镍受到重创,但有望比其他电池金属更快地反弹

Nickel whacked bounce back battery metals 2022
锂离子电池和电动汽车所需的一级镍需求依然强劲。

镍未能避开本周全行业的矿业抛售,但由于电池金属和电动汽车 (EV) 商业模式完好无损,它可能是第一个复苏的商品。

强劲的需求是对镍将随着电动汽车电池的新市场反弹而充满信心的原因之一,这增加了该金属在不锈钢生产中的现有主要用途。

支持大多数澳大利亚镍矿商的第二个因素是他们正在生产高档材料,这是电动汽车电池制造商想要的,并且与其他国家(尤其是印度尼西亚)生产的低档材料相比,价格溢价。

推动向电动的转变

上周日抵达伦敦参加一轮商务会议后,我对镍案充满信心的第三个原因变得清晰起来,那就是路上的电动汽车数量惊人,但更重要的是,充电站的数量将鼓励更多的司机转向电动车。

除了专门建造的充电站外,大量路灯还安装了一个插入式电池充电设施,距离地面约一米,使驾驶者可以轻松地为汽车中的电池快速充电以缓解里程焦虑——这是一个主要的一些潜在的电动汽车买家退缩的原因,尤其是在澳大利亚。

Macquarie Bank在本月早些时候的一份研究报告中谈到了分叉(分裂)镍市场,几天前利率上升和经济衰退担忧打击了投资者的信心。

该银行表示,中国是镍品位差异最明显的地方,镍生铁 (NPI) 和硫酸镍“以前所未有的折扣(价格)在伦敦金属交易所交易(London Metal Exchange)”。

错位

Macquarie将镍市场形势描述为“错位”,大部分材料在印度尼西亚(世界上最大的金属来源)生产,需要额外加工才能被电池制造商使用

澳大利亚镍矿商,包括 BHP (ASX: BHP)、Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR)、Panoramic Resources (ASX: PAN) 和 Western Areas (ASX: WSA),生产符合 LME 要求的优质或一级镍特斯拉等汽车制造商越来越多地指定来自一级矿工的镍,其环境记录比南美盐水(盐湖)生产商更清洁。

Macquarie分析师认为,今年晚些时候即将出现的镍过剩“很可能完全是第二类材料,第一类材料的短缺规模有所减少,但并未完全消除”。

解码后,该行的观点是,市场上二类(二级)镍将过多,而一类材料不足。

镍品级之间的差异尚未反映在股价中,大多数与镍相关的股票都受到抛售的打击,只有一个重要的例外是Western Areas,该公司上个月同意与 IGO (ASX: IGO) 谈判价格为每股 3.87 澳元——比 IGO 最初的报价上涨 15%。

这笔交易的结果是,Western Areas 本周的交易价格约为 3.84 澳元,比合并价格低几美分,但轻松高于 2 月份的 3.33 澳元低点。

相比之下,竞争对手的镍库存本周下跌了 10% 至 25%。

似乎以高价收购西部地区的 IGO 自上月初以来股价下跌 3.66 美元(20%),最新销售额为 11.18 美元——这一跌幅也反映了 IGO 制造电池的进展缓慢级锂。

镍和锂这两种金属在大型电池制造商的首选化学组合中都是必不可少的,但这些金属的未来供应却存在显着差异。

尽管过去 12 个月的锂市场火热,但由于锂在等待开发的矿床中大量可用,而且当新的矿山和加工设施启动时,锂可能会进入供应过剩时期.

