对ASX上的探险家来说,现在是“给我钱”的时候

Show me the money explorers ASX mining cash
现金已成为王道,因为初级勘探者和矿工发现在当前环境下筹集资金变得更加困难。

老派矿工认为矿石品位是他们行业的王者。对采矿感兴趣的聪明投资者认识到另一个王者:现金。

目前,随着利率和运营成本的上升,即使大宗商品价格创下历史新高,现金也超过了评级。

在资源行业的高端,尤其是生产企业,现金问题在很大程度上无关紧要,因为它们的价格非常高,例如铜价为每磅 4.40 美元,镍价为每磅 13.30 美元,铁矿石为每吨 145 美元。

BHP (ASX: BHP)、Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)、South32 (ASX: S32) 和其他位置优越的生产商的好时光继续前进,尽管毫无疑问,管理层正在密切关注上涨成本潮,当商品价格回落(他们总是在某个时候这样做)时,这将吞噬利润并坚持下去。

可用现金枯竭

但对于依靠资本市场筹集的现金为其实地工作提供资金的探险家,以及对于寻求大笔资金(和债务)的潜在项目开发商来说,游戏已经发生了令人担忧的转折,对于试图筹集资金的公司来说也是如此通过首次公开募股(首次公开募股或浮动)。

过去几个月成功充值银行账户的公司应该能度过当前的现金紧缩周期,但对于一些忘记“现金为王”格言的小公司来说,前景并不那么光明。

上周,以锂为主的小型勘探公司 Reedy Lagoon (ASX: RLC) 宣布已筹集到 362,787 澳元的资金,以资助其勘探计划,这就是投资者情绪发生巨变的一个例子。

现金会有所帮助,但需要考虑到当新资金添加到现有银行余额中时,Reedy 将有 700,000 美元现金,不说太细,它的价值低于大多数澳大利亚房屋,并且低于豪华郊区的一些汽车的价值。

Reedy 似乎发生的事情是它太晚了筹集资金,于 5 月 2 日以 0.04 澳元的价格向股东提供了 1 比 7 的配股,以筹集 300 万澳元。

至少可以说,新股的吸收是适度的,Reedy 获得了前面提到的新的 362,787 澳元,约占现金目标的 8.3%,这也意味着该公司已经出现了股票短缺,它只能原价 0.04 澳元,这并不容易,因为股票的交易价格为 0.022 澳元。

发现对 Reedy 来说将是一个巨大的推动力,但该公司的银行账户中并没有太多现金来为必要的勘探提供资金,尤其是在钻井等现场工作成本迅速上升的时候。

其他的类似故事

Reedy不是孤儿。随着投资者将注意力转移到谁有足够的现金度过下一阶段的市场这一关键问题,资源行业正在重演具有大创意和适度现金余额的小公司的故事。

投资者在这种转变中赚钱的机会将会出现。

拥有良好资产但没有现金的公司会吸引并购(M&A)的注意力或自行寻找。

Bardoc Gold 是一个案例研究,说明当现金紧张且资本市场越来越难以进入时如何创造价值。 Bardoc 去年并没有坚持在西澳大利亚开发同名金矿的挑战,而是与大竞争对手 St Barbara (ASX: SBM) 进行了股份交换合并。

Bardoc 的股东现在没有看到他们的小公司在成本飙升的情况下努力开发矿山,而是拥有大量的 St Barbara 股票和一家中型矿业公司的股份。

有价值的项目是关键

如果他们的公司拥有其他人想要的资产,投资者可以期待更多此类交易。

寻找小型探险者和潜在矿工是进入下一阶段市场的一种方式,也是在困难时期赚钱的一种潜在方式。

避开在地下缺乏有价值资产的公司,例如未开发的矿体,是避免损失的一种方式。

从潜在输家中筛选潜在赢家的起点是从股价(和市场价值)测试开始,因为虽然个人投资者很难确切地知道一家公司在市场上的表现如何。

作为粗略的指导,应该避免股票市值低于 500 万美元的公司(而且有很多),尽管值得看看他们是否有市场可能忽略的资产可供出售。

有足够的现金余额来资助活动

下一个测试是现金余额,看看小盘股勘探者/矿工是否有足够的零钱来度过低迷时期,同时还要为其季度现金消耗(每三个月在现场和办公室工作上花费的钱)提供资金。

以 Reedy 为指导,该公司 3 月份的季度现金报告(银行中的 478,000 美元)表明资金紧张,可以预期筹集资金,这就是发生的事情,尽管为时已晚,无法避免投资者情绪的变化。

下一次测试银行余额将是 6 月 30 日的季度报告及其相关的现金报告,这些报告将在 7 月的第一周开始流入证券交易所。

目前还没有人知道哪些公司会出现现金匮乏(也许是资产丰富),但筛选过程将从 6 月份的季度报告开始。

至于 IPO 游戏,在澳大利亚和海外,它已经在枯竭,因为通胀担忧使水变得浑浊,上市定价变得越来越困难。

如前所述,当市场转向时,现金才是王道,或者正如Warren Buffett的名言:“只有当潮水退去,你才能发现谁在裸泳”。

或者,使用电影Jerry Maguire的一句名言“给我钱!”。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

It’s ‘show me the money’ time for explorers on the ASX

Show me the money explorers ASX mining cash
Cash has become king, as junior explorers and miners find it harder to raise capital in the current climate.

Old school miners reckon ore grade is king in their industry. Smart investors with an interest in mining recognise another king: cash.

Right now, with interest rates and operational costs rising, and even as commodity prices nudge all-time highs, cash beats grade.

At the top end of the resources industry, especially for companies in production, the cash question is largely irrelevant as they ride fabulous prices such as copper at US$4.40 a pound, nickel at US$13.30/lb and iron ore at US$145 a tonne.

The good times for BHP (ASX: BHP), Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO), South32 (ASX: S32) and other well-placed producers roll-on, though there’s also no doubt that management is keeping a close watch on the rising tide of costs, which will eat profits and stick when commodity prices retreat (which they always do at some time).

Available cash drying up

But for explorers relying on cash raised in the capital market to fund their field work, and for potential project developers looking for big licks of funding (and debt) the game has already taken a worrying turn, as it will for companies trying to raise capital through an initial public offering (IPO, or float).

Companies which have successfully topped up their bank accounts in the last few months should ride out the current cycle of cash tightening, but for some small companies, which forget the “cash is king” maxim, the outlook is not so bright.

An example of the sea-change in investor sentiment could be seen last week when Reedy Lagoon (ASX: RLC), a small, lithium-focussed explorer, announced that it had raised the unprincely sum of $362,787 to help fund its exploration program.

The cash will help, but it needs to be put into perspective such as when the new funds are added to the existing bank balance Reedy will have $700,000 in cash which, to not put too fine a point on it, is less than the value of most Australian houses, and lower than the value of some cars in posh suburbs.

What appears to have happened to Reedy is that it left its fund raising too late, going to shareholders on 2 May with a one-for-seven rights issue priced at $0.04 to raise $3 million.

The uptake of the new shares was modest, to say the least, with Reedy pulling in that fresh $362,787 mentioned earlier, about 8.3% of the cash target, which also means that the company has been left with a shortfall of shares which it can only place at the original price of $0.04, which will not be easy as the stock is trading at $0.022.

A discovery would be a big boost for Reedy, but there’s not a lot of cash in the company’s bank account to fund the necessary exploration, especially at a time when field work costs such as drilling are rising rapidly.

Similar story for other juniors

Reedy is not an orphan. The story of small companies with big ideas and a modest cash balance is being repeated across the resources sector as investors turn their attention to the critical question of who’s got the cash to ride out the next phase of the market.

Opportunities for investors to make money in the shift will emerge.

Companies with good assets and no cash will attract merger and acquisition (M&A) attention or seek it out themselves.

Bardoc Gold is a case study of how value can be created when cash is tight and capital markets are getting hard to access. Rather than persevere with the challenge of developing its namesake goldmine in Western Australia, Bardoc last year embraced a share-swap merger with a big rival, St Barbara (ASX: SBM).

Instead of watching their small company struggle with trying to develop a mine at a time of soaring costs, Bardoc shareholders now have a fistful of St Barbara shares and a stake in a mid-tier miner.

Valuable project is key

Investors can expect a lot more of that sort of deal, if their company has an asset that others want.

Looking for small explorers and would-be miners is one way of approaching the next phase of the market, and a potential way of making money in difficult times.

Dodging companies which lack valuable assets in the ground such as an undeveloped orebody is a way of avoiding a loss.

A starting point in sifting potential winners from potential losers is to start with a share-price (and market value) test, because while it’s hard for an individual investor to know exactly how well a company is travelling the market often does.

As a rough guide, companies with a stock-market value of less than $5 million (and there are quite a few) should be avoided, though it can be worth seeing if they have assets to sell which the market might be overlooking.

Sufficient cash balance to fund activities

The next test is the cash balance to see if a small cap explorer/miner has enough spare change to ride out a downturn, while also funding its quarterly cash burn (what it spends every three months on field and office work).

Using Reedy as a guide, the company’s March quarter cash report ($478,000 in the bank) was a signal that money was tight and a capital raising could be expected, which is what happened, albeit too late to avoid a change in investor sentiment.

The next time for testing bank balances will be 30 June quarterly reports and their associated cash reports which will start flowing into the stock exchange in the first week of July.

No-one knows yet which companies will be cash poor (and perhaps asset rich), but a sifting process will start with those June quarter reports.

As for the IPO game, it is already drying up in Australia and overseas as inflation worries muddy the waters and pricing a float becomes increasingly difficult.

Cash, as mentioned earlier, really is king when markets turn, or as Warren Buffett famously said: “Only when the tide goes out, do you discover who’s been swimming naked”.

Or, to use a famous quote from the movie Jerry Maguire “Show me the money!”.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.