跟着镍的钱和那个叫”Twiggy”的人

Follow the money man nickel Andrew Forrest Twiggy
Andrew 'Twiggy' Forrest是高级镍勘探公司Mincor和Poseidon的主要股东。

随着镍价回升至每吨2万美元,镍摆脱了2月份20%暴跌的最糟糕局面,成为一个可以追随资金——以及“那个人”——的投资机会。

就镍这个小公司理想的高价值金属而言,他恰好是澳大利亚最富有的铁矿石亿万富翁之一安Andrew Forrest,又名Twiggy。

在这位来自珀斯的企业家通过Fortescue Metals Group (ASX: FMG)的惊人成功发家之前,Forrest一直是镍的忠实信徒,尽管他的Anaconda Nickel没能留下永久的名声。

早在20世纪90年代,当2007年镍价格开始攀升至5万美元/吨的历史高点时,Forrest就做出了一个不错的选择,但选择了错误的加工技术,一种技术复杂的高压酸浸系统(HPAL),这也骗过了BHP (ASX: BHP)的Ravensthorpe项目。

在今天的镍行业,一切旧的东西都是新的,Forrest通过在加拿大的大胆行动回到游戏中(以及购买一些小型澳大利亚玩家),Ravensthorpe是回到商业与一个大韩国公司购买的行动的一部分。

但镍的极端价格波动和改变游戏规则的技术历史也是一个警告。

它可能是一种变化无常的金属——它的名字最初是“kupfernickel”,在古德语中是“圣尼克的铜”的意思,也就是“魔鬼的铜”,因为它看起来有点像铜矿,但几乎不可能开采出来。

2月崩盘,新兴复兴

今年早些时候,Tsingshan Nickel股价暴跌20%,原因是该公司宣布在加工方面取得了突破,该公司说,这将低品位的矿石变成了高品位的产品。

镍币如今是一种正在经历非凡复兴的金属,这是因为镍币在数十年依赖单一市场之后,发展出了另一种主要用途——不锈钢,作为可充电电池的关键原料。

电动汽车的电池,以及无数的其他应用,是什么吸引Forrest回到他的第一次大的商业冒险的场景,与韩国最大的钢铁制造商浦项制铁,正通过Ravensthorpe的股份进入电池业务。

投资者面临的挑战是,随着镍行业重现繁荣时期的迹象出现,将Tsingshan, BHP 和 Posco等企业巨头所从事的高端行业与其它行业区分开来。

股市有待观望的较低端市场

Mincor (ASX: MCR)是一家在澳大利亚镍业之乡有着深厚根基的公司,位于Western Mining Corporation最初发现镍矿的西部内陆小镇Kambalda。在镍价下跌的几年里,Mincor迷失了方向,而黄金看起来是一个更好的选择。

去年,该公司的态度出现180度大转弯,从Kambalda的Cassini矿的开发开始,重回镍行业。挖掘这一富有矿体的工作已开始,首批镍矿将于明年初投放市场。

据估计,Cassini镍矿的使用寿命为每吨5170美元(每磅2.35美元),其产量将远低于当前的镍价,这意味着该公司应能在不到12个月内实现资本回报,并在2023年达到16000吨的峰值产量。

也许比金融更重要和地质细节是福勒斯特的存在Mincor股份登记持有15%的股份持有通过他Wyloo金属,同一公司车辆上周收购加拿大Noront资源的控制是一个关键在他计划创建一个电池金属业务在加拿大。

在经历了年初的疲软之后,Mincor的股价在过去两周上涨了0.06澳元,达到1澳元,这意味着该公司的股价仅为4.32亿澳元。

澳大利亚镍矿历史上的另一个名字是Poseidon (ASX: POS)。然而,这与1969年引发镍业繁荣的那次交易截然不同,那次交易曾推动Poseidon股价升至创纪录的250澳元,尽管时间很短。

新的Poseidon拥有Windarra山的原始发现,以及其他一些早期发现,如Black Swan 和 Golden Swan矿。

Poseidon的目标是在明年下半年首先恢复Black Swan矿的生产,随后将恢复其他矿的生产,同时也可能对老矿周围的镍富矿进行价值创造。

另外,Forrest持有该公司13.2%的股份,而Black Mountain,一家对澳大利亚资源有兴趣的美国公司,持有该公司19.6%的股份,该股份已经攀升至0.069澳元,对新Poseidon的估值为2.05亿澳元。

Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM)是一家较早涉足巴西矿产资源丰富地区的澳大利亚公司,该公司原本对Jambreiro铁矿石项目寄予厚望,但最终在Jaguar镍矿项目上碰运气。

捷豹由巴西最大的矿业公司Vale发现,当时被认为规模太小,不适合一家拥有大量铁矿石的公司。两年前,Jaguar以700万美元的价格将其卖给了Centaurus,在今天看来,这一价格实在太便宜了。

Jaguar资源基地的勘探成功,以及金属加工的突破,应该会看到Centaurus公司实现生产电池级硫化镍的增值奖,显著提高了该矿和公司的前景。

Centaurus今年2月曾遭遇大幅抛售,当时Tsingshan在市场上打出了镍加工牌,但最近股价回升至0.69澳元,使该公司的估值达到2.37亿澳元。

镍界小公司

在镍勘探领域,值得关注的其他三家小型公司包括:

澳大利亚Auroch Minerals (ASX: AOU)是一家位于西澳大利亚州Coolgardie附近历史悠久的Nepean镍矿附近的公司。具有历史意义的Nepean镍矿是澳大利亚第二个镍矿。在股价徘徊在0.20澳元的情况下,Auroch的估值为5400万澳元。

Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS)是另一个雄心勃勃的新公司。该公司拥有一支信誉良好的管理团队,并希望将西澳大利亚州西北部沿海城镇Roebourne附近的Andover镍矿变成西澳大利亚州南部Nova矿的翻版。

一个共同的线索是,Nova 和 Andover都有传奇的勘探者Mark Creasy作为他们进化背后的关键人物。

即将在澳大利亚证交所上市的是首次公开募股的Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8)。该公司以Kambalda早期的一座镍矿命名,具有多重特点。

该公司还拥有南非大型金矿商Gold Fields作为基石投资者,也是Mincor公司创始人之一Ian Junk的关键人物。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Follow the money in nickel and the man ‘Twiggy’

Follow the money man nickel Andrew Forrest Twiggy
Andrew 'Twiggy' Forrest is a major shareholder in advanced nickel explorers Mincor and Poseidon.

With a price moving back towards US$20,000 a tonne, nickel has shrugged off the worst of a 20% crash in February and become an investment opportunity where you can follow the money – and “the man”.

In the case of nickel, a high value metal ideal for small companies, the man happens to be one of Australia’s richest, the iron ore billionaire, Andrew Forrest, also known as Twiggy.

Before the Perth-based entrepreneur made his fortune through the outrageous success of Fortescue Metals Group (ASX: FMG), Forrest was a true believer in nickel, though he failed to make a permanent mark with his Anaconda Nickel.

Back in the 1990s Forrest made a good choice with nickel as it started a move to an all-time high of US$50,000/t in 2007, but picked the wrong processing technology, a technically complex system called high-pressure, acid-leach (HPAL) which also fooled BHP (ASX: BHP) at its Ravensthorpe project.

In nickel today, everything old is new again, with Forrest back in the game through a bold move in Canada (as well as buying into a number of small Australian players), and Ravensthorpe is back in business with a big Korean company buying a slice of the action.

But the history of nickel with its extreme price moves and game-changing technologies is also a warning.

It can be a fickle metal – all the way down to its name which was originally “kupfernickel” old German for St Nick’s copper, or the devil’s copper because it looked a bit like copper ore but was almost impossible to extract.

February crash, emerging renaissance

The 20% price crash earlier this year was caused by a Chinese company, Tsingshan Nickel, announcing a processing breakthrough, which it said turned low-grade ore into a high-grade product.

