澳大利亚煤矿公司是否超卖?

Coal ASX Australia mining companies stocks energy
根据主要投资银行的计算,澳交所一些煤炭股票的交易价格接近其价值的一半。

“逐步淘汰”一种大宗商品的承诺与“逐步淘汰”一种大宗商品的提议之间存在天壤之别,这是重新审视过度销售的澳大利亚煤矿公司的一个原因。

尽管没有得到广泛的研究,因为它们在道德上已经不正确,但一些煤炭股票的交易价格接近领先投资银行计算的一半。

例如,根据六家银行的一致估值,Whitehaven Coal (ASX: WHC)的股价可能会上涨60%,如果Credit Suisse给出的4.50澳元的价格预测正确的话,该公司的股价可能会上涨81%,而该公司最近的出售价格为2.49澳元。

根据共识预测,Coronado Global Resources (ASX: CRN) 和 New Hope Corporation (ASX: NHC)的资本收益可能分别为55%和41%,科罗纳多公司(瑞士信贷)的资本收益可能高达76%,新希望公司的资本收益可能高达91%(麦格理银行的预测)。

宽阔的估值差距在煤炭行业的高端几乎肯定适用于更薄研究小末煤股票如Stanmore Resources (ASX: SMR), Allegiance Coal (ASX: AHQ), Bathurst Resources (ASX: BRL), Bowen Coking Coal (BCB), 和 Montem Resources (ASX: MR1)可以被发现。

有道德的投资者不会接近污染最严重的化石燃料——煤炭,但只要它仍然是世界大多数地区的主要能源来源,它将是一个有利可图的行业。

逐步淘汰与逐步减少

虽然人们普遍认为煤炭将很快从能源市场上淡出,但这不大可能发生,因为最近结束的格拉斯哥COP26气候变化会议的最后公报在最后一刻将措辞从“逐步淘汰”改为“逐步减少”。

世界上人口最多的两个国家,中国和印度,反对一项要求它们停止使用煤炭的国际协议。他们要求一个更温和的措辞,以允许继续使用这种燃料,直到找到可行的替代品。

世界顶级大宗商品交易商之一表示,欧洲也发现很难摆脱对煤炭的依赖,由于电力短缺引发轮流停电,预计未来几个月需求(和价格)将大幅上升。

Trafigura首席执行官Jeremy Weir本周在伦敦的一个会议上表示,由于天然气供应紧张,欧洲面临着一个暗淡、能源短缺的冬季,而煤炭消费可能会增加。

美国也有类似的情况,尽管政府加强了限制供应的监管,却没有解决价格等式的另一边:需求,但本周煤炭价格还是创下了12年新高。

Moody ‘s Investors Service副总裁Ben Nelson周三对英国《金融时报》表示,“煤炭行业无法对市场状况的改善做出足够迅速的反应”,在一段时间的投资不足之后,煤炭价格居高不下,这阻碍了煤炭行业迅速提高产量的能力。

公用事业被迫恢复使用煤炭

《联合国气候变化框架公约》第26次缔约方会议的代表们对煤炭的攻击被广泛报道,但他们忽视了一个问题:市场是否有能力适应压力,就像气球一端被挤压,另一端却会膨胀一样。

在煤的情况下,动力是试图限制生产的组合(特别是在中国和欧洲),却没有意识到选择不能填补缺口导致的天然气的价格记录,反过来,迫使电力公司和工厂操作员切换回煤。

可再生能源最终应该在整个能源结构中扮演重要角色,但它还不能胜任这项工作。

迫使银行停止放贷,煤炭也证明是无攻击了在上周的能力小Stanmore股票市值2.89亿澳元购买安全的投资基金支持的两个BHP (ASX: BHP)在昆士兰炼焦煤矿为18亿澳元。

这笔交易,和其他类似,反燃煤人士质疑的另一个原因是他们的战术,因为不仅有一个新的融资途径被打开,绕过银行,但Stanmore极有可能增加煤炭生产偿还债务而必和必拓可能会停止生产。

尽管煤炭的高碳污染和气候运动人士的激烈批评导致了其糟糕的公众声誉,但现实是,世界上很多地方(尤其是中国、印度和非洲)的煤炭需求继续上升,远远抵消了西方世界的小幅下降。

尽管有清洁能源的推动,煤炭需求仍在攀升

Credit Suisse在本月早些时候发表的一份研究报告中说,由于能源缺口超过了气候因素,对煤炭的需求正在攀升。

该银行表示,10月中旬火煤价格飙升至每吨250美元(合343澳元)的近纪录高位,反映出中国煤炭短缺。

电煤海运价格已回落至170美元/吨(合234澳元/吨)左右,目前处于未来12个月的价格水平,是今年早些时候价格的两倍多,比2020年58美元/吨(合80澳元/吨)高出近200%。

随着时间的推移,动力煤的市场份额将被风能和太阳能等可再生能源夺走,但Credit Suisse认为,对新动力煤矿的投资不足“至少在十年中期之前,应该会将价格支撑在每吨100美元(合137澳元)以上,因为从碳燃料的转变将是缓慢的”。

不受欢迎的煤炭公司实际上已经变成了摇钱树,就像烟草公司在被禁止做广告后获得了巨大成功一样,随着香烟销售在发展中国家(如果不是西方国家的话)迅速增长,烟草公司在营销活动上节省的资金直接流入了利润。

在煤炭行业,未来几年可能会受到无休止的批评,尽管高股价和强劲的股息会让股东感到欣慰。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Are Australian coal mining companies oversold?

