随着澳大利亚ASIC批准加密ETF,比特币大获成功

Bitcoin Ethereum CRYP crypto ETF Australian Securities and Investments Commission ASIC Betashares
ASIC提供的新指导意见将允许创建直接投资于比特币和以太坊等加密货币的ETF。

随着澳大利亚ASIC批准加密ETF,比特币大获成功

ASIC提供的新指导意见将允许创建直接投资于比特币和以太坊等加密货币的etf。

经过多年的等待,希望投资加密货币资产而不承担直接购买比特币风险的澳大利亚人终于有了机会,即将推出的一系列加密货币交易所交易产品。

澳大利亚企业监管机构澳大利亚证券和投资委员会(ASIC)终于批准了一系列加密货币相关的etf,未来几个月,比特币和以太坊支持的投资基金将在澳大利亚证券交易所交易。

此前,经过漫长的监管程序,美国推出了首只比特币期货ETF,今年早些时候还成功推出了一只加拿大ETF。

第一个在ASX上市的本地ETF可能是澳大利亚基金管理公司BetaShares,该公司一直在与那些对一种由一系列全球加密公司组成的交易所交易产品感兴趣的人签约。

CRYP正在争抢上市机会

该基金的股票代码为ASX的crypp,最早可能于下周上市,并将提供一系列资产负债表深深植根于加密资产的“纯业务”加密公司的敞口,以及专注于加密业务的多元化公司。

涵盖加密交易所交易产品的ASIC新指导方针包括一些保护措施,应该保护投资者免受一些更严重的丑闻的困扰,这些丑闻一直困扰着加密行业。

严格的安全准则

提供加密ETF的公司需要同意一套最佳实践指导方针,包括围绕资产托管的严格规则,包括加密货币私钥的保护和存储。

这些密钥将需要保存在冷库中,不能与互联网连接,因为存放密钥的钱包受到“强大的物理安全措施”的约束。

还需要在不同的地理位置进行多个备份和存储。

加密资产的托管机构还将被要求拥有更高级别的网络安全协议,ASIC表示,如果投资者的加密资产丢失或被盗,预计提供加密etf的基金将为投资者提供某种形式的补偿。

基金还需要申请一项扩大的金融服务许可证,专门允许托管加密资产。

ASX的角色将限制提供的货币

ASX还将被要求评估哪些加密货币可以被ETF接受,包括机构支持,确保为该资产提供多家信誉良好的服务提供商,成熟的现货市场,受监管的期货市场和透明的定价机制。

这可能会限制两种最大加密货币——比特币和以太坊的首次发行,不过随着时间的推移,其他货币可能会符合要求。

该基金计划将85%的投资投资于那些收入直接来自加密货币市场服务的公司,或至少75%的资产持有加密货币,如加密货币交易平台、矿工和为其提供设备的企业。

该指数剩余的15%将由对多元化的大型公司的投资组成,这些公司至少通过一条业务线与加密生态系统有重叠。

其中包括美国最大的加密货币交易所Coinbase、比特币采矿公司Riot区块链(Riot)和商业智能公司Microstrategy (MSTR)。

澳大利亚人已经开始投资虚拟币了

BetaShares首席执行官Alex Vynokur表示,近200万澳大利亚人已经直接投资于加密货币,但一旦有可用的资金,而不会带来直接投资于代币的投机风险,市场应该会扩大。

他表示,Betashares基金希望专注于为投资者带来加密生态系统中最好的“创新者”,以“挑拣和铲式的方式”挑战多个行业。

今年早些时候,加拿大成为世界上第一个上市比特币ETF的国家,在一个月内积累了超过10亿美元的资产。上周,美国紧随其后,首只比特币期货ETF在纽约证券交易所(New York Stock Exchange)挂牌交易。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Bitcoin hits the big time as ASIC approves crypto ETFs in Australia

Bitcoin Ethereum CRYP crypto ETF Australian Securities and Investments Commission ASIC Betashares
The new guidance provided by ASIC will allow for the creation of ETFs that directly invest in cryptocurrencies such as Bitcoin and Ethereum.

After years of waiting, Australians who want to invest in cryptocurrency assets without running the risk of directly buying coins will finally get their chance with the looming launch of a raft of crypto-focussed exchange traded products.

Australia’s corporate regulator, the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC), has finally allowed for a range of cryptocurrency-related ETFs, which should see Bitcoin and Ethereum-backed investment funds trading on the ASX in the coming months.

That move follows the launch of the first Bitcoin futures ETF in the US, after a protracted regulatory process, and the successful launch of a Canadian ETF earlier this year.

The first local ETF out of the blocks on the ASX is likely to be Australian fund manager BetaShares, which has been signing up those interested in an exchange-traded product that consists of a range of global crypto companies.

CRYP racing to get a listing

Using the ASX ticker CRYP, the fund may be floated as early as this coming week and will offer exposures to a range of “pure-play” crypto companies with balance sheets that are deeply entrenched in crypto assets, along with diversified companies with a crypto focus.

The new ASIC guidelines covering crypto exchange-traded products include a number of safeguards which should protect investors from some of the more serious scandals that have plagued the crypto industry.

Strict guidelines for security

Companies offering crypto ETF’s would need to agree to a set of best practice guidelines, including strict rules around asset custody, including the protection and storage of cryptocurrency private keys.

Such keys would need to remain in cold storage and not connected to the internet with wallets in which the keys are stored are subject to “robust physical security practices”.

Several backups will also need to be made and stored in geographically separate locations.

Custodians for crypto assets will also be required to have heightened cybersecurity protocols, and ASIC said it expects funds that offer crypto ETFs to account for some form of compensation for investors if their crypto-assets are lost or stolen.

Funds will also need to apply for an expanded financial services license that specifically permits the custody of crypto assets.

ASX role will limit coins offered

The ASX will also be required to assess which cryptocurrencies are acceptable for an ETF, including institutional support, ensuring a number of reputable service providers for the asset, a mature spot market, a regulated futures market and transparent pricing mechanisms.

That is likely to limit initial offerings to the two biggest cryptocurrencies, Bitcoin and Ethereum, although other coins may fit the bill over time.

The Betashares fund is planned to have 85% of its investments in companies whose revenue comes directly from servicing cryptocurrency markets, or have at least 75% of their assets in crypto holdings, like crypto trading platforms, miners, and the businesses that supply their equipment.

The remaining 15% of the index will be made up of investments in diversified large cap companies that have overlap with the crypto ecosystem through at least one line of business.

Some of those include Coinbase, the largest US-based cryptocurrency exchange (COIN), the Bitcoin mining company Riot Blockchain (RIOT), and business intelligence firm Microstrategy (MSTR).

Australians investing in coins already

BetaShares CEO Alex Vynokur has said that almost two million Australians have already invested in cryptocurrency directly but the market should expand once there are funds available that don’t come with the speculative risk of investing directly in tokens.

He said the Betashares fund wanted to focus on bringing investors the best of the crypto ecosystem’s “innovators” in a bid to challenge a number of industries with a “pick and shovel approach”.

Canada became the first country in the world to list a Bitcoin ETF earlier this year, amassing more than $US1 billion in assets in a single month. The US followed that lead last week, when the first bitcoin futures ETF debuted trading on the New York Stock Exchange.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.