镍不一样

镍是不同的。它不是一种容易找到或生产的金属,这就是为什么它在过去经历了惊人的价格飙升,包括在 3 月初疯狂飙升至每磅 22 美元,是 2 月中旬价格的两倍。

最广泛报道的价格飙升的原因是中国一家名为Tsingshan的金属加工公司陷入了做空陷阱,出售了它并不拥有的金属,因为认为价格会下跌并且可以更便宜地回购。

Tsingshan的计划没有奏效,它被迫谈判退出,据报道其中包括将部分二级金属换成 LME 级材料。

但在拙劣的空头交易和强制回购背后,可以发现电池制造商的基本观点,即随着电动汽车革命的加速,一级金属出现赤字。

进入一级镍市场的切入点

对于澳大利亚投资者来说,一旦消化了西部地区并将此次收购与其现有的镍资产相结合,主要和 IGO 就有许多进入一级镍市场的切入点。

Mincor 和 Panoramic 是另外两家已经生产一级镍的股票,而瞄准未来生产的勘探商包括 Blackstone Minerals (ASX: BSX)、Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM)、Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8)、Nimy Resources (ASX: NIM) 、Poseidon Nickel (ASX: POS)、Widgie Nickel (ASX: WIN)、Western Mines (ASX: WMG)、NickelX (ASX: NKL)、St George Mining (ASX: SGQ) 和 Chalice Mining (ASX: CHN)在珀斯附近发现世界级的 Julimar 镍和钯。

Nickel Mines (ASX: NIC) 是另一个受一些投资者欢迎的镍行业切入点,但由于其与印度尼西亚二类镍行业的Tsingshan有密切的业务联系,它已被大量抛售(自 3 月初以来下跌了 30%)。

值得关注的股票

在镍行业的众多参与者中,就未来几周的新闻流而言,这两个可能是最有趣的:

  • Kuniko (ASX: KNI) 是失控的德国锂项目开发商 Vulcan Energy Resources (ASX: VUL) 的子公司,该公司正在挪威勘探一系列镍、铜和钴的前景,以及
  • Mincor 公司即将通过重建靠近澳大利亚镍业所在地西澳州 Kambalda 的历史悠久的镍矿产生第一笔现金流。

在 Kuniko 的案例中,该股票可能受益于 Skuterud 钴项目的钻探结果以及 Ringerike 铜、镍和钴项目对钻芯的重新评估。

Mincor 潜在的价格变动事件将是从年中开始在BHP的 Nickel West Kambalda 选矿厂加工的镍矿石产生的第一笔现金流。

BHP于 5 月 6 日开始处理 Mincor 材料,RBC 资本市场将该事件描述为 Mincor 的“积极和关键的去风险里程碑”。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Nickel has been whacked, but is poised to bounce back faster than other battery metals

Nickel whacked bounce back battery metals 2022
Strong demand remains for class one nickel, which is required in lithium-ion batteries and electric vehicles.

Nickel failed to dodge this week’s sector-wide mining sell-off, but with the battery metals and electric vehicle (EV) business model intact it could be the first commodity to recover.

Strong demand is one of the reasons to feel confident that nickel will bounce back with the new market of EV batteries adding to the existing major use of the metal in the production of stainless steel.

A second factor supporting most Australian nickel miners is that they’re producing top grade material, which is what EV battery makers want and which attracts a price premium over lower grade material produced in other countries, particularly Indonesia.

Driving the shift to electric

A third reason for confidence in the case for nickel became clear to me after arriving in London last Sunday for a round of business meetings and that is the remarkable number of EVs on the road but, more importantly, the number of charging points which will encourage more drivers to make the shift to electric.

As well as purpose built charging stations a large number of streetlights have had a plug-in battery charging facility installed about a metre off the ground making it easy for motorists to give the batteries in the cars a quick boost to relieve range anxiety – a major reason for some potential EV buyers holding back, especially in Australia.

Macquarie Bank touched on the bifurcated (split) nickel market in a research report earlier this month, a few days before rising interest rates and recession fears hit investor confidence.

China is where the differences in nickel grade is being most acutely felt with nickel pig iron (NPI) and nickel sulphate “trading at unprecedented discounts to (prices on) the London Metal Exchange”, the bank said.

Dislocation

Macquarie described the nickel market situation as a “dislocation” with much of the material being produced in Indonesia (the world’s biggest source of the metal) requiring additional processing before it can be used by battery makers

Australian nickel miners, including BHP (ASX: BHP), Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR), Panoramic Resources (ASX: PAN) and Western Areas (ASX: WSA), produce a premium, or class one nickel which meets LME requirements with big name car makers such as Tesla increasingly specifying nickel from class one miners with an environmental record cleaner than that of South American brine (salt lake) producers.

