Vintage Energy为东海岸的天然气供应提供了潜在的创收项目

Vintage Energy ASX VEN gas Vali Field Nangwarry
Vintage Energy正着眼于Vali气田的首次生产,并计划最早于明年对Nangwarry二氧化碳气田进行流动测试。

随着Vali气田的收购谈判继续进行,油气勘探公司Vintage Energy (ASX: VEN)有望在2021年实现首笔现金流。

短的两年在澳交所上市以来,探索青年获得了一系列资产关键潜在陆上石油盆地和达成首次成功运营的天然气发现的瓦里在昆士兰Cooper-Eromanga盆地在2020年年初。

今年早些时候,在Otway盆地南澳岸发现了Nangwarry二氧化碳,这被认为是一项可能产生现金的资产。

在一支经验丰富的库珀盆地勘探团队的支持下,Vintage已在明年安排了一系列活动,以实现首个现金流目标,并向澳大利亚东海岸天然气市场供应天然气。

由经验丰富的海滩能量校友组成

Vintage成立于2015年,于2018年底上市,由价值40亿澳元的澳大利亚油气巨头Beach Energy (ASX: BPT)的前高管组成,其中包括担任Vintage董事长的前董事总经理Reg Nelson和担任Vintage董事总经理的前首席运营官Neil Gibbins。

在与Small Caps谈话时,Gibbins表示,Nelson启动这一新项目的吸引力,源于他相信,在昆士兰州的液化天然气项目向海外出口天然气之际,仍有机会进入东海岸天然气市场。

“我们看到了液化天然气项目的发展,很明显,大部分天然气都根据合同流向了海上。Reg认为,如果他能找到合适的人,获得一些好的许可证,如果发现了,这一行动就能带来高回报。”

它确实做到了——Vintage在之前由澳大利亚天然气巨头Santos (ASX: STO)及其Cooper盆地合作伙伴持有的土地上发现了天然气,并在现在被称为Vali油田发现了天然气。

“Vintage拥有一支经验丰富的高质量管理团队,尤其是在Cooper盆地。如今要找到石油和天然气并不容易,但随着我们在该盆地的第一口油井,我们已经取得了成功,这是一个真正的积极因素。

资产亮点

Vintage在Vali油田拥有50%的运营股权,该油田位于昆士兰州许可的ATP 2021年,与Metgasco (ASX: MEL)和Bridgeport合作,双方各持有25%的股权。

Vintage在南澳大利亚州合作Cooper-Eromanga盆地的一个名为Odin的“与Vali相似”油田的钻探中也获得了42.5%的收益。

其他资产包括全资EP 126允许在北部地区,包含卡伦油气前景,Galilee Basin Deeps 30%的股权(Albany气田)与Comet Ridge (ASX: COI)算子,并达成协议,获得30%的利息Cervantes珀斯盆地石油前景与Metgasco和私人公司RCMA的合资企业。

但公司对Vali的第二个优先考虑是今年早些时候发现的可能被低估的Nangwarry二氧化碳。

它靠近Caroline-1井,该井产生二氧化碳约50年,直到2017年枯竭,被认为是南澳大利亚历史上最赚钱的井,包括油井和气井。

虽然一些二氧化碳从发电厂被捕获并出售给不同的行业,但一个大问题是这些来源的启停特性。读者可能会想知道,在当今世界,随着我们向绿色能源迈进,为什么生产更多的二氧化碳会是一项有利可图的业务,但事实上,医疗和消防行业以及啤酒、葡萄酒和苏打水等饮料都需要二氧化碳。

有趣的是,Pfizer的新冠状病毒疫苗需要在零下70摄氏度的温度下储存,因此为了实现这一目标,在冷藏过程中需要大量的二氧化碳来制造干冰。吉宾斯表示,在这种情况下,让南沃利的发现成为公众关注的焦点“时机再好不过了”。

“我们认为,这是向市场提供这种供应的另一个可能的额外优势,”他说。

他说:“我们已经就天然气的供应问题与一些方面进行了讨论。自2017年前后Caroline停止使用以来,几乎没有纯(>90%的二氧化碳)和稳定的供应来源。因此,它可能会成为该业务非常好的现金来源。”

2021年的计划

今年8月,Vali-1 ST-1井进行了成功的压裂增产和流量测试,稳定了430万立方英尺/天的气体流量。之后,Vintage进入了前端工程设计(FEED)阶段。这涉及到将Vali井连接到Moomba天然气收集系统的成本估算。

