Mincor Resources是被收购的目标吗?

Mincor Resources ASX MCR nickel
自12月9日以来,Mincor的股价已经上涨了50%以上。

尽管流行的信念,闪电能够击中同一个地方超过一次,似乎这样Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR),重温其过去同样的力量,其股价火箭由2007年的600%似乎重演。

在2007年的辉煌业绩(这与镍价格的惊人上涨密切相关)之后,Mincor进入了荒野,包括直到2019年尝试成为金矿商(但失败了)的三年,这段时间令人过目不忘。

Mincor公司现在回到了它的根源,及时赶上了镍业繁荣的重新运行,回报其耐心的追随者强劲的股价反弹,这是由最近的飙升所限制的,自12月9日以来,该公司的股票上涨了51%,交易价格在1.79澳元左右。

镍的价格

镍价格再次Mincor最新崛起的一个主要驱动,自3月份以来上涨了40%,但同样是一个重启的镍生产和更多的承诺是旧矿回到生活和勘探扩展了公司的矿化足迹围绕其关键操作接近Kambalda,卡尔古利在佤邦南部。

以来发生了很多变化Mincor进入镍业务20年前,这是当时大多数的金属用于制造不锈钢、与传统(和仍然强劲市场)现在加入了电池制造商的需求难以跟上需求的电动汽车(EV)行业。

理解Mincor虽然小,但关键是,它继承了大部分的镍矿的老西部矿业公司——澳大利亚的镍行业创建的公司,在Kambalda在1960年代末之前,消失在BHP (ASX: BHP),这几年前不确定是否想要镍暴露。

BHP的镍的故事

随着电池制造商对镍的需求加速增长,BHP对镍的负面看法开始改变,该矿业巨头发现自己正忙于重组镍部门,以取代其草率丢弃的资产。

BHP被踢出的第一笔镍资产,是西澳南部海岸的Ravensthorpe项目。事实证明,该项目对该公司的工程师来说技术难度太大,但对于总部位于加拿大的first Quantum及其新合作伙伴韩国浦项制铁集团(Posco)来说,目前进展顺利。

BHP的下一个镍资产是哥伦比亚的Cerro Matoso矿,该矿曾被认为是过剩的,但现在它在其分拆的South32 (ASX: S32)中表现强劲。

BHP剩余最大的镍业务是nickel West,它曾是WMC的加工业务,资产包括Kalgoorlie(靠近Kambalda)的一家冶炼厂,Kwinana(位于珀斯以南)的一家金属精炼厂,以及Kalgoorlie以北的一些矿山。

就在两年前,它们还在出售。

镍的重新投资

如今,BHP正在重新投资其生产电池级材料的设施,扩大旧矿场,并与Mincor等小型矿商签署新的矿石供应协议,这些矿商将恢复BHP曾经拥有的资产,并在BHP曾经控制的租约上开新矿。

重建过程并不顺利。BHP在圣诞节前与铁矿石亿万富翁安德鲁•福雷斯特(Andrew Forrest)争夺加拿大镍矿公司Noront Resources的竞标中败北。

在亏损的那一年,BHP收购了坦桑尼亚Kabanga Nickel公司的部分股权,并获得了一项前景光明的镍加工新技术的席位。

在非洲大陆屡遭失败后,BHP重返非洲,是该公司竭力弥补错误、发展世界级镍业的一个例证。

在某个时候,BHP管理层可能会醒悟过来,考虑一下国内的情况。尽管加拿大和坦桑尼亚的冒险突显了投资镍矿的理由,但两家镍矿收购目标让BHP的全球扩张显得有些愚蠢。

西澳大利亚的镍资源丰富

总部位于珀斯的Chalice Mining (ASX: CHN)是一家从BHP手中退出的矿业公司,而Nickel West的管理层无疑在看着距离Kwinana精炼厂不到100公里的地方发现了世界级的镍和钯。

Mincor对Kambalda附近矿山的复兴是第二个在BHP后院发展(如果是重新开发的话)镍业务的例子。

BHP不必被迫从其他矿商那里购买原料,而是可以生产更多自己的原料,并扩大在这个镍资源丰富的地区的产量。该地区吸引了国际矿业公司来填补BHP离开该地区,前往加拿大和非洲寻找镍矿所留下的缺口。

