作为电池墨水研发工作的一部分,Strategic Elements投资的电池超过4伏

Strategic Elements battery ink cells 4 volt ASX SOR
更小的电池墨水电池的进一步开发预计将在接下来的4 - 6周内进行。

Strategic Elements (ASX: SOR)宣布,其投资的Australian Advanced Materials突破了4伏自充电电池屏障,这是该公司正在进行的包含多个连接电池墨水电池的原型电池组的研发工作的一部分。

目前,这种自充电电池墨水技术正在与CSIRO和新南威尔士大学(University of New South Wales)合作开发,利用空气中的湿度或皮肤表面产生电力

联合开发基金宣布,到目前为止,该技术已经显示出“强大的早期潜力”,早期原型电池被放大到1升墨水批量大小,现在单个电池从0.8V增加到第一个原型电池组的最大电压4.4V。

与传统电池和电源相比,自充电技术具有强大的潜在竞争优势,传统电池和电源在需要持续供电或充电时存在灵活性、尺寸、重量和安全问题。

该公司目前正在设计一款混合动力发电机,最初的市场重点是可穿戴设备和物联网相关设备,如皮肤贴片传感器。研发工作还在评估一种柔性纺织材料原型,并以碳中和的方式从环境中获取能源。

然而,该基金承认,更高性能的应用可能需要开发用于能量存储和监管的电容器,并将在稍后的日期解决。

循序渐进

Strategic Elements表示,4.4伏特的成就是开发自充电电池技术的“重要里程碑”。

“早期观察表明,墨水电池的尺寸可能会缩小,但仍能产生类似的电压(0.8V)。值得注意的是,这有可能开发出更小的设备,或在特定区域产生更大的能量。”

Strategic Elements董事总经理Charles Murphy表示,鉴于早期里程碑取得的令人鼓舞的成就,该基金将增加材料科学博士专业知识,并组建一个行业专家小组。

Murphy表示:“该技术横跨电池和环保技术这两个2021年最强大的投资领域,非常适合我们高风险、高回报的汇集发展基金结构。”

证明

由于正在进行的研发工作,在玻璃上制造了5个1平方厘米的电池墨水电池,重量不到3毫克,比人的头发还要细。

然后,这些细胞被“串联”起来,放置在一个湿度为75%的测试箱中,因为“已知人类皮肤会产生高达90%的湿度”。

根据Strategic Elements,在5小时的测试期间,原型电池组保持了超过4伏特的开路电压输出,最大达到4.4伏特。

此外,尽管湿度降至55%,但输出电压仍维持在4V以上,并且没有出现退化现象,这是对该技术潜在广泛应用的初步认识。

此外,最新的原型通过从湿度中收集能量并在测试室中操纵湿度,在自我充电能力方面表现出了微小的改进。

将湿度降低到1%以下意味着输出电压降低到0.17V,如预期的那样。然而,当湿度恢复后,电池组又开始产生其峰值电压。

由于近几个月来实现一些发展的里程碑,现在违反4-volt障碍作为其发展计划的一部分,Strategic Elements表示,本周周三提交了一份专利申请,确认进一步的工作计划测试电池墨水细胞在不同的湿度。

“进一步发展减少电池墨水细胞大小而保留相同的电压输出,而且,发展中电池墨水细胞能够组装到一个灵活的纺织材料开始,”该公司表示电池发展与未来发展的里程碑墨水细胞”4倍小于现有的细胞”。

“过去九年里,我在新南威尔士大学的团队在印刷电子油墨、能源收集和存储方面积累了丰富的经验。虽然电池墨水仍处于开发阶段,但作为一种发电机电池技术,它的发展前景很有希望。我们与Strategic Elements团队的紧密合作使我们能够迅速前进,”新南威尔士大学教授Dewei Chu说。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Strategic Elements’ investee exceeds 4-volt barrier as part of ongoing battery ink R&D work

Strategic Elements battery ink cells 4 volt ASX SOR
Further development of smaller battery ink cells is expected to be conducted over the next four-to-six weeks.

Strategic Elements (ASX: SOR) announced its investee Australian Advanced Materials has breached the 4-volt self-charging battery barrier as part of ongoing research and development work on a prototype battery pack containing multiple connected battery ink cells.

Currently in development in partnership with the CSIRO and the University of New South Wales, the self-charging battery ink technology generates electricity from humidity in the air or skin surface.

The pooled development fund declared that to date, the technology has demonstrated “strong early-stage potential” after early prototypes were scaled up to 1-litre ink batch size and now increasing from 0.8V in a single cell to a maximum voltage of 4.4V from the first prototype battery pack developed.

The self-charging battery technology has strong potential competitive advantages over traditional batteries and power sources that suffer from flexibility, dimension, weight and safety issues whilst needing a constant power supply or to be charged.

The company is currently designing a hybrid electric generator with an initial market focus on wearables and IoT-related devices such as skin patch sensors. R&D work is also evaluating a flexible textile material prototype and harvesting energy from the environment in a carbon-neutral way.

However, the fund conceded that higher performance applications are likely to require the development of a capacitor for energy storage and regulation and will be addressed at a later date.

Incremental progress

Strategic Elements said the 4.4 volt achievement was a “significant milestone” in developing the self-charging battery technology.

“Early observations suggest battery ink cells have the potential to be reduced in size whilst still generating a similar level of voltage (0.8V). Significantly, this could potentially enable development of much smaller devices or greater energy generated from a specific area.”

Strategic Elements managing director Charles Murphy said that given the encouraging achievement of early milestones, the fund would be adding PhD material science expertise and developing a panel of industry specialists.

“The technology sits across two of the strongest 2021 investment sectors in batteries and environmental technologies and is a very good fit for our high-risk, high reward pooled development fund structure,” said Mr Murphy.

Proved up

As a result of ongoing R&D work, five 1cm-square battery ink cells weighing less than 3 milligrams and thinner than a human hair were fabricated onto glass.

The cells were then “serially connected” and placed in a testing chamber with 75% humidity, given that “human skin is known to generate elevated levels of humidity to 90%.”

According to Strategic Elements, the prototype battery pack sustained an open circuit voltage output exceeding 4 volts over a 5-hour testing period and achieving a maximum of 4.4 volts.

Moreover – and as an early insight into the potentially extensive applications of the technology – voltage output was sustained above 4V despite the humidity level being reduced to 55%, without suffering from degradation.

Additionally, the most recent prototype demonstrated a marginal improvement in self-charge capability through harvesting energy from humidity and manipulating moisture in a testing chamber.

Reducing the humidity to less than 1% meant voltage output was reduced to 0.17V, as expected. However, as humidity was restored, the battery pack returned to producing its peak voltage.

As a result of achieving several development milestones in recent months and now breaching the 4-volt barrier as part of its development program, Strategic Elements said it filed a patent application on Wednesday this week and confirmed further work is planned to test its battery ink cells under varying humidity levels.

“Further development on reducing battery ink cell size whilst retaining the same voltage output, and, developing battery ink cells capable of being fabricated onto a flexible textile material has commenced,” the company said with the next development milestone being to develop battery ink cells “up to four times smaller than the existing cells”.

“My group at UNSW have developed deep experience in printed electronic inks, energy harvesting and storage over the past nine years. Although still under development the battery ink is developing promisingly as an electrical generator battery technology. Our strong collaboration with the Strategic Elements team is enabling us to move forward expeditiously,” UNSW Professor Dewei Chu said.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.