锌在被冷落了十年之后,又开始发光了

Zinc metal 2022 supply chain green metal
与镍、铜和其他贱金属类似,锌的复苏是由工业需求的增加及其在可再生能源中的新作用引发的。

每只狗都有它”出人头地“的一天,即使在金属世界中,锌已经从狗窝的十年中脱颖而出,成为一系列公司交易的焦点,随后本周价格创下每吨 4,507 美元的历史新高——价格翻了一番两年前的。

锌复兴的火花是相同力量的结合,这些力量使镍、铜和其他基本金属重新焕发活力——既定工业消费者的强劲需求以及在能源转型和可再生能源中的新角色。

锌市场接近 200,000 吨的潜在年度短缺表明价格保持高位,全球金属消费量每年增长 5.8%,超过产量增长4.9%。

增加锌市场压力的是欧洲因能源成本高昂而导致的一系列项目关闭,这使得旧金属精炼厂不经济。

锌价上涨引发对小型股的兴趣

对于澳大利亚投资者而言,锌的复苏引起了对一些接触该金属的小型股票的兴趣,包括AuKing Mining (ASX: AKN)最近报道扩大资源在其Koongie Park项目以及北部的Zenith  Minerals(ASX: ZNC)和Rumble Resources (ASX:RTR),他们正在探索同样位于西澳大利亚州的Earaheedy的一个潜在重大发现。

其他以锌为目标的勘探商包括 Anax Metals (ASX: ANX)、Legacy Minerals (ASX: LGM)、QMines (ASX: QML) 和 Alicanto Minerals (ASX: AQI),而 New Century Resources (ASX: NCZ) 继续从昆士兰Century锌矿的尾矿撤退中获得可观的利润。

这些小盘股受益于创纪录的价格和中盘股和矿业巨头之间交易流的兴趣,锌已重新成为重要金属。

锌曾经是澳大利亚矿业的核心,因为在新南威尔士州西部的Broken Hill的银、铅和锌矿创造了巨大的财富。Broken Hill是矿业巨头BHP的诞生地。

清洁能源中的新兴锌市场

大约 60% 的锌用于在钢上提供保护涂层(镀锌)的基本业务中,锌的地位一直低于其贱金属表亲铜、镍、铝和锡。

但在储能领域的应用越来越多,特别是在锌离子电池普及的情况下,以及为风力涡轮机(例如安装在海上的涡轮机)和太阳能电池板框架上提供镀锌涂层,为旧金属开辟了新市场.

主要矿商转向锌

将锌提升到可以从能源转型和新技术中受益的“复兴金属”行列的公司交易包括:

  • BHP分拆的 South32 (ASX: S32) 正在完成一项对拟议的 17 亿美元开发Taylor锌、铅和银矿床的预可行性研究,该矿床位于美国亚利桑那州的大 Hermosa 项目内;
  • 铜矿商 Sandfire Resources (ASX: SFR) 斥资 18.6 亿美元收购西班牙富含锌和铜的 Matsa 项目;和
  • Northern Star (ASX: NST) 黄金名声的 Bill Beament 通过收购新南威尔士州被封存的 Woodlawn 矿,使锌成为他的新公司 Develop Global (ASX: DVP) 的第一笔大交易的焦点。 Develop 已经在华盛顿州的 Sulfur Springs 有一个铜锌项目。

锌复兴的启动器是同一事件唤醒了许多商品,Covid 导致供应链阻塞,随后中国和欧洲能源价格上涨限制了金属的生产。

俄乌战争给锌供应链带来压力

限制锌市场的是俄罗斯与乌克兰的战争,这限制了两国锌出口的适度水平,尽管这不是整个锌市场的主要因素,但它增加了供应方面的压力。

人们对锌的兴趣一直是缓慢增长的,直到最近,South32首席执行官、“锌啦啦队队长”Graham Kerr曾在今年早些时候表示,投资者对即将到来的锌热潮视而不见。

