在早期EmtinB研究结果之后,NeuroScientific迎来了潜在的突破

NeuroScientific Biopharmaceuticals ASX NSB Copaxone myelin formation MS model EmtinB Multiple sclerosis
初步研究结果显示,NeuroScientific的先导化合物“显著增加”髓鞘的形成,髓鞘是多发性硬化症治疗的一个目标。

NeuroScientific Biopharmaceuticals (ASX: NSB)发表了其先导化合物EmtinB在治疗多发性硬化症(MS)的临床前研究的积极的初步结果。

完整的报告将被这个月底出版,虽然根据公司的首席执行官Matthew Liddelow早期结果已经表明“潜在突破”并确认EmtinB,事实上,髓鞘形成显著增加——竞相发展的一个关键指标的有效治疗衰弱的状态。

这项基于法国的研究观察了EmtinB在多发性硬化症模型中的影响,其中该化合物的治疗潜力与已上市的领先药物Copaxone进行了对比,后者是目前全球用于治疗多发性硬化症的免疫调节药物。

结果表明,当浓度为30μg/毫升、60μg/毫升、120μg/毫升和150μg/毫升时,EmtinB“显著增加”髓鞘的形成。此外,与Copaxone相比,EmtinB在150μg/ml浓度时增加了30%以上的髓鞘形成,在120μg/ml时增加了25%以上的髓鞘形成。

治疗多发性硬化症

多发性硬化症是一种慢性神经退行性疾病,患者的免疫系统会错误地攻击周围神经纤维的髓鞘。

这种疾病通常会影响大脑和脊髓,导致广泛的潜在症状,包括视力受损、肢体不自主运动以及感觉和平衡丧失。这种情况是高度衰弱,进行性和没有治愈。

在以前的临床研究中,Copaxone被证明可以减少复发的频率,但并没有减少残疾的进展。

该药物目前被认为是治疗多发性硬化症的主要药物,因此产生了大约40亿美元(57亿澳元)的峰值销售收入。

然而,鉴于这种药物只能解决部分问题,而且不能减少残疾的进展,一些制药公司正在竞相开发第一种能扭转局面、帮助病人康复的药物,而不仅仅是缓解严重症状。

根据市场调查,包括药物销售总额在内,目前MS市场价值估计超过200亿美元(290亿澳元),全球有230万患者患有这种疾病。

Liddelow先生说:“虽然我们之前在MS模型中表明EmtinB可以积极影响髓形成少突胶质细胞的增殖,这些结果进一步证明EmtinB显著增加髓鞘的实际形成。”

“这些结果代表了治疗多发性硬化症的一个潜在突破,因为目前还没有得到批准的治疗药物能够让患者在中枢神经系统中再生髓磷脂,”他补充道。

早盘,Neuroscientific的股价上涨22.5%,至0.245澳元。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

NeuroScientific hails potential breakthrough after early EmtinB study results

NeuroScientific Biopharmaceuticals ASX NSB Copaxone myelin formation MS model EmtinB Multiple sclerosis
Preliminary study results show Neuroscientific’s lead compound “significantly increases” myelin formation, a target in developing a treatment for multiple sclerosis.

NeuroScientific Biopharmaceuticals (ASX: NSB) has published positive preliminary results from a pre-clinical study of its lead compound EmtinB in treating multiple sclerosis (MS).

The full report is set to be published by the end of this month, although according to the company’s chief executive officer Matthew Liddelow, the early results already indicate a “potential breakthrough” and confirm that EmtinB does, in fact, increase myelin formation significantly – a key benchmark in the race to develop an effective treatment for the debilitating condition.

The French-based study looked at EmtinB’s impact in an MS model, in which the compound’s therapeutic potential was assessed against the leading marketed drug Copaxone, an immunomodulator medication currently used to treat MS globally.

The results indicated that EmtinB “significantly increased” myelin formation at concentrations of 30 micrograms per millilitre, 60μg/ml, 120 μg/ml and 150μg/ml. Also, EmtinB increased myelin formation by more than 30% at 150μg/ml concentration and by more than 25% at 120μg/ml in comparison to Copaxone.

Treating multiple sclerosis

MS is a chronic, disabling neurodegenerative disease in which the body’s immune system mistakenly attacks the myelin sheath that surrounds the body’s nerve fibres.

The condition typically affects the brain and spinal cord, causing a wide range of potential symptoms, including vision impairment, involuntary limb movement and loss of sensation and balance. The condition is highly debilitating, progressive and has no cure.

In previous clinical studies, Copaxone was shown to reduce the frequency of relapses but has stopped short of reducing the progression of disability.

The drug is currently considered to be the leading therapeutic treatment for MS and has thereby generated peak sales revenue of approximately US$4 billion (A$5.7 billion).

However, given the drug serves as only a partial solution that does not reduce the progress of disability, several pharmaceutical companies are vying to develop the first drug that can turn the tide against the condition and help patients recover, rather than just muting the severe symptoms.

According to market research, the current MS market including total drug sales is estimated to be worth more than US$20 billion (A$29 billion) with 2.3 million patients suffering from the disease worldwide.

“Whilst we previously showed that EmtinB could positively influence the proliferation of myelin-forming oligodendrocytes in an MS model, these results go a step further to demonstrate that EmtinB significantly increases actual myelin formation”, Mr Liddelow said.

“These results represent a potential breakthrough in the treatment of MS as there are currently no approved therapeutic drugs available to patients that have demonstrated the ability to regenerate myelin in the central nervous system,” he added.

In morning trade, shares in Neuroscientific were up 22.5% to $0.245.