在锂电池技术取得成功后,Neil Biddle转向了沥青,即使电动汽车也需要这种材料来避免颠簸

Neil Biddle Pilbara Minerals lithium Australia boghead coal torbanite bitumen ASX Greenvale Mining GRV
Torbanite(又名泥煤)会成为下一个热门商品吗?

很难想象还有什么商品比torbanite这个名字更吸引人,也很难想象它会在未来由电动汽车主导的交通运输中发挥作用,但这位开启澳大利亚锂产业繁荣的人认为,沼泽煤可能会成为下一个热门商品。

Neil Biddle是Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS)转型的关键人物。六年前,Pilbara的股价还不到0.05澳元,只是一便士的可怕交易,如今它已成为ASX市值70亿澳元的第75大公司。

他现在已经把注意力转向Greenvale Mining (ASX: GRV)和它在昆士兰州名为Alpha的torbanite项目。

这种矿物不是传统意义上的煤炭,它的性质更像细粒度的油页岩。在上世纪70年代,油页岩几乎成为澳大利亚的主要石油来源,但由于加工成本高和污染程度更高而失败。

但在torbanite的加工过程中释放出了一种产品——沥青。由于澳大利亚关闭了炼油厂,这种产品在该国的价值越来越高。在电动汽车占主导地位的未来世界,仍然需要沥青作为一种成本效益高的筑路材料。

让Alpha成功

Biddle的计划是去寻找早期探险者在Alpha失败的地方,Alpha位于昆士兰州中部一个名叫Alpha的偏远小镇附近。

早在1939年,Alpha的torbanite就被发现了,最初被认为是一种丰富的石油来源,有可能复制19世纪苏格兰Torbanehill的页岩油业务——因此这种矿产被命名为torbanite。

经过几十年的勘探和分析,Alpha的torbanite并没有找到市场,而且在所有化石燃料来源都面临巨大压力的情况下,很难看到该矿藏被纯粹作为石油资源开发。

但Biddle想到的是一个生产多种产品的项目,包括由大型太阳能农场和风力涡轮机抵消排放的本地发电、精炼液体石油产品、工业碳和高质量沥青。

雄心勃勃的计划

这一商业计划无疑雄心勃勃,但随着澳大利亚逐渐失去从当地精炼石油中提取沥青的渠道,需求无疑会增长,因为即便是电动汽车也需要平坦的道路。

由于澳大利亚每年的沥青消费量接近80万吨(主要来自道路建筑商),Greenvale指定生产的一种主要产品有一个稳定的市场。

由于炼油厂关闭,当地的沥青供应开始下降,修路工人开始寻找新的供应来源,一些人已经敲响了格林维尔的大门,想知道沥青什么时候能供应。

Alpha的商业化战略仍在发展中,但Greenvale可能会在年底宣布一种矿产资源,并在明年第一季度完成一项可行性研究和矿石储量声明。

可再生能源集中

在人们反对任何与煤炭或石油有关的项目的时候,让这个本质上是碳氢化合物的项目投产并不容易,这就是为什么Greenvale越来越重视其混合能源提案,其中包括将太阳能和燃气电力接入地区电网。

在其最新的季度报告中,该公司表示,混合动力发电组件为该项目引入了一个重要的可再生能源方面,增强了其可持续性资质。

概念采矿计划是一项简单的露天开采作业——在最初10年的作业中,从5米以下至50米的深度开采torbanite,将开采出的材料送入一个加工系统,以生产一系列产品。

在9月份的项目更新中,格林维尔估计开发成本在1.25亿澳元到2亿澳元之间,其中大部分资金将用于燃气轮机和太阳能发电厂等电力基础设施。

Biddle说,对Alpha torbanite的分析已经证实,该项目可以生产出预计在当地和国际上都有很高需求的产品。

Greenvale对Alpha项目的计划尚未引起投资者多大兴趣,该公司的另一个大型项目——北领地的铜矿勘探——受到了更多关注,或许是因为铜矿比沥青更容易理解。

值得关注的股票

Greenvale股价在8月中旬触及0.66澳元的峰值后,现已回落至0.25澳元左右,估值为1.01亿澳元。

但Greenvale之所以值得关注,是因为Biddle过去成功收购了西澳大利亚Pilbara地区一项鲜为人知的锂资产,并帮助它成为全球重要的电动汽车原材料来源。

沥青不像锂那样令人兴奋,但它是一种全球贸易的基础材料,无处不在,如果没有它,未来的电动汽车可能会遇到困难。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

After his lithium success, Neil Biddle turns to bitumen, a material even EVs need to avoid a rough ride

Neil Biddle Pilbara Minerals lithium Australia boghead coal torbanite bitumen ASX Greenvale Mining GRV
Is torbanite, otherwise known as boghead coal, the next hot commodity?

