锰被称为下一个电池金属,但不祥的日子在前面吗?

Manganese next battery metal 2021 commodity
锰市场的供过于求已经超过了它作为下一个热门电池金属的吸引力。

理论上,锰是下一个热门电池金属。在实践中,这种商品在价格暴跌的威胁下应该有一个警告。

两年前,当Tesla创始人Elon Musk将锰列为一种可能成为电动汽车电池重要部件的金属时,人们对涉足锰的矿业公司的兴趣激增。

锰矿商和勘探企业的股价在短期内出现了震荡,但从那以后,由于市场供过于求的现实压倒了对电池金属的狂热,股价基本上一直在下滑。

投资者撤离锰业

知名投资银行Morgan Stanley在上周发布的一份研究报告中警告锰啦啦队:“供应增加,需求随之下降。”

锰价格陡降的可能性可以看到在一个由投资者撤退锰暴露的澳交所股票,由去年的明星之一Jupiter Mines (ASX: JMS), 2月以来已下跌44%从0.38 – 0.21澳元,在某种程度上,锰价格前景和南非矿山运营问题。

Euro Manganese (ASX: EMN) 和 Element 25 (ASX: E25)——以锰的原子序数命名——今年迄今表现较好(均上涨15%),但它们在过去一个月的表现却截然不同(分别下跌18%和16%)。

即使是振奋人心的勘探消息也没能帮助Black Canyon (ASX: BCA) 和 Carawine Resources (ASX: CWX),这两家公司在西澳大利亚州北部Flanagan Bore勘探区首次发现锰矿资源后,各自损失了几澳分。

尽管宣布一个推断1500万吨铁矿石评分11.3%锰周二,黑峡谷缓解从0.27澳元至0.24澳元,尽管Carawine,小伙伴的合资企业涵盖一大束地面以东BHP (ASX: BHP)铁矿石开采中心纽曼,下降0.01澳元,至0.20澳元。

继Jupiter, Euro 和 Element 25的陨落之后,人们对黑峡谷的发现缺乏兴趣,这是锰元素衰退的最新迹象,锰元素已经衰退了几十年。

锰打开

与锰的第一个问题,为什么投资者应该小心对待它,它基本上仍是俘虏炼钢工业中起着作用,去除杂质,防止钢的脆性归咎于1912年泰坦尼克号的沉没,因为它的钢板和铆钉是由低锰钢制成的。

第二个问题是,全球并不存在锰短缺问题,高价格必然会引发供应反应,导致价格走低,而Morgan Stanley认为,市场今天可能已经达到了这一水平。

市场上的任何负面力量都不会削弱锰作为电池金属开发一个重要新市场的潜力,就像镍一样。镍是另一种炼钢大宗商品,正迅速成为一种电池金属。

但在电池行业对锰产生巨大需求之前,钢铁厂的需求仍将推动其发展。在政府刺激支出即将结束、主要由政府资助的经济活动爆发后,钢铁厂已经在艰难应对增长乏力。

Woodie Woodie的例子

似乎这一切还不够,锰矿因其极端的价格波动而臭名昭著,这可能会鼓励边缘矿山的重新开放,随后同样迅速地封存,没有比纽曼附近的Woodie Woodie矿更好的例子了。

上世纪90年代中期,Valiant Exploration公司经营着Woodie Woodie,直到该公司财务崩溃,控制权转移给了由Michael Kiernan管理的Valiant货运承包商。

在辉煌的几年里,Valiant(更名为Consolidated Minerals)获得了可观的利润,因为基尔南几乎是单枪匹马地拯救了该公司,直到在一场与乌克兰锰业公司Gennadiy Bogolyubov的激烈收购战中失去了控制权。2016年,在铁矿石价格再次暴跌后,他也被迫关闭了该矿,然后将其出售给一家中国公司,后者于2017年重启了运营。

除了锰有可能在电动汽车电池领域找到一个新市场外,锰这种与全球钢铁行业密切相关的材料并未发生任何变化,尤其是在中国,信贷和电力危机正在威胁所有钢铁制造大宗商品的需求下滑。

不祥的前几天

Morgan Stanley在一份不祥的评论中说,锰的价格“已经稳定了很长一段时间”,44%锰的材料级约为每干公吨5.10澳元(锰的复杂交易方式)。

“这是一种以极端价格波动而闻名的大宗商品,自1月份以来基本没有这种波动,”该行表示。

“我们周期性地看到,生产商试图提高价格,随后买家削减了产量。在库存减少之前,这种情况很可能会一直持续下去。”

高库存水平是一个警告信号,尤其是在全球钢铁产量开始下降之际,南非、加纳和加蓬的主要锰生产商提高了对全市场的发货量。

该银行表示:“我们预计南非的铁路性能将有所改善,这应该会增加供应,此外,我们将继续看到新的供应增加,Glencore和Element 25将在2021年增加,Afrimat将在2023年增加,Eramet将在未来两到三年内增加。”

根据Morgan Stanley的预测,明年油价将跌至5美元/dmtu,然后随着全球库存从50万吨膨胀至170万吨,在2025年逐步跌至4.5美元/dmtu。

锰市场的前景是“适者生存(成本最低)”,希望电池制造商的需求能像承诺的那样强劲。

但考虑到锰作为一种金属的历史,它在跌回地面之前通常会飞得很高,目前的市场动态表明,锰有可能出现严重低迷。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Manganese dubbed the next battery metal, but are ominous days ahead?

