Calidus Resources vs Capricorn Metals:两个矿工的故事

Calidus Resources Capricorn Metals ASX CMM CAI gold miners Western Australia
Calidus Resources和Capricorn Metals的主要区别在于时机。

黄金在过去三个月下跌了10%,让这种金属失去了一些光泽,但这并不是一家新兴生产商的投资理由,正如这两家矿商的故事所显示的那样。

在Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM)和Calidus Resources (ASX: CAI)中,可以看到一些有趣的相似之处(和一个断开),造成差异的主要原因是时间,尽管这是一个总是会自行修复的问题。

了解已经发生的事情(以及接下来可能发生的事情)的关键是,摩羯座已经完成了在西澳大利亚Pilbara的Karlawinda项目,第一次注入了黄金,并享受了股价的上涨。

Calidus的Warrawoona开发项目也在Pilbara, Karlawinda以北200公里,矿石品位大致相似,但比Capricorn的时间表晚了10个月,这意味着Calidus的股价今年没有上涨。

这两家公司的相似之处很有趣,但从投资的角度来看,特别重要的是,摩羯座公司已经完全消除了其矿山的风险,现在已经投入运营,其股票市值约为7.73亿澳元,而Calidus公司的股票市值为1.82亿澳元。

这是有可能的,允许Karlawinda大资源后,有些更长的寿命,稍微降低成本每盎司,和额外的盎司的生产初期,摩羯座是商业价值两倍Calidus——但很难认为摩羯应该这位比Calidus更有价值。

项目比较

这两个项目的关键指标是:

  • 矿石品位,Karlawinda为0.9克/吨,Warrawoona为0.89克/吨(当Blue Spec矿的高品位矿石加入到混合中后,在第二阶段上升到1.21克/吨)。
  • Karlawinda的矿产资源估计为215万盎司,Warrawoona的资源为1.5盎司。
  • Karlawinda的年黄金产量在11万至12.5万盎司之间,Warrawoona的年黄金产量为9万盎司,在第二阶段将升至13万盎司。
  • 预期寿命,Karlawinda是10到12年,而Warrawoona是8年(随着勘探的继续,两者都有可能增加)
  • Karlawinda的全部维持成本为1140 – 1190澳元/oz,而Warrawoona为1290澳元/oz。

时间是关键

正如前面提到的,时机是Calidus和Capricorn之间四倍价值差距的关键,因为这两支黄金股票似乎有更多的共同点而不是不同点。

对投资者来说,问题是判断价值差距是否(或何时)会缩小,这是一个评估风险的过程,风险有多个活动部分,不仅仅是金价本身,还有总是适用于尚未首次产出黄金的矿山的折扣。

对于好奇的投资者来说,摩羯座的股价趋势可能是一个有用的起点,因为它也可能提供卡利多斯股价未来走向的线索。

3月底,当Capricorn的Karlawinda矿接近完工时,该股的交易价格为1.41澳元。

随着项目的完成,股价开始上涨,黄金价格也开始上涨,在3月31日达到了每盎司1691澳元。

7月初,当摩羯座宣布其第一次黄金投资时,该公司的股价上涨了34%,达到1.89澳元,尽管金价(在5月和6月强劲上涨)仅上涨了90澳元/盎司(5%),达到1781澳元/盎司。

摩羯座的股价上个月继续上涨,得益于一笔可能成为该公司第二座矿山的收购交易。

截至发稿时,苹果手机的售价为2.14澳元,比4月份的低点1.30澳元高出了近65%。

的目的分析摩羯座是股价变动的一个经典的例子是发生在我的开发人员,因为它减少资产和投资者获得更大的舒适度,可以归结为一个关于新的资产观察:“它是承诺”。

Calidus的黄金之路

Calidus正以不同的方式在同一条路上行驶,因为Karlawinda和Warrawoona的卡车都在大北方高速公路上行驶,这条高速公路从BHP (ASX: BHP)的纽曼铁矿开采中心到黑德兰港。

这些项目也位于重生的皮尔巴拉金矿省,该地区正在启动De Grey Mining (ASX: DEG) 9Moz Mallina项目等世界级资产。

但投资者的关键问题是:摩羯座是一个业务,这位比Calidus虽然今天可能是真的因为一个公司有一个生产矿井,另一个是开始生产它可能不是真的与Warrawoona明年第二季度将在四月或倒第一枚五月

对卡利多斯的重新评级可能与摩羯座所享受的重新评级相似,因为他们是有更多共同点的公司,而不是他们的不同点。

最重要的共同点之一是,他们都在成本开始上升之前建造了自己的矿山,这意味着他们已经避开了可能挤压所有黄金生产商的钳子的一侧。挤压的另一面是黄金价格,除了锁定远期销售外,对此无能为力。

Calidus 董事总经理 David Reeves 告诉 Small Caps,今天开始建设的矿工的成本问题是一个重大问题——举个例子,内陆矿场广泛使用的多管增加了 30%,钢铁成本也急剧上升。

“艰难的时期即将到来,但我们已经完成了 50% 以上,并锁定了对冲(远期销售),以 2,355 澳元/盎司的价格覆盖 125,000 盎司黄金,”里夫斯说。

该远期价格几乎与当前澳大利亚黄金价格 2,352 澳元/盎司相同。

由于 Calidus 是一个小盘股,尽管最近的两份报告很有趣,但它并没有引起许多股票经纪人的注意。

Canaccord Genuity 对 Calidus 进行了投机性买入,目标价为 0.60 澳元,但该经纪人还提高了通过 Warrawoona 的扩张筹集资金的可能性。

Blue Ocean Equities 以 1.10 澳元的目标价进一步推高了这艘船,并告诉客户:“在我们看来,随着公司将 Warrawoona 投入生产,Calidus 的股价有望在未来 12 个月翻一番,即使金价上涨只是停留在今天的位置。”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Calidus Resources vs Capricorn Metals: a tale of two miners

Calidus Resources Capricorn Metals ASX CMM CAI gold miners Western Australia
The primary difference between Calidus Resources and Capricorn Metals is timing.

