从向低碳排放的过渡中赚钱

Low carbon emissions make money investing net zero
出于利润和利他的原因,有大型企业希望投资于专注于降低碳排放的行业。

实现零碳排放的努力有其拥护者和反对者,但撇开政治问题不谈,毫无疑问,有一些大笔的钱可以赚——但也会亏本。

煤炭开采商和石油公司的价格急剧下跌,随后随着乌克兰战争将化石燃料价格推高至高位,同样戏剧性地卷土重来。

结果是,“恐龙”能源股是 2021-2022 年绝对的股票市场英雄之一。

减少化石燃料对全球变暖影响的竞赛的一个有趣方面是,有两种玩游戏的方式——一种是支持低碳或可再生能源企业,另一种是押注或试图颠覆性地改造大型碳排放国.

AGL 收购是一次伟大的颠覆性尝试

后者的一个很好的例子是 Atlassian 科技亿万富翁 Mike Cannon-Brookes 和 Brookfield Asset Management 试图以 80 亿澳元收购 AGL (ASX: AGL)——从某些方面来说是澳大利亚最大的碳排放国。

该竞标旨在大大加快 AGL 的脱碳计划,并在此过程中为 Cannon-Brookes 和 Brookfield 加速一些大规模的太阳能投资赚取一些可观的长期资金。

虽然竞标可能没有成功,但它确实破坏了 AGL 将其煤炭发电资产分拆成一家独立公司的计划——Cannon-Brookes 曾认为这会减缓向低碳经济的过渡。

另外,Cannon-Brookes 的投资公司 Grok Ventures 已参与为 Sun Cable 筹集资金,该公司正在北领地运行一个雄心勃勃的项目,旨在生产高达 20GW 的太阳能和高达 42GWh 的储能,这在很大程度上将是通过 4,200 公里的海底电缆传输到新加坡。

对 Genex 的机会性收购

就在上周,Cannon-Brookes 的 Atlassian 合伙人——亿万富翁 Scott Farquar 和他的妻子 Kim Jackson——与私募股权公司 Stonepeak 一起对可再生能源和存储开发商 Genex Power (ASX: GNX)。

Genex 是一家有趣的公司,它正在开发一套可再生太阳能、风能、电池和抽水蓄能资产,主要围绕昆士兰废弃的 Kidston 金矿。

它已经拥有自 2017 年以来发电量高达 50MW 的 Kidston Solar Project,并正在开发相关的 Kidston Pumped Hydro 蓄能,该项目将能够通过使用太阳能和风能从一个露天矿井抽水来储存能量矿到另一个,然后在夜间或电价高时释放水电。

Genex 可能很有趣且充满潜力,但在此次出价到来之前,它一直相对不受股票市场的喜爱,因此有趣的是,该计划似乎再次将公司私有化,直到可再生能源资产符合要求,并且然后以已知数量将其卖回市场。

Twiggy Forrest 押注绿色氢和氨

这与澳大利亚首富 Andrew “Twiggy” Forrest 的做法类似,他一直忙于在可再生能源领域进行大量投资,同时也是 Sun Cable 的投资者。

Forrest 正在投资绿色氢和绿色氨,并希望到 2030 年每年生产 1500 万吨,在此过程中使用大量太阳能和风能。

他的许多项目都处于早期阶段,但这并没有阻止他为 Fortescue Future Industries 高调招聘高管,包括前 AGL 老板 Andy Vesey、前 RBA 副手 Guy Debelle、前 CleanCo 老板 Maia Schwartzer 和通用电气欧洲前负责人Mark Hutchinson。

他已经开始在 Gladstone 和昆士兰州的大型 Clark Creek 风电场附近建设世界上最大的氢电解槽制造设施,并计划在 Pilbara 建设一个 5.4GW 的风能和太阳能项目,为 Fortescue 的铁矿石开采业务提供动力。

跟着大钱走

投资者应该从这些例子中得到的信息是,一些真正的大投资者对于为降低碳排放进行投资是非常认真的——出于高度商业化和利他主义的原因。

有些人通过扰乱高排放公司和其他人通过从头开始建立可再生资产来做到这一点。

Mike Cannon-Brookes 正在尝试这两种方法。

这仍然是一个难以投资且有风险的领域,如果收购要约成功,一系列已私有化的上市机会中的最新一个,Genex 可能会消失。

然而,作为一个小投资者,如果不对你的所有投资都应用碳镜头来检查它们的可持续性和抓住机会的能力,那将是极端愚蠢的。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Making money from the transition to lower carbon emissions

Low carbon emissions make money investing net zero
There are large players looking to invest in sectors focused on lowering carbon emissions, both for profit and altruistic reasons.