据Gibbins说,在Vali产生第一笔现金之前,剩下的工作包括连接输油管,与桑托斯(Moomba的运营商)谈判准入协议,以及为天然气找到买家。

“我们正在与一些方面进行讨论,根据我们的开发理念,随着时间的推移,该油田可能会有多达9口井。

Gibbins表示:“我们最近进行了一次融资,其中一些资金将用于Vali油田的评估钻探,以进一步评估未来油田的表现,并协助与东海岸的天然气买家谈判一项(或多项)长期合同。”

“我们的目标是在第一口井建成后获得一份短期合同。然后我们将有效地将天然气注入Moomba系统,并获得现金,”他补充道,并给出了2021年第二季度首次生产和现金流的估计时间表。

与此同时,Vintage公司本周宣布了Nangwarry-1井流量测试的目标开始日期为1月底或2月初,并表示已开始采购长铅产品。

一旦测试完成,并且取得了商业成果,公司的目标是迅速将该项目商业化。

东岸天然气市场展望

Vintage的创立和随后在ASX上市的催化剂,是澳大利亚东海岸天然气市场的供应危机。当时,天然气价格已经达到了每千吉焦耳8- 10澳元的水平,人们对本世纪20年代中期天然气严重短缺的严重担忧。

尽管现货价格最近已回落至平均4- 5.50澳元/加仑,但人们的担忧依然存在,澳大利亚能源市场运营商(AEMO)最近预测,由于储备枯竭和缺乏新开发等操作限制,“2024年冬季高峰期间可能出现供应缺口”。

AEMO本周还发布了警告,由于热浪即将席卷澳大利亚,昆士兰州和新南威尔士州的部分地区可能会出现暂时的供应问题。

Gibbins表示,未来的供应问题依然存在,随着世界经济从冠状病毒流行的影响中复苏,供应问题将变得更加明显。当液化天然气出口恢复时,供应将收紧,这将对价格产生相关影响。

“由于海上Gippsland盆地的油田储量开始下降,维多利亚州面临着天然气短缺的最大风险。”

他还提到,在向太阳能和风能等可再生能源过渡的过程中,天然气是一种理想的过渡燃料。这种转变不会在一夜之间发生,需要仔细规划和适当的政策设置,以确保能源供应的稳定。

“所有这些因素造成了一场天然气短缺的完美风暴,并可能导致油价上涨,”Gibbins表示。

他补充说:“我们有信心,基于需求和供应前景,我们将能够确保Vali天然气的一个强劲的长期价格。该公司迫切希望获得批准,并启动我们在Vali油田的计划工作,并对Nangwarry二氧化碳发现进行评估。随着我们迈向第一个商业化生产,陈年葡萄酒将迎来令人兴奋的时期。”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Vintage Energy lines up potential cash generating projects for east coast gas supply

Vintage Energy ASX VEN gas Vali Field Nangwarry
Vintage Energy is eyeing first production from its Vali gas discovery and flow-testing the Nangwarry carbon dioxide discovery as early as next year.

Oil and gas explorer Vintage Energy (ASX: VEN) is on track to deliver its first cash flow in 2021 as offtake talks continue for its Vali Field gas.

In the short space of two years since listing on the ASX, the exploration junior has acquired a range of assets in key prospective onshore petroleum basins and struck success with its first operated gas discovery at the Vali field in Queensland’s Cooper-Eromanga Basin at the start of 2020.

Another prospect tipped to be a potentially cash-generating asset is the Nangwarry carbon dioxide discovery made earlier this year on the South Australian side of the onshore Otway Basin.

Underpinned by a highly experienced team of Cooper Basin explorers, Vintage has lined up a stream of activities next year to kick this first cash flow goal and supply gas into Australia’s east coast gas market.

Formed by experienced alumni of Beach Energy

Established in 2015 and listed in late 2018, Vintage was formed by ex-executives of $4 billion Australian oil and gas major Beach Energy (ASX: BPT) including former managing director Reg Nelson as Vintage chairman and previous chief operating officer Neil Gibbins as Vintage’s managing director.

Speaking with Small Caps, Mr Gibbins said Mr Nelson’s attraction to starting this new venture stemmed from the belief that there was still opportunity to tap into the east coast gas market at a time when the LNG projects in Queensland are exporting gas offshore.

“We saw the evolution of LNG projects and it was pretty clear that most of this gas was going offshore under contracts. Reg thought, if he could get the right people on board and pick up some good permits, the move could pay off with high returns if discoveries are made,” he said.

And it did – Vintage took one crack at finding gas on ground that had been previously held by Australian gas major Santos (ASX: STO) and its Cooper Basin partners and bang, gas was found at what’s now called the Vali Field.

“Vintage has a really high quality management team with a wealth of experience, particularly in the Cooper Basin. It’s not easy finding oil and gas these days, yet with our first well in the basin we’ve already found success which is a real positive,” Mr Gibbins said.

