Tesla敲定Glencore钴供应协议,扩大Panasonic电池合作关系

Tesla Panasonic Glencore cobalt battery gigafactory deal TSLA
Glencore将向Tesla最近在上海建造的Gigafactory和即将在柏林建造的超级工厂供应钴。

全球最著名的电动汽车(EV)制造商之一Tesla与瑞士大宗商品巨头Glencore达成了一项大规模钴供应协议。根据协议,Tesla每年将从Glencore采购多达6000吨钴。

在与Glencore新签署协议的同时,Tesla表示,它还将与目前的电池合作伙伴Panasonic的合作关系延长至2030年,在此过程中,定价锁定到2023年。

与Glencore达成的供应协议,使Tesla此前有关其寻求减少对钴的依赖的声明受到质疑。

考虑到该公司确保未来供应的意图,似乎钴仍将是关键的发展电动汽车电池行业。

2020年2月,Glencore与Samsung签订了一份供应合同,将在2020年至2024年期间提供多达2.1万吨的氢氧化钴。

除了Samsung(现在是Tesla),Glencore还与韩国电池制造商SK Innovation、比利时化工巨头Umicore、中国电池回收公司GEM和德国汽车制造商BMW签署了供货协议。

随着Tesla继续扩大业务规模,建设更多超级工厂,预计与Glencore的合同将帮助Tesla以低廉的价格获得长期钴供应。

Tesla以希望与Glencore的交易能提供长期的供应链保障,降低平均成本,而且最有价值的是,能产生积极的公共关系角度,因为目前全球约60%的钴都来自刚果民主共和国。

据称,刚果民主共和国隐瞒了包括种族灭绝和奴役劳工在内的可怕的侵犯人权行为。批评人士表示,对锂和钴等贵重大宗商品的旺盛需求,助长了这些行为。

{%ALT_TEXT%}
Tesla将通过与Glencore签订6000吨钴的承购合同,获得长期钴供应。

在Apple和Panasonic等其他科技公司的引领下,Tesla发布了一份针对其现有业务惯例和原材料供应来源的“影响报告”,称其已做出“重大努力”,以减少购买通过奴工获得的原材料的机会。

Tesla表示,除了计划在德国再建一家工厂外,该公司还将在最近开业的上海超级工厂(gigafactory)部署强化后的钴供应。

分析师估计,Tesla在中国的超级工厂一旦完全投产,每周将生产3000辆汽车——这一产量水平要求Tesla每年至少生产1200吨钴。

在德国,Tesla计划每年满负荷生产50万辆汽车。

Tesla的大部分生产都在其老家内华达州完成,2016年,该公司在那里开设了第一个超级工厂。

今年3月,Tesla表示,该公司生产了第100万辆电动汽车,其Model 3成为全球“有史以来最畅销的插入式电动汽车”,迄今已售出50多万辆。

电池蓝调

自2003年成立以来,Tesla迅速发展壮大,成为世界领先的电动汽车制造商之一。

然而,电动汽车需要锂离子电池,这一直是Tesla的一个问题,因为该公司不生产自己的电池,被迫依赖第三方供应商。

Tesla每年在全球销售约40万辆汽车,为了制造这些汽车,特斯拉从日本巨头Panasonic那里采购电池。

根据一份监管文件,Tesla与Panasonic修订后的协议——被称为“2020 GTC”——将于2030年到期,这取决于Panasonic能否实现制造业里程碑。

{%ALT_TEXT%}
Tesla和Panasonic达成了一项新的三年协议。

协议条款还规定了Panasonic在内华达生产的2170块电池2023年之前的定价安排,以确保Panasonic的产量和Tesla的购买量承诺。

尽管与Panasonic签订了长期的电池供应协议,但Tesla仍有可能继续努力,将整个电动汽车供应链纳入公司内部。

推动Tesla

目前,Tesla是全球最畅销的电动汽车制造商,2018年销量近25万辆,2019年销量近37万辆。该公司在插电式汽车市场的占有率为17%,在纯电动汽车市场的占有率为23%。

