这次铀回收能坚持下去吗?

Uranium recovery spot price market 2021 nuclear ASX Morgan Stanley Kazatomprom
Morgan Stanley预测,2024年短期(现货市场)铀价格将为48.50澳元/磅,长期合约价格将远高于此。

澳大利亚铀矿勘探企业掀起了一股新的乐观情绪,因为核电在全球去碳化的努力中占据了上风,但要让复苏持续下去,还需要电力企业的第二波真正需求。

开场白中有很多内容是基于大多数铀矿勘探企业的股价大幅上涨,其中包括Deep Yellow、Boss Energy、Elevate uranium和Lotus Resources等公司的股票自1月份以来上涨了50%以上。

首先要考虑的是,铀工业以前也曾出现过这种情况,以惊人的价格上涨来吸引投资者,比如2005年至2008年的三年繁荣时期,铀价格从每磅34澳元飙升至140澳元,涨幅超过400%。

然后,日本发生的一场危机削弱了人们对核能的信心,地震和海啸严重破坏了福岛第一核电站,导致铀价格在2016年跌至每磅17澳元。

全新的乐观情绪

目前铀矿价格接近35澳元/磅,这是五年以来的最高水平,而恢复这一水平还有很长的路要走。这得益于封存不经济的铀矿,以及最近投资基金买入过剩的铀矿,因为他们相信铀矿正在持续复苏,铀矿价格可能会继续上涨。

Morgan Stanley,一家领先的投资公司,预测2024年短期(现货市场)价格将达到48.50澳元/磅,而长期合同价格可能会高得多。

乐观主义者当然认为核能有充分的理由,因为它的零碳认证,而且希望核电站事故不会重演,比如1979年的美国三里岛核电站、1986年的乌克兰切尔诺贝利核电站和2011年的福岛核电站。

铀的牛市是建立在结合目前正在进行的需求来自世界的445操作核反应堆供应世界上约10%的电力,新反应堆无碳电力需求的增长,新的(小)反应堆的发展,以及缺乏投资新的铀矿。

未来核电的一个例子就是威尔士已退役的Trawsfynydd核电站的复兴,该核电站被指定用于安装新一代更便宜、更容易操作的小型核反应堆。

挑战依然存在

尽管核能复兴的前景可能令人鼓舞,但铀矿勘探者和潜在矿工仍需克服一些障碍,其中最重要的是各国政府和更广泛的社会更大程度地接受核能的选择,因为这些社会已被设定为相信核能是危险的。

反核洗脑具有讽刺意味的是,现在可以证明,燃烧化石燃料对环境造成的损害比以往任何时候使用核能都要大。

随着时间的推移,反核活动人士甚至可能考虑为把公众舆论推向碳污染的死胡同而道歉。

先发制人的购买

对铀工业来说,一个更紧迫的问题是看到第一波价格上涨升级为长期价格上涨。

要做到这一点,铀买家需要是电力公司,而不是伦敦的Yellowcake和最近成立的Sprott Physical Uranium Trust等投机性投资基金。

投资基金购买铀,以及一些铀勘探企业自己购买铀,有几个目的。

基金经理显然相信铀短缺将会发展,当发电厂被迫购买更多燃料时,他们将获得可观的利润。

勘探商/矿商购买铀矿是出于类似的投机目的,但也是为了向未来客户证明,在开矿之前就有供应,而且客户有信心得到自己想要的东西。

Sprott和Yellowcake等组织的先发制人的收购狂热存在风险,这是相当明显的一点,即剩余铀从一个安全仓库转移到另一个安全仓库,而电力公司没有消耗更多的铀。

最终,电力公司将不得不购买更多的燃料。此外,预计脱碳运动将促进核电站建设的激增,特别是如果新设计可以被证明是安全的,更小的反应堆可以更容易地建造。

今年早些时候,伦敦《金融时报(Financial Times)》颇具影响力的Lex专栏发表了一篇有关铀矿商的另类观点,指出低碳因素如何恢复了投资者对这种燃料的兴趣。

但好消息的另一面是巨大的库存过剩正在缓慢被消化,尽管可能消化的速度还不够快,而且这是在哈萨克斯坦国家矿业公司Kazatomprom等大型(和低成本)铀生产商提高产量之前。

Morgan Stanley反驳了Lex的观点,指出随着“商业库存减少,投资需求持续,以及矿山供应仍低于2019年水平”,预计近期价格将会上涨。该行将铀列为其“大宗商品温度计”上方温度最高的金属。