Asset highlights

Vintage has a 50% operating stake in the Vali Field, located within the Queensland permit ATP 2021 and is partnered by Metgasco (ASX: MEL) and Bridgeport, which hold 25% each.

Vintage is also earning a 42.5% interest in an adjoining permit on the South Australian side of the Cooper-Eromanga Basin by drilling a “Vali lookalike” prospect called Odin.

Other assets include the wholly-owned EP 126 permit in the Northern Territory, containing the Cullen oil and gas prospect, a 30% stake in the Galilee Basin Deeps joint venture (the Albany gas field) with Comet Ridge (ASX: COI) as operator, and an agreement to earn a 30% interest in the Cervantes oil prospect in the Perth Basin in joint venture with Metgasco and private company RCMA.

But the company’s second priority to Vali is the perhaps underrated Nangwarry carbon dioxide discovery made earlier this year.

It lies in proximity to the Caroline-1 well, which produced carbon dioxide for about 50 years before the reserve depleted in 2017 and is regarded as the most profitable well in South Australia’s history, including oil and gas wells.

While some carbon dioxide is captured from power stations and sold into various industries, a big problem is the stop-start nature of these sources. And readers may be wondering why producing more carbon dioxide would be a profitable business in today’s world as we head towards greener energy sources, but in fact, carbon dioxide is demanded by the medical and firefighting industries and for beverages such as beer, wine and soda.

Interestingly, Pfizer’s new COVID-19 vaccine requires storage at minus 70 degrees Celsius so to achieve this, significant amounts of carbon dioxide are needed in the cold storage process to create dry ice. In which case, Mr Gibbins said timing “couldn’t be better” to bring the Nangwarry discovery into the spotlight.

“We’re seeing that as another possible added advantage in providing this supply to the market,” he said.

“We’ve had discussions with a number of parties around the supply of this gas. Since Caroline stopped around 2017, there are few pure (>90% carbon dioxide) and stable sources of supply. So, it could be a really good cash generator for the business,” he added.

Plans for 2021

Following the successful fracture stimulation and flow testing of the Vali-1 ST-1 well in August, which achieved a stabilised gas flow rate of 4.3 million cubic feet per day, Vintage moved to the front end engineering design (FEED) stage. This involves refining cost estimates for connecting the Vali well to the Moomba gas gathering system .

According to Mr Gibbins, the work remaining before first cash is generated from Vali includes connecting that flowline and negotiating access agreements with Santos (Moomba’s operator), as well as securing a buyer for the gas.

“We’re in discussions with a number of parties and based on our development concept there could be up to nine wells in this field over time.

“We did a capital raising recently and some of the funds will be used for appraisal drilling into the Vali Field to further assess future field performance and assist with negotiating a long term contract (or contracts) with a gas buyer on the east coast”, Mr Gibbins said.

“We will target an initial short-term contract off the back of the first well. Then we’ll effectively be flowing gas into the Moomba system and getting cash in the door,” he added, giving an estimated timeline of the second quarter of 2021 for first production and cash flow.

Meanwhile, Vintage this week announced a target start date of late January or early February for the flow testing of the Nangwarry-1 well and said the procurement of long lead items has commenced.

Once testing is completed, and if a commercial outcome is achieved, the company is aiming to rapidly move the project toward commercialisation.

The east coast gas market outlook

The catalyst for the creation and subsequent ASX listing of Vintage was Australia’s east coast gas market supply crisis. At the time, gas prices had reached levels ranging between $8-$10 per Gigajoule and there were serious concerns of a significant gas shortage by the mid-2020s.

While spot prices recently softened to average around $4-$5.50/GJ, the concerns still remain with the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) recently forecasting “potential supply gaps during peak winter days from 2024” due to operational constraints including depleted reserves and a lack of new developments.

AEMO also issued warnings just this week that due to the heatwave shortly set to spread across Australia, there could be temporary supply issues in parts of Queensland and New South Wales.

Mr Gibbins said future supply issues remain and will become more apparent as the world economies recover from the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. When LNG exports recover supply will tighten, which will have an associated impact on pricing.

“Victoria is the state at biggest risk of being short-gas as field reserves start to decline in the offshore Gippsland Basin.”

He also mentioned that gas is an ideal transition fuel in the process to move to greater levels of renewable energy, such as solar and wind. This transition is not going to happen overnight and will require careful planning and appropriate policy settings to ensure stability of energy supply.

“All of these things create a perfect storm of shortages and potentially higher gas prices,” Mr Gibbins said.

He added, “we are confident that we will be able to secure a strong long-term price for Vali gas based on the demand and supply outlook. The company is keen to get approvals and processes in place to kick off our planned work on the Vali Field and also assess the Nangwarry carbon dioxide discovery. There are exciting times ahead for Vintage as we move towards our first commercial production.”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.