投资稀土可不适合胆小的人

Rare earths Lynas China investing ASX
投资稀土可能会带来回报,但也伴随着风险。

稀土不是稀有的,也不是稀土,但它们肯定是政治性的,这是日益咄咄逼人的中国的政治,这使得稀土家族中的17种金属对投资者来说是一个有利可图但高风险的行业。

Lynas Rare Earths (ASX: LYC)是这场博弈的主要澳大利亚参与者,也是中国和马来西亚过去几次政治博弈的幸存者。

Lynas Rare Earths (ASX: LYC)的繁荣-萧条-繁荣的故事既激励了投资,也警告了涉足一个需求强劲但高度专业化的行业的风险,这个行业与化学加工的关系更大,而不是采矿。

对于投资者来说,还有一个额外的问题,那就是如何从众多渴望追随Lynas的公司中选出赢家。Lynas目前市值64亿澳元,是一家市值中等的矿商,而且正日益壮大。

Lynas取得的成就对于一家澳大利亚公司来说是非凡的——首先是在10年前中国对稀土市场的操纵中幸存下来,然后是在澳大利亚和马来西亚建立了世界级的采矿和加工业务,并将在美国成立子公司。

2011年,在第一次稀土市场繁荣期间,Lynas的股价曾一度涨至24.50澳元,原因是中国在与日本就渔业权发生争端期间对其出口实施了禁运,但五年后,中国释放了大量过剩稀土,导致股价暴跌至0.30澳元。

中国的举动让Lynas感到不安,就像日本科技公司一样,他们的大多数设备都使用稀土。

这导致两家科技公司达成了一项特殊目的融资协议,帮助Lynas开发西澳的Mt Weld矿,随后在马来西亚建立了一个加工厂。

这个看似巧妙的解决方案可以避开中国对稀土产业的全面控制,但随后却与马来西亚政治发生冲突,并引发了对稀土残留物中放射性废料的担忧,导致Lynas非同寻常的历史进入了当前阶段,该计划包括在维尔德山附近建立一个一级加工设施,并在美国建立一个先进的加工中心。

投资稀土是有风险的

Lynas的历史给稀土类股票的潜在投资者敲响了警钟,因为这并不是一门简单的生意,尽管家族中某些金属的本质(尤其是钕和镨)已广为人知,但世界并不需要太多。

目前,全球稀土氧化物总产量约为每年15万吨,大约足以装满一艘进入澳大利亚煤炭和铁矿石港口的散装货船的一半。

即便是每年消耗稀土的价值也在50亿澳元左右,这在采矿业的衡量标准中是适中的,这也解释了为什么矿业巨头如BHP (ASX: BHP) 和 Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)对稀土不感兴趣。

层的挑战之后,从这一事实蕴藏丰富的稀土很难找到,通常包含环境具有挑战性的元素,如铀,是非常困难的过程,并且需要专业的营销技巧虽然所有中国有权决定价格,和风险更加明显。

并未对新兴稀土的挑战有很多成功的故事在不同演化阶段的所有鼓励Lynas的最新季度业绩包括增加44%的销售和公司的现金余额1.12亿澳元上升,达到6.808亿澳元。

一个新兴的稀土成功故事

如果Lynas绝对不是小盘股,那么下一只股票的市值也将走向小盘股退出。

就像Lynas利用与日本达成的“回避中国”协议来实现增长一样,Australian Strategic Materials (ASX: ASM)也利用与渴望确保本国稀土供应的韩国企业组成的财团达成了类似的协议。

韩国人将以2.5亿美元收购ASM在新南威尔士州西部的Dubbo项目20%的股份。尽管Dubbo矿体(30多年前发现的)富含多种元素,包括氧化锆和铌,但钕才是主要吸引人的元素。

自今年年初以来,ASM的股价上涨了33%,从6.58澳元涨到了8.70澳元,该公司的市值为12亿澳元。

较小的稀土在澳大利亚证券交易所上市

稀土行业排名的下降揭示了投资者可以考虑的公司种类,包括:

Hastings Technology Metals (ASX: HAS),该公司正计划开发西澳大利亚州Gascoyne地区的Yangibana稀土矿床。

该项目富含高价值的钕和镨,目前正在进行销售和融资谈判,目标是在2023年底投产。与去年同期相比,该公司股价上涨了45%,但自1月份以来就一直停留在0.19澳元,这一价格使该公司市值达到3.21亿澳元。

另一个已经在计划阶段很长时间的稀土公司是Northern Minerals (ASX: NTU)。

目前,该公司在西澳大利亚州北部的Browns Range项目已经实现了有限的生产,目前正在开发一套矿石分选系统,朝着商业规模的矿石加工迈进。今年早些时候的2,000万澳元融资意味着该公司股价一直稳定在0.04澳元左右,对该公司的估值为1.93亿澳元。

Arafura Resources (ASX: ARU)也利用投资者对稀土的兴趣,上个月成功筹集了4000万澳元,用于支付其在NT诺兰项目的前端工程和设计工作。

今年5月发布的一份最新的可行性研究报告显示,开发诺兰的成本将为10亿澳元,以该公司最新的0.13澳元股价计算,该公司目前的股价为1.77亿澳元,与年初的价格相同。

本月早些时候,Vital Metals (ASX: VML)吸引了人们的注意。该公司报道称,其位于加拿大西北地区的Nechalacho项目稀土产量有限,此举使该公司获得了加拿大第一家稀土生产商的头衔。

下一阶段的工作包括矿石分选和材料运输到萨斯喀彻温省的加工设施。市场上,Vital的市值已从年初的0.03亿澳元上升至0.049澳元,估值为2.07亿澳元。

另一家先进的勘探公司是Peak Resources (ASX: PEK),该公司已经完成了对其在坦桑尼亚的Ngualla稀土项目的可行性研究。它计划在英国的一家炼油厂加工本地生产的精矿,在那里它将接近客户。在市场上,Peak已经从年初的0.07澳元上升到0.12澳元,使其市值达到2.19亿澳元左右。

RareX (ASX: REE)刚刚报告了其在西澳金伯利地区康明斯Range项目的重大资源升级,该矿体含有高含量的钕、镨和钪。

一家规模较小的稀土公司的勘探业务仍有进一步增长的潜力,该公司目前的交易价格约为0.092澳元,市值约为4,300万澳元。

Australian Rare Earths (ASX: AR3)提出要在澳大利亚稀土行业开辟新的市场。

该公司正在探索从南澳大利亚州和维多利亚州边境附近地区的粘土中提取稀土的可能性。理论上,粘土类稀土的开采成本更低,放射性元素含量也更低。自7月1日以0.30澳元的价格浮动以来(首次交易价格为0.55澳元),该股票已升至0.76澳元,使该实体的价值约为3300万澳元。

其他对稀土有兴趣的股票包括正在乌干达Makuutu项目进行勘探的Ionic Rare Earths (ASX: IXR)(股价0.028澳元,股票价值9800万澳元),以及正在努力恢复格陵兰Ivittuut冰晶石矿的Eclipse Metals (ASX: EPM)。

这座具有历史意义的矿山在生产了120年之后于1987年关闭,据信这里盛产稀土(股价0.021澳元,市值4100万澳元)。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Investing in rare earths is not for the faint-hearted

Rare earths Lynas China investing ASX
Investing in rare earths can be rewarding, but it comes with risks.

Rare earths are not rare, nor are they earths, but they are certainly political, and it’s the politics of an increasingly aggressive China which has made the 17 metals in the rare earth family a profitable, but high-risk sector for investors.

Lynas Rare Earths (ASX: LYC), the leading Australian player in the game, is also a survivor of past bouts of political games played in China and Malaysia.

The boom-bust-boom story of Lynas is both an incentive to invest and a warning about the hazards of becoming involved in an industry which is enjoying strong demand but is highly specialised, and has a lot more to do with chemical processing than mining.

For investors there is the added problem of picking a winner out of a big field of players keen to follow Lynas which, at a market value of $6.4 billion, is a mid-cap miner, and getting bigger by the day.

What Lynas has achieved is remarkable for an Australian company – first by surviving Chinese manipulation of the rare earth market a decade ago and then by building a world-class mining and processing operation in Australia and Malaysia with a US arm to come.

Back in 2011, during the first rare earths boom, Lynas shares traded up to $24.50 thanks to China slapping an embargo on its exports during a dispute with Japan over fishing rights, before plunging to $0.30 five years later when China unleashed a flood of surplus material.

What China did rattled Lynas as much as it did Japanese technology companies, which use rare earths in most of their devices.

This resulted in the technology companies creating a special purpose funding deal to help Lynas develop the Mt Weld mine in WA, followed by a processing facility in Malaysia.

What looked like a neat solution to dodge total Chinese control of the rare earths business then ran foul of Malaysian politics and a fear of radioactive waste in the rare earth residue, leading to the current phase in the extraordinary history of Lynas, which involves building a first-stage processing facility close to Mt Weld and an advanced processing centre in the US.

Investing in rare earths comes with risks

The history of Lynas serves as a warning for potential investor in rare earth stocks because it is not an easy business and despite the publicity associated with the essential nature of some metals in the family (especially neodymium and praseodymium) the world doesn’t want a lot.

Total global rare earth oxide production today is running at about 150,000 tonnes a year, roughly enough to half fill a bulk carrier of the sort which calls into Australian coal and iron ore ports.

Even the annual value of the material consumed amounts to around US$5 billion which is modest by mining industry measures, and explains why the mining majors such as BHP (ASX: BHP) and Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO) are not interested in rare earths.

Once you layer on the challenges, starting with the fact that rich deposits of rare earths are hard to find, often contain environmentally challenging elements such as uranium, are devilishly difficult to process, and require specialist marketing skills while all the time China has the power to dictate prices, and the risks become more obvious.

Undeterred by the challenge there are a number of emerging rare earth success stories in different stages of evolution with all encouraged by the latest quarterly results from Lynas which included a 44% increase in sales and a $112 million rise in the company’s cash balance which stands at $680.8 million.

An emerging rare earth success story

If Lynas is definitely not a small cap the next stock in terms of market value is also heading for the small cap exit.

In the same way Lynas leveraged its growth off a “China-dodging” deal with Japan, Australian Strategic Materials (ASX: ASM) is leveraging a similar deal with a consortium of Korean companies keen to secure their own supplies of rare earths.

The Koreans are paying US$250 million for a 20% stake in ASM’s Dubbo project in western New South Wales and while the Dubbo orebody (which was discovered more than 30 years ago) is rich in a variety of elements, including zirconia and niobium, it’s the neodymium that’s the main attractions.

Since the start of the year, ASM’s share price has risen by 33% from $6.58 to $8.70, valuing the business at $1.2 billion.

Smaller rare earth plays on the ASX

A step down in rare earth pecking order reveals an assortment of companies for an investor to consider, including:

Hastings Technology Metals (ASX: HAS), which is planning the development of the Yangibana rare earth deposit in the Gascoyne region of WA.

Rich in high value neodymium and praseodymium, the project is the subject of ongoing sales and financing negotiations with the aim of being in production in late 2023. The stock is up 45% on its share price at this time last year, but has been stuck at $0.19 since January – a price which values the business at $321 million.

Another rare earth player which has been in the planning stage for a long time is Northern Minerals (ASX: NTU).

The company has now achieved limited production at its Browns Range project in the north of WA and is now working on an ore-sorting system as it moves towards commercial scale ore processing. A $20 million capital raising earlier this year means the share price has been flat at around $0.04, valuing the business at $193 million.

Arafura Resources (ASX: ARU) has also take advantage of investor interest in rare earths by successfully raising $40 million last month to help pay for front-end engineering and design work on its Nolans project in the NT.

An updated definitive feasibility study was released in May which indicated it would cost $1 billion to develop Nolans, a heavy lift for a stock valued at $177 million on its latest share price of $0.13 – the same price at the start of the year.

Vital Metals (ASX: VML) attracted attention earlier this month when it reported limited production of rare earths at its Nechalacho project in the Northwest Territories of Canada, a move which allowed the company to claim the title of Canada’s first rare earths producer.

The next stages of work include ore sorting and the transport of material to processing facility in Saskatchewan. On the market, Vital has moved up from $0.03c at the start of the year to $0.049, valuing the business at $207 million.

Another advanced explorer is Peak Resources (ASX: PEK), which has completed a bankable feasibility study into its Ngualla rare earths project in Tanzania. It plans to process a locally made concentrate at a refinery in Britain where it will be close to customers. On the market, Peak has risen from $0.07 at the start of the year to $0.12 – giving Peak a market cap of around $219 million.

RareX (ASX: REE) has just reported a major resource upgrade at its Cummins Range project in the Kimberley region of WA with the orebody containing high levels of neodymium, praseodymium and scandium.

Exploration is continuing with the potential for further growth by one of the smaller rare earth players which is trading around $0.092, giving the business a market cap of around $43 million.

A new listing, which proposed to break fresh ground in the Australian rare earth sector is Australian Rare Earths (ASX: AR3).

The company is exploring the potential for extracting rare earths from clays in a region close to the border of South Australia and Victoria. In theory, clay-hosted rare earths are cheaper to mine and lower in radioactive elements. Since floating at $0.30 on 1 July (with first trades at $0.55), the stock has risen to $0.76 giving the entity a value of about $33 million.

Other stocks with rare earth interests include Ionic Rare Earths (ASX: IXR) which is exploring the Makuutu project in Uganda (share price $0.028, stock value $98 million), and Eclipse Metals (ASX: EPM) which is working towards a revival of the Ivittuut cryolite mine in Greenland.

The historic mine closed in 1987 after 120 years of production and is believed to host rare earths (share price $0.021, market cap $41 million).

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.