已发表的研究强调了Race Oncology公司的Zantrene与其他癌症药物联合使用的 “卓越疗效”

Race Oncology ASX RAC superior efficacy Zantrene study combined cancer drugs
一篇同行评议的论文已经发表,显示了Race Oncology公司的Zantrene和其他药物在靶向癌细胞方面的协同作用。

Race Oncology (ASX: RAC)宣布发表一项同行评议的临床前研究,该研究发现,在急性髓系白血病(AML)细胞试验中,额外的药物组合显示出与抗癌药物Zantrene的协同作用。

Race oncology资助的论文题为“双蒽与venetoclax、panobinostat、地西他滨和奥拉帕尼联合时增强急性髓系白血病细胞的细胞毒性”(“Enhanced cytotoxicity of bisantrene when combined with venetoclax, panobinostat, decitabine and olaparib in acute myeloid leukemia cells”)。此论文已发表在《Leukemia and Lymphoma》上。这项研究是由美国德克萨斯州MD Anderson癌症中心的Borje Andersson教授和Ben Valdez副教授领导的。

2期/ 3期抗癌药物Zantrene (bisantrene)是一种有效的Fasto/Fat mass and obesity (FTO)相关蛋白的强效抑制剂,该蛋白在过度表达时已被证明是多种癌症的遗传驱动因子。

在突破性的临床前研究中,Race Oncology 最近还发现 Zantrene 具有心脏保护特性,目前仍在评估中。

Zantrene与AML药物的协同作用

这项MD Anderson临床前研究显示,Zantrene和venetoclaxrf分别与panobinostat、decitabine或olaparib、已知的BCL2抑制剂、组蛋白去乙酰化酶(histone deacetylase)、DNA甲基转移酶(DNA methyltransferase)和聚(ADP-核糖)聚合酶联合使用时,在AML细胞中具有协同作用。

根据 Race Oncology的研究,这些组合被发现“增强 DNA 损伤、Caspase 3 和 PARP1 的切割、DNA 片段化、增加 ROS 和潜在的 AML 细胞凋亡激活”。

使用从白血病患者身上分离出来的单核细胞也观察到了类似的结果,但从健康捐赠者身上则没有。

Race Oncology首席科学官Daniel Tillett博士表示,这项工作为公司即将在澳大利亚和欧洲进行的1b/2期髓外AML试验提供了进一步的临床前数据支持,在该试验中,患者将接受Zantrene联合地西他滨或阿糖胞苷治疗。

Race Oncology 首席科学官 Daniel Tillett 博士表示,这项工作提供了进一步的临床前数据,以支持该公司即将在澳大利亚和欧洲进行的 1b/2 期髓外 AML 试验,在该试验中,患者将接受 Zantrene 与decitabine或cytarabine联合治疗。

他说:“我们非常高兴能够将这项工作从实验室快速转化为临床,在那里它有潜力帮助有需要的AML患者。”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Published study highlights ‘superior efficacy’ of Race Oncology’s Zantrene combined with other cancer drugs

Race Oncology ASX RAC superior efficacy Zantrene study combined cancer drugs
A peer-reviewed paper has been published showing the synergism of Race Oncology’s Zantrene and other drugs in targeting cancer cells.

Race Oncology (ASX: RAC) has announced the publication of a peer-reviewed pre-clinical study that has identified additional drug combinations showing synergy with its cancer-fighting drug Zantrene when tested in acute myeloid leukaemia (AML) cells.

The Race Oncology-sponsored paper entitled “Enhanced cytotoxicity of bisantrene when combined with venetoclax, panobinostat, decitabine and olaparib in acute myeloid leukaemia cells” has been published in the Journal Leukemia and Lymphoma.

Research was led by Professor Borje Andersson and Associate Professor Ben Valdez of the MD Anderson Cancer Center in Texas, United States.

The phase two/three cancer drug Zantrene (bisantrene) is a potent inhibitor of the Fasto/Fat mass and obesity (FTO) associated protein, which has been shown to be the genetic driver of a diverse range of cancers when overexpressed.

In breakthrough pre-clinical research, Race Oncology also recently discovered that Zantrene has heart-protective qualities, which are still being evaluated.

Synergy of Zantrene combined with AML drugs

This MD Anderson preclinical study showed synergy for Zantrene and venetoclax when used in combination with panobinostat, decitabine or olaparib, known BCL2 inhibitors, histone deacetylase, DNA methyltransferase, and poly (ADP-ribose) polymerase, respectively, in AML cells.

According to Race Oncology, the combinations were found to “enhance DNA damage, cleavage of Caspase 3 and PARP1, DNA fragmentation, increased ROS, and potential apoptosis activation in AML cells”.

Similar results were observed using mononuclear cells isolated from leukaemia patients, but not from healthy donors.

Race Oncology chief scientific officer Dr Daniel Tillett said the work provides further preclinical data to support the company’s upcoming phase 1b/2 extramedullary AML trial in Australia and Europe, where patients will be treated with Zantrene in combination with decitabine or cytarabine.

“We are extremely excited about being able to quickly translate this work from the lab into the clinic, where it has the potential to help AML patients in need,” he said.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.