Macquarie analysts believe that a looming surplus of nickel later this year “is likely to be entirely class two material with the size of the deficit in class one reduced but not entirely eliminated”.

Decoded, the bank’s view is that there will be too much class two (second grade) nickel in the market and not enough class one material.

The difference between nickel grades is not yet reflected in share prices with most nickel-exposed stocks knocked by the sell-off with one significant exception, Western Areas, which last month agreed to merge with IGO (ASX: IGO) after negotiating a price of $3.87 a share – up 15% on IGO’s original offer.

The result of that deal is that Western Areas has traded this week at around $3.84, which is a few cents below the merger price, but comfortably ahead of the $3.33 low in February.

This compares to rival nickel stocks, which are down between 10% and 25% this week.

IGO, which appears to have paid top dollar for Western Areas, has been punished with a share price fall of $3.66 (20%) since early last month to latest sales at $11.18 – a drop which also reflects slow progress in IGO’s drive to make battery grade lithium.

Both metals, nickel and lithium, are essential in the preferred chemical mix of big battery makers but there is a significant difference in the future supplies of the metals.

Lithium, despite its red-hot market of the past 12 months is edging towards a period of over-supply because it is abundantly available in deposits waiting to be developed and when new mines and processing facilities are started lithium could enter a period of significant surplus.

Nickel is different

Nickel is different. It is not an easy metal to find or produce, which is why it has enjoyed spectacular price spikes in the past, including the mad dash to US$22 a pound in early March, double the price of mid-February.

The most widely reported cause of the price surge was a Chinese metal processing company, Tsingshan, being caught in a short trap, selling metal it didn’t own in the belief the price would fall and it could buy back cheaper.

Tsingshan’s plan didn’t work, and it was forced to negotiate an exit which reportedly included swapping some of its second-grade metal for LME grade material.

But behind the botched short trade and forced buy-back can be found the underlying view of battery makers that there is a deficit developing in class one metal as the EV revolution accelerates.

Entry points into class one nickel market

For Australian investors there are a number of entry points into the class one nickel market with the majors and IGO an obvious starting point once it digests Western Areas and incorporates that acquisition with its existing nickel assets.

Mincor and Panoramic are two other stocks already producing class one nickel, while explorers targeting future production include Blackstone Minerals (ASX: BSX), Centaurus Metals (ASX: CTM), Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8), Nimy Resources (ASX: NIM), Poseidon Nickel (ASX: POS), Widgie Nickel (ASX: WIN), Western Mines (ASX: WMG)NickelX (ASX: NKL), St George Mining (ASX: SGQ), and Chalice Mining (ASX: CHN) with its world-class Julimar nickel and palladium discovery near Perth.

Nickel Mines (ASX: NIC) is another nickel sector entry point popular with some investors, but it has been heavily sold (down 30% since early March) because of its close business links to Tsingshan in Indonesia’s class two nickel sector.

Stocks to watch

Of the many players in the nickel sector the two which could be the most interesting in terms of news flow in the next few weeks are:

  • Kuniko (ASX: KNI), a spin-off from the runaway German lithium project developer Vulcan Energy Resources (ASX: VUL), which is exploring a series of nickel, copper and cobalt prospects in Norway, and
  • Mincor, which is close to generating first cash flow from the redevelopment of historic nickel mines close to Kambalda in WA – home of the Australian nickel industry.

In Kuniko’s case the stock could benefit from drilling results at the Skuterud cobalt project and a re-assessment of drill core from the Ringerike copper, nickel and cobalt project.

Mincor’s potential price moving event will be first cash flow from nickel ore processed at BHP’s Nickel West Kambalda concentrator, starting towards mid-year.

BHP started processing Mincor material on 6 May with RBC Capital Markets describing the event as a “positive and key de-risking milestone” for Mincor.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.