Nickel today is a metal enjoying an extraordinary renaissance thanks to it developing a second major use as a key ingredient in rechargeable batteries after relying for decades on a single market, stainless steel.

Batteries for electric vehicles, and a zillion other applications, is what’s drawn Forrest back to the scene of his first big business adventure, along with Posco, Korea’s biggest steel maker which is charging into the battery business through a stake in Ravensthorpe.

The challenge for investors is separating what’s happening at the top end where the corporate elephants such as Tsingshan, BHP and Posco are playing, from other players as signs emerge of a return to boom-time conditions in nickel.

Stocks to watch at smaller end of the market

Mincor (ASX: MCR) is a company with deep roots in the home of Australian nickel, in the WA outback town of Kambalda where Western Mining Corporation made its original discovery. Mincor lost its way for a few years when the nickel price fell, and gold looked a better bet.

A U-turn last year led the company back to nickel, starting with the development of the Cassini mine at Kambalda. Digging to the reach the rich orebody has started with first nickel hitting the market early next year.

With life of mine costs estimated at US$5,170/t (US$2.35 a pound) Cassini will be producing well below the current nickel price, which means it should achieve a capital payback in less than 12-months with peak production of 16,000t of metal reached in 2023.

Perhaps more important than the financial and geological detail is the presence of Forrest on the Mincor share register with a 15% stake held through his Wyloo Metals, the same corporate vehicle which last week bid for control of Canada’s Noront Resources which is a key in his plans to create a battery metals business in Canada.

After a weak start to the year, Mincor’s shares have been moving up with a $0.06 rise over the past two weeks to $1, which values the stock at a modest $432 million.

Another name in Australia’s nickel mining history is Poseidon (ASX: POS). However, it’s a very different business to the one which triggered the 1969 nickel boom that spurred Poseidon shares to a record $250, albeit briefly.

The new Poseidon owns the original discovery at Mt Windarra along with a number of other early discoveries such as the Black Swan and Golden Swan mines.

Poseidon aims to first restart production at Black Swan in the second half of next year with other mines to follow while value creation is also possible for ongoing exploration in the nickel rich areas around the old mines.

Adding to interest in Poseidon is that man again, Forrest, who is sitting on a 13.2% stake while Black Mountain, a US company with an appetite for Australian resources has a 19.6% stake in the stock which has crept up to $0.069 to value the new Poseidon at $205 million.

An early Australian player in the rich mineral fields of Brazil, Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM) originally had high hopes for its Jambreiro iron ore project but has struck it lucky with the Jaguar nickel project.

Discovered by Vale, Brazil’s biggest miner, Jaguar was considered too small for a company steeped in iron ore, selling it two years ago to Centaurus for what today looks like a bargain basement US$7 million.

Exploration success in expanding Jaguar’s resource base, and a metal processing breakthrough, which should see Centaurus achieve the value-added prize of producing battery grade nickel sulphide, has significantly enhanced the outlook for the mine, and the company.

Centaurus suffered a sharp sell-off in February when Tsingshan played its market roiling nickel processing card but has recovered recently to a share price of $0.69 to value the company at $237 million.

Nickel minnows

Three other small players in the nickel exploration sector worth keeping an eye on include:

A company with its foot on tenements surrounding the historic Nepean nickel mine near Coolgardie in WA is Auroch Minerals (ASX: AOU). The historic Nepean mine has the distinction of being Australia’s second nickel mine. With a share price hovering around $0.20 Auroch has a minnow’s valuation of $54 million.

Azure Minerals (ASX: AZS) is another junior with big ambitions. The company has a well credentialled management team and a vision to turn the Andover nickel discovery near the northwest WA coastal town of Roebourne into a replica of the Nova mine in WA’s south.

A common thread is that both Nova and Andover have legendary prospector Mark Creasy as the key man behind their evolution.

Heading to the ASX soon, is IPO Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8), which has the multiple distinctions of being named after an early Kambalda nickel mine.

The company also has the big South African gold miner, Gold Fields, as a cornerstone investor and key man in the creation of Mincor, Ian Junk, a as a co-founder.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.