铀矿勘探

对于对铀有兴趣的投资者来说,有很多选择,包括:

今年迄今,Deep Yellow (ASX: DYL)的股价上涨了56%,涨幅为0.28澳元至0.78澳元,原因是投资者对该公司在铀友好型纳米比亚的资产组合越来越感兴趣,该公司计划成为每年生产500万至1000万澳元低成本铀的生产商。

该公司经验丰富的管理团队提振了投资者对该股的信心。

Paladin Energy (ASX: PDN)股价自年初以来上涨了120%以上,上次交易价格为0.58澳元。

作为过去铀爆炸的幸存者,帕拉丁准备东山再起,重新启动它在纳米比亚的兰格海因里希矿。

随着重启南澳大利亚州蜜月铀矿的计划进展,Boss Energy (ASX: BOE)今年迄今为止上涨了0.07澳元(70%),报0.17澳元。

Honeymoon的运营记录很长,重启起来也相对容易。

Lotus Resources (ASX: LOT)今年迄今为止上涨了0.075澳元(58%),至0.21澳元,该公司正在重启马拉维的Kayelekera矿,计划每年生产250万铀。

前身为Marenica Energy的Elevate Uranium (ASX: EL8)今年迄今已上涨0.27澳元(196%),最后交易价为0.40澳元。

Elevate控制着纳米比亚的马雷尼卡铀项目和澳大利亚的铀公寓。

Bannerman Energy (ASX: BMN)最近的交易价格为0.18澳元,上涨了0.082澳元(82%),该公司正在开发纳米比亚的Etango-8铀矿。

自4月中旬在ASX上市以来,92 Energy (ASX: 92E)一直保持在0.20澳元的IPO价格之上,周三尾盘交易价格为0.28澳元,原因是投资者对其在加拿大萨斯喀彻温省铀项目投资组合的兴趣日益浓厚。

长期而言,随着核能重新成为零碳电力来源,全球脱碳主题可能会确保人们对铀的兴趣得到维持。

在短期内,影响股价的事件将包括铀现货市场价格持续上涨趋势(以及关于长期合同价格的消息),以及下周(9月8- 10日)将举行的世界核协会研讨会。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Will a uranium recovery stick this time?

Uranium recovery spot price market 2021 nuclear ASX Morgan Stanley Kazatomprom
Morgan Stanley is tipping a short-term (spot market) uranium price of $US48.50/lb in 2024, with long term contracts far higher.

A fresh wave of optimism is washing across Australian uranium explorers as nuclear power stakes a claim in the drive to decarbonise the world, but a second wave of genuine demand from power utilities is required to make the recovery stick.

There’s a lot in that opening comment which is based on the sharp share price rises by most uranium explorers with stocks such as Deep Yellow, Boss Energy, Elevate Uranium and Lotus Resources up by more than 50% since January.

The first point to consider is that the uranium industry has been here before, tantalising investors with spectacular price rises, such as the three-year boom from 2005 to 2008 when the price rocketed up by more than 400% from US$34 a pound to US$140/lb.

Then, a crisis in Japan dented confidence in nuclear power, after an earthquake and tsunami severely damaged the Fukushima Daiichi power plant and drove the uranium price down to US$17/lb by 2016.

Renewed optimism

The long road back to today’s five-year high price of close to $US35/lb has been aided by the mothballing of uneconomic mines and, more recently, by investment funds buying surplus uranium in the belief that a sustainable recovery is underway, and the price could continue rising.

Morgan Stanley, a leading investment firm, is tipping a short-term (spot market) price of $US48.50/lb in 2024 while long-term contract prices could be significantly higher.

Optimists certainly see a strong case for nuclear power given its zero-carbon credentials and the hope that accidents at power plants, such as Three Mile Island in the US in 1979, Chernobyl in Ukraine (1986), and Fukushima (2011), will not be repeated.

The bull case for uranium is built on a combination of ongoing demand from the world’s 445 currently operating nuclear reactors which supply roughly 10% of the world’s electricity, new reactors as demand for carbon-free electricity grows, the development of new (and smaller) reactors, as well as a lack of investment in new uranium mines.

An example of what the future of nuclear power might look like is the resurrection of the decommissioned Trawsfynydd power plant in Wales, which has been earmarked for the installation of a new generation of small nuclear reactor which will be cheaper and easier to operate.