Coal ASX Australia mining companies stocks energy
Some ASX coal stocks are trading at close to half their value as calculated by leading investment banks.

There is a world of difference between a commitment to “phase-out” a commodity, and a proposal to “phase-down” a commodity, which is a reason for taking a fresh look at heavily oversold Australian coal mining companies.

While not widely researched because they have become ethically incorrect, some coal stocks are trading at close to half their value as calculated by leading investment banks.

Whitehaven Coal (ASX: WHC), for example, could enjoy a 60% share price increase according to the consensus valuation of six banks, and perhaps as high as an 81% increase if Credit Suisse is right with a price tip of $4.50 versus the stock’s latest sales at $2.49.

Coronado Global Resources (ASX: CRN) and New Hope Corporation (ASX: NHC) could potentially deliver a 55% and 41% capital gain respectively based on consensus forecasts or as much as 76% for Coronado (Credit Suisse) or 91% for New Hope (Macquarie Bank’s forecast).

The wide valuation gaps at the top end of the coal sector almost certainly apply to the even more thinly researched small end of coal where stocks such as Stanmore Resources (ASX: SMR), Allegiance Coal (ASX: AHQ), Bathurst Resources (ASX: BRL), Bowen Coking Coal (BCB), and Montem Resources (ASX: MR1) can be found.

Ethical investors will not go anywhere near coal, the most polluting of fossil fuels, but so long as it remains a major source of energy for most of the world it will be a profitable business.

Phase out vs phase down

While a popular view might be that coal will soon fade from the energy market, that’s unlikely to happen thanks to the last-minute change in wording from “phase out” to “phase down” in the final communique from the recently concluded COP26 climate change conference in Glasgow.

The two most heavily populated countries in the world, China and India, objected to an international agreement which would have required them to stop using coal. They demanded a softer wording which will permit the ongoing use of the fuel, until viable replacements are found.

Europe too is finding it hard to kick the coal habit with demand (and price) expected to rise sharply over the next few months as power shortages trigger rolling blackouts, according to one of the world’s top commodity traders.

Trafigura chief executive officer Jeremy Weir told a conference in London this week that Europe faced a bleak, energy-short winter, caused by tight gas supplies which is likely to see an increase coal consumption.

It’s a similar picture in the United States where coal prices this week hit a 12-year high despite toughening government regulations to limit supply without addressing the flipside of the price equation: demand.

Moody’s Investors Service vice president Ben Nelson told the Financial Times newspaper on Wednesday that “the coal industry cannot respond quickly enough to improved market conditions”, with high prices following a sustained period of under investment which has hampered the ability to quickly lift production.

Utilities forced to revert back to coal

What COP26 delegates overlooked in their widely reported attacks on coal is the ability of a market to adjust to pressures in the same way a balloon responds to being squeezed at one end only to bulge at the other.

In the case of coal, the driving force is a combination of attempts to limit production (especially in China and Europe) without recognising that the alternatives cannot plug the shortfall leading to record prices for natural gas which have, in turn, forced power utilities and factory operators to switch back to coal.

Renewables, which should eventually play a prominent role in the overall energy mix are simply not up to the job, yet.

Forcing banks to stop lending to coal is also proving to be a toothless attack as demonstrated in last week’s ability of tiny Stanmore with a stock market value of $289 million to secure investment fund support to buy two of BHP’s (ASX: BHP) coking coal mines in Queensland for $1.8 billion.

The deal, and others like it, is another reason for anti-coal campaigners to question their tactics because not only has a new financing avenue been opened which bypasses banks, but Stanmore is highly likely to increase coal production to service its debts whereas BHP might have been likely to phase down production.

Despite the poor public reputation of coal caused by its high levels of carbon pollution and the fierce criticism of climate campaigners, the reality is that coal demand continues to rise in much of the world (especially China, India and Africa), more than offsetting modest falls in the western world.

Demand for coal climbs despite clean energy push

Credit Suisse in a research note published earlier this month said, tellingly, that demand for coal is climbing as the energy gap outweighs climate considerations.

The bank said the sharp surge in thermal (electricity producing) coal to a near-record US$250 per tonne (A$343/t) in mid-October was a price premium which reflected a coal shortage in China.

The slide back in the seaborne thermal coal price to around US$170/t (A$234/t) is now at a level where the price should be for the next 12 months, more than double the price of earlier this year and close to 200% higher than the US$58/t (A$80/t) of 2020.

In time, thermal coal will lose market share to renewables such as wind and solar power, but Credit Suisse argues that the lack of investment in new thermal coal mines “should support prices above US$100/t (A$137/t) until at least mid-decade, as transition from carbon fuels will be slow”.

Unloved coal companies have effectively become cash machines, in much the same way tobacco companies prospered enormously after they were banned from advertising with the cash saved on marketing campaigns going straight to the bottom line as cigarette sales boomed in the developing world, if not the west.

In coal, a never-ending round of criticism can be expected over the next few years, though shareholders will be comforted by high share prices and strong dividend payments.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.