为什么指数基金如此难以被击败

Index fund investing ETF exchange traded funds
如果把费用考虑在内,交易所交易基金(ETF)的表现往往会超过大多数主动型基金。

人们一直对指数投资深为不信任——尤其是那些以选股和运营积极型基金为生的人。

他们很快就认为指数投资是“被动的”和“愚蠢的”,就像一群“旅鼠”仅仅因为股价上涨就涌入已经被高估的股票。

这种批评的问题在于,人们一次又一次地发现,如果把费用考虑在内,指数投资——通常是通过收费很低的交易所交易基金(ETF)——的表现优于大多数活跃的另类投资。

实际上,考虑到每年跑赢指数的活跃型基金经理名单很短,而且每年都在变化,仅仅选择合适的活跃型基金经理来跑赢指数是不够的——你需要每年积极地选择合适的活跃型基金经理。

投资风格改变,但指数不变

尽管如此,活跃的基金喷头很快就会说,目前指数投资的成功只是我们正在经历的股票市场类型的一个迹象——一旦股票下跌到足够的价值,投资者的表现将会超过指数。

或者动量投资者会在市场开始上涨时跑赢大盘,或者活跃的交易员或量化基金在开始横盘整理时跑赢大盘,或者是各种各样的积极投资策略中的任何一种,这些策略就像雨后的蘑菇一样遍地开花。

对于指数基金如此成功的原因,批评人士从来没有学到的关键教训是,它们不仅仅与低廉的费用有关。

当然,低费用很重要,这是主动和被动方法的主要区别,但并不是全部。

数字说明了一切

在波士顿研究公司Dalbar几年前完成的一项研究中,研究人员发现,采用积极的方法所需要的持续决策和反复调整成本非常高。

利用美国20年的数据,研究发现,股票共同基金投资者的平均实际年化回报率只有5.19%,比标准普尔500指数9.85%的回报率低4.66%。

这听起来可能不多,但当你把这些平均值乘以更长的时间框架,他们是毁灭性的不同。

由于投资回报的复合效应——在总回报中加入更好的回报,然后在未来几年再次增长——差异是巨大的。

Dalbar的数据显示,在标普500指数中投入1万澳元(包括股息),20年后将增至65,464澳元,而同期平均活跃型基金仅为27,510澳元。

按照这样的利率计算,40年后,投资于普通股票指数的储备金将增长到大约428,550澳元,相比之下,股票共同基金投资者的平均回报率只有75,680澳元,相差352,870澳元。

认为指数ETF是被动的看法是错误的

投资一个指数除了大大减少买卖数量和低得多的费用之外,另一个方面是,指数本身是一只充满活力和非常活跃的野兽。

虽然你可能不会用典型的被动型ETF方法买卖股票,但你会在以前成功的公司退出指数时积极卖出,然后买进越来越多进入指数并大幅扩大规模的公司。

实际上,你可以把它想象成逐渐买进更多的赢家股票——一种叫做金字塔化的常见交易策略——卖出更多的输家股票。

实际上,这种方法与目前使用的“被动”标签相去甚远,而且相当强大——这一点可以从大量积极型基金经理在表现优于股票市场甚至债券指数方面遇到的极端困难中看出。

他们实际上是在用自己的专业知识和积极的交易方法与另一种经受住时间考验、以长期眼光回报耐心投资者的积极交易方法进行较量。

在困难时期留在市场有它的回报

指数投资者还会留在股市等待上涨,没有交易和税收带来的成本,也没有在股市意外大幅上涨时“退出”的机会。

这两个特点已经被标准普尔500指数最近演示了,冠状病毒大流行的黯淡前景和不缺看跌声明和预测从经纪人和经济学家已经设法收回自3月23日触底以来惊人的回报率为36%。

通过这样做,它重新获得了大流行病造成的巨大损失。

无论指数今后走势如何,任何错过了这次上涨的活跃基金,都将很难赶上。

指数投资不是买入并持有的策略

值得考虑的是,这种“活跃”指数ETF与传统的“买入并持有”方式的对比,即购买大量大公司,然后将其留在最底层抽屉。

一个真正的标准普尔500指数买进并持有的投资者仍然会吸引许多在病毒大流行期间失去青睐的股票——实际上,从长远来看,他们会持有一些惊人地缩水并最终被抛售的股票。 从标准普尔500指数中脱颖而出,或从显眼位置跌至榜首。

相比之下,标准普尔500交易所交易基金(S&P 500 ETF)早就卖出了这些“烂股”,甚至卖出了其中的一些股票,转而买入今天迅速复苏的明星股——比如Alphabet(谷歌)、Facebook、亚马逊、苹果和Netflix等全球科技巨头。

当当前这批“明星”开始衰退时(目前看来难以想象,但从长期来看很有可能),该指数将已经开始转向下一批“明星”,并减少其在科技股中的持股,指数就会自动进行重新平衡。

不要被主动和被动的标签弄糊涂了

所以,不要被“被动”和“主动”的标签弄糊涂了。

管理费较低的指数型ETF是一种非常积极的长期投资,用积极型基金经理的传统方法很难击败它。

“被动”的标签只是指投资者缺乏实际的努力和思考。

一种简单的指数方法,有效地不涉及从投资者的角度做任何事情,它的表现似乎与直觉相反,它的表现可能会超过由最好的基金经理进行的“房间里最聪明”的交易,但这正是数字一再显示的。

组合方法是常见的

当然,没有法律禁止将指数投资与使用主动基金经理相结合,许多投资者正是这么做的。

如果你这么做了,那么比较投资组合中的主动指数部分和被动指数部分将是一个有趣的练习。

如果你的主动型基金表现好于指数,那么你在挑选少数几只能够战胜指数的主动型基金方面确实表现出了很高的技巧。指数在上涨时自动跳升,在下跌时减少持仓。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Why an index fund is so hard to beat

Index fund investing ETF exchange traded funds
Exchange traded funds tend to outperform most active funds once fees are taken into account.

