把铅变成金-Galena的 Abra把戏

Galena Mining ASX G1A lead gold Abra
Galena 的Abra铅锌矿是在40年前发现的,在铅锌矿化下面有一个铜金矿带。

把铅变成金子是骗人的科学(炼金术)中最古老的把戏,但在西澳大利亚内陆,确实有一家公司在开发一个铅和银矿,有早期的金和铜的迹象可以效仿。

Galena Mining (ASX: G1A)的名字来源于拉丁语中的铅,该公司已经开始建设Abra矿,该矿位于Sandfire Resources (ASX: SFR)的高档但快速消耗的DeGrussa铜和黄金项目西北约100公里处。

乍一看,Galena和Abra并不令人鼓舞。该公司规模很小,股票市值约为1亿美元。铅是最基本的工业商品,但由于人们争相购买锂和镍等更时尚的电池金属,铅一直被边缘化。

铅的主要用途之一是用于传统的铅酸电池,而这种电池正被锂离子电池所取代。

阿布拉的另一种金属白银在过去三个月遭遇抛售,从每盎司约28美元跌至22美元。

隐藏的宝石

但是,在这个偏远地区沉闷金属的façade背后,隐藏着一颗投资者尚未认识到的宝石,从Galena的43.5%股价从年初的0.39美元跌至0.22美元就可以看出这一点。

方铅矿前景光明的第一个线索是铅价。铅价在过去30天里下跌,但随着中国经济放缓以及恒大地产集团(Evergrande)可能倒闭打压市场人气,铅价的跌幅并不比铜或镍更大。

目前的铅价为每磅0.98美元,接近过去10年的平均价格,较18个月前的0.72美元大幅上涨。

考虑到Abra的铅产量预计为每磅0.44美元,该矿应该相当有利可图。

支持铅价格是金属与材料的收缩储备仓库的伦敦金属交易所在过去12个月大幅下降约135000 t – 52750 t -一个令人鼓舞的下行趋势虽然不占一个隐藏的消费者持有的股票,特别是中国制造商。

铅矿商面临的另一个问题是,在传统电池、管道、油漆和精炼石油中使用的金属中,估计有50%来自回收金属,这在理论上限制了新开采材料的价格。

这对阿布拉来说是个好消息

关于铅的坏消息太多了,因为它被最好被称为有希望的消息所压倒,这包括:

  • 方铅矿与日本最大的铅锌冶炼厂之一Toho Zinc关系密切。东豪锌还拥有新南威尔士Endeavour和Rasp锌矿运营商CBH Resources。东宝已购买了Abra 40%的股份,并将成为该公司铅银精矿的主要买家。
  • 随着早期工地工程的进行和地下开发计划即将开始,阿布拉的建设加速,股价重新评级的可能性很高。
  • 重新可以重新运行方式的新兴黄金矿工Calidus (ASX: CAI)股价上涨20%以来我们的故事8月12日Calidus vs Capricorn,突出项目建设风险下降的影响,建筑工程接近完工和第一金属在望。
  • 与Galena关系密切的股票经纪公司Petra Capital的一份乐观分析师报告认为,Galena的目标价格将达到0.48美元,比目前的0.22美元高出一倍多
  • 铅/银带下面的金和铜结构的诱惑。

Abra是时候闪耀了

有些读者可能还记得,Abra并不是一个新发现。

40年前首次报道,但铅缺乏吸引力,再加上地处偏远,投资者对其他大宗商品(尤其是黄金、铁矿石和镍)的兴趣更大,这意味着阿布拉的日子推迟到了现在。

Galena的计划是投资1.7亿美元,开发一个矿山,每年生产120万吨矿石,至少使用16年,每年生产9.5万吨铅,外加80.5万盎司银。

该项目每磅0.44美元的现金成本估算是基于假设的铅价0.92美元/磅、银价16美元/盎司和汇率0.70美元。

方铅矿在介绍中引用了领先的大宗商品研究公司Wood Mackenzie的一项研究,该公司将阿布拉矿描述为全球成本最低的主要铅矿。

开发的资金来自东宝的买入,以及资源融资专家Taurus提供的1.43亿美元债务安排。

如果一切按计划进行,正是这种不确定性解释了为什么Galena现在的股价会有折扣,那么该矿山将在两年后偿还债务,使Galena从第三年开始每年(不计利息和其他费用)获得大约1.14亿美元的收入。

铅到黄金

把从铅矿磨料变成金矿是所谓的无价值的吸引力方铅矿与第一金和铜带显示的嗅探下深钻lead-silver区12 m的6.72%黄金等以鼓励成绩从706米和10.33米1.32 g / t黄金从631 + 1.63%的铜。

在火山活动期间形成的矿床中,当热流体在冷却过程的不同阶段沉淀它们的矿化,并取决于与其他岩石的接触时,含有不同矿物的带的组合并不罕见。

Abra的深层地质条件使铅矿有可能变成金矿,方铅矿计划在开发过程中对Abra矿进行更多的深度钻探。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Turning lead into gold – Galena’s Abra trick

Galena Mining ASX G1A lead gold Abra
Galena’s Abra lead-zinc deposit was discovered 40 years ago and comes with a copper-gold zone under the lead-zinc mineralisation.

