西伯利亚发现了世界上最大的金矿

World’s largest gold deposit discovered Siberia PJSC Polyus Sukhoi Log
Polyus公司公布了西伯利亚项目的首批4000万盎司矿石储备。

三年前,矿业巨头PJSC Polyus通过拍卖从俄罗斯政府手中收购了西伯利亚的Sukhoi Log金矿。本周,该公司声称,它拥有全球最大的黄金储备。

这家黄金生产商10月的一次审计估计,旗舰绿地项目的首期矿石储量约为540吨,黄金品位为4,000万盎司,平均为每吨2.3克。绿地位于西伯利亚偏远的伊尔库茨克地区。

除了这些经济可开采储量之外,审计结果显示沉积物矿床的测量、指示和推断资源为67Moz,在进一步钻探和研究之后,这一储量仍有可能增加。

这些发现已经证实Sukhoi Log是世界上最大的此类矿藏,约占俄罗斯所有未开采黄金储量的四分之一。

苏联发现

1961年,Bodaybo探险队首次发现了Sukhoi Log,苏联地质学家对其进行了广泛的勘探,直到20世纪90年代。

自发现金矿以来,已经进行了超过32万米的钻探,2008年的定标研究估计了62.8Moz含金矿石储量为930.3Mt,分级2.1g/t。

{%ALT_TEXT%}
Sukhoi Log金矿的钻探岩心。

Polyus首席执行官Pavel Grachev表示,本周勘探的成功再次确认了该矿藏在全球舞台上的地位。

他表示:“首份矿石储量估算报告的公布,是(我们)长期发展战略的一个重要里程碑,确认了Sukhoi Log作为世界最高水平金矿之一的地位。”

“我们已经实现了每吨2.3克的资源与储量的稳定转换,同时继续建设(该项目的)矿产资源基础……(现在)我们将继续专注于该项目的下一阶段开发。”

Grachev表示,公司将开展填井钻探活动,以提高对推断矿产资源的信心,并“更好地定义未来采坑区域内的金矿化程度”。该公司预计,在苏霍伊测井公司运营的头几年,将在该区域开展采矿活动。

第四大公司

按产量计算,Polyus是全球第四大黄金开采公司,可归因黄金储量位居第三,生产成本在全球主要生产商中最低。

2017年,该公司与RT-Business Development(俄罗斯国有企业集团Rostec的子公司)签订了一项期权协议,收购SL黄金有限公司78%的股份,该公司拥有苏霍伊原木许可证。

上个月,Polyus宣布计划加速以约1.282亿美元(合1.8亿澳元)收购SL Gold剩余22%的股权,以获得该金矿的100%所有权。

该收购计划将使Polyus收购该资产的总金额达到约4.38亿美元(约合6亿澳元)。

开发成本

Polyus已承诺在2021年为Sukhoi Log项目提供可行性研究和最终投资决策,指示性开发成本为25亿美元(35亿澳元)。

本月早些时候,美国投资银行摩根大通(JP Morgan)根据基准黄金价格估计,该项目的净现值为130亿美元(180亿澳元),而现货价格又进一步推高了总额40亿美元(56亿澳元)。

该银行表示:“即使假设黄金的实际价格为每盎司1200美元(合1,680澳元),我们也计算出强劲的净现值约为80亿美元(合112亿澳元),内部回报率超过35%,这要依靠大规模、高质量的操作和相对较低的资本支出强度。”

Sukhoi Log的开发计划是利用常规的散装露天开采方法进行露天开采。

预计该处理工厂将包括重力浓缩和浮选,然后是一个碳浸出回路以回收金。

2008年的范围研究估计吞吐量将在每年30公吨左右。

虽然开发巨型矿床通常是一个漫长而昂贵的过程,但Grachev先生说,该矿场可能会让已经现金充足的Polyus公司将其年产量提高至少70%。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

World’s largest gold deposit discovered in Siberia

World’s largest gold deposit discovered Siberia PJSC Polyus Sukhoi Log
Polyus has revealed a 40 million-ounce maiden ore reserve for the Siberian project.