这些背景必然使Mincor必和必拓收购的目标,尤其是因为如果真的做出这样的举动将撞到其Noront“复仇者”,福勒斯特,他是坐在Mincor 15%的股份,乐意让必和必拓的日子不好过,因为它让生活困难对他的早期阶段铁矿石业务,Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG)。

仔细看看Mincor

对于投资者来说,要理解为何Mincor是一家值得密切关注的公司,关键在于:在镍价格触及高位之际,该公司恢复了镍生产,同时在一个矿藏丰富的地区拥有大片土地。

Mincor的股票记录也值得注意,Forrest坐上了头把交椅,另一家急需资金的公司IGO Ltd (ASX: IGO)排名第三。

在生产方面,Mincor重新启动镍矿的第一批矿石来自Durkin North矿,这是一个降低风险的重大事件,随后是该公司最近开发的Cassini矿的第一批矿石。Cassini矿位于该公司位于西澳大利亚州南部的采矿中心,靠近Widgiemooltha。

到今年年底,Mincor将把镍产量提高到每年1.5万吨的初步目标,现金成本约为每吨6500美元,约为当前镍价格的三分之一。

Macquarie Bank)估计,从明年开始,Mincor每年的镍销售额应在3亿澳元以上,其中约1.11亿澳元为税后利润。

现金流重启

现金流的重新启动将为Mincor的近期前景提供担保,而覆盖全球一些最具吸引力的镍勘探目标的公寓项目开发和勘探,正吸引着Forrest和IGO等企业的目光。

BHP潜伏在幕后,但可能担心重蹈Noront失败的覆辙,它本应是Mincor资产的自然所有者(就像它曾经那样)。

无论被视为矿业复苏的故事,还是新兴企业的表现,Mincor都是一只值得关注的股票,即使其股价似乎已经超过了基本面。Mincor报1.79澳元,比Macquarie的目标价1.55澳元高出0.24澳元。

但任何经历过镍价繁荣的人,比如1969-1970年或2007-2008年的人,都会告诉你,没有什么比镍价疯狂抢购更能推动股价飙升的了。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Is Mincor Resources a sitting duck for a takeover attempt?

Mincor Resources ASX MCR nickel
Since 9 December, Mincor’s share price has risen more than 50%.

Despite popular belief, lightning can strike the same place more than once and that appears to be the case with Mincor Resources (ASX: MCR), which is reliving its nickel-star past as the same forces which saw its share price rocket up by 600% in 2007 appear to be making a repeat performance.

After that stellar 2007 performance, which was closely tied to a spectacular rise in the price of nickel, Mincor drifted into the wilderness, including three forgettable years up to 2019 when it tried (and failed) to become a gold miner.

Mincor has now returned to its roots just in time to catch a re-run of the nickel boom, rewarding its patient followers with a strong share price recovery that was capped by a recent spurt which has seen the stock rise by 51% since 9 December to trade around $1.79.

Rising nickel price

The nickel price is once again a primary driver for Mincor’s latest rise, up 40% since March, but so too is a re-start of nickel production and the promise of more to come as old mines are returned to life and exploration expands on the company’s mineralised footprint around its key operations close to Kambalda, south of Kalgoorlie in WA.

A lot has changed since Mincor entered the nickel business 20 years ago, which was a time when most of the metal was used to make stainless steel, with that traditional (and still strong market) now joined by demand from battery makers struggling to keep up with demand from the electric vehicle (EV) industry.

Though small, the key to understanding Mincor is that it inherited much of the nickel mining division of the old Western Mining Corporation – the company which created Australia’s nickel industry around Kambalda in the late 1960s before disappearing inside BHP (ASX: BHP), which a few years ago wasn’t sure whether it wanted nickel exposure.

BHP’s nickel story

BHP’s negative view of nickel started to change as demand for the metal from battery makers picked up speed, reaching a point where the mining major has found itself scrambling to re-assemble a nickel division to replace assets that it rather thoughtlessly discarded.