Turning lead into gold is the oldest trick in the big book of dodgy science (alchemy), but in outback Western Australia there really is a company developing a lead and silver mine with early hints of gold and copper to follow.

Galena Mining (ASX: G1A), which takes its name from the Latin word for lead, has started construction of the Abra mine located roughly 100 kilometres north-west of Sandfire Resources’ (ASX: SFR) high-grade but fast depleting DeGrussa copper and gold project.

At first glance Galena and Abra are uninspiring. The company is small, with the stock market value of around $100 million. Lead is the most basic of industrial commodities and one which has been sidelined by the rush into more fashionable battery metals such lithium and nickel.

One of the main uses of lead is in conventional lead-acid batteries which are being superseded by lithium-ion batteries.

Silver, Abra’s other metal, has suffered a sell-off over the past three months, falling from around US$28 an ounce to US$22/oz.

Hidden gem

But, behind the unimpressive façade of a dull metal in a remote location are hints of a hidden gem which investors have yet to recognise, as evident in Galena’s 43.5% share price fall from $0.39 to $0.22 since the start of the year.

First clue to Galena having a brighter future is the price of lead, which has suffered a slide over the past 30-days, but no worse than copper or nickel as China’s economic slowdown and the possible collapse of the Evergrande property group weighs on sentiment.

At US$0.98 a pound, lead is trading close to its average price of the past 10-years and comfortably up on the US$0.72 of 18-months ago.

Given that Abra is forecast to produce its lead at a cash coast of US$0.44/lb the mine should be comfortably profitable.

Supporting the lead price is a shrinking stockpile of the metal with material in the warehouses of the London Metal Exchange declining sharply over the last 12-months from around 135,000t to 52,750t – an encouraging downward trend though one that does not account for hidden stocks held by consumers, especially Chinese manufacturers.

Another problem for lead miners is that an estimated 50% of the metal used in conventional batteries, plumbing, paint and refined petroleum comes from recycled metal which theoretically puts a cap on the price of freshly mined material.

Promising news for Abra

So much for the bad news about lead because it is outweighed by what might be best called the promising news, that includes:

  • Galena’s close ties with one of Japan’s biggest lead and zinc refiners, Toho Zinc, which also owns CBH Resources, operator of the Endeavour and Rasp zinc mines in NSW. Toho has bought a 40% stake in Abra and will be a major buyer of its lead-silver concentrate.
  • The high probability of a share-price re-rating as construction of Abra accelerates with early site works underway and underground development scheduled to start soon.
  • The re-rating could be a re-run of the way emerging gold miner Calidus (ASX: CAI) has seen its share price rise by 20% since our story on 12 August Calidus vs Capricorn, which highlighted the effect of declining project construction risk as building work nears completion and first metal is in sight.
  • A bullish analyst report from Petra Capital, a stockbroker close to Galena, which reckons the company is heading towards a target price of $0.48, more than double its current $0.22, and
  • The lure of a gold and copper structure beneath the lead/silver zone.

Abra’s time to shine

Abra, as some readers might remember, is not a new discovery.

It was first reported 40 years ago but the lack of sex appeal in lead, plus the remote location and more investor interest in other commodities (especially gold, iron ore and nickel) meant that Abra’s day was postponed, until now.

Galena’s plan is to spend $170 million developing a mine yielding 1.2 million tonnes of ore a year over a minimum 16-year life producing 95,000tpa of lead, plus 805,000 ounces of silver.

The US$0.44/lb cash cost estimate for the project is based on an assumed lead price of US$0.92/lb, a silver price of US$16/oz and an exchange rate of US$0.70.

Galena, in its presentations, cites a study by Wood Mackenzie, a leading commodities research firm, which describes Abra as the world’s lowest cost primary lead mine.

Funding for the development has come from Toho’s buy-in plus a $143 million debt facility from resource finance specialist Taurus.

If all goes to plan, and it’s the uncertainty in that comment which explains why Galena is trading at a discount today, the mine will repay its debts in two years, enabling Galena to earn (before interest and other charges) an estimated $114 million a year from year three.

Lead to gold

Turning Abra from a lead mine into a gold mine is what might be called the blue-sky appeal of Galena with first sniffs of a gold and copper zone revealed in deep drilling under the lead-silver zone with encouraging grades such as 12m of 6.72g/t gold from 706m and 10.33m at 1.32g/t gold plus 1.63% copper from 631m.

A combination of zones containing different minerals is not unusual in a deposit formed during volcanic activity when hot fluids precipitate their mineralisation at different stages of the cooling process and depending on the contact with other rocks.

It’s the deep geology of Abra which holds the potential for a lead mine to become a gold mine with Galena planning more deep drilling from the Abra mine as it is developed.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.