Manganese next battery metal 2021 commodity
Oversupply in the manganese market has over-powered its attraction as the next hot battery metal.

In theory, manganese is the next hot battery metal. In practice, it’s a commodity which ought to have a warning attached as a price slump threatens.

Interest in mining companies exposed to manganese surged two years ago when it was named by Tesla founder Elon Musk as a metal which could become an important component of the batteries used in electric vehicles.

Manganese miners and explorers enjoyed a short-term share-price jolt but since then it’s been mainly downhill as the reality of an over supplied market over-powers battery-metal mania.

Investors retreat from manganese

“Demand turning down as supply turns up,” was the sobering warning for the manganese cheer squad from big name investment bank Morgan Stanley in a research note published last week.

The potential for a steep fall in the manganese price can be seen in a retreat by investors from manganese-exposed stocks on the ASX, led by one of last year’s stars Jupiter Mines (ASX: JMS), which has fallen 44% since February from $0.38 to $0.21 thanks, in part, to the manganese price outlook and operational problems at its South African mine.

Euro Manganese (ASX: EMN) and Element 25 (ASX: E25), which is named after the atomic number for manganese, have done better on a year-to-date basis (both are up 15%), but their performance over the past month tells a different story (down 18% and 16% respectively).

Even encouraging exploration news couldn’t help Black Canyon (ASX: BCA) and Carawine Resources (ASX: CWX), which lost a few cents each after reporting what looks to be a reasonable achievement in demonstrating a maiden manganese resource at its Flanagan Bore prospect in the north of WA.

Despite announcing an inferred 15 million tonnes of ore grading 11.3% manganese on Tuesday, Black Canyon eased back from $0.27 to $0.24, while Carawine, the junior partner in a joint venture which covers a large tract of ground east of BHP’s (ASX: BHP) iron ore mining centre of Newman, slipped $0.01 lower to $0.20.

Coming on top of the falls by Jupiter, Euro and Element 25, the lack of interest in Black Canyon’s discovery is the latest sign of manganese regressing into one of its routine downturns which have dogged the material for decades.

Manganese unpacked

The first problem with manganese, and why investors should treat it with caution is that it remains largely a captive of the steel making industry in which it plays a role in removing impurities and preventing brittleness in steel of the sort blamed for the sinking of the Titanic in 1912, because it’s steel plates and rivets were made from low-manganese steel.

The second problem is that there is no shortage of manganese in the world with high prices invariably triggering a supply response, which leads to low prices, a point which Morgan Stanley believes the market might have reached today.

None of the negative forces in the market will dim the potential for manganese to develop a significant new market as a battery metal in much the same way as nickel, another steel making commodity, which is fast becoming better known as a battery metal.

But until the battery industry develops a significant appetite for manganese it will remain driven by the demands of steel mills and they’re already struggling with sluggish growth after the burst of activity largely funded by government stimulus spending which is coming to an end.

Woodie Woodie example

As if all that is not enough, manganese is notorious for its extreme price movements which can encourage the re-opening of marginal mines followed by equally quick mothballing with no better example than the Woodie Woodie mine also near Newman.

In the mid-1990s Valiant Exploration operated Woodie Woodie, until its financial collapse which saw control pass to Valiant’s trucking contractor managed by Michael Kiernan.

For a few good years, Valiant (renamed Consolidated Minerals) generated handsome profits as Kiernan almost singlehandedly rescued the business until losing control in a bitter takeover battle with Ukraine’s Mr Manganese, Gennadiy Bogolyubov, who was also forced to close the mine in 2016 after another collapse in the price of the metal before selling it to a Chinese company which restarted operations in 2017.

Apart from the potential for manganese to find a new market in the batteries of electric vehicles nothing has changed for a material heavily exposed to the global steel industry, especially in China where a rolling credit and power crisis is threatening a downturn in demand for all steel-making commodities.

Ominous days ahead

Morgan Stanley, in an ominous comment, said that manganese prices “have been stable for an unusually long time now” with material grading 44% manganese sitting at around US$5.10 per dry metric tonne unit (the complex way the metal is traded).

“This is a commodity known for extreme price moves which have largely been absent since January,” the bank said.

“Periodically we’ve seen attempts by producers to increase prices, followed by volume cuts by buyers. Until inventories have been drawn down this will most likely remain the case.”

High inventory levels are a warning sign, especially as global steel production starts to decline with major manganese producers in South Africa, Ghana and Gabon boosting shipments into a full market.

“We’re expecting an improvement in rail performance in South Africa, which should boost supply, plus we continue to see new supply additions with Glencore and Element 25 adding in 2021, Afrimat adding in 2023 and Eramet adding over the next two-to-three years,” the bank said.

The price outlook according to Morgan Stanley is for a slip to US$5/dmtu next year and then progressively down to US$4.50/dmtu in 2025 as the global stockpile swells from 500,000t to 1.7Mt.

It’s an outlook like that which screams survival of the fittest (and lowest costs) in the manganese market, with fingers crossed that demand from battery makers turns out to be as strong as promised.

But given the history of manganese as a metal which routinely flies high before crashing back to earth the current market dynamics point to the potential for a significant downturn.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.