随着各家公司纷纷涌向North Perth Basin,西海岸天然气行业升温

North Perth Basin West coast gas sector ASX Western Australia
西澳大利亚州的North Perth Basin正在经历几十年来从未有过的活动水平增加。

尽管投资石油和天然气在政治上可能是不正确的,但股价与创纪录的国际天然气价格之间存在着巨大的价值差距,生产商和勘探企业会以收购的形式获得奖金。

由于Santos (ASX: STO)和Oil Search (ASX: OSH)的拟议合并,以及Woodside (ASX: WPL)计划收购BHP (ASX: BHP)的石油业务,澳大利亚石油产业的高端吸引了最多的关注。

但是,这些数十亿美元交易背后的力量也在较小的油气市场发挥作用,其中一个地区提供了巨大的并购潜力,以及从发现和开发中获得的直接价值。

North Perth Basin

North Perth Basin是一个沿着澳大利亚西海岸从珀斯延伸到卡纳文的地质构造。随着勘探人员不断向深处钻探,以寻找在早期勘探活动中遗漏的发现,该盆地正经历着一系列行动,其规模堪比过去50年的任何勘探活动。

在这个以沉睡的捕鱼和度假中心为中心的地区,主要的公司有三井,一家日本企业集团,由媒体和工业设备亿万富翁克里·斯托克斯控股的 Beach Energy (ASX: BPT),以及最近的Mineral Resources (ASX: MIN),由另一位西澳大利亚州亿万富翁Chris Ellison控股。

Stokes 和 Ellison最有可能合并东加拉附近的小型运营商,该集团包括Strike Energy (ASX: STX)、Warrego Energy (ASX: WGO)、Norwest Energy (ASX: NWE)、Triangle Energy (ASX: TEG)、Pilot Energy (ASX: PGY)和Talon Energy (ASX: TPD)。

起点

要了解东澳大利亚这个对投资者来说相当陌生的地区发生了什么,首先要从1971年开始,当时一个由壳牌和雪佛龙等石油巨头组成的财团发现了Dongara天然气田,该气田在当时被列为巨型天然气田。

来自Dongara的天然气为西澳尚处于萌芽阶段的氧化铝加工业提供了动力,该工业后来发展成为全球领先的行业,同时也为镍提炼和珀斯的家庭提供了动力。

但到了1980年代,太空跟踪站受到的威胁更大的气体来源,Woodside管理的超大型西北大陆架的捕获市场备受争议的“带或支付”处理后佤邦政府确保了淹没了当地的天然气市场,造成大部分活动在该地区。

滚在时间和西北大陆架快速耗尽,天然气价格上涨和珀斯盆地是经历一场重生与探险家捡Wapet离开三井和海滩发展他们共同拥有Waitsia项目毗邻太空跟踪站,而罢工和Warrego开发他们的发现,West Erregulla油田。

活跃的当地市场

推动人们涌回唐加拉的是蓬勃发展的当地天然气市场,这一市场与上世纪70年代的矿产加工(以一种新颖的方式)以及50年前没有人想象过的新市场同样受到推动,亚洲液化天然气(LNG)价格在过去18个月里飙升了10倍,达到创纪录的每百万英国热量单位20美元以上。

在North Perth Basin的再生过程中,有一个新颖的转折,那就是东加拉的一些天然气将被用来为一个新的矿物加工业——锂——提供动力,而锂本身注定会被用于全球电池生产。

投资者不应忽视这一讽刺,因为天然气是一种古老但利润仍然很高的能源来源,它正被用来制造存储可再生能源锂和镍所需的原材料。

由于大宗商品价格(尤其是铁矿石、镍和氧化铝)走高,当地的西澳大利亚州市场正在蓬勃发展。通过三井和Beach与North West Shelf合作伙伴之间的一项独特协议,即将开始液化天然气出口,该协议将使用Waitsia天然气作为“回填”,以填补Woodside经营的油田数量下降留下的缺口。

North Perth Basin的所有行动都是由于投资者对化石燃料相关的环境、社会和治理(ESG)问题的关注而发生的,尽管天然气扮演着一个以可再生能源为动力的未来的中间房屋角色。

