采矿业:大鱼吃小鱼(去买小鱼苗)

Mining big fish eat little fish buy tiddlers exploration ASX copper nickel gold iron ore
渴望增长的大型矿商正在小盘股领域进行收购。

要让大公司往小想并不容易,但对投资者来说,可能会出现一些有趣的机会,因为全球大型矿商如果要实现增长目标,就不得不与初级勘探商打交道,尤其是在电池金属领域。

BHP(ASX:BHP)收购加拿大镍业巨头Noront Resources的失败就是一个很好的例子。

Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)计划在西澳大利亚州的Winu开发一座小型铜金矿。这是运营层面发生变化的一个例子,因为在过去,人们一直认为小型矿的麻烦大于其价值。

BHP与铁矿石亿万富翁Andrew Forrest在竞标对决中,Noront公司的股价在 12 个月内上涨了 350%,因为双方相互反击,将Noront公司的股价从每股 0.24 加元(0.26 澳元)推高至1.08 加元(1.18 澳元),价值从 1.34 亿加元(1.48 亿澳元)增加到 6.03 亿加元(6.65 亿澳元)。

败给Forrest对BHP来说将是痛苦的,但它甚至准备与一家私人竞争对手进行财务斗争,这表明BHP对发展其镍业务是多么认真。

如果说BHP追求的收购目标只有其小额现金账户中的一个脚注那么大,是对大型矿商寻求获得勘探土地的未来潜在企业活动的指导,那么Winu则是对大公司准备投资通常与矿业小公司有关的小型项目的指导。

第三个“以小计大”策略的例子,是BHP对Tanzania未开发的Kabanga镍项目的直接投资。这表明,在寻找能源转型下的金属时,BHP几十年来一直不愿把非洲的东西放在一边。

在油价高企、难以找到大目标之际,大型矿商正在应对向新方向发展的挑战,未来可能还会有更多举措。

巨额收购要约被政府阻挠

过去几周,BHP 和Rio Tinto一直与许多潜在的大型企业交易联系在一起,比如可能竞购竞争对手,如Glencore、自由港Freeport,以及巴西铁矿石冠军企业Vale的贱金属(镍和铜)业务。

政府的反垄断监管机构,包括中国的反垄断监管机构,会对这种交易有很多意见,这也是它们不会发生的主要原因,就像加拿大禁止必和必拓在2008年竞购大型钾肥生产商Potash Corporation(现在的Nutrien),以及中国在2010年禁止BHP和Rio Tinto合并的提议,因为它集中了铁矿石所有权。

这一次,矿业巨头面临的问题是,大多数大型收购目标都具有不吸引人的特点。

例如, Glencore拥有很有吸引力的基本金属(铜和镍)业务,但同时也是全球最大的动力煤生产商之一。BHP和Rio Tinto为了提高它们在环境、社会和治理(ESG)方面的吸引力,已经退出了动力煤的生产。

自由港最好的资产是位于Irian Jaya高地的Grasberg铜矿,该铜矿存在严重的废物处理问题。

还有新的猜测认为, BHP可能会通过与美国/加拿大亿万富翁Robert Friedland合作,将其对非洲的新兴趣提升到比Kabanga更高的水平。Friedland涉足刚果(Democratic Republic of Congo)的大量铜资产—此国家是大多数国际投资者的禁区。

对BHP而言,最简单的交易似乎是与Nutrien合并,这实际上是在重新审视Potash的提议,但这一次加拿大政府表示不会反对该交易。

因此,在政府提高警惕的情况下,大型矿商难以实现大型企业增长,行业领导者的工作变成了在选址上承担更大风险的工作,例如BHP与Tanzanian的交易,或者开始在“小鱼群”中四处搜寻– 如果它看起来像第二个 Noront 的重复,投资者也可能会参与其中。

寻找靠近“大玩家”的机会

找到可能吸引某家大公司的小型库存的诀窍是,开始寻找与大公司现有兴趣或熟悉地质情况的机会,以及它们可能带来人们热切期待的未来金属、镍和铜,最好是在世界级的矿体中。

对于BHP来说,首先是靠近其澳大利亚铜旗舰店——南澳大利亚的Olympic Dam——的库存。Coda Minerals在Elizabeth Creek发现了一个有前景的铜矿,距离BHP在Olympic Dam西南65公里处的Oak Dam不远。

