随着油价回升,但股市保持低位,价值差距拉开

Oil price recovery stocks ASX July 2021 OPEC
石油部门正在等待OPEC的行动,以缓解迅速出现的全球石油短缺。

“石油,石油,还有更多的石油,”听起来像是100年前的投资建议,而不是上周,但这就是Jeff Currie的建议,他是世界领先的投资银行Goldman Sachs的大宗商品专家。

Currie对石油的热爱并不令人惊讶,即使在能源转型和可再生能源和电池金属崛起的时代,这在政治上是不正确的,它们应该取代旧能源,特别是石油和煤炭。

然而,今年年初以来,石油和煤炭分别以45%和130%的涨幅成为股市的明星。这意味着,可能一直持有旧能源股的投资者本应享受意外的胜利——但他们没有。

尽管大宗商品价格已从去年的剧烈震荡中恢复过来,但大多数石油股票都是糟糕的投资。去年的油价暴跌至每桶20美元(其中一份期货合约为负值)。

无论是大是小,涉及石油(以及与其密切相关的天然气)的公司都在苦苦挣扎,要么是因为石油对有环保意识的投资者来说不是一种可接受的投资,要么是因为石油价格的反复无常意味着它太不稳定或被认为是不可持续的。

Oil price stocks July 2021
石油已从一年多前的低点大幅回升。

但如果油价像Currie等专业人士所认为的那样出现反弹,那么就很难忽视大宗商品价格与多数股票价格之间的价值差距。

自今年1月以来,石油价格(以布伦特原油质量衡量)已升至75美元/桶(99澳元/桶)的三年高点,而电煤价格则升至每吨125美元(166澳元/吨)的10年高点。

OPEC会议可能会决定油价的走势

那次油价上涨也为几乎被遗忘的操纵价格的卡特尔——石油输出国组织(OPEC)的回归打开了大门。

在接下来的几天里,投资者可以期待听到更多关于阿拉伯领导的OPEC的消息,因为OPEC将与其最好的朋友和另一个石油资源丰富的国家俄罗斯举行一系列会议。

在位于奥地利首都维也纳的OPEC总部,关于OPEC和俄罗斯的会议曾一度引起媒体的狂热,但随着COVID-19在空中传播,会议已经变成了一件通过电脑连接进行的沉闷事情。

目前这轮OPEC会议肯定不会枯燥乏味,主要焦点是为OPEC成员国制定计划,适度增加产量,以缓解OPEC鼓励的产量限制导致的石油短缺。

Currie认为,全球经济正迅速摆脱Covid – 19疫情的影响,石油消费量在短短几周内就从9500万桶/天上升到9700万桶/天,而在经济放缓期间造成的石油过剩正在迅速枯竭。

未来几天将决定石油价格的走向。Currie预计油价将达到80美元/桶(106美元/桶),但市场上也有传言称,到圣诞节时油价可能达到100美元/桶(133美元/桶),尤其是如果OPEC对其提出的供应增加计划不甚乐观,或需求继续快速增长,或两者兼之。

在澳大利亚股市,有几家大型石油生产商的表现自年初以来一直令人失望。

Woodside Petroleum (ASX: WPL)下跌3%至22.28澳元。Beach Energy (ASX: BPT)股价下跌31%,至1.26澳元,Santos (ASX: STO)股价小幅上涨12%,至7.21澳元,而这些走势的背景是油价上涨45%。

在石油行业的低端也没有好到哪里去,尽管在那里,如果OPEC不能提供一个显著的供应响应,可以产生最大的杠杆作用。

小盘油股值得关注

Warrego Energy (ASX: WGO)和Strike Energy (ASX: STX)是两家完全独立的公司,但在Dongara附近的一个共同天然气田合并。东加拉是西澳大利亚沿海城市,位于珀斯北部。

West Erregulla油田(以及附近的Waitsia油田)的发现,使Dongara在首次发现后的50多年里重新回到了天然气地图上,随后经历了短暂的繁荣和长期的衰退,这是大多数油气田的本质。

但是,拥有一个新发现的天然气50%的股权并不意味着所有者能够与Warrego的2.34亿澳元的投资业绩同步,而Strike的投资业绩已经达到6.25亿澳元。

造成这种差异的原因可能是,West Erregulla的两位所有者打算如何处理他们将在未来几年开始生产的天然气。Warrego计划向Alcoa等大型天然气用户出售天然气,而Strike计划投资于下游加工,以生产化学品和化肥。

自今年年初以来,Warrego的股价下跌0.5澳分(下跌2%)至0.24澳元,而Strike的股价上涨了0.025澳元(上涨8.6%)至0.32澳元。

三年前,当Carnarvon Petroleum (ASX: CVN)与Santos共同发现西澳大利亚西北海岸的Dorado油田时,它曾是股市上的明星。然而,今年随着Dorado的开发临近,卡纳文已经淡出了人们的视线。