Three years after buying the Sukhoi Log gold deposit in Siberia via auction from the Russian government, mining giant PJSC Polyus this week claimed it is sitting on the world’s largest stockpile of the precious metal.

An October audit by the gold producer has estimated a maiden ore reserve at the flagship greenfields project – located in Siberia’s isolated Irkutsk region – to total approximately 540 tonnes of ore for 40 million ounces of gold grading at an average 2.3 grams per tonne.

In addition to these economically-mineable reserves, the audit showed the sediment-hosted deposit to contain 67Moz in measured, indicated and inferred resources, which is open to increase after further drilling and studies.

The findings have confirmed Sukhoi Log as the largest deposit of its kind in the world, accounting for around one quarter of Russia’s entire stores of unmined gold.

Soviet discovery

Sukhoi Log was first discovered in 1961 by the Bodaybo expedition and extensively explored by Soviet geologists through to the 1990s.

More than 320,000m of drilling has been carried out since discovery, with a 2008 scoping study estimating ore reserves of 930.3Mt grading 2.1g/t for 62.8Moz of contained gold.

Sukhoi Log gold deposit Siberia PJSC Polyus
Drill cores from the Sukhoi Log gold deposit.

Polyus chief executive officer Pavel Grachev said this week’s exploration success reaffirms the deposit’s status on the global stage.

“The publication of this maiden ore reserve estimate represents a significant milestone for [our] long-term development strategy and confirms Sukhoi Log’s position as one of the world’s highest calibre gold deposits,” he said.

“We have achieved a solid conversion ratio from resources to reserves at a grade of 2.3 grams per tonne, while continuing to build up [the project’s] mineral resource base… [and now] we will continue to focus on the next stages of the project’s development.”

Mr Grachev said the company will conduct in-fill drilling campaigns to improve the confidence of inferred mineral resources and “better define gold mineralisation within the future pit area”, where it expects to carry out mining activities during the first years of Sukhoi Log’s operations.

Fourth-largest company

Polyus is the world’s fourth-largest gold mining company by production volumes, with the third largest attributable gold reserves and the lowest production costs among major global producers.

In 2017, the company entered into an option agreement with RT-Business Development (a subsidiary of state-owned Russian conglomerate Rostec) to acquire a 78% stake in SL Gold Limited, which owned the Sukhoi Log licence.

Last month, Polyus announced plans to accelerate its option to buy-out the remaining 22% stake in SL Gold for approximately US$128.2 million (A$180 million) to assume 100% ownership of the deposit.

The buy-out will take the total amount paid for the asset by Polyus to about US$438 million (A$600 million).

Development cost

Polyus has committed to the delivery of a feasibility study and final investment decision for the Sukhoi Log project during 2021, giving an indicative development cost of US$2.5 billion (A$3.5 billion).

Earlier this month, US investment bank JP Morgan estimated a net present value for the project of US$13 billion (A$18 billion) based on a base case gold price, with spot prices boosting the total by a further US$4 billion (A$5.6 billion).

“Even assuming a conservative US$1,200 (A$1,680) per ounce gold price in real terms, we calculate a robust net present value of about US$8 billion (A$11.2 billion) with an internal rate of return of more than 35%, backed by large-scale, high-grade operations and relatively low capex intensity,” the bank said.

Development of Sukhoi Log has been planned as an open pit operation utilising conventional bulk open pit methods.

The process plant is expected to be comprised of gravity concentration and flotation, followed by a carbon-in-leach circuit to recover the gold.

The 2008 scoping study estimated that throughput capacity would sit around 30Mt per year.

While developing giant deposits is typically a lengthy and costly process, Mr Grachev said the field may allow the already cashed-up Polyus to boost its annual output by at least 70%.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.