镍快线离开车站,势头强劲

Nickel metal price market Andrew Forrest Twiggy BHP
过去18个月,镍价格几乎上涨了一倍,产品质量将成为下一个价格驱动因素。

镍快车已经离开了车站,但随着需求上升和供应线路受到挤压,它还可能走得更远——这将提振在澳大利亚证交所上市的镍矿商和勘探企业,尤其是如果它们的产品质量卓越的话。

供应和需求这两个因素很好理解,也是过去18个月镍价上涨近一倍的关键因素。受新冠肺炎影响,镍价从去年初的每吨1.1万美元上涨至最近的每吨1.95万美元。

第三个因素,质量,将是下一个价格驱动因素,特别是对澳大利亚镍生产商来说,因为他们的材料的碳污染足迹相对较低,特别是与镍生铁(NPI)相比,后者已成为镍的主要形式。

镍一直是一种赚钱很快的大宗商品,有时也会很快失去,这一分析的起点是6月初的最后一次深入调查

故事中的人是铁矿石亿万富翁Andrew Forrest,他一直被学生时代的绰号“Twiggy”所困。他第一次进入镍业并不成功,因为他创建的公司Anaconda Nickel未能掌握一项复杂的化学加工技术。

如今,Forrest正涉足更安全的硬岩硫化镍矿领域,这类矿在澳大利亚西部的镍之都Kambalda以及加拿大和俄罗斯周边开采。

Twiggy最新的镍投资

三支镍股加入了Forrest最新的镍投资计划。

Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR)、Poseidon Nickel (ASX: POS)和Noront Resources (TSXV: NOT)自6月初以来都出现了上涨。

Mincor从1澳元涨到了1.25澳元,涨了25%。由于BHP Group (ASX: BHP) 7月26日以0.55加元出价收购,Poseidon的价格从0.069加元上涨至0.12加元,涨幅为74%,Noront的价格从0.33加元上涨至0.57加元,涨幅为73%。

6月初提到的另一只股票Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM)也加入了所谓的“硫化镍方”,股价从0.69澳元上涨32%至0.91澳元,原因是该公司在巴西的捷豹项目进展迅速。

不同镍市场

硫化镍之所以在镍行业的最新报道中反复提及,是因为镍市场正在发生变化,随着环保汽车制造商越来越多地指定低碳镍用于汽车电池,这种变化将扩大。

政府也有可能要求加强对NPI的控制,NPI是中国和印尼最受欢迎的镍生产方式,但在生产过程中产生大量的碳污染。

据总部位于布鲁塞尔的工业游说团体镍研究所称,传统镍金属(澳大利亚生产的那种)的碳足迹比NPI的碳足迹低10- 14倍。

这种差异如此显著,以至于特斯拉创始人Elon Musk对清洁镍的追求也很容易理解,因为他希望销售的汽车具有“绿色”吸引力,而如果电池中的镍来自NPI,这就很难实现。

BHP对镍重新产生兴趣,说明该行业正如何划分为两种生产类型:一种是用于不锈钢生产的高碳材料,另一种是用于增长更快的电池行业的低碳镍。

BHP参与镍是一个教训在金属的前景如何改变与公司一个不情愿的参与者在继承镍业务在2005年收购西方矿业公司与奥林匹克坝铜和铀矿在南澳大利亚的主要兴趣。

在BHP收购WMC镍矿的最初几年,低价格一直困扰着该公司的镍矿业务,该公司试图通过开发Ravensthorpe项目(该项目使用了与Forrest的Anaconda项目相同的技术)来扩大规模,但最终以昂贵的失败告终。

BHP对镍业务的幻想破灭了,它曾多次试图出售镍业务,但都没有吸引到一个竞购者,因为旧矿和加工厂需要10亿澳元的环境清理费用。

随着长寿命、可充电的锂离子电池的出现,一切都改变了。锂离子电池具有富含镍的阴极和硫化镍矿,为电池制造商提供了最优质的材料。

新财富镍

对BHP高层管理层来说,这一定是一个“亮眼的时刻”。由于在电池技术方面的关键作用,该公司在西澳大利亚州的镍业务突然被提升为令人垂涎的“面向未来”业务。

BHP并没有放弃镍矿,而是在西澳大利亚州进行采矿和加工扩张,并计划通过收购Noront进入加拿大硫化镍业务。目前,Forrest已经持有Noront 15%的股份。

