持。

EcoGraf表示,到2025年,电动汽车市场对天然石墨的需求将增长700%以上,预计到2050年,电动汽车市场将主导电池矿物需求(其次是镍)。

Piedmont Lithium (ASX: PLL)是ASX的另一家小盘股,它可能会受益于对美国电池材料采购兴趣的增加。

该公司的目标是成为世界上为数不多的几家中国以外的氢氧化锂生产商之一,在北卡罗来纳州有一家工厂,并正在积极寻求第二家工厂

Piedmont总裁兼首席执行官Keith Phillips上月表示,其位于北卡罗来纳州的工厂将为spodumene提供一条从加拿大、巴西、西欧和西非进口的优良物流路线。

他补充说:“我们的位置提供了低运营成本的优势,从矿山到电动车的供应链路线长度可以减少98%。”

Piedmont的股价在上周被暂停交易前大幅上涨。周二,该股暂停交易,等待对价格和成交量查询作出回应的公告发布。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Tesla unveils new technology at Battery Day, ASX battery stocks rejoice

Tesla battery day electric vehicle EV 2020 cobalt lithium nickel cathode
Tesla’s Battery Day announcements include the planned phase out of cobalt, a more efficient “tabless” cell and a goal to build a US$25,000 electric car.

Electric vehicle manufacturing giant Tesla has updated the world on its progress in battery technologies at its highly anticipated Battery Day investor event on Tuesday.

The unique drive-in event was held at the company’s Fremont manufacturing facility in California, United States, with Tesla chief executive officer Elon Musk presenting to socially-distanced shareholders in parked cars, who honked horns in response to the presentation.

Major announcements from the event included Tesla’s move to eliminate the controversial use of cobalt in its cathodes, a new cathode plant to streamline battery production in the US and an ambitious goal to build a US$25,000 (A$35,000) electric car using new “tabless” battery cells.

Cobalt phase out

Speaking at the event, Mr Musk said while the company already uses less cobalt in its existing batteries than others in its industry, Tesla plans to eliminate its use altogether.

Not only is cobalt expensive and difficult to extract, it has the reputation of being unethically mined in the Democratic Republic of Congo, where human rights violations including child labour practices are prevalent.

The company has previously said it would seek to reduce its reliance on cobalt but, on the contrary, it only recently signed a large-scale cobalt supply deal with Glencore in June with a condition that the miner ensure all of its cobalt was ethically produced.

Mr Musk didn’t reveal an exact timeline for the phase out but said the move will make Tesla batteries significantly cheaper.

“It’s absolutely critical that we make cars that people can actually afford,” he said.

$25,000 car goal

Hence, Tesla announced its ambitions to build an electric vehicle at an entry-level price of US$25,000 (A$35,000).

The company intends to achieve the goal through the use of its new “tabless” battery cells, as well as changing the materials inside the cell, which combined are expected to “halve” the price per kilowatt hour and bring other benefits in performance and range.

Named 4860 cells, these new batteries will work as the term suggests: Tesla will remove the tab that connects the cell with what it is powering. They are expected to be six times more powerful with a 16% increased range.

The name comes from the cells’ measurements – 46mm by 80mm – which is bigger than Tesla’s current cells.

“You actually have a shorter path length in a large tabless cell than you have in the smaller cell with tabs… So, even though the cell is bigger, it actually has more power,” Mr Musk said.

The batteries will be produced in-house, another cost-cutting strategy that Mr Musk said will bring the sale price of Tesla EVs closer to petrol-powered cars.

Mr Musk first promised a $25,000 electric vehicle in 2018 and said it would be possible within three years, so the plan appears to be on track.

New cathode plant

Mr Musk also said Tesla will build a new cathode plant in North America as part of its plan to shave supply chain costs and streamline battery production.

He did not reveal the location of the plant, but the company announced in July that it would build its next US factory in Austin, Texas. Tulsa in Oklahoma has also been named as a strongly consideration for future projects.

The company also plans to make improvements to its process so it does not produce wastewater and cathodes could be made 76% cheaper.

Also speaking at the Battery Day event, Tesla senior vice president of powertrain and energy engineering Drew Baglino said the facility will “leverage all of the North American resources that exist for nickel and lithium”.

“Just localising our cathode supply chain and production, we can reduce miles travelled by all the materials that end up in the cathode by 80%,” he said.