It’s hard to imagine a commodity with a less appealing name than boghead coal, or to think it might play a role in a transport future dominated by electric vehicles (EVs), but the man who kick-started Australia’s lithium boom reckons boghead coal could be the next hot commodity.

Neil Biddle is a key person in the conversion of Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS) from a penny dreadful trading at less than $0.05 just six years ago into the 75th biggest company on the ASX with a value of $7 billion.

He has now turned his attention to Greenvale Mining (ASX: GRV) and it’s boghead coal (also known as torbanite) project called Alpha in Queensland.

The mineral is not coal in the conventional sense with qualities more like fine-grained oil shale, a material which almost became a major source of petroleum in Australia in the 1970s, but failed because of high processing costs and even higher levels of pollution.

But there is a product liberated in the processing of torbanite, which is of increasing value in Australia as the country closes its oil refineries, bitumen. In a future world dominated by EVs there will still be a need for bitumen as a cost-effective road building material.

Making a success of Alpha

Biddle’s plan is to pick up where earlier explorers failed at Alpha, which is located near the remote town of the same name in central Queensland.

Discovered as far back as 1939, Alpha’s torbanite was originally seen as a rich source of oil, potentially replicating a 19th century Scottish oil-from-shale business based at Torbanehill – hence the torbanite name for the mineral.

Decades of exploration and analysis failed to find a market for Alpha’s torbanite and with pressure building on all sources of fossil fuels it’s difficult to see the deposit being developed purely as a source of oil.

But what Biddle has in mind is a project yielding a number of products, ranging from locally generated electricity with emissions offset by a big solar farm and wind turbines, refined liquid petroleum products, industrial carbon, and high-quality bitumen.

Ambitious plans

The business plan is undoubtedly ambitious, but with Australia steadily losing access to bitumen extracted from locally refined oil there is no doubting demand growth because even EVs need smooth roads.

With Australia’s annual consumption of bitumen running at close to 800,000 tonnes a year, mainly from road builders, there is an assured market for one of the primary products earmarked for production by Greenvale.

And with local supply starting to decline as oil refineries are closed, the road builders are starting to look for new sources of supply with some already knocking on Greenvale’s door to see when bitumen will become available.

The commercialisation strategy for Alpha is still evolving, but Greenvale is getting closer to declaring a mineral resource, perhaps by the end of the year, with a feasibility study and an ore reserve statement targeted for completion in the first quarter of next year.

Renewable energy focus

Getting what is essentially a hydrocarbon project into production at a time of opposition to anything connected to coal or oil will not be easy, which is why Greenvale is placing increased emphasis on its hybrid energy proposal which includes solar power and gas-fired electricity fed into the regional grid.

In its latest quarterly report, the company said the inclusion of a hybrid power generation component introduced an important renewable energy aspect to the project, enhancing its sustainability credentials.

The conceptual mine plan is a simple open cut operation – extracting torbanite from a depth of five metres down to 50m over an initial 10 years of operation, with mined material fed into a processing system to yield a range of products.

In a September project update, Greenvale estimated development costs between $125 million and $200 million, with the bulk of the capital being allocated for power infrastructure such as the gas turbine and solar farm.

Biddle said analysis of the Alpha torbanite had confirmed that the project could yield products expected to be in high demand locally and internationally.

Greenvale’s plan for Alpha has not yet generated much investor interest with the company’s other major project, copper exploration in the Northern Territory receiving more attention, perhaps because copper is easier to understand than bitumen.

A stock to watch

After hitting a share price peak of $0.66 in mid-August, Greenvale shares have slipped back to trade around $0.25, valuing the stock at $101 million.

But what makes Greenvale a stock to watch is the past success of Biddle in taking a largely unknown lithium asset in WA’s Pilbara region and helping turn it into a globally significant source of raw material for EVs.

Bitumen is not as exciting as lithium, but it is a globally traded basic material used everywhere and without it the EVs of the future could be in for a rough ride.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.