假以时日,或许很快,镍将成为一种分为两阶段的金属,在NPI材料(主要用于中国钢铁制造商)和硫化镍(将用于欧洲和美国电池制造商)之间形成价差。

Macquarie Bank最近对镍业进行了研究,指出NPI首次占镍产量的50%以上,高于10年前的15%。

Macquarie最先注意到的另一个问题是,中国镍生产商目前占据了行业排行榜的前三名,尽管这主要是因为传统的硫化镍生产中断,比如俄罗斯一家大型镍矿Norilsk发生了洪灾,以及加拿大镍业首府Sudbury发生了罢工。

价格持续上升

正如之前提到的,供需因素是镍价接近逾每吨2万美元的10年高点的关键,这也是关注澳大利亚镍业的原因之一。

Nickel price chart August 2021
过去18个月,镍价格几乎上涨了一倍,产品质量将成为下一个价格驱动因素。

但更重要的原因是,随着电池制造商寻求低碳材料来源(这意味着从澳大利亚、加拿大、俄罗斯和巴西购买镍),质量问题将变得更加重要。

看股票

勘探成功和项目开发也会对股价产生影响,需要关注的股票包括:

Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8)在6月初才被提及,因为该公司在以每股0.3澳元的价格筹资1500万澳元后,直到6月中旬才上市。该公司的资金专门用于在Kambalda附近的公寓进行钻探。Lunnon 上市股票的最终售价为0.60澳元,用户的收入已经翻了一番。

正如之前提到的,Mincor自6月初以来上涨了25%,而且应该会继续保持强劲的表现,因为它“连接”了Kambalda的两个历史悠久的矿山,Durkin 和 Long,在那里有一片被称为黄金英里的土地已经被闲置了20多年。

近期的开采量缺口已如预期般恢复了高档镍。

之前也提到过,Poseidon正在Golden Swan项目中挑选早期勘探人员留下的高品位镍矿交汇处,其中包括从相对狭窄的0.8米镍层中提取的高达14.3%的镍。

Centaurus准备从其Jaguar项目中获得可观的利润,该项目的开发成本为2.88亿澳元,但应该会在不到两年的时间内偿还,也许更早。

在镍产业中,Blackstone Minerals (ASX: BSX)一个相对较新的参与者,它在越南拥有Ta Khoa项目,并与韩国一家大型电池制造商达成了营销协议。

Shaw and Partners最近启动了对Blackstone的追踪,提供买入提示,目标价为1.90澳元,远高于上次的0.43澳元。

另一家值得一提的勘探公司是Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS),该公司在Andover项目上取得了持续的成功,该项目被称为西澳最新的镍矿发现。

在去年7月收购了该资产并于10月开始钻探后,该公司在该项目的VC-07和VC-23目标中发现了重大的镍铜硫化矿化。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Nickel express leaves station and gains momentum

Nickel’s price has nearly doubled over the last 18 months, with product quality to become the next price driver.

The nickel express has left the station, but it could travel much further as demand rises and supply lines are crimped – giving ASX-listed nickel miners and explorers a lift particularly if their product is of a superior quality.

Those first two factors, supply and demand, are well understood and have been the key to the near doubling of the nickel price over the past 18-months as it has charged up from a Covid-effected US$11,000 a tonne early last year to latest sales at US$19,500/t.

The third factor, quality, will be the next price driver, especially for Australian nickel producers because their material has a relatively low carbon pollution footprint, especially when compared with nickel pig iron (NPI) which has become the dominant form of the metal.

Nickel, always a commodity where fortunes are made quickly, and sometimes lost just as quickly, the starting point for this analysis is the last in-depth look in early June.

The man in that story was iron ore billionaire Andrew Forrest who is stuck with his school days nickname of Twiggy, and who’s first entry into nickel was less then successful when the company he founded, Anaconda Nickel, failed to master a complex chemical processing technology.

Forrest today is playing in the safer nickel space of hard-rock sulphide ore, of the sort mined around Australia’s nickel capital, Kambalda in Western Australia, as well as Canada and Russia.

Twiggy’s latest nickel investments

Three nickel stocks are on Forrest’s latest nickel investment program.

Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR), Poseidon Nickel (ASX: POS) and Noront Resources (TSXV: NOT) – all have risen since early June.

Mincor has is up 25% from $1 to $1.25. Poseidon has risen 74% from $0.069 to $0.12, while Noront has risen by 73% from C$0.33 to C$0.57 – thanks to a 26 July takeover bid from BHP Group (ASX: BHP) priced at C$0.55.

Another stock mentioned in early June, Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM), has joined what might be called the “nickel sulphide party” with a 32% rise from $0.69 to $0.91 as it makes brisk progress developing its Jaguar project in Brazil.

Diverging nickel markets

The reason nickel sulphide has been mentioned repeatedly in this update on the nickel sector is that a change is developing in the nickel market which will widen as environmentally conscious makers of electric vehicles increasingly specifying low-carbon nickel for the batteries in their cars.