There has always been a deep distrust of index investing – particularly among those who make their living picking stocks and running active funds.

They are quick to cast index investing as “passive” and “dumb’’, with a load of lemmings piling into already overpriced stocks just because their share prices are going up.

The problem with this criticism is that time and again, index investing – usually through very low fee exchange traded funds or ETFs – has been found to outperform most active alternatives when fees are taken into account.

Indeed, given that the list of active managers who outperform the index every year is short and changes annually, it is not enough to pick the right active manager to beat the index – you need to actively pick the right active manager each year.

Investment styles change but the index doesn’t

Still, the active fund spruikers are quick to say that the current success of index investing is just an indication of the sort of share market we are going through – once stocks fall enough value investors will outperform the index.

Or momentum investors will outperform once markets start to rise or active traders or quant funds will outperform when they start to move sideways or any one of the scores of different active investment strategies that blossom like mushrooms after a downpour.

The key lesson that critics never learn about the why index funds are so successful is that they are not just about low fees.

Low fees are important, of course, and they make up much of the difference between active and passive approaches but they don’t account for everything.

The numbers tell the story

In a study completed some years ago by Boston research firm Dalbar, the researchers found that the constant decisions and churning that an active approach entails was very costly.

Using US figures over 20 years the study found that the actual annualised return for the average stock mutual fund investor was only 5.19%, 4.66% lower than the 9.85% return for the Standard & Poor’s 500-stock index.

That may not sound like much but when you multiply those averages out over longer time-frames, they are devastatingly different.

Due to the compounding effect on investment returns – in which a better return is added to the total and then grows again in future years – the differences are massive.

The Dalbar numbers showed that an investment of $10,000 in the S&P 500 index including dividends would grow to $65,464 over 20 years, compared with only $27,510 over the same period for the average active fund.

At those rates after 40 years, with compounding, the nest egg invested in the plain vanilla stock index would grow to about $428,550, compared with only $75,680 for the average returns of stock mutual fund investors, a $352,870 difference.

It is wrong to think of an index ETF as passive

The other aspect of investing in an index apart from the greatly reduced amount of buying and selling and the much lower fees is that the index itself is a dynamic and very active beast.

While you may not be buying and selling out of the share market with a classic passive ETF approach, you are actively selling out of previously successful companies as they drop out of the index and buying more and more of those that enter the index and grow much larger.

In effect you can think of it as gradually buying more of the winners – a common trading strategy called pyramiding – and selling more of the losers.

That approach is actually a very long way from the “passive’’ label that is used and is quite powerful – as shown by the extreme difficulty the vast bulk of active managers have in outperforming share market and even bond indexes.

They are actually pitting their expertise and active trading methods against another active trading method that has stood the test of time and rewards patient investors with a long-term view.

Staying in the market in tough times has its rewards

The index investor also stays in for the ride without the costs incurred by trading and taxes or the lost opportunity of being “out’’ of the market when it rises sharply and unexpectedly.

Both of these characteristics have been demonstrated recently by the S&P 500, which against the bleak outlook of the COVID-19 pandemic and no shortage of bearish pronouncements and predictions from brokers and economists has managed to claw back an amazing return of 36% since bottoming on 23 March.

In doing so it has regained the vast bulk of the losses caused by the pandemic.

Any active manager that missed out on full exposure to that rise will really struggle to ever catch up, no matter what the index does from here on.

Index investing is not a buy and hold strategy

It is worth considering the contrast between this “active’’ index ETF investing with the traditional “buy and hold’’ approach of purchasing a chunk of large companies and leaving them in the bottom drawer.

A true buy and hold investor on the S&P 500 would still be hanging on to many stocks that lost favour during the COVID-19 pandemic – indeed, in the long term they would have held on to some stocks that had shrunk alarmingly and eventually been ejected out of the S&P 500 index or moved from a prominent position to being well down the list.

By contrast, the S&P 500 ETF will have long ago sold down or even sold out of some of these “duds’’ and moved on to today’s rapidly recovering stars – in this case the giant global technology stocks such as Alphabet (Google), Facebook, Amazon, Apple and Netflix.

When this current crop of “stars’’ begin to wane – which seems inconceivable at the moment but is likely in the longer term – the index will already be moving on to the next crop of stars and reducing its stake in the technology stocks and the index automatically rebalances.

Don’t be confused by active and passive labels

So, don’t be confused by the “passive’’ and “active’’ labels.

An index ETF with low fees is very much an active, long term investment that is very difficult to beat using the traditional approach of an active fund manager.

The “passive’’ label only refers to the lack of actual effort and thought being placed by the investor.

It seems counter-intuitive that a simple index approach that effectively involves doing nothing from the investor’s point of view could outperform the “smartest in the room’’ trading by the best fund managers but time and again that is exactly what the numbers show.

A combination approach is common

Of course, there is no law against combining index investing with using active managers and many investors do just that.

If you do that, it is an interesting exercise to compare the active part of your portfolio with the passive index part.

If your active section has outperformed the index, you really have shown a lot of skill in picking some of the few active funds that have overcome the index which automatically jumps on rising stocks and reduces holdings in falling ones.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts