矿业的岔路口:退而求其次还是谨慎行事

Mining fork in the road Australia merger acquisition Evolution Northern Star ASX EVN NST
矿工们可能已经准备好用有价值的资产来圈子小辈了。

在澳大利亚的采矿业,”幸运之神眷顾勇敢者 “这句老话正受到考验,一家黄金生产商选择在成本高涨的情况下进行扩张,而另一家则选择安全。

计划进行重大投资的 Northern Star Resources (ASX: NST) 与推迟开发提案的 Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN) 之间的区别是下一阶段矿业市场对投资者的关键考验之一—支持大胆,或遵循谨慎。

另一个可能是赚钱(或不赚钱)的区别是跟随收购活动的爆发,随着拥有潜在有价值资产的小型矿工收到来自现金充裕的竞争对手的收购要约,市场调整总是伴随着市场调整。

矿业市场的并购 (M&A) 阶段尚未开始,但它将作为资产丰富但现金匮乏的勘探者成为收购目标。

并购活动即将回暖?

未来四个星期内的两件事可能会为并购活动提供火花。

第一个是在截至 6 月 30 日期间的大量季度报告中发现,这些报告将在接下来的几天内开始流动,并在 7 月的最后一周达到顶峰。

第二个活动是 8 月 1 日在西澳黄金之都卡尔古利举行的年度 Diggers & Dealers 采矿论坛。

D&D 是矿业高管和股票经纪人的热门聚会,是过去无数交易的发芽点。

今年的会议将是三年来几乎正常旅行条件下的第一次会议,虽然在短短三天内有 75 名演讲者的议程过于拥挤,但在卡尔古利无数的酒吧里,矿工和银行家们在后台发生了这样的事情。

买入目标,卖出竞标者

来自 D&D 的消息流可以为可能的交易提供一个(或两个)指针,此时明智的投资者会记住涵盖大多数并购活动的关键建议,购买目标并出售投标人。

这种方法并不总是奏效,因为合并可以创造价值,但由于竞标者在急于达成交易时往往多付钱,所以这种方法并不总是奏效。

在成本通胀急剧上升的时期,从“扩张与否”的困境中挑选赢家是投资者面临的另一个挑战,因为市场受到大宗商品价格波动以及乌克兰战争和对俄罗斯制裁造成的扭曲的冲击。

鉴于资产组合不同,Northern Star 和 Evolution 的管理层可能正在为他们的公司做出正确的决定,但扩大与延期的风险方法是对投资者的考验。

乍一看,并以股价走势作为本周早些时候发布的公告的指南,似乎北极星更积极的做法是首选——这也许是命运偏爱大胆的例子。

增长与谨慎的案例始于周一,当时 Evolution 以生产和成本警告震惊了市场,加上两个拟议的扩张项目的延迟。

Evolution 执行主席 Jake Klein 表示,该公司“功亏一篑”,但决心解决其问题。

从大多数方面来看,Evolution 的操作更新令人失望。六月季度黄金产量和年度产量都错过了。

成本上升,加拿大 Red Lake 矿和西澳大利亚 Mungari 的矿石加工厂扩建计划因井喷而被推迟。

“感觉就像我们回到了 2011 年的繁荣时期,”克莱因在谈到一段惊人的成本增长时说。

“我认为在目前的市场上推迟是正确的。”

投资者放弃Evolution

投资者感到失望——宣布后立即将 Evolution 的股价下跌 20%,并继续出售该股票,该股票现在下跌 30% 至 2.42 澳元,这是六年来的最低点。

瑞银是因 Evolution 降级而尴尬的知名投资银行之一。两周前(6 月 17 日),该银行将该股从中性上调至买入,将股价目标定为 4.05 澳元,当天交易价格为 3.69 澳元。周三,瑞银坚持其买入提示,但将新目标价定为 2.95 澳元。

其他银行和经纪人对被降级措手不及表示不满。一直是 Evolution 的稳定卖家的瑞士信贷将其先前的目标价 3.75 澳元又下调了 1.05 澳元,将新目标(并更新了卖出提示)定为 2.70 澳元。

投资者购买Northern Star 的扩张计划

Northern Star 计划于 7 月 20 日发布其 6 月季度报告(该事件与去年公司的投资者日和展望报告相对应)在宣布可能对其旗舰产品进行大规模升级的计划后,在市场上受到了完全不同的待遇项目,卡尔古利超级坑。

该公司董事总经理 Stuart Tonkin 表示,该项目(官方名称为 Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines,或 KCGM)的计划通过投资 4.4 亿至 14 亿美元来优化和提高绩效的三种可能方式“令人信服”。

选择是扩建以处理 1700 万吨矿石,对工厂进行 70% 的翻新以将吞吐量提高到 24 公吨,或者新建一个年处理量为 22 公吨的加工厂。

鉴于其投资资本的内部收益率接近 30%,70% 的翻新看起来是最佳选择。

与震撼 Evolution 的抛售不同,Northern Star 再投资计划在周二宣布后立即受到投资者的欢迎,该股上涨 6% 至 7.47 澳元,随后回落至公告前的 7.04 澳元。

此外,与 Evolution 不同的是,银行和股票经纪人普遍认为 Northern Star 因其扩张计划而值得买入,花旗以 11.60 澳元的目标价领先,Macquarie和Credit Suisse 紧随其后,目标价为 11 澳元。

财富似乎确实偏爱大胆的人——只要他们能够兑现承诺,而且在价格急剧上涨的情况下,这对于任何计划扩张的企业来说可能都不容易,这将使得成本难以降低。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Mining’s fork in the road: back the bold or follow the cautious

Mining fork in the road Australia merger acquisition Evolution Northern Star ASX EVN NST
Miners may be getting ready to circle juniors with valuable assets.

The old saying about fortune favouring the bold is being put to the test in Australia’s mining industry, with one gold producer choosing to expand in a climate of high and rising costs, while another opts for safety.

The difference between Northern Star Resources (ASX: NST), which is planning a major investment, and Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN), which is deferring development proposals, is one of the key tests for investors in the next phase of the mining market – back the bold, or follow the cautious.

Another division, which could be the difference between making money (or not) is to follow the burst of takeover activity, which always follows a market correction as small miners with potentially valuable assets receive takeover bids from cash-rich rivals.

The merger and acquisition (M&A) phase of the mining market is yet to get moving but it will as asset-rich, but cash-poor explorers become takeover targets.

Is M&A activity about to pick-up?

Two events over the next four weeks could provide the sparks for M&A activity.

The first is to be found in the flood of quarterly reports for the period to 30 June, which will start flowing in the next few days and hit a peak in the last week of July.

The second event is the annual Diggers & Dealers mining forum in WA’s gold capital of Kalgoorlie starting on 1 August.

D&D is a popular gathering for mining executives and stockbrokers and has been the germination point for countless past deals.

This year’s conference will be the first for three years under almost normal travel conditions and while it has an over-crowded agenda with 75 presenters in just three days it is what happens backstage which counts as miners and bankers mingle in Kalgoorlie’s countless pubs.

Buy the target, sell the bidder

News flow from D&D could provide a pointer (or two) towards possible deals, at which point a wise investor remembers the critical advice covering most M&A activity, buy the target and sell the bidder.

That approach doesn’t always work because a merger can create value, but not that often thanks to the tendency of bidders to overpay in the rush to landing a deal.

Picking a winner from the “expand or not” quandary during a time of dramatically higher cost inflation is another challenge for investors in a market being buffeted by fluctuating commodity prices and the distortions caused by the Ukraine war and sanctions on Russia.

Management at both Northern Star and Evolution might be making the right decision for their companies given the different mix of assets but the expand-versus-defer approaches to risk is a test for investors.

At first glance, and using share price moves as a guide to announcements made earlier this week it appears that the more aggressive approach of Northern Star is preferred – perhaps a case of fortune favouring the bold.

The growth versus caution case started on Monday when Evolution stunned the market with a production and costs warning, plus delays on two proposed expansion projects.

Evolution executive chairman Jake Klein said the company had “fallen short” but was determined to address its problems.

By most measures, Evolution’s operational update was a disappointment. June quarter gold production missed, as will annual output.

Costs are up and plans to expand ore processing mills at the Red Lake mine in Canada and Mungari in Western Australia are being deferred because of blow outs.

“It feels like we’re back in the boom conditions of 2011,” Klein said in reference to a period of spectacular costs increases.

“I think it’s right in the current market to defer.”

Investors ditch Evolution

Investors were disappointed – wiping 20% off Evolution’s share price immediately after the announcement, and continuing to sell with the stock, which is now down by 30% to $2.42, which is its lowest in six years.

UBS was one of the big-name investment banks embarrassed by the Evolution downgrade. Two weeks ago (17 June) the bank upgraded the stock from neutral to buy setting a share price target of $4.05 on a day it was trading at $3.69. On Wednesday, UBS stuck with its buy tip but set a new price target of $2.95.

Other banks and brokers voiced their annoyance at being blindsided by the downgrade. Credit Suisse which has been a consistent seller of Evolution rubbed another $1.05 off its previous price target of $3.75 to set a new target (and refreshed sell tip) at $2.70.

Investors buy on Northern Star’s expansion plans

Northern Star, which is scheduled to deliver its June quarter report on 20 July  (an event which last year corresponded with the company’s investor day and outlook presentation) has received totally different treatment on the market after announcing plans for a possible big upgrade of its flagship project, the Kalgoorlie Superpit.

The company’s managing director, Stuart Tonkin, said the plans for the project (officially named Kalgoorlie Consolidated Gold Mines, or KCGM) was “compelling” with three possible ways of optimising and improving performance by investing between $440 million and $1.4 billion.

The choices are a bolt-on expansion to process 17 million tonnes of ore, a 70% plant refurbishment to lift throughput to 24Mt or a new processing plant handling 22Mt a year.

The 70% refurbishment looks the best option given its internal rate of return of close to 30% on capital invested.

Unlike the sell-off which rocked Evolution, the Northern Star reinvestment plan got a tick from investors immediately after its announcement on Tuesday with the stock adding 6% to $7.47 before easing back to its pre-announcement price of $7.04.

Also, unlike Evolution there is a universal consensus among banks and stockbrokers that Northern Star is a buy thanks to its expansion plans, with Citi leading the way with a price target of $11.60, followed by Macquarie and Credit Suisse at $11.

Fortune, it seems, does favour the bold – so long as they can deliver on their promises and that might not be easy for any business planning to expand at a time of steeply rising prices which will make it hard to keep costs down.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.