It is also possible that governments will demand tighter controls on NPI which is the favoured way of producing nickel in China and Indonesia, but generates vast amounts of carbon pollution in its production.

According to the Nickel Institute, a Brussels-based industry lobby group, traditional nickel metal (of the sort produced in Australia) has a carbon footprint 10-to-14 times lower than the footprint of NPI.

The difference is so significant that the hunt for clean nickel by Tesla founder, Elon Musk, is easy to understand because he wants to sell cars which have “green” appeal and that’s difficult if the nickel in a battery comes from NPI.

BHP’s revitalised interest in nickel is a guide to how the industry is dividing into two types of production with high-carbon material heading for use in the production of stainless steel and low-carbon nickel destined for the faster-growing battery sector.

The involvement of BHP in nickel is a lesson in how the outlook for the metal has changed with the company a reluctant participant after inheriting a nickel business through the 2005 takeover of Western Mining Corporation with the Olympic Dam copper and uranium mine in South Australia the primary interest.

Low prices dogged the WMC nickel business in the early years of BHP ownership and an attempt to get bigger through the development of the Ravensthorpe project (which used the same technology as Forrest’s Anaconda adventure) was an expensive flop.

BHP became so disillusioned with nickel that it tried several times to sell the business but couldn’t attract a single bid because of a $1 billion environmental clean-up required around old mines and processing plants.

Everything changed with the advent of long-life, rechargeable, lithium-ion batteries that have a nickel rich cathode with sulphide nickel ore producing the best quality material for battery makers.

New nickel fortunes

In what must have been a “lightbulb moment” for senior BHP management an unwanted, unloved, rundown, rusty and scrapheap destined nickel operation in WA was suddenly elevated to the coveted status of “future facing” business because of its key role in battery technology.

Rather than quitting nickel, BHP is digging deeper with mine and processing expansions underway in WA and a plan unveiled to enter the Canadian nickel sulphide business through the proposed takeover of Noront – in which Forrest already has a 15% stake.

In time, and perhaps quite soon, nickel will become a two-stage metal with a pricing difference developing between NPI material, which will predominantly be used by Chinese steel makers, and sulphide nickel which will be used by European and US battery makers.

Macquarie Bank is its latest look at nickel highlighted the differences developing when it pointed out that NPI, for the first time, was accounting for more than 50% of nickel production, up from 15% a decade ago.

Another first noted by Macquarie is that Chinese nickel producers now fill the top three positions on the industry league table, though largely because of outages at traditional nickel sulphide operations such as flooding in a big Russian mine (Norilsk) and a strike in the Canadian nickel capital of Sudbury.

Price continues upwards

Supply and demand factors, as mentioned earlier, are the keys to the nickel price edging closer to a 10-year high of more than US$20,000/t, which is one reason to keep an eye on the Australian nickel sector.

Nickel price chart August 2021
The nickel price has been trending up in recent years.

But the more important reason is that the quality question will become more important as battery makers seek low-carbon sources of material and that means buying nickel from Australia, Canada, Russia and Brazil.

Stocks to watch

Exploration success and project development will also have an effect on share prices with stocks to watch including:

Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8) only got a passing mention in early June because it didn’t list until mid-June after raising $15 million at $0.30 a share. Its funds are earmarked for drilling tenements near Kambalda. At last sales of $0.60 subscribers to the Lunnon float have already doubled their money.

As mentioned earlier, Mincor is up 25% since early June and should continue to perform strongly as its “connects the dots” between two historic Kambalda mines, Durkin and Long, where a tract of land dubbed the Golden Mile has been left unexplored for more than 20 years.

Recent drilling in the gap has returned high-grade nickel, as expected.

Also mentioned earlier, Poseidon is picking where earlier explorers left off with high-grade nickel intersections at its Golden Swan project, including grades up to 14.3% nickel from a relatively narrow 0.8m slice.

Centaurus is poised to generate handsome profits from its Jaguar project, which is costing US$288 million to develop but should pay that back in less than two years, and perhaps sooner.

A relatively new player in the nickel game is Blackstone Minerals (ASX: BSX) with the Ta Khoa project in Vietnam and a marketing deal with a big South Korean battery maker.

Shaw and Partners recently initiated coverage of Blackstone with a buy tip and a price target of $1.90, well above last sales at $0.43.

Another explorer worthy of a mention is Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS), which is having ongoing success at the Andover project, which has been described as WA’s latest nickel discovery.

The company has discovered significant nickel-copper sulphide mineralisation within the project’s VC-07 and VC-23 targets after only acquiring the asset in July last year and kicking-off drilling in October.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.