BHP在西澳州的镍业务也需要未来的原材料供应,这就是为什么资产靠近澳大利亚镍矿所在地Kambalda的小型企业会疯狂抢购镍矿的原因。

当今西澳镍业最有趣的企业行动是 IGO (ASX: IGO) 与 Western Areas (ASX: WSA) 以 11 亿澳元的友好合并,该交易受到 Andrew Forrest 增加对 Western Areas 的投资的威胁,上周他斥资 3100 万澳元将他在 IGO 目标中的持股比例提高到 9.1%。

其他潜在的镍目标包括 Poseidon (ASX: POS)、Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8) 和 Mincor (ASX: MCR)。

小型股猎人瞄准昆士兰的铜

昆士兰的铜矿是世界上最大的基本金属矿之一,位于 Mt Isa,也是小型探险家的猎场,而这些小型探险家本身就是大型探险家的潜在目标。

Revolver Resources (ASX: RRR) 因重返昆士兰北部Cairns附近的 Dianne 铜矿和 Mt Isa 以北的 Osprey 铜矿项目而备受关注。

新上市的 QMines (ASX: QML) 正忙于钻探位于 Rockhampton 东北 17 公里处的 Mt Chalmers 铜金项目。

“Grubstaking”是大公司获得勘探前景的另一种方式,这些勘探前景可能对他们的口味来说太小或太冒险。

例子包括 OZ Minerals (ASX: OZL) 投资 Carnaby Resources (ASX: CNB),该公司正在探索距离 Mt Isa 70 公里的历史悠久的 Greater Duchess 项目,圣诞节前的钻探结果为 41 米,铜含量为 4.1%,每克 0.5 克。吨黄金推动该股从 0.29 澳元上涨 400%,最后成交价为 1.46 澳元。

Develop(ASX: DVP)是由Northern Star前老板Bill Beament领导的能源金属公司,该公司已经获得了Anax Metals(ASX: ANX)20%的股份。Anax Metals是一家铜矿勘探公司,正在寻求重新开发西澳州停产的Whim Creek铜矿,South32(ASX: S32)。该公司利用小型AusQuest(ASX: AQD)作为多个项目的勘探领导者,最新的项目是Jubilee Lake镍和铜矿区,位于卡尔古利以东约500公里处,靠近南澳大利亚边境。

作为一个投资主题,关注那些引起大矿商注意的小型企业是高风险的,但它确实带来了安慰,因为我们知道比我们大多数人更有技术知识的人已经形成了对小型企业(或其项目)的投资是值得的观点。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Mining: big fish eat the little fish (buy the tiddlers)

Mining big fish eat little fish buy tiddlers exploration ASX copper nickel gold iron ore
Big miners, desperate for growth, are shopping in the small cap sector.

It’s not easy for a big company to think small, but for investors there could be interesting opportunities developing as the world’s mega-miners are forced to deal with junior explorers if they are to hit their growth targets, especially in battery metals.

BHP (ASX: BHP)’s failed attempt to acquire Canadian nickel hopeful Noront Resources is a perfect example of what’s happening at a corporate level.

Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)’s plans to develop a small copper and gold mine at Winu in Western Australia is an example of a change at an operational level because small mines have previously been treated as more trouble than they’re worth.

With Noront, a bidding duel which pitted BHP against iron ore billionaire Andrew Forrest, saw the share price of the stock rise by 350% over 12 months as each side countered the other, driving Noront up from C$0.24 (A$0.26) a share to C$1.08 (A$1.18), an increase in value from C$134 million (A$148 million) to C$603 million (A$665 million).

Losing to Forrest will have been painful for BHP but the fact that it was even prepared to engage in a financial scuffle with a private opponent is an indication to how serious BHP is about growing its nickel business.

If BHP’s pursuit of a takeover target the size of a footnote in its petty cash accounts is a guide to future potential corporate activity by the big miners seeking access to exploration acreage, then Winu is a guide to big companies being prepared to invest in small projects normally associated with mining minnows.

A third example of this “think small to grow” approach is BHP’s direct investment in the undeveloped Kabanga nickel project in Tanzania, a pointer to a decades-old aversion of things Africa being swept aside in the hunt for metals exposed to energy transition.

There could be a lot more to come as the big miners address the challenge of growing in new directions at a time of high prices and difficulty in finding big targets.

Jumbo takeover bids impeded by governments

Over the past few weeks both BHP and Rio Tinto have been associated with a number of potential jumbo corporate transactions such as possible bids for rivals such as Glencore, Freeport and the base metals business (nickel and copper) of Brazil’s iron ore champion, Vale.

Government anti-monopoly regulators, including those in China, would have a lot to say about that sort of deal, which is prime reason for them not happening, just as Canada banned BHP’s 2008 bid for the big potash producer, Potash Corporation (now Nutrien), and China banned a proposal for BHP and Rio Tinto to merge in 2010 because it concentrated iron ore ownership.

This time around, the problem for the mining majors is that most of the big targets have unappealing features.

Glencore, for example, has an attractive base metals (copper and nickel) business but is also one of the world’s biggest producers of thermal coal, which BHP and Rio Tinto have been quitting to improve their environmental, social and governance (ESG) appeal.

Freeport’s best asset is the Grasberg copper mine in the highlands of Irian Jaya (west New Guinea) with significant waste disposal issues.

There has also been fresh speculation that BHP might take its renewed interest in Africa to a much higher level than Kabanga by teaming up with Robert Friedland, an American/Canadian billionaire who has his foot on an extensive array of copper assets in the Democratic Republic of Congo, a no-go country for most international investors.

The easiest big deal for BHP seems to be a merger with Nutrien, effectively revisiting the Potash Corp proposal but this time with the Canadian Government indicating that it would not oppose the transaction.

So, with big ticket corporate growth hard for the big miners at a time of increased government vigilance, the job for the sector leaders becomes one of taking greater risk in location, such as BHP’s Tanzanian deal, or to start rummaging around among the small fry – which is where investors might also get involved if it looks like a Noront repeat.

Finding opportunities close to bigger players

The trick in identifying small stocks which might appeal to one of the majors is to start looking for opportunities close to where the big boys have existing interests or are familiar with the geology and its potential to yield the keenly sought future facing metals, nickel and copper, preferably in world-class orebodies.

With BHP, that starts with stocks close to its Australian copper flagship, Olympic Dam in South Australia, where Coda Minerals (ASX: COD) has made a promising discovery at Elizabeth Creek, close to BHP’s Oak Dam discovery which is 65km south-west of Olympic Dam.

BHP’s nickel business in WA is also in need of future supplies of raw material, which is why there is a feeding frenzy among the small players with assets close to the home of Australian nickel, Kambalda.

The most interesting corporate action in WA nickel today is IGO (ASX: IGO)’s $1.1 billion friendly merger with Western Areas (ASX: WSA), a deal threatened by increased investment in Western Areas by Andrew Forrest who last week splashed out $31 million to lift his stake in IGO’s target to 9.1%.

Other potential nickel targets include Poseidon (ASX: POS), Lunnon Metals (ASX: LM8), and Mincor (ASX: MCR).

Small cap hunters target copper in Queensland

Copper in Queensland, home to one of the world’s great base metal deposits at Mt Isa, is also a hunting ground for small explorers which are themselves potential targets for the majors.

Revolver Resources (ASX: RRR) has been attracting attention with return to the Dianne copper mine near Cairns in Queensland’s north, and the Osprey copper project north of Mt Isa.

While newly listed QMines (ASX: QML) is busy drilling out its Mt Chalmers copper-gold project 17km northeast of Rockhampton.

“Grubstaking” is another way for big companies to get exposure to exploration prospects which might be too small, or too risky, for their taste.

Examples include OZ Minerals (ASX: OZL) investing in Carnaby Resources (ASX: CNB), which is exploring the historic Greater Duchess project located 70km from Mt Isa with a pre-Christmas drill result of 41 metres at 4.1% copper and 0.5 grams per tonne of gold driving the stock up by 400% from $0.29 to last sales at $1.46.

Develop (ASX: DVP), the energy metals play led by former Northern Star boss, Bill Beament, which has taken a 20% stake in Anax Metals (ASX: ANX) a copper explorer which is looking to redevelop the mothballed Whim Creek copper mine in WA, and South32 (ASX: S32) which is using the small AusQuest (ASX: AQD) as an exploration leader on multiple projects with the latest being the Jubilee Lake nickel and copper prospect about 500km east of Kalgoorlie – close to the South Australian border.

As an investment thematic, following juniors which catch the eye of a big miner is high risk, but it does come with the comfort of knowing that people with greater technical knowledge than most of us have formed a view that an investment in the junior (or its project) is worthwhile.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.