这一评论是在 South32 发布Taylor项目预可行性研究的同时发表的,Kerr表示,该项目“有可能成为全球重要的绿色金属生产商,对低碳未来至关重要”。

开发和运营 Taylor 的成本让投资银行瑞银的一些分析师感到惊讶,它告诉客户成本比之前预期的高出 60%。

Kerr表示,成本问题可以得到控制,因为锌价将比大多数投资者预期的更具吸引力。

锌最新绿色金属备受瞩目

他在预可行性研究发布后告诉《澳大利亚金融评论报》(Australian Financial Review),在全球气温上升之际,锌和白银是极具吸引力的绿色金属,每年对锌的需求可能翻一番,达到 2400 万吨。

除了需求上升外,Kerr表示:“由于矿山枯竭、平均矿石品位下降以及对新矿的审批途径收紧,我们预计到2030年供应将下降约3.5%。”

在Kerr发表上述言论的当天(1月17日),锌的交易价格为每吨3520美元。在不到三个月的时间里,它上涨了28%,达到4507美元/吨,接近1000美元/吨。

改变

Sandfire在西班牙的Matsa项目正逐渐成为该公司的游戏规则改变者,该公司主要是一家铜和黄金生产商,来自西澳大利亚州老化的DeGrussa矿。

Macquarie Bank估计,Matsa的锌和铜产量将很快占到Sandfire净现值的57%。

Develop对Woodlawn的计划具有Beament首笔黄金交易的特征,当时Northern Star收购了西澳不受欢迎、利润微薄的Paulsens矿,以此作为跳板,成为澳大利亚最大的黄金生产商之一。

Woodlawn位于堪培拉东北50公里处,有一个可以追溯到20世纪70年代的长期采矿历史,许多业主享受着Heron Resources(开发前的所有者)的成功,努力应对成本超支、处理问题和covid导致的短缺。

就像他对Paulsens所做的那样,比门特的计划是专注于地下开采效率(他的专长),同时寻找可以显著提高盈利能力的高级镜片。

重要的金属

尽管锌名声不佳,但它是一种重要的工业金属,也是第四大最常用的矿物,仅次于铁、铝和铜,它的使用历史可以追溯到几千年前,当它第一次与铜混合生产黄铜时。

如今,锌的所有原始市场构成了其未来的基础,并有潜力成为下一代低成本电力存储电池的领先技术金属,在某些应用中能够超过锂。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Zinc begins to shine again after a decade in the doghouse

Zinc metal 2022 supply chain green metal
Similar to nickel, copper and other base metals, zinc’s revival is sparked by increasing industrial demand along with its new role in renewable energy.

Every dog has its day, even in the metals world where zinc has emerged from a decade in the doghouse to become the focus of a series of corporate deals followed by an all-time price high of US$4,507 a tonne this week – double its price of two years ago.

The spark for zinc’s revival is a combination of the same forces, which have revitalised nickel, copper and other base metals – strong demand from established industrial consumers and a new-found role in energy transition and renewable power.

An underlying annual deficit in the zinc market of close to 200,000t points to the price remaining elevated with global consumption of the metal rising by 5.8% a year – outstripping a 4.9% increase in production.

Adding to the pressure in the zinc market have been a series of project closures in Europe caused by high energy costs, which have rendered old metal refineries uneconomic.

Zinc price rise sparks interest in small caps

For Australian investors the reawakening of zinc has created interest in a number of small stocks exposed to the metal, including AuKing Mining (ASX: AKN), which recently reported an expanded resource at its Koongie Park project in the north of WA as well as Zenith Minerals (ASX: ZNC) and Rumble Resources (ASX: RTR), which are exploring a potentially major discovery at Earaheedy, also in WA.

Other explorers with zinc among their targets include Anax Metals (ASX: ANX), Legacy Minerals (ASX: LGM), QMines (ASX: QML), and Alicanto Minerals (ASX: AQI) while New Century Resources (ASX: NCZ) continues to generate handy profits from retreating the tailings at the Century zinc mine in Queensland.

Those small cap stocks are benefiting from the record price and interest in deal flow among mid-cap and mining majors where zinc has regained a place as a metal of importance.

Zinc was once at the heart of Australian mining through the fabulous wealth generated in the silver, lead, and zinc mines of Broken Hill in western NSW – birthplace of mining giant BHP (ASX: BHP).