准备并购

Dongara周围发生的一切,为并购活动的爆发做好了完美的准备,这可能是由Beach牵头的,该公司在南澳大利亚库珀盆地的西侧油气田被降级后,股价急剧下跌。

Stokes特别是不会逗乐的海滩股价从1.85美元下降40%在今年年初最新销售1.12美元——下降发生石油高于每桶73美元(去年年初增长250%)和天然气火箭在亚洲和澳大利亚东部的燃料的短缺是发展。即便是在美国,天然气价格自4月份以来也上涨了一倍。

与液化天然气出口将很快开始Waitsia合资企业的前景(海滩和三井)是明亮,因为它是西方Erregulla伙伴(罢工和Warrego)尽管内部不稳定如何最好的开发领域——罢工是集中在管道天然气销售进入当地市场,Warrego热衷于化肥(尿素)的生产选择。

考虑到天然气需求前景,该公司的股票市值不足10亿美元(Strike为5.86亿美元,Warrego为2.62亿美元),raider可以以极低的价格夺取宝贵气田的控制权。

在西海岸气体游戏小球员,包括三角形(这也是一个石油生产国的持股79%崖头项目),西北银行,爪和飞行员都是市场上价值不到1亿美元,有意思的建议对他们感兴趣的一个更大的石油和天然气公司越来越有价值的公寓。

虽然斯托克斯是明显的集运商,一个新的可能的球员在太空跟踪站Chris Ellison刚刚做了什么似乎是一个重大的发现与Lockyer Deep中他的矿产资源有一个80%的利息和西北银行20%——几乎肯定任何生产用于矿物加工、尤其是锂,这是一项快速增长的矿产资源业务。

所有活跃在该地区的公司都将从日益增长的勘探、开发和企业活动中受益,特别是如果斯Stokes, Ellison或其他潜在的整合者以坎巴尔达附近的镍矿即将爆发并购的方式审视机会的话。

对投资者有深度价值在澳大利亚的石油和天然气行业,如果只因为它被忽视了对环境、社会和治理问题尽管大宗商品价格上涨,整个行业的重大升级,但一些分析师认为这是因为当地的石油和天然气股票交易潜在的石油价格折让50%。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

West coast gas sector heats up as companies rush North Perth Basin

North Perth Basin West coast gas sector ASX Western Australia
Western Australia’s North Perth Basin is seeing an increased level of activity not seen in decades.

Politically incorrect as it might be to invest in oil and gas there is a yawning value gap opening between share prices and a record international price for natural gas, with a bonus in the form of a takeover rush for producers and explorers.

The top end of the Australian oil patch has attracted most publicity so far thanks to the proposed merger of Santos (ASX: STO) and Oil Search (ASX: OSH), with Woodside’s (ASX: WPL) planned acquisition of BHP’s (ASX: BHP) petroleum business to follow.

But the same forces behind those multi-billion-dollar deals are at work at the smaller end of the oil and gas market, with one location offering remarkable potential for merger and acquisition activity (M&A) as well as direct value from discovery and development.

North Perth Basin

The North Perth Basin, a geological structure stretching along Australia’s west coast from Perth to Carnarvon, is undergoing a burst of action to rival anything in the last 50 years as explorers drill deeper to make discoveries missed in earlier campaigns.

Leading players in a region centred on the sleepy fishing and holiday centre of Dongara are Mitsui, a Japanese conglomerate, Beach Energy (ASX: BPT), a business controlled by media and industrial equipment billionaire, Kerry Stokes, and most recently, Mineral Resources (ASX: MIN), controlled by another WA billionaire, Chris Ellison.

Stokes and Ellison are the most likely consolidators of the smaller operators around Dongara, a group that includes Strike Energy (ASX: STX), Warrego Energy (ASX: WGO), Norwest Energy (ASX: NWE), Triangle Energy (ASX: TEG), Pilot Energy (ASX: PGY) and Talon Energy (ASX: TPD).

The starting point

To understand what’s happening in a region largely foreign to investors in eastern Australia a starting point is 1971 when a consortium that included oil giants, Shell and Chevron, trading as WA Petroleum (Wapet) discovered the Dongara gas field which, in its day, was classified as a giant.

Gas from Dongara powered WA’s embryonic alumina processing industry which grew to become a global leader, as well as nickel refining, and Perth households.

But by the 1980s, Dongara was under the threat of an even bigger source of gas, the Woodside-managed super-giant North West Shelf which captured markets after a controversial “take or pay” deal with the WA Government which ensured a flooded local gas market, killing most activity around the region.

Roll forward in time and the North West Shelf is fast depleting, gas prices are rising and the Perth Basin is undergoing a rebirth with explorers picking up where Wapet left off with Mitsui and Beach developing their jointly-owned Waitsia project adjacent to the Dongara field, while Strike and Warrego develop their discovery, the West Erregulla field.

Buoyant local market

Underpinning the rush back to Dongara is a buoyant local gas market being driven by the same force as the 1970s, mineral processing (with a novel twist), and the new market which no-one imagined 50 years ago, the creation of a liquefied natural gas (LNG) export business at precisely the right time with Asian LNG prices soaring 10-fold over the past 18-months to a record of more than US$20 per million British thermal units.

The novel twist in the reincarnation of the North Perth Basin is that some of Dongara’s gas will be consumed to power a new mineral processing industry, lithium, which is itself destined to be used in the global rush into battery production.

This irony should not be lost on investors that gas, an old but still highly profitable energy source, is being used to make the raw materials needed for storing renewable energy, lithium and nickel.

Of equal importance as the local WA market, which is booming thanks to strong commodity prices (especially iron ore, nickel and alumina), is the imminent start of LNG exports via a unique deal between Mitsui and Beach with the North West Shelf partners which will see Waitsia gas used as “backfill” to plug a gap left by the decline of fields operated by Woodside.

All the action in the North Perth Basin is occurring as investors look the other way, concerned about the environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues associated with fossil fuels despite gas playing a role as a half-way house to a future powered by renewable energy.

Ready for M&A

What’s happening around Dongara is perfectly poised for a burst of M&A activity, possibly led by Beach which has suffered a sharp share-price fall after a downgrade of its Western Flank oil and gas fields in South Australia’s Cooper Basin.

Stokes in particular will not be amused by the 40% fall in the Beach share price from $1.85 at the start of the year to latest sales at $1.12 – a drop occurring as oil rises above US$73 a barrel (up 250% on early last year) and gas rockets up in Asia and in eastern Australia where a shortage of the fuel is developing. Even in the US, gas prices have doubled since April.

With LNG exports expected to start soon the outlook for the Waitsia joint venture (Beach and Mitsui) is bright, as it is for the West Erregulla partners (Strike and Warrego) despite internal instability about how best to develop the field – Warrego is focused on pipeline gas sales into the local market, Strike is keen on a fertiliser (urea) production option.

With a combined stock market value of less than $1 billion (Strike at $586 million and Warrego at $262 million) a raider could snatch control of a valuable gas field at a bargain basement price given the outlook for gas demand.

Smaller players in the west coast gas game, including Triangle (which is also an oil producer at its 79% owned Cliff Head project), Norwest, Talon and Pilot are all valued on the market at less than $100 million each, tasty morsels for a bigger oil and gas company interested in their increasingly valuable tenements.

While Stokes is the obvious consolidator, a new possible player in Dongara is Chris Ellison, who has just made what looks to be a significant discovery with the Lockyer Deep well in which his Mineral Resources has an 80% interest and Norwest 20% – with any production almost certainly earmarked for mineral processing, especially lithium which is a fast-growing business of Mineral Resources.

All companies active in the region will benefit from the increasing exploration, development and corporate activity, especially if Stokes, Ellison, or another potential consolidator examines the opportunity in the same way the nickel mines around Kambalda are poised for a burst of M&A.

For investors there is deep value in the Australian oil and gas sector, if only because it has been ignored over ESG considerations even as commodity prices rise, with a major upgrade of the entire sector seen by some analysts because local oil and gas stocks are trading at a 50% discount to the underlying oil price.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.