利率上升导致银行在房地产方面变得黯淡,NAB 预测下降 20%

Rising interest rates banks bleak property Australia 2022
NAB 预测墨尔本和悉尼的房价在未来 18 个月内可能暴跌 20% 以上。

对于一个拥有数十亿澳元财产担保住房贷款的集团来说,澳大利亚的银行对未来几年的房地产市场前景非常黯淡。

National Australia Bank (ASX: NAB) 可能是最惨淡的,它预测,对经济衰退的担忧加剧和利率将共同抹去 COVID-19 封锁期间记录的所有惊人的房地产收益。

NAB预测下跌20%

NAB 预测未来 18 个月墨尔本和悉尼房价可能暴跌 20% 以上,全国暴跌 17.7%,这绝不是厄运的唯一预兆。

Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA) 的经济学家还没有走得太远,但他们都在唱同一张歌单,他们预测到 2023 年全国平均价格将下降 14%。

他们当然把握住了方向,即使许多专家认为他们对市场将下跌的幅度可能是错误的。

在过去的两个月里,所有主要首都的价格都开始下跌。

各大首府城市的房价已经下跌

CoreLogic 表示,悉尼房价下跌 1.6%,墨尔本下跌 1.1%,霍巴特下跌 0.2%,而 REA 的 Prop Track 发现悉尼房价下跌 0.4%,墨尔本下跌 0.6%,首都领地下跌 0.35%,布里斯班下跌 0.09%。

CoreLogic 表示,阿德莱德的房地产价值仍然上涨了 1.3%,达尔文上涨了 0.9%,珀斯上涨了 0.4%,堪培拉上涨了 0.3%,布里斯班上涨了 0.1%。

然而,总体而言,CoreLogic 表示,仅在 6 月份,全国的房价就下跌了 0.6%。

随着Reserve Bank在 5 月和 6 月提高利率,并可能在今年的大部分时间里继续每月加息,当然很难看到房地产价格继续上涨,但有一些先例表明一些银行的预测非常黯淡可能偏离标准。

银行最近对房地产价格的看法非常错误

首先是,即使在最近,他们的预测也出现了明显错误,在 COVID-19 锁定期间的全面预测被价格上涨约 25% 所取代。

历史上也不乏澳大利亚房地产价格如此大幅度下跌的例子,最近一次从高峰到低谷的最大跌幅是由于全球金融危机(Global Financial Crisis),在 2017 年 12 月至 2019 年 6 月期间下跌了 9.9%。

其他缓解房地产价格如此大幅度下跌的因素包括租金市场非常紧张,租金上涨,住房没有实际供过于求,收入增加的相当强劲的经济以及随着边境继续开放而恢复大规模移民和外国学生.

利率上升将提高购买的实际“价格”

各方都同意的一件事是,利率上升肯定无助于住房负担能力,并且很有可能在周二储备银行进一步上涨 0.5% – 以及未来上涨的警告 – 购买的实际整体“价格”即使实际房地产价格不断下跌,房子也会继续上涨。

对于在大流行期间购买的人来说,贷款成本也将大幅上升,因为超低利率固定贷款继续向利率高得多的固定贷款或浮动利率贷款增加。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Rising rates see banks turn bleak on property, NAB predicts 20% fall

Rising interest rates banks bleak property Australia 2022
NAB predicts house prices could plunge more than 20% over the next 18 months in Melbourne and Sydney.

For a group with billions of dollars of property-secured home loans in their vaults, Australia’s banks have a remarkably bleak view of the property market over the next few years.

National Australia Bank (ASX: NAB) is perhaps the bleakest of all, predicting that a combination of rising recession fears and interest rates will combine to erase all of the startling property gains recorded during the COVID-19 lockdowns.

NAB predicts falls of 20%

NAB’s prediction that house prices could plunge more than 20% over the next 18 months in Melbourne and Sydney and by 17.7% across the country is by no means the only harbinger of doom.

Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA) economists have not gone quite so far but are singing from the same song sheet, with a prediction that national average prices will drop by 14% by 2023.

They have certainly got the direction tight, even if a lot of pundits think they might be wrong about how far the market will drop.

Prices have started falling in all of the major capitals over the past two months.

Prices already falling in the big capital cities

CoreLogic said prices fell 1.6% in Sydney, 1.1% in Melbourne and 0.2% in Hobart while REA’s Prop Track found prices had dropped by 0.4% in Sydney, 0.6% in Melbourne, 0.35% in the ACT and 0.09% in Brisbane.

CoreLogic said property values still managed to rise by 1.3% in Adelaide, 0.9% in Darwin, 0.4% in Perth, 0.3% in Canberra and 0.1% in Brisbane.

However, overall CoreLogic said home values across the country fell 0.6% in June alone.

With the Reserve Bank increasing interest rates in May and June and likely to continue hiking monthly for much of this year, it is certainly hard to see property prices continuing to rise but there are some precedents to suggest the really bleak forecasts from some of the banks could be wide of the mark.

Banks have been very wrong about property prices in recent past

The first is that they have been remarkably wrong with their forecasts in even the recent past, with across-the-board forecasts of double-digit declines through the COVID-19 lockdown period being replaced by price rises of around 25%.

History is also not replete with examples of property price falls of such magnitude in Australia, with the biggest decline from peak to trough in recent times being a 9.9% plunge between December 2017 and June 2019 due to the Global Financial Crisis.

Other factors that mitigate against such a large percentage fall in property prices include a very tight rental market with rising rents, no real oversupply of housing, a fairly strong economy with rising incomes and the resumption of mass migration and foreign students as borders continue to open.

Rising interest rates will increase real “price” of buying

One thing all sides agree on is that rising interest rates certainly do not help housing affordability and with a strong chance of a further 0.5% rise from the Reserve Bank on Tuesday – along with warnings of future rises – the actual overall “price” of buying a house will keep rising even if actual property prices keep falling.

Loan costs will also be rising strongly for those who bought during the pandemic as super-low interest rate fixed loans continue to toll over into either much higher rate fixed loans or higher floating rate loans.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.