与Glencore达成供应协议可能对双方都有利,因为Tesla正寻求增加自己的汽车制造数量,而Glencore则热衷于锁定认购协议,以保证未来的销售。

钴和锂是推动电动汽车革命的两种关键金属。过去两年,随着电动汽车的普及程度不断提高,钴和锂的价格曾出现过几次飙升,但现在都出现了回落,失去了吸引力。

过去三年,钴价格下跌了50%,而锂价格下跌了71%。

Cobalt price chart Tesla June 2020

由于过去五年来新的勘探活动的积累,目前钴供应充足。

不过,在消费者转向电动汽车的推动下,未来10年的需求预计将上升。

Tesla计划扩大在中国等高端市场的业务,与中国的BYD以及德国的VW和BMW等动力品牌竞争激烈,也希望从电动汽车的增长中获利。

有关钴长期短缺的警告导致钴价格在2017年和2018年飙升,促使Tesla提前警告称,对钴的过度依赖将对其未来的扩张计划构成风险。

因此,出于运营和声誉方面的原因,Tesla正在寻求获得长期的钴供应。在当前价格低迷的情况下这么做,也可能在未来几年被证明是一种绝妙的做法。

这笔交易的时机选择可能意味着,Tesla正在寻求利用当前大宗商品价格暴跌的机会,或者,这家电动汽车制造商正在奠定基础,以获得完全独立于外部电池供应商的最终实现内部电池生产。

考虑到去年Tesla以2.18亿美元(3.16亿澳元)的价格收购了拥有专有电池技术的超级电容器制造商Maxwell,后一种说法可能是最准确的。

Elon Musk在该公司去年的年度会议上打趣道,随着Tesla“将电池生产规模扩大到非常高的水平,我们必须进一步研究供应链,我们可能会进入矿业业务”,这可能是为了突显他专横的怪癖。

事实上,Tesla是否会深入挖掘钴矿还有待观察,但就目前而言,这家电动汽车制造商正忙于储备未来几年推进涡轮增压电动汽车生产所需的材料。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Tesla secures Glencore cobalt supply deal, extends Panasonic battery partnership

Tesla Panasonic Glencore cobalt battery gigafactory deal TSLA
Glencore will supply cobalt to Tesla’s recently built Gigafactory in Shanghai and one soon to be built in Berlin.

One of the world’s most prominent electric vehicle (EV) manufacturers, Tesla, and Swiss commodities giant Glencore have agreed to a large-scale cobalt supply deal that could see Tesla sourcing as many as 6,000 tonnes of the metal annually from Glencore.

In parallel to the newly signed agreement with Glencore, Tesla said it also extended its relationship with current battery partner Panasonic to 2030, locking in prices until 2023 in the process.

The supply deal with Glencore puts into question previous statements that Tesla was seeking to reduce its reliance on cobalt.

Considering the company’s intention of securing future supplies, it seems cobalt will remain critical to the developing EV battery industry.

In February 2020, Glencore penned a supply contract with Samsung to provide up to 21,000t of cobalt hydroxide between 2020 and 2024.

In addition to Samsung (and now Tesla), Glencore has also inked supply deals with Korean battery manufacturer SK Innovation, Belgian chemicals giant Umicore, Chinese battery recycler GEM and German carmaker BMW.

The Glencore contract is expected to help Tesla secure long-term cobalt supplies at amiable rates as the company continues to up-scale operations and builds more gigafactories.

Tesla is hopeful that a deal with Glencore will provide long-term supply chain assurance, reduce average costs, and, possibly most valuable – generate a positive public relations angle given that around 60% of the world’s cobalt is currently sourced from the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The DRC is alleged to be concealing horrific human rights abuses including genocide and slave labour, which critics say, are fuelled by rampant demand for valuable commodities such as lithium and cobalt.

Cobalt price UBS Glencore DRC congo mining Mutanda
Tesla is set to secure long-term cobalt supply courtesy of a 6,000tpa offtake contract with Glencore.

Following the lead of other tech companies such as Apple and Panasonic, Tesla published an “impact report” into its existing business practises and raw material supply sources, saying that it had made a “significant effort” to reduce the chance of purchasing raw materials obtained via slave labour.

