对镍业充满希望的Nimy Resources希望复制Simon Lill领导下的De Grey Mining的成功

Nimy Resources ASX NIM IPO Nickel De Grey Mining Simon Lill
De Grey Mining因其在西澳大利亚皮尔巴拉的9Moz Mallina金矿项目中发现的巨大的6.8Moz金矿Hemi而闻名。

De Grey Mining’s (ASX: DEG)董事长Simon Lill通过Nimy Resources首次公开发行(IPO)进军镍业之际,他能否再次遭遇闪电般的打击?

取得巨大成功的金矿勘探公司De Grey的董事长,已经把他的手转向了镍,作为传统的草根勘探公司Nimy的董事长。Nimy涉足的是西澳一大片内陆地区,早期的勘探者基本上忽略了这片地区。

Nimy正在努力筹集750万美元,用于在历史上BHP (ASX: BHP)的Koolyanobbing铁矿石开采中心附近的一个不适宜居住的1761平方公里的土地上进行勘探。

崎岖不平的乡村、难以进入的道路以及恶劣的钻井条件,让少数几个勘探者望而却步。尽管早期发现了近地表的镍矿化现象,但他们还是在转向更容易的地方之前进行了考察。

和De Grey的故事相似

目前,在Nimy的公寓区域只钻了208个洞,这与De Grey的故事有一个关键的相似之处。Nimy公寓的面积大约是堪培拉的两倍。

De Grey公寓的早期勘探人员也未能了解其位于西澳西北部皮尔巴拉(Pilbara)地区的马利纳(Mallina)项目的地质情况,该地区以铁矿石而闻名。

马利纳的核心问题是试图应用一个在西澳金矿常见的地质模型,在那里大部分矿化是在剪切带中发现的。剪切带是地球表面的裂缝,矿化岩浆在凝固之前通过它上升。

人们相信,西澳大利亚州其他地区的情况也将适用于马林纳项目地区,这导致了一些规模不大的金矿发现,但不足以保持人们的兴趣,因为勘探人员转向了卡尔古利周围的财富和更广阔的南部伊尔甘省。

De Grey的秘密

De Grey的秘诀是重新解读马利纳地区的地质情况。这家公司在去年年初以0.05美元的价格交易时,曾被贴上“一文不值”的标签,如今却成为一家市值15亿美元的中型企业。

现在人们认为,金矿不是剪切带所携带的,而是由侵入物沉积的,实际上是矿化岩浆的“斑点”,这些岩浆向上推入较老的岩层,其过程类似于熔岩灯——上世纪70年代一种无味的照明设备。

在发现了马里纳地区地质状况的关键之后,De Grey目前正在进行一个项目,目标是每年生产45万盎司黄金,成本为每盎司1111澳元,不到澳大利亚当前金价的一半。

Nimy的雄心

Nimy的Mons镍矿项目位于库利亚诺博以东、小麦带小镇南十字以北140公里处,其雄心也有一个类似的起点——仔细研究地质,看看少数早期探险家可能错过了什么。

在前WMC资源公司早期发现镍矿后,其他公司在蒙斯地区寻找的主要是黄金,但没有成功。

Nimy的成因在于其董事Luke Hampson长达6年的定位作业,随后进行了20孔的首次钻井作业,该作业贯穿了镍矿化的大量宽度,帮助确定了沿80公里的另外30个钻探目标。

一些最好的十字路口,第一阶段的钻探Nimy包括化验,如0.123%镍超过169米从深度3米,179米在0.117%镍从7米,结果似乎相似之处与早期钻井大低级太基斯镍项目在佤邦市中心Wiluna附近。

结构与Kambalda镍相似

但比这些厚而低的交叉点更重要的是早期WMC地质学家的一份报告,报告称,在近地表遇到的镍是在一种被称为科马提岩的环境中,科马提岩首先在芬兰被发现,因此才有了这个棘手的名字。

科马提岩观察的重要性是他们周围的结构,包含大部分的镍Kambalda,从火山爆发long-solidified熔岩流到三十亿年前发出长液体痕迹与镍和其他矿物质的纯度较低的部分。

科马提岩镍矿床与卷心菜叶上的矿脉大致相似(因此得名卷心菜叶地质模型),镍矿床可能极其丰富,有些镍含量超过10%,其化学成分(高硫)是制造电池级镍的理想材料。

蒙斯位于福雷斯塔尼亚镍矿带的北端,该镍矿带向西延伸,与坎巴尔达镍矿带平行,是南部许多高级镍矿的所在地,包括Flying Fox、Cosmic Boy和Spotted Quoll。

初步钻探证明Mons盛产镍

从地质学理论,主机隆起类似Kambalda Forrestania矿山是Nimy的主要目的,莉儿,他的信中表示在公司的招股说明书,20-hole钻井程序证明,蒙斯是“肥沃的镍硫化物矿化”。

“结果表明,该地区与Kambalda具有相同的关键地质特征,有潜力成为一个重要的硫化镍区,”Lill说。

ASX上市后电磁测量开始

Nimy董事总经理Christian Price表示,公司在澳大利亚证券交易所上市后,下一阶段的勘探工作将立即从动回路电磁测量开始。

Price称,”调查结果将用于确定基岩导体板,用于提炼钻石钻探计划的镍矿勘探目标。”

“除了最近的镍勘探计划外,蒙斯的深度勘探非常有限,也从未应用过现代勘探技术。”

Nimy的流通股由墨尔本的Raven公司管理,新股定价为0.20美元,最低筹资600万美元,最高筹资750万美元。

该公司预计将于11月22日在澳大利亚证交所上市。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Nickel hopeful Nimy Resources aspires to replicate De Grey Mining’s success under Simon Lill’s helm

Nimy Resources ASX NIM IPO Nickel De Grey Mining Simon Lill
De Grey Mining is famed for its massive 6.8Moz gold discovery Hemi, within its 9Moz Mallina gold project in WA’s Pilbara.

Can lightning strike twice for De Grey Mining’s (ASX: DEG) chairman Simon Lill as he ventures into nickel via the Nimy Resources IPO?

The chairman of the hugely successful gold explorer De Grey, has turned his hand to nickel as chairman of classic grass roots explorer Nimy, which has its foot on a big chunk of outback WA largely ignored by early prospectors.

Nimy is in the process of trying to raise up to $7.5 million to fund exploration of a 1,761 square kilometre tract of ground in an inhospitable location near the historic BHP (ASX: BHP) iron ore mining centre of Koolyanobbing.

The rugged countryside, difficult access, and poor drilling conditions deterred the few explorers who did take a look before they moved on to something easier despite early sniffs of near-surface nickel mineralisation.

Similarities to De Grey’s story

No more than drill 208 holes have been drilled into the current Nimy tenement area, which is roughly twice the size of Canberra, is a key similarity to De Grey’s story.

There is also the failure of early explorers on De Grey’s tenements to understand the geology of its Mallina project in the Pilbara region of WA’s northwest, an area best known for its iron ore.

The core problem at Mallina was in trying to apply a geological model common in the WA goldfields where most mineralisation is found in shear zones, cracks in the earth’s surface through which mineralised magma has risen before solidifying.

A belief that what applied elsewhere in WA would also apply in the Mallina project area led to a handful of modest gold discoveries, but not enough to retain interest as explorers moved on to the riches around Kalgoorlie and the broader Yilgarn province to the south.

De Grey’s secret

De Grey’s secret, which has turned a company which once wore the tag of penny dreadful when it was trading at $0.05 early last year into a $1.5 billion mid-tier success story, has been to re-interpret the geology of the Mallina region.

Rather than the gold being shear zone hosted it is now recognised as being deposited by intrusions, effectively “blobs” of mineralised magma which have pushed up into older rock layers in a process similar to a lava lamp – a tasteless lighting appliance of the 1970s.

Having found a key to Mallina’s geology, De Grey is now proceeding with a project which aims to produce 450,000 ounces of gold a year at a cost of A$1,111/oz – less than half the current Australian gold price.

Nimy’s ambitions

Nimy’s ambitions for its Mons nickel project east of Koolyanobbing and 140km north of the wheatbelt town of Southern Cross, have a similar starting point – a close look at the geology to see what the handful of early explorers might have missed.

After the former WMC Resources’ early nickel hints, other companies that looked over the Mons area were mainly looking for gold – without success.

Nimy’s genesis lies in a six-year claim pegging operation by one of its directors, Luke Hampson, followed by a maiden 20-hole drilling campaign which intersected substantial widths of nickel mineralisation which have helped identify 30 additional drill targets along 80 kilometres of strike.

Some of the best intersections in that first phase of drilling by Nimy included assays such as 0.123% nickel over 169 metres starting at a depth of 3m, and 179m at 0.117% nickel from 7m, results which appears to have similarities with early drilling at the big low-grade Mt Keith nickel project near Wiluna in central WA.

Similar structures to Kambalda nickel

But more important than the thick low-grade intersections is an early WMC geologist’s report that the near-surface nickel encountered was in a setting known as a komatiite, first identified in Finland, hence its tricky name.

The importance of the komatiite observation is that they are the structures which contain most of the nickel around Kambalda, being long-solidified lava flows from volcanoes which erupted up to three billion years ago sending out long liquid trails with nickel and other minerals in the enriched lower section.

Bearing a rough resemblance to the veins on a cabbage leaf (hence the name Cabbage Leaf Geological Model) komatiite nickel deposits can be fabulously rich, with some assaying more than 10% nickel, and with a chemical composition (high in sulphur) that is ideal for making battery grade nickel.

Mons is located at the northern end of the Forrestania nickel belt which runs to the west and in parallel to the Kambalda belt and is home to a number of high-grade nickel mines to the south, including Flying Fox, Cosmic Boy and Spotted Quoll.

Initial drilling proves Mons fertile for nickel

Taking Mons from a theory that it could host geology similar to Kambalda and the Forrestania mines is the primary aim of Nimy, according to Lill, who said in his introductory letter in the company’s prospectus that the 20-hole drilling program had proven that Mons was “fertile for nickel sulphide mineralisation”.

“The results show that the region shares key geological characteristics with Kambalda and has the potential to be a significant nickel sulphide district,” Lill said.

Electromagnetic survey to begin after ASX listing

Nimy’s managing director, Christian Price, said the next phase of exploration would start with a moving loop electromagnetic survey immediately after the company listed on the ASX.

“The result of that survey will be used to identify bedrock conductor plates that will be used to refine the nickel exploration targets for a diamond drilling program,” Price said.

“Outside of the recent nickel focused exploration program, Mons has had very limited exploration at depth and never had modern exploration techniques applied.”

Nimy’s float is being managed by Melbourne-based Raven Corporate with new shares priced at $0.20 to raise a minimum of $6 million and up to $7.5 million.

The company expects to list on the ASX on 22 November.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.