Emerging zinc market in clean energy

With around 60% of zinc used in the basic business of providing a protective coating on steel (galvanizing), zinc has always been had a lower profile than its base metal cousins, copper, nickel, aluminium, and tin.

But growing uses in energy storage, particularly if zinc-ion batteries gain popularity, as well as providing the galvanizing coat on wind turbines (such as those installed offshore), and on the frames of solar panels has opened up new markets for an old metal.

Major miners move on zinc

The corporate deals which elevated zinc into the ranks of what might be called “revival metals” benefitting from energy transitions and new technologies include:

  • BHP spin-off South32 (ASX: S32) is completing a prefeasibility study into the proposed US$1.7 billion development of the Taylor zinc, lead and silver deposit, which lies inside the greater Hermosa project in the US State of Arizona;
  • Copper miner Sandfire Resources (ASX: SFR) is spending US$1.86 billion to acquire the zinc and copper rich Matsa project in Spain; and
  • Bill Beament of Northern Star (ASX: NST) gold fame is making zinc the focus of the first big deal of his new company, Develop Global (ASX: DVP), through the acquisition of the mothballed Woodlawn mine in NSW. Develop already has a copper-zinc project on its books at Sulphur Springs in WA.

The kick-starter for the revival of zinc was the same event which woke a number of commodities, Covid-caused supply chain blockages, followed by higher energy prices in China and Europe which restricted production of the metal.

Russia-Ukraine war pressures zinc supply chains

Capping off the case for zinc is the Russia-Ukraine war, which is limiting the modest levels of zinc exports from both countries, and though not a major factor in the overall zinc market its adds pressure on the supply side.

Interest in zinc has been a slow burn until recently with South32 chief executive officer Graham Kerr, leader of the zinc cheer squad, saying earlier this year that investors were blind to a coming zinc boom.

That comment came at the same time South32 released the prefeasibility study into the Taylor project which Kerr said had “the potential to be a globally significant producer of green metals critical to a low carbon future”.

The cost of developing and operating Taylor surprised some analysts with UBS, an investment bank, telling clients that costs were 60% higher than previously expected.

Kerr said the costs issue could be managed because the zinc price would be more attractive than most investors expect.

Zinc latest green metal to attract attention

He told the Australian Financial Review newspaper after the release of the prefeasibility study that zinc and silver were highly attractive green metals at a time of rising global temperature with annual demand for zinc likely to double to 24 million tonnes a year.

On top of rising demand, Kerr said: “We expect to see supply fall by about 3.5% by 2030, driven by mine depletion, lower average ore grade, and a tighter approval pathway” for new mines.

On the day Kerr made those comments (17 January) zinc was trading at US$3,520/t. It was since risen by 28% to US$4,507/t – or almost US$1,000/t in less than three months.

Game-changer

Sandfire’s Matsa project in Spain is shaping as a game-changer for the company, which has been largely known as a copper and gold producer from the ageing DeGrussa mine in WA.

Macquarie Bank reckons that zinc and copper production from Matsa will quickly account for 57% of Sandfire’s net present value.

Develop’s plans for Woodlawn have the hallmarks of Beament’s first gold deal which saw Northern Star acquire the unloved and marginally profitable Paulsens mine in WA, using it as a stepping-stone to become one of Australia’s biggest gold producers.

A long-term operation with a mining history that dates back to the 1970s, Woodlawn is located 50km northeast of Canberra with a number of owners enjoying mixed success with Heron Resources (the owner before Develop) struggling with cost overruns, processing problems and Covid-caused shortages.

As he did with Paulsens, Beament’s plan is to focus on the underground mining efficiency (his speciality) while hunting high-grade lenses which could significantly boost profitability.

Critical metal

Despite its lacklustre reputation, zinc is a critical industrial metal and the fourth most commonly used mineral topped only by iron, aluminium, and copper, with a history of use dating back thousands of years to when it was first mixed with copper to produce brass.

Today, it has all of its original markets which form the foundation zinc’s future together with the potential to become a leading technology metal in the next generation of low-cost electricity storage batteries able to outperform lithium in some applications.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.