采砂商正在行动,但风险很高

Minerals sands ASX titanium zircon Iluka Resources Astron
投资者对澳大利亚最古老的矿业之一——钛矿和锆石的兴趣正在恢复。

Iluka Resources (ASX: ILU)的价格几乎翻了一番,Astron Corporation (ASX: ATR)的价格也大幅上涨,这些都恢复了投资者对钛矿和锆石的兴趣,但在购买澳大利亚最古老的矿业公司之一之前,有必要看看这有多困难。

Iluka矿的价格从去年这个时候的4.5澳元涨到了8.6澳元,原因有三:一是对其开采的矿产需求增加,二是将稀土添加到其产品系列的潜力,三是非洲矿砂行业的麻烦。

Astron,一个小得多的公司表现Iluka股价从0.20澳元上升了150%在今年年初至0.51澳元由于公司重组将退出中国矿物加工业务,所以它可以专注于唐纳德项目维多利亚中部。

其他在澳交所上市的公司对钛矿和锆石业务的兴趣并没有那么明显,除了Mineral Commodities (ASX: MRC),由于运营问题和管理变动,该公司的股价自年初以来下跌了48%。

但是,在钛矿和锆石行业中,最重要的是,虽然它似乎涉及一个简单的采矿过程,即筛砂,以提取重而有价值的矿物,但其实并不简单,即使竞争对手(硬岩开采商)把采砂称为“园艺”。

采砂挑战

采砂商面临的挑战首先是矿体的位置,通常靠近海岸,以及在上世纪50年代和60年代,由于海岸沙丘的破坏,采砂过程给该行业带来了坏名声。

昆士兰海岸附近的Stradbroke Island成为了早期的环境热点,损害了矿工们的声誉,它留下了一段历史,记录了每一个新的采矿方案,并解释了为什么该行业在最终确定为“钛矿和锆石”之前,将最初的“海滩采矿”名称改为“矿砂采矿”。

挑战在采矿过程对于营销的挑战钛矿物,主要用作颜料在涂料,和锆石,主要用作陶瓷釉,主要工业是唯一的客户和消费者没有享受的“终端”市场如铜、锌和其他金属。

这一销售过程意味着,砂矿商在进入一个可能受到极端需求(和价格)变化冲击的行业之前,必须先找到买家,并就价格达成一致。

矿砂市场复苏

与大多数其他大宗商品一样,对钛矿和锆石的需求在去年因新冠肺炎导致的放缓之后强劲复苏。麦格理银行将明年锆石价格预测上调了14%,至每吨1,643澳元(2188澳元/吨),并将金红石(一种主要的钛矿)价格上调了4%。

供应问题也使澳大利亚砂矿工从Iluka控制的Sierra Rutile(塞拉利昂)非洲国家的注意,它可能会在今年晚些时候关闭或出售,因为可怜的操作性能,和一个更大的操作在南非上个月突然关闭。

失去从Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)的供应矿山和加工中心Richards Bay north 的 Durban对每个人来说,是一个重大挫折,包括南非本身因为关闭的原因是家庭暴力,已演变成一种恐怖主义,包括机关枪暗杀我的经理。

小型矿商将从价格上涨中受益

如果Richards Bay依然无限期关闭,那么影响矿物钛和锆的价格可能是重要的,而Iluka市值36亿澳元可不小,矿产价格上涨可能引发重新小沙矿商,如Strandline Resources (ASX: STA)。

此前,该公司以Gunson Resources的身份上市,主要关注的是Coburn矿砂项目以及一些非洲资产。

高环境障碍拖延了Coburn的发展,并让之前的管理团队感到沮丧。Coburn位于西澳大利亚埃克斯茅斯湾以南的海岸附近,在那里开发一个采砂业务。

在政府的大力支持和资金到位的情况下,Coburn 的建设工作终于开始了,首批矿石计划在明年最后一个季度进行加工。

与销售合同对所有输出,Coburn 预计产生的利润在其最初的22.5年里生活与投资者的兴趣可能会继续增长,因为建设里程碑传递导致改善低迷的股价一直停留约0.20澳元在过去的12个月,公司估值为2.12亿澳元。

西澳第二家新的矿砂开发商Sheffield Resources (ASX: SFX)的起步之路就像Strandline一样艰难,但该公司是在与中国合作伙伴成立了一家对半持股的合资公司以保证资金和销售之后才开始的。

Sheffield的主要资产是拥有一半所有权的Thunderbird矿砂矿床,该矿床位于西澳大利亚州最北部的Derby附近,这一位置给物流带来了挑战。

今年早些时候与中国Yansteel签署的协议,还促成了一家名为Kimberley Mineral Sands的合资企业的成立。

审判矿业已经证明易于访问近地表矿体与正在进行的工作设计和采购的设备导致预期的最终投资决定今年晚些时候,一个步骤可以恢复兴趣的股票今年已经下跌了0.05澳元(13%),报0.33澳元,公司市值为1.12亿澳元。

更关注澳大利亚和非洲的项目

作为最早涉足中国矿砂业务的澳大利亚公司之一,Astron Corporation最近宣布,计划分拆其在华资产,专注于澳大利亚和非洲的采矿业务。

当地的主要利益是2004年Astron从Rio Tinto收购的Donald项目,里约热内卢Tinto将钛和锆石业务转移到了加拿大和南非。

随着矿砂需求的增加,Iluka可能会在今年晚些时候退出红石山,以及安全问题可能会让理查兹湾离线一段时间,唐纳德的日子可能已经到来。

一些投资者肯定是这么看的,因为Astron的股价上涨了(自年初以来上涨了155%),尽管以0.51澳元计算,该公司的估值仍只有区区6300万澳元。

运营商的盈利Kwale钛和锆英矿肯尼亚在东非海岸附近的Base Resources (ASX: BSE)正寻求扩大其业务接近现有加工厂在蒙巴萨港附近,并发展一个新的在马达加斯加岛上Toliara砂矿。

与小型矿业股票不同的是,Base不仅能派息,还能保留资金,为Toliara大型项目提供资金。

尽管该公司的运营记录和股息强劲,但其在股市上的表现并不抢眼。尽管其市值3.4亿澳元,但其股价自年初以来一直徘徊在0.28澳元左右,或许是因为澳大利亚投资者对专注于非洲的矿业公司感到不安。

Image Resources (ASX: IMA)是一家低调的位于wa的砂矿商,目前在珀斯附近的Boonanarring小型但高品位的矿场工作。

尽管其盈利能力(4月份支付了每股0.02澳元的股息),但Image并不是股市明星,股价一直维持在0.19澳元左右,这意味着该业务的估值为1.86亿澳元。

人们缺乏兴趣的一个原因可能是,目前的矿山预计将在15个月后开采,作业将转移到阿特拉斯矿体。Atlas矿体是该矿区12个小型潜在开发项目之一。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Sand miners on the move but risks are high

Minerals sands ASX titanium zircon Iluka Resources Astron
Investor interest is being restored in one of Australia’s oldest mining industries, titanium minerals and zircon.

A near doubling in the price of Iluka Resources (ASX: ILU) and a sharp upward move by Astron Corporation (ASX: ATR) has restored investor interest in titanium minerals and zircon, but before buying into one of Australia’s oldest mining industries it is worth looking at how tricky it can be.

What’s driven Iluka up from $4.50 at this time last year to $8.60 is a combination of improved demand for what it mines, the potential to add rare earths to its product range, and trouble in the African mineral sands industry.

Astron, a much smaller company, has outperformed Iluka with a 150% share price rise from $0.20 at the start of the year to $0.51 thanks to a corporate reorganisation which will see it quit a Chinese mineral processing business so it can focus on the Donald project in central Victoria.

Other ASX-listed companies with an interest in the titanium minerals and zircon business have been less conspicuous, with the exception of Mineral Commodities (ASX: MRC), which has dropped by 48% since the start of the year thanks to operational issues and management upheaval.

But, overriding everything in the business of titanium minerals and zircon is that while it seems to involve a simple mining process of sifting sand to extract the heavy and valuable minerals it is anything but simple, even if rivals (hard rock miners) call sand mining “gardening”.

Sand mining challenges

The challenge for the sand miners starts with the location of orebodies, generally close to the coast, and the mining process which earned the industry a bad name in the 1950s and 60s because of the damage done to coastal dunes.

Stradbroke Island off the coast of Queensland became an early environmental hot spot which tarnished the reputation of the miners, leaving a history which dogs every new mining proposal and explains why the industry swapped its original name of “beach mining” for “mineral sands mining” before settling on the mouthful of “titanium minerals and zircon”.

Challenges at the start of the mining process are bookended by the challenge of marketing titanium minerals, which are mainly used as pigment in paint, and zircon, which is mainly used as a glaze on ceramics, with major industrial consumers being the only customers and with no “terminal” market such as that enjoyed by copper, zinc and other metals.

The sales process means that a sands miner must line up buyers, and agree on prices, before plunging into a business which can be buffeted by extreme demand (and price) shifts.

Minerals sands market recovery

Like most other commodities, demand for titanium minerals and zircon has recovered strongly after last year’s Covid-caused slowdown. Macquarie Bank has upgraded its zircon price forecast for next year by 14% to US$1,643 a tonne (A$2,188/t) and lifted rutile prices (a primary titanium ore) by 4%.

Supply issues are also benefitting Australia-based sand miners with the Iluka-controlled Sierra Rutile (in the African country of Sierra Leone) on notice that it might be closed or sold later this year because of a poor operational performance, and an even bigger operation in South Africa abruptly closed last month.

Losing supply from Rio Tinto’s (ASX: RIO) mines and processing centre at Richards Bay north of Durban is a major setback for everyone involved, including South Africa itself because the reason for the shutdown is domestic violence, which has morphed into a form of terrorism that included the machine gun assassination of a mine manager.

Small cap miners set to benefit from price rises

If Richards Bay remains closed indefinitely, then the effect on prices for titanium minerals and zircon could be significant and, while Iluka with a market value of $3.6 billion is not a small cap, higher mineral prices could trigger a re-rating of small sand miners, such as Strandline Resources (ASX: STA).

Decades of work lie behind Strandline, which previously traded as Gunson Resources with the Coburn mineral sands project as the primary focus, along with a number of African assets.

High environmental hurdles delayed Coburn and frustrated the previous management team in an example of the challenge in developing a sand mining business close to the coast such as where Coburn is located just south of Exmouth Gulf in Western Australia.

With strong government support and funding in place, construction work is finally underway at Coburn with first ore scheduled for processing in the final quarter of next year.

With sales (offtake) contracts in place for all output, Coburn is expected to generate solid profits over its initial 22.5-year life with investor interest likely to grow as construction milestones are passed leading to an improvement in a lacklustre share price which has been stuck around $0.20 for much of the past 12 months, valuing the company at $212 million.

WA’s second new mineral sands developer Sheffield Resources (ASX: SFX) is a business which has struggled as hard as Strandline to get to the starting gate but only after forming a 50/50 joint venture with a Chinese partner to guarantee funding and offtake sales.

The primary asset in Sheffield is the half-owned Thunderbird mineral sands deposit near Derby in the far north of WA, a location which has presented a logistics challenge.

The deal signed earlier this year with China’s Yansteel has also led to the creation of a joint operating business called Kimberley Mineral Sands.

Trial mining has demonstrated the ease of access to the near-surface orebody with ongoing work on design and sourcing of equipment leading to an expected final investment decision later this year, a step which could restore interest in the stock which has fallen by $0.05 (13%) this year to $0.33, valuing the company at $112 million.

Larger focus on Australian and African projects

An early mover by an Australian company in the Chinese mineral sands business, Astron Corporation has recently announced plans to demerge its Chinese assets and focus on mining in Australia and Africa.

The primary local interest is the Donald project which Astron acquired in 2004 from Rio Tinto, which shifted its titanium and zircon business to Canada and South Africa.

With demand for mineral sands picking up, Iluka likely to quit Sierra Rutile later this year, and security issues potentially keeping Richards Bay offline for some time, Donald’s day might have arrived.

Some investors certainly see it that way with Astron shares charging higher (up 155% since the start of the year) though at $0.51 the company is still valued at a lowly $63 million.

Operator of the profitable Kwale titanium and zircon mine near the coast of Kenya in East Africa, Base Resources (ASX: BSE) is looking to expand its operations close to an existing processing plant near the port of Mombasa, and develop a new sands mine at Toliara on the island of Madagascar.

Unusual for a small mining stock, Base is a dividend payer while also being able to retain funds to help fund for the large-scale Toliara project.

Despite its solid operational record and dividends, the company has not been a sparkling stock market performer and while valued at $340 million its share price has been stuck around $0.28 since the start of the year, perhaps burdened by Australian investor unease with African-focused mining companies.

Image Resources (ASX: IMA) is a low-key WA-based sands miner which is currently working the small but high-grade Boonanarring mine close to Perth.

Despite its profitability (and a $0.02 per share dividend paid in April), Image has not been a stock market star, trading consistently around $0.19 which values the business at $186 million.

Perhaps one reason for the lack of interest is that the current mine is expected to be worked out in about 15 months with operations shifted to the Atlas orebody, one of 12 small potential developments on its tenements.

Sovereign Metals (ASX: SVM), potentially a world-class producer of high-value rutile, is preparing the Kasiya project in the southern African country of Malawi for development just as a global shortage of the heavy mineral (especially rutile) drives the price higher.

Work so far has established a resource of 644 million tonnes of material containing 1.01% rutile, with a richer core of 137m/t at 1.41% rutile, grades which match or a better than the Sierra Rutile project of Iluka Resources.

More rutile is likely to be discovered as exploration continues because drilling so far has only covered 43% of what Sovereign calls Kasiya’s “mineralised footprint”.

Well served by infrastructure, including a railway, power grid and sealed roads, the added appeal is that Malawi is mining friendly and keen to attract international investment.

The ongoing works program at Kasiya includes aggressive drilling with the aim to complete a scoping study later this year.

On the market, Sovereign has been an unrecognised star performer in the mineral sands sector, with its share price up by 75% from 36c to 63c since the start of the year, with the latest price valuing the company at $263 million.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.