According to Tesla, it will deploy its bolstered cobalt supply at its recently opened Shanghai gigafactory, in addition to a further factory planned to be built in Germany.

Analyst estimates suggest that Tesla’s Chinese gigafactory will produce 3,000 cars per week once fully operational – an output level that would require Tesla to offtake at least 1,200t of cobalt per year.

In Germany, Tesla intends to produce 500,000 cars per year once at full capacity.

Most of Tesla’s production is done in Nevada, at its ancestral home where the company opened its first gigafactory in 2016.

In March this year, Tesla said it produced its 1 millionth electric car with its Model 3 ranking as the world’s “all-time best-selling plug-in electric car”, with more than 500,000 sold to date.

Battery blues

Since being founded in 2003, Tesla has quickly advanced and expanded to become one of the world’s leading EV manufacturers.

However, EVs need lithium-ion batteries which has been a problematic issue for Tesla, given that the company does not manufacture its own batteries and is forced to rely on third-party vendors.

To build the circa 400,000 cars it sells globally every year, Tesla sources batteries from Japanese giant Panasonic.

According to a regulatory filing, Tesla’s amended deal with Panasonic – referred to as “2020 GTC” – is set to expire in 2030 and is dependent on Panasonic achieving manufacturing milestones.

Panasonic electric vehicle battery cobalt
Tesla and Panasonic have agreed to a new three-year deal.

The terms of the deal also stipulate pricing arrangements until 2023 for Panasonic’s 2170 cells made in Nevada, assuring a production volume from Panasonic and a purchase volume commitment from Tesla.

Despite having a long-term agreement for battery supply courtesy of Panasonic, Tesla may yet commit to going the extra mile and taking the entire EV supply chain in-house.

Tesla boost

Currently, Tesla is the world’s best-selling EV manufacturer, selling almost 250,000 cars in 2018 and almost 370,000 cars in 2019. The company retains a market share of 17% of the plug-in and 23% of the battery-electric segment respectively.

A supply deal with Glencore could be advantageous for both parties considering that Tesla is seeking to raise the number of cars it manufactures while Glencore is keen to lock-in offtake agreements to guarantee future sales.

Both cobalt and lithium prices – the two pivotal metals behind the EV revolution – have ebbed and lost their allure over the past two years following several spikes on the back of growing adoption of EVs.

Cobalt prices have shed 50% over the past three years while lithium prices have plunged 71%.

Cobalt price chart Tesla June 2020

There is ample cobalt supply currently due to a hoard of new exploration activity over the past five years.

However, demand is expected to rise over the next decade, fuelled by consumers shifting towards EVs.

Tesla is planning to expand its operations in prime markets such as China with plenty of competition in the form of China’s BYD and Germany’s power brands such as VW and BMW, also seeking to capitalise on the growth in EVs.

Warnings about long-term shortages caused cobalt prices to spike in 2017 and 2018, prompting Tesla to forewarn that over-reliance on the metal would be a risk to its future expansion plans.

As a result, both for operational and reputational reasons, Tesla is seeking to secure long-term cobalt supply. Doing so now, when prices are depressed, could also prove to be a masterstroke through the clarity of hindsight in the years to come.

The timing of the deal could mean that Tesla is seeking to take advantage of the current commodity price slump, or, that the EV maker is laying the foundations to obtain complete independence from external battery suppliers by eventually bringing battery cell production in-house.

The latter rationale could prove to be most accurate, given that last year, Tesla agreed a US$218 million (A$316 million) deal to buy Maxwell, a supercapacitor manufacturer with proprietary battery cell technology.

Possibly as a sarcastic exaggeration that highlights his imperious eccentricity, Elon Musk quipped that as Tesla “scales battery production to very high levels, we have to look further down the supply chain and we might get into the mining business”, at the company’s annual meeting last year.

Whether or not Tesla does, in fact, delve into cobalt mining remains to be seen, but for the time being, the EV maker is busy stockpiling the required materials for a turbo-charged EV production push in the years to come.