Mr Baglino said increasing the use of nickel in its cathode battery production was a goal for Tesla as it is “the cheapest and highest energy density metal”.

Mr Musk also revealed Tesla has secured the rights to a 10,000-acre lithium clay deposit in Nevada, another move that will lower the cost of batteries and bring Tesla’s supply chain closer to home.

New high-performance Model S Plaid to be available next year

Another exciting revelation at Battery Day was the new Plaid powertrain for Tesla’s Model S sedan, which will have a range between charges of 520 miles (836km) and can get from zero to 60 miles per hour (96km/h) in just two seconds.

It can reach a top speed of 200 mph (322km/h) but will have a top price to boot at US$139,990 (A$196,325).

The Plaid model will be available in late 2021.

ASX small cap stocks welcome the battery revolution

Mr Baglino’s comments about the new cathode plant and its US-sourced feedstock would have certainly excited lithium and nickel producers in the US, and it’s no surprise that US electric vehicle companies would look to source a local supply of raw material given ongoing supply issues and the global pandemic.

Lithium-ion battery materials and testing pioneer Novonix (ASX: NVX) responded positively to topics covered at Battery Day in an announcement on Wednesday.

Novonix chief executive officer Dr Chris Burns said Tesla’s approach to rethinking battery cell manufacturing “exactly aligns” with his company’s approach to rethinking battery materials manufacturing.

“The cost of production of cells and materials has been stuck on existing technology and there is opportunity to disrupt these sectors through re-engineered solutions,” he said.

“Novonix’s anode material processing technology is one example of delivering lower cost, high performance graphite to support long cycle life applications, and Dry Particle Microgranulation (DPMG) is another, as a process to eliminate wastewater and use simpler metal inputs to reduce cathode manufacturing cost or improve yield in anode manufacturing.”

“As Novonix has continually asserted, it is clear that high nickel cathode materials will play a key role in the growth of the battery sector and lower cost, advanced manufacturing methods, such as DPMG, are well positioned to support the industry’s required growth and cost-efficiencies,” Dr Burns added.

Novonix is currently developing ‘million mile’ vehicle battery technologies with revolutionary anode and cathode materials, and designs, manufactures and sells battery testing equipment to major companies including Panasonic (which supplies to Tesla), Samsung, Honda, CATL, SK Innovation, Dyson and Apple.

Last month Lake Resources (ASX: LKE), which develops high purity lithium from its flagship Kachi project and has three other lithium brine projects in Argentina, announced an agreement with Novonix to provide lithium carbonate to the latter to produce NMC622-based lithium-ion battery cells.

“With EV makers accelerating their production plans, high-purity and responsibly sourced lithium is in increasingly short supply globally. We look forward to expediting the results from Novonix and providing samples to potential offtake partners as soon as possible,” Lake managing director Steve Promnitz said in August.

Meanwhile, graphite company EcoGraf (ASX: EGR) presented at Benchmark Minerals’ Battery Day – an event that enabled smaller clean energy companies opportunity to present their work in response to Tesla’s Battery Day.

EcoGraf showcased plans for its 20,000 tonnes-per-annum processing facility in Western Australia – expected to be the first commercial graphite purification plant outside of China and projected to cost about $101 million to build up to its full 20,000tpa capacity.

It also highlighted positive initial results that demonstrated the EcoGraf purification process could be used to recover high purity carbon anode material from recycled lithium-ion batteries, and noted funding support it has received from the Australian government.

EcoGraf said the EV market is forecast to drive more than 700% growth in natural graphite demand by 2025 and is anticipated to dominate battery mineral demand to 2050 (followed by nickel).

Piedmont Lithium (ASX: PLL) is another ASX small cap that could benefit from an increased interest in sourcing US-based battery materials.

The company aims to become one of the world’s few lithium hydroxide producers outside China, with one North Carolina-based facility and in active pursuit of a second site.

Piedmont president and chief executive officer Keith Phillips said last month its North Carolina plant would provide a superior logistic route for spodumene from Canada, Brazil, Western Europe and Western Africa.

“Our location provides a low-operating-cost advantage with a potential 98% reduction in the supply chain route length from mine to EV,” he added.

Piedmont’s shares surged before being placed in a trading halt last week. The stock was suspended from trading on Tuesday pending the release of an announcement regarding a response to a price and volume query.

Tesla’s 2020 annual shareholder meeting and Battery Day

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts