小型铁矿石生产商有望从大型矿商的现金流中获得提振

Iron ore juniors big miners ASX mining industry Australia
创纪录的铁矿石价格将为该行业的大公司带来一笔意外之财。

未来几周,大型铁矿石生产商的大量现金流入,将提高规模较小的铁矿石生产商对澳大利亚利润最高的矿业的投资兴趣。

BHP (ASX: BHP), Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO) 和 Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG)预计在公布上半年和全年利润时将发放巨额股息,因铁矿石价格创下历史新高。

铁矿石拒绝跌破每吨200美元(尽管反复预测会下跌)。鉴于上述利好消息对铁矿石主要生产商的股东而言,在投资者寻找下一批赢家之际,也将产生流动效应。

如果铁矿石价格在三年的繁荣之后真的下跌,那么晚到的铁矿石市场就有风险,但风险最大的是现有生产商的股票,而小型生产商和勘探商的股票没有被收益猎人过度夸大。

但也存在一个上行风险,即由于COVID-19疫情放缓后全球经济强劲增长的独特特点,以及供应持续短缺,特别是来自巴西的供应,铁矿石价格将比前几个周期更长时间保持在高位。

Iron ore prices July 2021
近几个月铁矿石价格飙升至历史新高。

Credit Suisse此前预计优质铁矿石(含铁量62%)基准价格将下跌至149美元/吨,但上周将今年剩余时间的价格预期上调至179美元/吨,原因是钢铁需求,尤其是中国的需求继续超出预期。

“我们认为,到2022年,全球铁矿石市场仍将相当紧张,并将我们的预测从今年的149美元/吨上调至179美元/吨,明年从120美元/吨上调至144美元/吨,”这家投资银行在一份题为《到2022年仍将强劲增长》的报告中表示。

较小规模的铁矿石则处于观望状态

对铁矿石感兴趣的投资者面临的挑战是,来自该行业的消息主要由主要生产商主导,而新兴企业则被拒之门外,尽管其中几家有可靠的故事可讲,例如:

Fenix Resources

Fenix Resources (ASX: FEX)可能规模较小,但与大多数其他铁矿石生产商相比,它具有显著的优势。

Fenix生产高品位的矿石,吸引溢价高于已经膨胀的基准价格。Fenix本周稍早公布的6月季度生产报告,可让我们瞥见铁矿石等级的含义。该公司在报告中称,其铁矿石出货量为28.1万吨,营运利润率为每吨127澳元。

加上Fenix今年早些时候的第一批发货,其位于西澳大利亚州中西部的Iron Ridge矿在6月份的季度出口意味着该公司在四个半月的时间里售出了500600t吨62.5%的铁矿石,获得了6,600万美元的现金。

尽管Iron Ridge的矿石资源不多,只有105万吨,但它的生命周期很短,但有利可图,因为它的现金资金用于尤利西斯(Ulysses)矿床和Iron Ridge Extended等扩张选项。

强劲的资产负债表意味着Fenix董事会已经在讨论资本管理,也就是股票回购,这有助于解释为什么该公司的股价在过去六周大幅上涨,从0.13澳元(46%)上涨至0.41澳元。

Red Hill Iron

Red Hill Iron (ASX: RHI)长期以来一直处于观望状态,以至于很少有投资者听说过它,但它是ASX中人脉最广的小型勘探公司之一,在一个可能世界级的铁矿石开发项目中占有一席之地。

Red Hill的宝贵资产是Pannawonica铁矿石项目的部分所有权,该项目位于西澳皮尔巴拉地区的心脏地带,里约热内卢是其邻居。

除了拥有宝贵的土地,Red Hill还有令人印象深刻的合作伙伴,包括AMCI (American Metals & Coal)和中国的Boasteel。

许多研究已经完成在过去十年中发展中丰富的资源基础的一部分的方法与新鲜尝试目前正在这有助于解释为什么交投清淡股票已上涨迅速自今年年初以来,上涨0.83澳元(307%),报1.10澳元,公司市值为6500万澳元。

2008年,在上一次铁矿石热潮期间,Red Hill曾是一颗迷你明星,股价一度触及6.58澳元的历史高点,随后在去年初长期下滑至0.12美元。

CZR Resources

拉伸点来描述CZR Resources (ASX: CZR)的重生一度Atlas Iron,不过,很容易看出为什么描述可以应用到股票计划的一系列小铁矿,Atlas的前首席执行官,David Flanagan主席。

对于铁矿石领域的新手来说,Atlas是上一个繁荣时期的明星,是早期开发小型且基本上被忽视的矿体的先行者,这些矿体在铁矿石价格高企时期有着稳定的利润。

Atlas矿的起点是BHP搁置的Goldsworthy矿附近的Pardoo矿,随后是其他矿,直到铁矿石价格下跌才宣告结束,Gina Rinehart的Hancock Mining group也收购了Atlas矿。

Flanagan的回归是带着一项计划,让CZR在West Pilbara一个名为Robe Mesa的露头上开设一个小型矿场,可能通过Onslow港出口。该公司还有其他资产,都是与西澳领先(也是最富有)的勘探者Mark Creasy合资的。

CZR在股市表现平平,自年初以来已经从0.02澳元跌至0.011澳元,但最近一次700万澳元的融资将使业务继续运转,因为Flanagan和Creasy将继续进行勘探。

Macarthur Minerals

Macarthur Minerals (ASX: MIO)长期计划开发位于西澳大利亚州中部Lake Giles附近的Moonshine磁铁矿项目,但由于位置偏远,且需要大量投资加工生产高价值铁矿石精矿,多年来一直受挫。

在未来,私酿酒仍然是一种可能,但目前的计划是,以更高品位的Ularring赤铁矿为基础,快速开展一个小型直接运输项目(不含加工)。

最近的一系列进展包括申请额外的土地用于加工设备,并与Pacific National达成铁路运输协议,每年向Esperance港运送多达40万吨材料。

这些举动重新点燃了人们对该股的兴趣,该股在过去三周上涨了0.10澳元(25%)至0.50澳元。

Akora Resources

Akora Resources (ASX: AKO)位于印度洋马达加斯加岛的Bekisopa铁矿石项目的钻探岩芯进行了成功的破碎试验,引发了对该公司的兴趣。该公司计划开发一座生产优质钢厂原料的矿山。

试验证明,Bekisopa材料只需要将其压缩到3毫米即可生产出含铁62%的基准产品,而将其压缩到2毫米则可以生产出含铁64%的产品。

Akora表示,2毫米大小的材料将构成资源估计的基础,目前正在进行中。

Bekisopa的股票尚未引起大多数投资者的注意,不过马达加斯加有几家大型矿,Bekisopa的矿石含量高达66%,因此是未来开发的主要目标。

在市场上,交易清淡的Akora股价约为0.26澳元,对该公司的估值为1200万澳元(不计入税项)。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Small iron ore plays to get a boost from big miner’s cash shower

Iron ore juniors big miners ASX mining industry Australia
Record high iron ore prices are set to deliver a windfall for the majors in the sector.

Showers of cash from the big boys of iron ore over the next few weeks will increase investor interest among smaller players in Australia’s most profitable mining industry.

BHP (ASX: BHP), Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO) and Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG) are expected to unleash monster dividend payments when they report half and full year profit results inflated by record prices for the steel-making material.

With this positive news for shareholders in the leading producers of a mineral which refuses to retreat below US$200 a tonne (despite repeated forecasts of a fall), there will also be a flow-on effect as investors hunt for the next crop of winners.

There is a risk for late arrivals at the iron ore party if prices do fall after a three-year boom, but the stocks most at risk are the existing producers, whereas small producers and explorers have not seen their shares over-inflated by yield hunters.

But there is also an upside risk that the price of iron ore will remain elevated for longer than it has in earlier cycles thanks to the unique features of strong global economic growth in the wake of the COVID-19 slowdown and continuing shortfall in supply, especially from Brazil.

Iron ore prices July 2021
Iron ore prices have soared in recent months to record highs.

Credit Suisse, which had forecast a fall in the benchmark price for high-grade ore (62% iron content) to US$149/t, last week lifted its price prediction for the rest of the year to US$179/t because steel demand, especially in China, continues to exceed expectations.

“Into 2022, we believe the global iron ore market will remain reasonably tight and upgrade our forecasts to US$179/t from US$149/t this year and to US$144/t from US$120/t next year,” the investment bank said in a note headlined “Still going strong into 2022”.

Smaller iron ore plays on the sidelines

The challenge for investors with an interest in iron ore is that news flow from the sector is dominated by the major producers leaving the emerging players on the sidelines despite several having solid stories to tell, such as:

Fenix Resources

Fenix Resources (ASX: FEX) may be small but has a significant advantage over most other iron ore producers.

Fenix produces high grade ore which attracts a premium above the already inflated benchmark price. A glimpse of what grade means in iron ore was contained in Fenix’s June quarter production report released earlier this week in which the company said it shipped 281,000 tonnes of ore, at an operating margin of A$127 a tonne.

When added to Fenix’s first shipments earlier this year, the June quarter exports from its Iron Ridge mine in the Mid-West of WA, mean the business has sold 500,600t of 62.5% ore in four-and-a-half months to generate a handy $66 million in cash.

Though it has a modest resource of just 10.5Mt of ore, Iron Ridge will have a short but profitable life with its cash funding work on expansion options such as the Ulysses deposit and Iron Ridge Extended.

A strong balance sheet means Fenix’s board is already talking about capital management, code for a share buyback, which helps explain why the company’s share price has moved up sharply over the past six weeks, adding $0.13 (46%) to $0.41.

Red Hill Iron

Red Hill Iron (ASX: RHI) has been on the sidelines so long that few investors have heard of it, but it is one of the best-connected small explorers on the ASX, with its foot on a slice of a potentially world class iron ore development.

The asset plum in Red Hill is part ownership of the Pannawonica Iron Ore Project located in the heart of WA’s Pilbara region with Rio as a neighbour.

Along with the valuable landholdings, Red Hill has impressive partners, including AMCI (American Metals & Coal) and China’s Boasteel.

A number of studies have been completed over the past decade into ways of developing part of the extensive resource base with a fresh attempt currently underway which helps explain why the thinly traded stocks has risen quickly since the start of the year, up $0.83 (307%) to $1.10, valuing the company at $65 million.

Back in 2008, during the last iron ore boom, Red Hill was a mini star, hitting an all-time share price high of $6.58, before a long slide down to $0.12 early last year.

CZR Resources

It’s stretching the point to describe CZR Resources (ASX: CZR) as the rebirth of the once-famous Atlas Iron, though, it’s easy to see why that description could be applied to a stock planning a series of small iron ore mines with the former chief executive of Atlas, David Flanagan, the chairman.

For newcomers to the iron ore patch, Atlas was a star in the last boom and an early mover in developing small and largely overlooked orebodies which were solidly profitable in periods of high ore prices.

The starting point for Atlas was the Pardoo mine near BHP’s mothballed Goldsworthy operations with other mines following, until it came to an end when the ore price fell, as did Atlas which was consumed by Gina Rinehart’s Hancock Mining group.

Flanagan’s return is with a plan for CZR to start a small mine on an outcrop called the Robe Mesa in the West Pilbara, potentially exporting through the port of Onslow. There are other assets in the company, all joint ventures with WA’s leading (and richest) prospector, Mark Creasy.

A truly modest stock market performer, CZR has slipped from $0.02 to $0.011 since the start of the year but a recent $7 million capital raising will keep the business ticking over as Flanagan and Creasy kick exploration along.

Macarthur Minerals

Long-standing plans by Macarthur Minerals (ASX: MIO) to develop the Moonshine magnetite project near Lake Giles in central WA have been frustrated for years by its remote location and the need to invest heavily in processing to produce a high-value iron ore concentrate.

Moonshine remains a possibility in the future, but the immediate plan is to get moving quickly on a small direct shipping project (no processing) based on the higher-grade Ularring hematite deposits.

A series of recent developments including an application for additional land for processing equipment, and rail haulage deal with Pacific National to deliver up to 400,000t of material a year to the port of Esperance.

Those moves have rekindled interest in the stock which has risen by $0.10 (25%) to $0.50 over the past three weeks.

Akora Resources

Successful crushing trials on drill cores taken from Akora Resources’ (ASX: AKO) Bekisopa iron ore project on the Indian Ocean Island of Madagascar has raised interest in the company, which plans to develop a mine producing high grade steel mill feedstock.

What the trials demonstrated is that Bekisopa material only needs to be reduced to 3mm in size to deliver a benchmark 62% iron product, while crushing to 2mm produces a 64% iron product.

Akora said the 2mm sized material would form the basis of a resource estimate which it is working on.

The stock is yet to catch the eye of most investors, though Madagascar is the home of several big mines and outcropping features at Bekisopa assaying up to 66% iron make it a prime target for future developments.

On the market, lightly traded Akora is sitting at around $0.26, valuing the business at an untaxing $12 million.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.