Challenges remain

Encouraging as the prospect of a nuclear power revival might be, there are hurdles for uranium explorers and potential miners to overcome with the most important being greater acceptance of the nuclear option by governments and the broader community, which has been programmed to believe that nuclear power is dangerous.

The irony of anti-nuclear brainwashing is that it can now be demonstrated that more damage has been done to the environment by burning fossil fuels than has ever been done by nuclear power.

In time, the anti-nuclear activists might even consider an apology for driving public opinion down the carbon pollution blind alley.

Pre-emptive buying

A more immediate issue for the uranium industry is to see the first wave of rising prices upgraded into a long-term higher price.

For that to happen uranium buyers need to be power utilities rather than speculative investment funds such as London-based Yellowcake and the more recently created Sprott Physical Uranium Trust.

Investment fund buying of uranium, and some buying by uranium explorers themselves, has several purposes.

Fund managers obviously believe that a uranium shortage will develop, and they will trouser handsome profits when power generators are forced to buy more fuel.

Explorer/miners are buying uranium for similar speculative position taking, but also to demonstrate to future customers that supply is available even before mining starts and a customer can be confident of getting what it wants.

There is a risk in the pre-emptive buying spree by organisations such as Sprott and Yellowcake and that’s the rather obvious point about surplus uranium being shifted from one secure warehouse to another without much more being consumed by power companies.

In time, the power companies will have to buy more fuel. Additionally, it’s anticipated the decarbonisation drive will foster a surge in nuclear power station construction, especially if new designs can be proved safe and smaller reactors can be more easily constructed.

An alternative view of uranium, and the one miners don’t like was aired earlier this year in the influential Lex column of London’s Financial Times newspaper which noted how the low-carbon factor had restored investor interest in the fuel.

But the flipside of the good news is a big inventory overhang which is slowly being absorbed, though perhaps not fast enough, and that’s before big (and low cost) uranium producers such as Kazakhstan’s national mining business, Kazatomprom, boost output.

Morgan Stanley counters the Lex argument by pointing out that higher prices can be expected in the near term as “commercial inventories are drawn down, investment demand continues, and mine supply remains below 2019 levels”. The bank has uranium at the top of its “commodity thermometer” as the hottest metal.

Uranium explorers to watch

For investors with an interest in uranium there is a smorgasbord of choice that includes:

Up 56% or $0.28 to $0.78 in the year to date is Deep Yellow (ASX: DYL) as interest grows in its portfolio of assets in uranium-friendly Namibia and a plan to become a producer of 5-10Mlb of low-cost uranium a year.

Confidence in the stock is boosted by its experienced management team.

More than 120% higher since the start of the year is Paladin Energy (ASX: PDN), which was last trading at $0.58.

A survivor from past uranium booms, Paladin is ready to stage a comeback with the restart of its Langer Heinrich mine in Namibia.

As it progresses plans to restart the Honeymoon uranium mine in South Australia, Boss Energy (ASX: BOE) has risen $0.07 (70%) in the year to date to last trade at $0.17.

Honeymoon has a long operating record and will be relatively easy to restart.

Lotus Resources (ASX: LOT) is up $0.075 (58%) in the year to date at $0.21 as it works on the restart of the Kayelekera mine in Malawi with plans to produce 2.5Mlb of uranium per annum.

Formerly Marenica Energy, Elevate Uranium (ASX: EL8) has risen $0.27 (196%) in the year to date and was last trading at $0.40.

Elevate controls the Marenica uranium project in Namibia and an extensive portfolio of uranium tenements in Australia.

Bannerman Energy (ASX: BMN) last traded at $0.18 and is up $0.082 (82%) as it moves towards development of the Etango-8 uranium deposit in Namibia.

After its ASX debut in mid-April, 92 Energy (ASX: 92E) has remained above its $0.20 IPO price and was trading at $0.28 late on Wednesday, as interest grows in its portfolio of uranium projects in Canada’s Saskatchewan Province.

In the long-term, the global decarbonisation theme is likely to ensure interest in uranium is maintained as nuclear power makes a comeback as a zero-carbon source of electricity.

In the short-term, share price influencing events will include a continuation of the rising trend in the spot-market uranium price (and news about long-term contractual prices) as well as the World Nuclear Association symposium to be held next week (8-to-10 September).

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.