Santos,拥有80%的字段(卡那封有20%),上周宣布,前端工程和设计Dorado开发已经开始,预计成本约20亿澳元将在75000年和100000年之间的初始流量一天桶优质原油。

Carnarvon的市值较低,为3.99亿澳元,股价为0.24澳元。按这个价格计算,该公司每天将获得2万桶石油,价值为每天150万美元(约合199万澳元)。

Carnarvon的吸引力还在于其繁忙的勘探计划,其中包括今年晚些时候在East Timor水域的Buffalo油田进行钻探。

Cooper Energy (ASX: COE)曾经是一家活跃在澳大利亚中部Cooper Basin的公司,如今是Gippsland Basin的海上天然气生产商,完全暴露在澳大利亚东海岸天然气短缺的风险之下。

Cooper的关键资产是Sole天然气平台,该平台通过陆上Orbost处理中心向维多利亚州和新南威尔士州的客户输送天然气。

去年的油价暴跌和Sole项目的缓慢完成,导致Cooper的股价从去年年初的0.63澳元暴跌61%,到去年的0.24澳元的销售额,但随着收入的增加,库柏可能会获得重新评级,并增加其温和的3.83亿澳元的市值。

Triangle Energy (ASX: TEG)是一个值得关注的小公司,它在Perth Basin拥有最大的区块,包括已经在生产的Cliff Head油田。

另一件对该公司有利的事情是其在State Gas (ASX: Gas)的大量股权,该公司旨在通过开发昆士兰州Reid的Dome项目,利用东海岸天然气供应的机会。第一批天然气的生产目标是2023年。

Triangle最近通过配股筹集了1000万澳元,新老投资者都对该公司的Perth Basin扩张战略和State Gas股份表示了“巨大的”兴趣。

值得注意的是,尽管该公司目前的市值为1470万澳元,但其对State Gas的投资价值约为2500万澳元。

外卡也很有野心,值得一提的是人脉广泛的管理团队, Empire Energy Group (ASX: EEG)是一个小公司, 今天的股票市场价值1.41亿澳元,但一只脚在什么可能是澳大利亚的第二大石油和天然气产区,陆上的Beetaloo Basin北部领土。

在勘探方面,Beetaloo是一个“大手笔”国家,有着巨大的理论潜力,但需要大量的科学分析和钻探来证明该地区成为经济上可行的石油和天然气资源的概念。

对于无所畏惧的赌徒来说,Empire可能是一个值得一试的项目,尤其是如果它的技术团队能够打破Beetaloo的坚硬岩石。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Value gap opens as oil price recovers but stocks stay down

Oil price recovery stocks ASX July 2021 OPEC
The oil sector awaits action from OPEC to alleviate a rapidly emerging global oil shortage.

“Oil, oil and more oil,” sounds like an investment tip from 100 years ago and not last week, but that’s what Jeff Currie is advising and he’s the commodity guru at the world’s leading investment bank, Goldman Sachs.

Currie’s love of oil is hardly surprising, even if it is politically incorrect at a time of energy transition and the rise of renewable energy and battery metals, which are supposed to replace old energy, especially oil and coal.

However, in a remarkable flashback to an earlier era, oil and coal have been star performers since the start of the year rising by 45% and 130% respectively. This means that investors who might have stuck with old energy should have enjoyed a surprise win – except they haven’t.

Most oil stocks have been poor investments even as the price of their underlying commodities have recovered from last year’s sharp shock, which saw the oil price crash to US$20 a barrel (and negative in one futures contract).

Whether large or small, companies exposed to oil (and its close associate, natural gas) have struggled, either because oil is not an acceptable investment for environmentally conscious investors or its mercurial price moves mean that it’s too slippery or believed to not be sustainable.

Oil price stocks July 2021
Oil has recovered sharply from its lows just over a year ago.

But if oil is staging a comeback, as some professionals such as Currie believe is the case, then it becomes hard to ignore the value gap opening between the commodity price and most share prices.

Since January, oil (as measured by Brent-quality crude) has risen to a three-year high of US$75/bbl (A$99/bbl) while thermal coal is at a 10-year high of US$125 a tonne (A$166/t).

OPEC meetings could determine oil price’s direction

That oil price increase has also opened the door to the return of the almost forgotten price-fixing cartel, the Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC).

Over the next few days investors can expect to hear a lot more about the Arab-led OPEC as it conducts a series of meetings with its best friend and another oil-rich country, Russia.

Conferences of OPEC and Russia (snappily referred to as OPEC+) once created a media frenzy at the organisation’s head office in the Austrian capital, Vienna, but with COVID-19 in the air they have become a dull affair conducted by computer link.

The current round of OPEC meetings promises to be anything but dull with the primary focus being a plan for members of the organisation to make a modest increase in output to alleviate what is a rapidly emerging oil shortage caused by OPEC-encouraged production restrictions.

Currie reckons the global economy is emerging so rapidly from the Covid slowdown that oil consumption has risen from 95 million barrels per day to 97MMbpd in just a few weeks with an oil glut created during the slowdown being quickly drained.

The next few days will determine the direction of the oil price. Currie reckons it will hit US$80/bbl (A$106/bbl), but there is also talk in the market of US$100/bbl (A$133/bbl) possible by Christmas, especially if OPEC is miserly with its proposed supply increase or demand continues to rise quickly – or both.

On the Australian stock market, there are a handful of big oil producers which have been disappointing performers since the start of the year.

Woodside Petroleum (ASX: WPL) is down 3% to $22.28. Beach Energy (ASX: BPT) is down 31% to $1.26, while Santos (ASX: STO) has managed a modest 12% rise to $7.21 – and those moves are against a backdrop of a 45% oil price increase.

It isn’t much better at the small end of the oil sector, though it’s down there that maximum leverage can be generated if OPEC fails to deliver a significant supply response.

Small cap oil stocks to watch

Warrego Energy (ASX: WGO) and Strike Energy (ASX: STX) – totally separate companies but joined at the asset base by a shared gas field near Dongara, a coastal Western Australian town north of Perth.

Discovery of the West Erregulla field (and the nearby Waitsia field) put Dongara back on the gas map more than 50 years after the first find was reported, followed by a brief boom and a long decline, which is the nature of most oil and gas fields.

But owning 50% of a new gas discovery does not mean the owners are delivering synchronised investment performance with Warrego valued at $234 million while Strike has steamed ahead to $625 million.

The difference might be explained by what the two owners of West Erregulla propose to do with the gas they will start producing in the next few years. Warrego plans to sell its gas into the WA pipeline system, supplying big gas users such as Alcoa, while Strike is proposing to invest in downstream processing to produce chemicals and fertiliser.

Since the start of the year, Warrego’s share price has fallen by half-a-cent (down 2%) to $0.24 while Strike is up $0.025 (up 8.6%) to $0.32.

Carnarvon Petroleum (ASX: CVN) was a stock market star three years ago when it shared with Santos in the discovery of the Dorado oilfield off the northwest WA coast. However,Carnarvon has faded this year even as development of Dorado moves closer.

Santos, which owns 80% of the field (Carnarvon has 20%), announced last week that front-end engineering and design had started for the Dorado development, which is expected to cost around $2 billion to bring online at an initial flow rate of between 75,000 and 100,000 barrels of high-quality crude a day.

At that upper-level Carnarvon, with its lowly stock market value of $399 million and a share price of $0.24, will be the recipient of 20,000 barrels of oil a day valued at US$1.5 million per day (A$1.99 million/day).

Adding to Carnarvon’s appeal is a busy exploration schedule that includes drilling the Buffalo prospect in the waters of East Timor later this year.

Once a company active in its namesake Cooper Basin of central Australia, Cooper Energy (ASX: COE) today is an offshore Gippsland Basin gas producer fully exposed to the Australian east coast gas shortage.

The key asset in Cooper is the Sole gas platform which is delivering gas via the onshore Orbost processing centre to customers in Victoria and New South Wales.

Last year’s oil price crash and the slow completion of the Sole project saw Cooper’s share price plunge by 61% from $0.63 early last year to last sales at $0.24 but as revenues rise, Cooper might enjoy a re-rating and an increase to its modest market value of $383 million.

A micro cap to watch is Triangle Energy (ASX: TEG), a small fry in market terms but the owner of the largest acreage holding in the Perth Basin, both on and offshore including the already producing Cliff Head oilfield.

Another thing going for the company is its substantial equity interest in State Gas (ASX: GAS), which aims to take advantage of the east coast gas supply opportunity by developing the Reid’s Dome project in Queensland. First gas production is targeted for 2023.

Triangle recently raised $10 million in a share placement, noting that the “tremendous” interest from new and existing investors was in recognition of the company’s Perth Basin expansion strategy and this stake in State Gas.

It’s also worth noting that while its market cap is currently $14.7 million, its investment in State Gas is worth around $25 million.

A wild card with big ambitions and a remarkably well-connected management team, Empire Energy Group (ASX: EEG) is a minnow today with a stock market value of $141 million but a foot on what could be Australia’s next big oil and gas producing region, the Beetaloo Basin of the onshore Northern Territory.

In exploration terms, Beetaloo is “elephant” country with enormous theoretical potential but with a lot of scientific analysis and drilling required to prove the concept of the area becoming an economically viable source of oil and gas.

For fearless punters looking for maximum bang for their buck, Empire could be one for a rewarding ride, especially if its technical team can crack the hard rocks of the Beetaloo.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.