The first nickel asset kicked out of BHP’s back door was the Ravensthorpe project on WA’s south coast, which proved too technically challenging for the company’s engineers, but which is now running smoothly for Canadian-based First Quantum and its new partner, Korea’s Posco group.

BHP’s next nickel asset to be given the flick was the Cerro Matoso mine in Colombia, which was deemed surplus to requirements, but which is now a strong performer for its spin-off South32 (ASX: S32).

The biggest remaining BHP nickel business is Nickel West, which was once the processing operations of WMC with assets that include a smelter in Kalgoorlie (close to Kambalda), a metal refinery at Kwinana (south of Perth) along with a number of mines north of Kalgoorlie.

They were all for sale as recently as two years ago.

Nickel re-investment

Today, BHP is re-investing in its facilities to produce battery-grade material, expanding old mines, and signing fresh ore supply agreements with small miners such as Mincor as they restore assets BHP once owned, and open new mines on tenements once controlled by BHP.

The rebuilding process has not gone smoothly. BHP was beaten in a pre-Christmas bidding duel with iron ore billionaire Andrew Forrest for Canadian nickel hopeful, Noront Resources.

That loss year prompted BHP to buy a stake in Tanzania’s Kabanga Nickel, along with a seat at the table of a promising new nickel processing technology.

The return to Africa, after repeated failures on that continent, is an example of BHP’s desperation to repair its mistakes and grow a world-class nickel business.

At some point BHP management might wake up and look a little closer to home where two nickel targets are making its global wandering look a little foolish even if the Canadian and Tanzanian adventures highlight the case for investing in nickel.

Western Australia’s nickel riches

Perth-based Chalice Mining (ASX: CHN) is one that got away from BHP with management at Nickel West undoubtedly watching on as a world-class nickel and palladium discovery was made less than 100km from the Kwinana refinery.

Mincor’s revitalisation of mines close to Kambalda is the second example of a nickel business developing (should that be redeveloping) in BHP’s backyard.

Rather than being forced to buy feedstock from other miners, BHP could be producing more of its own material, as well as expanding output in a nickel-rich region, which has attracted international mining companies to plug a hole left by BHP’s departure in search of nickel in Canada and Africa.

None of this background necessarily makes Mincor a BHP takeover target, not least because if it did make such a move it would bump into its Noront nemesis, Forrest, who is sitting on a 15% stake in Mincor and more than happy to make life difficult for BHP as it made life difficult for him in the early stages of his iron ore business, Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG).

Closer look at Mincor

The key for investors in understanding why Mincor is a company worth a closer look lies in the combination of its return to nickel production as the commodity’s price hits a high, and a big landholding in a region with a prolific mineralised endowment.

Mincor’s share register is also worth noting with Forrest sitting on top and another nickel-hungry player, IGO Ltd (ASX: IGO), in third spot.

On the production side, first ore in Mincor’s nickel re-start was from the Durkin North mine just before Christmas, a significant de-risking event, to be followed by first ore from the recently developed Cassini mine in the company’s southern WA mining centre near Widgiemooltha.

By the end of this year, Mincor will be building nickel output towards an initial target of 15,000 tonnes of metal annually at a cash cost of around US$6,500 a tonne – roughly one-third of the current nickel price.

Macquarie Bank reckons the value of nickel sales should be running at more than A$300 million annually from next year, with around A$111 million sticking in Mincor’s accounts each year as after-tax profit.

Cash flow re-start

The re-start of cash flow is underwriting Mincor’s immediate future, while project development and exploration on tenements that cover some of the most attractive nickel exploration targets in the world is attracting the eye of corporate players such as Forrest and IGO.

Lurking in the background, but probably concerned about a re-run of its Noront flop is BHP, which ought to be the natural owner of Mincor’s assets (as it once was).

Whether looked at as a mining revival story or an emerging corporate play Mincor is very much a stock to watch even if the share price appears to have run ahead of fundamentals. At $1.79, Mincor is $0.24 higher than Macquarie’s price target of $1.55.

But anybody who has lived through a nickel boom, like that of 1969-1970, or 2007-2008, can tell you there is nothing quite like a nickel feeding frenzy to drive share prices through the roof.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.