The drive towards zero carbon emissions has its fans and its opponents but political issues aside, there is little doubt that there is some serious money to be made – and lost.

The speed in which that can happen has just been shown in the dramatic fall in the price of coal miners and oil companies, followed by an equally dramatic comeback as the war in Ukraine drove fossil fuel prices back through the roof.

The result being that “dinosaur” energy stocks were some of the absolute share market heroes of 2021-2022.

One interesting aspect of the race to reduce the impact of fossil fuels on global warming is that there are two ways of playing the game – one by backing low carbon or renewable energy ventures and the other by betting against or trying to disruptively transform big carbon emitters.

AGL takeover was a great disruption attempt

A great example of the latter was the attempted $8 billion takeover bid for AGL (ASX: AGL) – by some measures Australia’s biggest carbon emitter – by Atlassian tech billionaire Mike Cannon-Brookes and Brookfield Asset Management.

That bid was designed to greatly speed up AGL’s plans to decarbonise – and, in the process, make some serious long-term money for Cannon-Brookes and Brookfield as they accelerated some massive solar investments.

While the bid might have been unsuccessful, it did derail AGL’s plans to demerge its coal generation assets into a separate company – something that Cannon-Brookes had argued would slow down the transition to a lower carbon economy.

Separately, Cannon-Brookes’ investment firm, Grok Ventures, has participated in raising capital for Sun Cable, which is running a highly ambitious project to produce up to 20GW of solar and up to 42GWh of energy storage in the Northern Territory that would be largely transmitted to Singapore through a 4,200km sub-sea cable.

Opportunistic takeover for Genex

An example of backing low carbon ventures came just last week came when Cannon-Brookes’ Atlassian partner – billionaire Scott Farquar and his wife Kim Jackson – launched a surprise opportunistic bid along with private equity firm Stonepeak for renewables and storage developer Genex Power (ASX: GNX).

Genex is an interesting company which is in the process of developing a suite of renewable solar, wind, battery and pumped hydro assets, mostly around the disused Kidston gold mine in Queensland.

It already has the Kidston Solar Project which has been generating up to 50MW of electricity since 2017, and is developing the associated Kidston Pumped Hydro storage, which would be able to store energy by using solar and wind power to pump the water from one open pit mine to the other and then release the hydro power at night or when power prices are high.

Genex might be interesting and full of potential, but it has been relatively unloved by the share market until this bid arrived, so it is interesting that once again the plan seems to be to take the company private until the renewable power assets are in line and then sell it back to the market as a known quantity.

Twiggy Forrest betting big on green hydrogen and ammonia

It is similar to the approach of Australia’s richest man, Andrew “Twiggy” Forrest, who has been very busy investing heavily in the renewable space and is also an investor in Sun Cable.

Forrest is investing in green hydrogen and green ammonia and wants to produce 15 million tonnes a year by 2030, using a massive amount of solar and wind power in the process.

Many of his projects are at an early stage but that hasn’t stopped him going on a high-profile executive hiring spree for Fortescue Future Industries, including former AGL boss Andy Vesey, former RBA deputy Guy Debelle, former CleanCo boss Maia Schwartzer and the former head of GE Europe, Mark Hutchinson.

He has started construction on the world’s biggest hydrogen electrolyser manufacturing facility near Gladstone and the massive Clark Creek wind farm in Queensland, with plans for a 5.4GW wind and solar project in the Pilbara to power Fortescue’s iron ore mining operations.

Follow the big money

The message investors should take from such examples is that some of the really big investors are deadly serious about investing for lowering carbon emissions – for reasons that are highly commercial as well as altruistic.

Some do it by disrupting high emitting companies and others by building renewable assets from the ground up.

Mike Cannon-Brookes is trying both methods.

This remains a difficult and risky area to invest in, with the potential disappearance of Genex should the takeover bid succeed the latest in a long line of listed opportunities that have gone private.

However, it would be foolish in the extreme as a small investor to not apply a carbon lens to all of your investments to check their sustainability and ability to seize opportunities.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.