为什么Trigg Mining将硫酸盐钾盐视为澳大利亚可持续发展的未来的一部分

加拿大钾肥勘探公司Trigg Mining (ASX: TMG)宣布,在其全资拥有的西澳大利亚州的Lake Throssell硫酸钾(SOP)项目中,一项直升机支持的钻井项目正在进行中。

该计划将跟进去年年底在该项目中进行的钻孔取样计划的结果,在该计划中发现了新的高级别。

上周,Trigg概述了其2020年油田勘探计划,该计划由两部分组成。

这一初步方案将是该项目自取消冠状病毒旅行限制以来开展的首次勘探工作,涉及覆盖盐湖表面的24孔浅旋钻作业。

Trigg总经理Keren Paterson将Throssell湖项目描述为公司SOP投资组合中“王冠上的宝石”。

她说:“我们的团队在现场进行这个灵活的、直升机支持的项目,这是非常令人兴奋的,它将产生无价的数据,以跟踪去年年底报告的高级螺旋钻机的结果。”

两阶段钻井程序

Trigg刚刚启动的旋转钻井计划旨在将近地表卤水矿化区域定位到适合潜在的基于沟的开采方法的深度。

该公司还计划对观察到的石膏含量高的地区进行测试。该公司表示,这些地区“由于孔隙度和渗透率的提高,以及SOP含量的提高,有可能提供高流速的石膏”。

Trigg预计在两周内完成地面作业。

Paterson表示,为了填补公司今年早些时候公布的高质量重力数据的“任何空白”,公司将同时进行填充重力调查。该数据确定了古河谷的几个优先SOP目标。

她说:“这个地基项目将给我们提供整个房屋的全面和准确的图像,并将帮助我们为湖外和随后的湖上空核项目改进钻井位置,我们希望在8月开始。”

在直升机支持的初始钻井活动之后,Trigg计划开始一项拟议的湖外空气岩心钻井项目,其结果有望用于报告潜在的处女地JORC推断资源。

Lake Throssell发现

Lake Throssell位于位于华盛顿州拉弗顿东部170公里处的Trigg公司更大的SOP项目组合中。

该项目占地1500平方公里,还包括 Lake Rason,该湖拥有600万吨符合约旦标准的可排水SOP资源,标准SOP为每升5080毫克。

2019年12月,从Lake Throssell采集的手钻盐水样品返回的高品级钾高达6660mg /l,或相当于14800mg /l SOP,平均品级钾为5296mg /l, SOP为11800 mg/l。

Paterson表示,在发现该湖时,整个盐湖的高级别结果,以及下面古河道的潜在规模,使Lake Throssell 成为“对澳大利亚新兴的SOP行业和国家食品安全最重要的发现之一”。

SOP被认为是用于化肥的优质钾肥。与钾酸盐(MOP)相比,它不含氯,为植物生长提供必需的宏观营养物质。

还可以通过太阳蒸发富含钾的高盐卤水来持续生产SOP,而不需要大型露天矿坑或废石倾倒。

Why Trigg Mining sees sulphate of potash as part of the future for a sustainable Australia

Potash explorer Trigg Mining (ASX: TMG) has announced a helicopter-supported drilling program is now underway at its wholly-owned Lake Throssell sulphate of potash (SOP) project in Western Australia.

The program will follow up the results of an auger sampling program undertaken at the project late last year, in which the new high-grade discovery was made.

Last week, Trigg outlined its 2020 field exploration program, which has been designed in two parts.

This initial program will be the first exploration work to be undertaken at the project since the lifting of COVID-19 travel restrictions and involves a 24-hole shallow rotary drilling campaign covering the salt lake (playa) surface.

Trigg managing director Keren Paterson described the Lake Throssell project as the company’s “jewel in the crown” of its SOP portfolio.

“It’s really exciting to have our teams out in the field progressing this flexible, helicopter-supported program that will generate invaluable data to follow-up the high-grade auger drilling results reported late last year,” she said.

Two-phase drilling program

Trigg’s just-launched rotary drilling campaign is designed to target near-surface brine mineralisation to depths suitable for potential trench-based extraction methods.

The company also plans to test areas of observed high-gypsum content, which it said have the potential to “supply high flow rate due to increased porosity and permeability, as well as elevated SOP content”.

Trigg is anticipating completion of the drilling within two weeks of on-ground activity.

Ms Paterson said an infill gravity survey will be undertaken in parallel to “plug any gaps” in the high-quality gravity data the company announced earlier in the year, which identified several priority paleovalley SOP targets.

“This ground-based program will give us the first comprehensive and accurate picture of the entire tenement, and will help us to refine drilling locations for the off-lake and subsequent on-lake air-core programs that we hope to commence in August,” she said.

Following the helicopter-supported initial drilling campaign, Trigg plans to commence a proposed off-lake air core drilling program with the results expected to feed into the reporting of a potential maiden JORC inferred resource.

Lake Throssell discovery

Lake Throssell lies within Trigg’s larger SOP project portfolio, located 170km east of Laverton, WA.

The projects span 1,500sq km and also include Lake Rason, which has a JORC-compliant mineral resource of 6 million tonnes of drainable SOP grading at 5,080 milligrams per litre of SOP.

In December 2019, hand-auger brine samples from Lake Throssell returned high grades of up to 6,660mg/l potassium, or 14,800mg/l SOP equivalent, with an average grade of 5,296mg/l potassium or 11,800mg/l SOP.

At the time of the discovery, Ms Paterson said the high-grade results across the playa and the potential scale of the underlying paleochannel made Lake Throssell “one of the most important discoveries for Australia’s emerging SOP industry and the nation’s food security”.

SOP is considered a premium-quality potash used for fertiliser. Compared to muriate of potash (MOP), it is chloride-free and provides essential macro nutrients for plant growth.

SOP can also be produced sustainably through the solar evaporation of potassium-rich hypersaline brine water, without the need for large open pits or waste-rock dumps.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts