修还是不修,这就是住房贷款的问题

Housing loan rate fix variable RBA

市场对央行将官方利率降至0.1%的决定做出的一个更有趣的反应是,固定房贷利率和浮动房贷利率之间的差距越来越大。

四年来,固定利率已明显降至2%以下——这个惊人的低利率在澳大利亚从未出现过。

与此同时,四大银行还在鼓吹他们新的低固定利率贷款,而对于澳洲央行的降息将对现有借款人的浮动利率贷款意味着什么,却出现了死气沉沉的沉默。

一些规模较小的金融机构降低了浮动利率,但四大银行并没有发表声明,因为它们庞大的贷款账目现在饱受客户的抱怨,客户支付的利率远高于它们再融资所能得到的利率,尤其是如果它们转向固定利率贷款的话。

取而代之的是来自理财规划师的常见的混乱指令:人们应该做比较研究,“准备跳槽”,然后威胁离开银行,希望从现有的贷款人或新的贷款人那里“获得”一个更有竞争力的报价。

考虑到住房贷款的前期支出规模,以及普通银行客户不愿在与银行的高风险扑克游戏中尝试自己的谈判技巧,这并不是一个新颖或无风险的建议。

投入战斗可能会带来一些额外的好处,但远不及转向固定利率贷款所带来的好处。

这是最低的利率了吗?

传统上,大多数理财规划师都对固定利率贷款非常谨慎,他们认为,固定利率贷款可能很危险,因为客户被高额的违约费困住了,而利率可能进一步下降,让客户陷入无法脱身的困境。

但现在情况已经不一样了,澳大利亚央行行长Phillip Lowe明确表示,官方利率不会出现负值,但在未来很长一段时间内不太可能上升。

正如澳大利亚央行董事会在他们的决定中所说,“董事会不考虑进一步降低利率。”在现汇目标利率为10个基点、外汇结算余额利率为零的情况下,利率已在当前环境下合理的范围内下调。

“委员会认为短期利率进入负利率区间不会有什么好处,并继续认为出现负利率的可能性极低。”

“董事会已经承诺,在实际通胀率持续保持在2-3%的目标范围内之前,不会提高现金利率目标。”这将需要一段时间强劲的就业增长,以及重新回到供不应求的劳动力市场。”

这是你可能从中央银行得到的最清晰的预测,并回避了一个问题,为什么普通客户不简单地“锁定它,埃迪”,并以固定利率贷款再融资——假设在考虑了所有成本后,数字是合理的。

没有什么坏处

即使澳大利亚央行是错的,被迫设定一个负的现金利率,下降的幅度也可能很小——完全不同于那些提前将利率锁定在7%甚至4%,结果却看到利率进一步下跌的客户。

答案很简单,很多人会抢购这些固定的贷款,这些银行仍将获得了可观的利润,因为他们已经利用从澳大利亚央行830亿澳元的超低价钱,与另一个1040亿澳元仍然可以从这个设施现金率仅为0.1%。

准备好迎接固定费率的踩踏事件吧

澳大利亚国民银行(National Australia Bank)首席执行长Ross McEwan透露了情况。他承认,该行预计会出现大量再融资申请,固定贷款可能会占总贷款总额的30%。

McEwan对《澳大利亚人报》说:“现实情况是,这个市场正在朝着固定利率的方向发展,它只占(NAB)账面利率的10%,我想你很快就会看到它升至30%……我们在(新抵押贷款)流动中看到了这一点。”

如果真的发生了,那将是一场规模巨大的再融资活动,而银行似乎都在为此做准备——尽可能提供低于2%的最丰厚的固定贷款,并尽可能长时间保持较高的浮动贷款利率。

传统上,澳大利亚住房贷款主要是浮动利率贷款,具有抵销账户和随时进行再融资的能力,超过了固定贷款的“锁定”性质。

然而,随着澳大利亚各大银行现在大力推行固定利率贷款,而利率已经触底,在贷款再融资的混乱中,这一切可能即将改变。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

To fix or not to fix, that is the housing loan question

Housing loan rate fix variable RBA

One of the more interesting market responses to the Reserve Bank’s decision to cut the official cash rate to just 0.1% is the growing rift between fixed and floating home loan rates.

Fixed rates over four years have now fallen decisively below 2% – a staggeringly low rate that has never before been seen in Australia.

At the same time as the big four banks were trumpeting their new, low fixed rate loans, there was deathly silence about when the RBA cut would mean for existing borrowers on floating rate loans.

Some of the smaller institutions cut their floating rates but there was no announcement from the big four with their massive loan books now groaning with customers paying rates well above what they could get if they refinanced, or particularly if they switched to a fixed rate loan.

Instead there was the usual welter of instructions from financial planners that people should do their comparison research and “prepare to switch’’ and then threaten to walk out on their bank to hopefully “earn” a more competitive offer – either from their existing lender or a new one.

Given the size of upfront expenses on a home loan and the reluctance of the average bank customer to try out their negotiating skills in a high stakes game of poker with their bank, it was hardly a novel or risk-free suggestion.

There may be some extra sugar to be hoovered up by going into battle but nowhere near as much as there is by moving to a fixed rate loan.

Is this as low as rates can go?

Traditionally, most financial planners have been very cautious about fixed rate loans, arguing that they could be dangerous because customers are locked into them by hefty break fees while rates could fall further, leaving the customer with a bad deal they can’t get out of.

That is literally now no longer the case with RBA Governor Dr Phillip Lowe making it clear that official rates won’t be going negative but are unlikely to rise for a long time to come.

As the RBA Board said in their decision “The Board is not contemplating a further reduction in interest rates. With the cash rate target at 10 basis points and the interest rate on Exchange Settlement balances at zero, interest rates have been lowered as far as it makes sense to do so in the current environment.

“The Board considers that there is little to be gained from short-term interest rates moving into negative territory and continues to view a negative policy rate as extraordinarily unlikely.

“The Board has committed not to increase the cash rate target until actual inflation is sustainably within the target range of 2–3%. This will require a period of strong employment growth and a return to a tight labour market.’’

That’s as clear a forecast as you are ever likely to get from a central bank and begs the question, why wouldn’t the average customer simply “lock it in, Eddie’’ and refinance with a fixed rate loan – assuming the numbers made sense after taking all costs into account.

Not much downside left

Even if the RBA is wrong and is forced into setting a negative cash rate, the downside difference is likely to be small – nothing like those customers who prematurely locked-in at 7% or even 4%, only to see rates plummet still further.

The simple answer is that a lot of people will be snapping up those fixed loans, which the banks will still be making a tidy profit on given that they have already taken advantage of $83 billion of ultra-cheap money from the RBA, with another $104 billion still available from this facility at the cash rate of just 0.1%.

Get ready for the fixed rate stampede

National Australia Bank chief executive Ross McEwan let the cat out of the bag when he admitted that the bank was expecting a rush of refinancing applications, with fixed loans potentially rising as high as 30% of their total loan book.

“The reality is that this market is moving more toward fixed rates for certainty, it was about 10% of the (NAB) book I think you’ll see it quite quickly getting to 30% … we are seeing that in the (new mortgage) flows,” Mr McEwan told The Australian.

If it comes to pass that is a serious amount of refinancing activity and it seems the banks are all preparing for it – offering the juiciest just sub-2% fixed loans they can and hanging on to the higher floating loan rates for as long as they can.

Traditionally Australian home loans are predominantly floating rate loans, with features such as offset accounts and the ability to refinance at any time trumping the “locked in’’ nature of fixed loans.

However, with the big Australian banks now pushing fixed rate loans strongly and rates scraping the bottom of the barrel, that could all be about to change amid a welter of loan refinancing.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.