随着美国政治影响市场,数字超过了言论

Numbers Trump rhetoric US politics moves markets Joe Biden 2021
市场正在适应更具扩张性的政策,候任总统乔·拜登(Joe Biden)已经提出增加支出,将下一轮冠状病毒刺激资金从600澳元增加到2000澳元。

在美国政治舞台上出现的所有引人注目的事情中,最令人惊讶的是民主党在乔治亚州参议院赢得两个席位。

尽管国会大厦发生的毁灭性的骚乱和Twitter上对即将卸任的总统唐纳德•特朗普(Donald Trump)的禁令可能看起来更引人注目,但在四年时间里,仍将产生变化的是对美国参议院人数的微弱控制。

金融市场已经有很多改变来适应激烈的选举以来一贯的和平过渡时期一位新总统,而不是取代了投机和激烈竞争的时期,即将卸任的总统特朗普拒绝悄悄离开,离开的总统拜登在一个前所未有的地位。

拜登笑到了最后

然而,在民主党出人意料地获得参议院控制权之后,当选总统拜登现在看来要笑到最后了。

起初,市场看到的似乎是一个“金发姑娘”的结果——民主党行政部门与共和党控制的参议院能够控制大幅增税和支出措施等。

现在,市场正在适应更具扩张性的政策,即将上任的美国总统拜登已经提出将下一轮冠状病毒刺激资金从600美元增加到2000美元的支出增加计划。

债券收益率上升

这已经使美国10年期债券收益率自去年3月以来首次回升至1%以上,但股市似乎对这一消息泰然处之,将额外支出视为利好。

然而,许多市场参与者注意到的是,过去几年的主题是支持高增长的科技股,只是跟着势头走,现在已经开始转向更加小心地确保股票购买更多地受到基本面价值的支持。

受创的股票开始反弹

这帮助支撑了通货再膨胀的资源股、石油股和金融股,尽管科技股的市盈率仍很高——至少目前如此。

更大的预算赤字和更高的基础设施支出,再加上有望从大流行中复苏的疫苗,应该会对整个经济产生极大的刺激作用,但人们可能担心,通胀可能会在某个时候卷土重来。

以新冠肺炎刺激支票的形式直接支付,以及不断上升的长期收益率,当然有能力重振通胀之龙。

转向价值投资的做法可能会造成一些备受瞩目的损失,因为投资者会更多地关注短期收益,而不是那些市盈率超高的股票,因为这些股票的收益未来将大幅增长。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.

Numbers Trump rhetoric as US politics moves markets

Numbers Trump rhetoric US politics moves markets Joe Biden 2021
Markets are adjusting to more expansionary policies, with President-elect Joe Biden already flagging a spending boost increasing the next COVID-19 stimulus cheque from US$600 to US$2,000.

Of all of the remarkable things to emerge in the US political scene, one of the most amazing has been the two seat Democrat Senate victory in Georgia.

While the literal wrecking ball riots at the Capitol building and the Twitter ban on outgoing President Donald Trump might appear to be more spectacular news, it is the tenuous hold on the numbers in the US Senate that will still be producing changes in four years’ time.

Financial markets have had a lot of changes to adjust to since the hotly contested election with the usual period of peaceful transition to a new President instead replaced by a period of intense speculation and rivalry as outgoing President Trump refused to depart quietly, leaving incoming President Joe Biden in an unprecedented position.

Biden gets the last laugh

However, President-elect Biden now looks set to have the last laugh after the controversy unexpectedly saw the Democrats gain control of the Senate.

Initially markets were looking at what appeared to be a “Goldilocks” result – a Democrat executive branch with a Republican-controlled Senate able to keep things like big tax rises and spending measures in check.

Now markets are adjusting to more expansionary policies, with incoming President Biden already flagging a spending boost increasing the next COVID-19 stimulus cheque from US$600 to US$2,000.

Bond yields on the rise

That has already sent US 10-year bond yields back above 1% for the first time since March last year but share markets seem to have taken the news in their stride, seeing the extra spending as a positive.

What many market participants have noticed though, is that there is the beginnings of a switch from the theme of the past few years of backing high growth technology stocks and simply running with the momentum to taking more care to ensure share buys are more supported by fundamental value.

Beaten down stocks bouncing back

That has helped to support reflating resources and oil stocks and also financial stocks, although technology stocks remain on stellar multiples – at least for now.

Bigger budget deficits and higher infrastructure spending combined with hopefully a vaccine-led recovery from the pandemic should be highly stimulatory for the economy as a whole with the possible concern being that inflation might make a comeback at some time.

Direct payments in the form of COVID-19 stimulus cheques certainly have the capacity to revive the inflation dragon, as do rising long term yields.

The switch to value investing could produce some high-profile casualties, with more of a focus on short term earnings and less on stocks with ultra-high multiples that are relying on massive growth in earnings way down the track.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.