Gold’s 10% fall over the past three months has rubbed some of the gloss off the metal, but not the investment case of an emerging producer as this tale of two miners demonstrates.

In Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM) versus Calidus Resources (ASX: CAI) a number of interesting parallels (and one disconnection) can be seen with the primary cause of the difference being timing, though that’s an issue which invariably fixes itself.

The key to understanding what’s happened (and likely to happen next) is that Capricorn has finished building its Karlawinda project in Western Australia’s Pilbara, poured first gold, and enjoyed a share price boost.

Calidus’ Warrawoona development is also in the Pilbara, 200 kilometres north of Karlawinda, has a roughly similar ore grade, but is 10-months behind Capricorn’s timetable which means Calidus’ share price has not risen this year.

The similarities are interesting, but what’s particularly important from an investment perspective is that Capricorn, which has fully de-risked its mine and is now in business, has a stock market value of around $773 million versus Calidus, which is halfway through the building process and is valued at $182 million.

It is possible, after allowing for Karlawinda’s bigger resource, somewhat longer life expectancy, slightly lower costs per ounce, and extra ounces of production in the early years, that Capricorn is a business worth twice as much as Calidus – but it’s hard to argue that Capricorn should be four-times more valuable than Calidus.

Project comparisons

The key metrics of the two projects are:

  • Ore grade, Karlawinda 0.9 grams a tonne compared to Warrawoona 0.89g/t (rising to 1.21g/t in stage two when high grade ore from the Blue Spec mine will be added to the mix).
  • Karlawinda has a mineral resource estimate of 2.15 million ounces, Warrawoona’s resource is 1.5Moz.
  • Annual gold output of Karlawinda is between 110,000- 125,000oz, while Warrawoona’s is 90,000oz, rising to 130,000oz in stage two.
  • Life expectancy, Karlawinda 10-to-12 years versus Warrawoona eight years (with both likely to add years as exploration continues), and
  • All-in sustaining cost, Karlawinda A$1,140-1,190/oz compared to Warrawoona A$1,290/oz.

Timing is key

Timing, as mentioned earlier is the key to the four-fold value gap which lies between Calidus and Capricorn, because the two gold stocks appear to have more in common than differences.

The question for investors is to judge is whether (or when) the value gap will close and that’s a process of assessing risks which have multiple moving parts, not least the gold price itself and the discount always applied to mines yet to pour first gold.

Capricorn’s share price trend could be a useful starting point for a curious investor because it might also provide a clue to the future direction of Calidus’ share price.

In late March, as Capricorn’s Karlawinda mine moved within sight of completion the stock was trading at $1.41.

As the finishing touches were applied to the project the share price started to rise, as did the price of gold, which was US$1,691/oz on 31 March.

In early July, when Capricorn announced its first gold pour the company’s share price had risen by 34% to $1.89 even though the gold price (which did rise strongly over May and June) was up just US$90/oz (5%) at $1,781/oz.

Capricorn’s share price continued to move up last month, aided by a deal to buy what could become the company’s second mine.

At the time of writing, the price was $2.14 – almost 65% higher than its April low point of $1.30.

The purpose of analysing Capricorn is that it’s share price movements are a classic example of what happens to a mine developer as it de-risks an asset and investors acquire a greater comfort level which can be boiled down to a single observation about a new asset: “it works as promised”.

Calidus’ gold road

Calidus is travelling on the same road, in more ways than one, because both Karlawinda and Warrawoona are serviced by trucks using the Great Northern Highway, which runs from BHP’s (ASX: BHP) iron ore mining centre of Newman to Port Hedland.

The projects are also in the born-again Pilbara gold province which is starting the reveal world-class assets such as De Grey Mining’s (ASX: DEG) 9Moz Mallina project.

But the critical question for investors is whether Capricorn is a business that is four-times better than Calidus and while that might be true today because one company has a producing mine and the other is yet to start production it will probably not be true by the second quarter of next year with Warrawoona expected to pour first gold in April or May.

The re-rating to Calidus if/when it occurs could be similar to the re-rating enjoyed by Capricorn because they are companies with more in common than their differences.

One of the most important common points is that they both built their mines before costs started to rise which means they’ve dodged one side of the pincer which can squeeze all gold producers. The other side of the squeeze is the gold price and there’s not much which can be done about that except lock in forward sales.

Calidus managing director David Reeves told Small Caps the cost issue for miners starting construction today was a significant problem – citing a 30% increase in the polypipe used extensively on an outback mine site as an example, with the cost of steel also rising sharply.

“There are tougher times coming, but we’re more than 50% complete and have locked in hedges (forward sales) covering 125,000oz of gold at a price of A$2,355/oz,” Reeves said.

That forward price is almost identical to the current Australian gold price of A$2,352/oz.

Because Calidus is a small cap it hasn’t attracted the attention of many stockbrokers though two recent reports are interesting.

Canaccord Genuity has a speculative buy on Calidus and a price target of $0.60, but the broker also raised the possibility of a capital raising through the ramp up of Warrawoona.

Blue Ocean Equities pushed the boat out further with a price target of $1.10, telling clients: “In our view, Calidus’ share price is on track to double over the next 12 months as the company brings Warrawoona into production, even if the gold price simply stays where it is today.”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.