铁矿石的“告别期”再次延长

Iron ore Simandou mine Guinea Ukraine Russia Pilbara
俄罗斯对乌克兰的战争使全球市场流失了1亿吨铁矿石,而Guinea的“Pilbara Killer” Simandou铁矿也被推迟了。

由于俄罗斯对乌克兰发动战争,以及一个被称为Pilbara Killer的非洲项目再次受挫,铁矿石的漫长告别期开始了,可能会持续到今年剩余时间。

乌克兰的战斗导致1亿吨铁矿石从市场上流失,Black Sea的商业航运陷入停顿,推高了该地区主要出口产品的价格,包括大麦、葵花籽油,以及铁矿石、颗粒和生铁等铁产品。

每年 1 亿吨的铁矿石似乎也被推迟了,因为人们对长期承诺但迟迟无法到达Guinea的 Simandou 矿产生了新的疑虑。

铁矿石价格高企提振了矿商

最终结果是,高品位铁矿石的交易价格继续保持在每吨140美元以上——这确保了每一家澳大利亚铁矿石生产商都在盈利运营,有些甚至达到了惊人的盈利水平。

尽管经常有人预测铁矿石价格会下跌,但铁矿石价格高企以及未来还会有更多上涨,甚至在战争引发的全球经济衰退威胁的情况下也是如此。

澳大利亚最大的纯铁矿石生产商Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG)继续交易在17.40澳元左右,尽管重量级投资银行将其股票评级下调至卖出,预计价格将低至13澳元(Morgan Stanley)和14澳元(Credit Suisse)。

对Fortescue持负面看法的部分原因与该公司进军可再生能源有关,事实证明,该行业的价值难以评估。

小型矿商也对强于预期的铁矿石价格做出了反应。铁矿石价格从11月份的每吨92美元上涨了56%,最近的销售价格为每吨144美元。

Champion Iron (ASX: CIA)在过去6个月里上涨了18%,达到6.35澳元。

Grange Resources上涨75%,至0.95美元,Akora Resources上涨63%,至0.36澳元。GWR Group (ASX: GWR)稳定在0.15澳元,Fenix (ASX: FEX)在过去六个月下跌了25%,但在过去两周上涨了0.01澳元,达到0.24澳元,Genmin (ASX: GEN)上涨了41%,达到0.19澳元。

价格会收缩吗?

所有与铁矿石相关的库存都受益于长期的牛市行情,这令人意外,因为过去两年,人们一再预测铁矿石价格将回落至每吨80美元,甚至更低。

实际上已经持续了20年的铁矿石价格涨势,最新一轮涨势还能持续多久,将是本月底在珀斯举行的全球顶级铁矿石会议的主要议题。

全球铁矿石和钢铁预测大会(Global Iron Ore & Steel Forecast Conference)是20年来铁矿石行业的一项重大活动,直到新冠肺炎和西澳自己的“铁幕”将游客挡在外面,当地人被锁在里面。

一个州已经开始恢复正常,该州是世界上最大的铁矿石生产地,也是澳大利亚与中国贸易关系的关键,这就是为什么在为期两天的活动中,最重要的发言人将是来自中国钢铁协会的Li Xinchuang先生。

中钢协是一个以其激进领导人而闻名的组织,该组织多次呼吁结束澳大利亚和巴西对铁矿石的垄断,这两国一直能够从中国钢铁厂榨取高价格。

不幸的是,由于不断出现供应冲击,从巴西的洪水到西澳海岸附近的飓风,再到全球范围内的新冠肺炎疫情放缓,中钢协呼吁建立新的定价机制的呼声一直没有得到响应。

开发Simandou

中钢协认为,Simandou项目旨在打破澳大利亚和巴西铁矿石生产商的垄断,但事实证明,开发该项目比合理预期的要困难得多。

Guinea艰难的地理条件意味着,要想开采深挖的铁矿石,就需要在严酷的环境中铺设长铁路,尽管该国最大的障碍是政府腐败,这导致了世界上最大的两家铁矿石生产商——澳大利亚矿业公司Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)和巴西的Vale——陷入了痛苦的企业问题。

关于Simandou的最新消息表明,Guinean 政府又在上演一场腐败闹剧。去年9月,Guinea发生了一轮无休止的军事政变,迫使该国最高领导层换届,Rio Tinto停止其在Simandou矿区的工作。

据Guinea媒体报道,Guinea新任国家领导人Doumbouya上校(为什么总是由上校领导非洲政变?)要求暂停该项目,以“澄清维护Guinea利益的运作模式”。

这一评论,就像过去所说的大部分内容一样,可以解释,但从投资角度来看,Simandou的重要性似乎再次被推迟,因为Guinea兑现了其作为非洲最腐败国家的尴尬名声,即 考虑到高水平的竞争,这是一个相当大的成就。

铁矿石价格预测

由于乌克兰铁矿石被困在Black Sea,而俄罗斯铁矿石实际上遭到了抵制——这种矿物的价格似乎将在更长时间内保持较高水平,Guinea的最新挫折加剧了长期供应紧张的局面,这令中国钢铁厂深感不安。

一直预测铁矿石价格会下跌的投行仍在坚持这一观点,尽管它们不再认为铁矿石会突然下跌。

Macquarie Bank上周升级其大宗商品前景和澳大利亚铁矿石生产商的股票价格与供应紧缩可能撞到一阵新鲜的中国基础设施支出来抵消经济放缓,这是每年5.5%的经济增长预测背后——最低的10年。

铁矿石价格目前为每吨144美元,预计将在9月当季跌至每吨130美元,但年底前仍将达到每吨120美元。

另一家银行Citi预计,今年铁矿石平均价格为每吨136美元,之后将跌至每吨80美元。不过,由于不断出现供应冲击,更低的价格一直是过去几年多数预测的一个特征,实际上从未达到过。

如果以历史为例,铁矿石价格的高企时间可能会比专家预计的长得多,尤其是如果乌克兰出口仍然受阻的话——要么是由于战争破坏,要么是因为乌克兰躲进了俄罗斯的铁幕后面。

与此同时,Pilbara Killing Simandou项目仍然被几内亚腐败横行的政府所牵制。

铁矿石行业发生了很多变化,但变化不大。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Iron ore’s long goodbye is extended – again

Iron ore Simandou mine Guinea Ukraine Russia Pilbara
Russia’s war on the Ukraine has removed 100Mt of iron ore from global markets, while the 'Pilbara Killer' Simandou mine in Guinea has been delayed.

Iron ore’s long goodbye kicks on and might last for the rest of the year thanks to Russia’s war on the Ukraine and another setback for a project in Africa dubbed the Pilbara Killer.

Fighting in the Ukraine has effectively removed 100 million tonnes of iron ore from the market with commercial shipping in the Black Sea at a standstill and driving up prices for the region’s major exports that include barley, sunflower oil, and iron products which include ore, pellets, and pig iron.

Another 100 million tonnes a year of iron ore also looks like being delayed as fresh doubts emerge around the long promised but slow to arrive Simandou mine in Guinea.

High iron ore price lifts miners

The net result is that the price of high-grade iron ore continues to trade at more than US$140 a tonne – ensuring that every Australian miner of the steel making material is operating profitably, some outrageously so.

The high price and the promise of more to come, even as a war-caused global recession threatens, is why the share prices of iron ore stocks have held up despite frequent forecasts of a fall.

Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG) the biggest of the pure play iron ore producers continues to trade around $17.40 – even with heavyweight investment banks downgrading the stock to sell and with price forecasts as low as $13 (Morgan Stanley) and $14 (Credit Suisse).

Part of the negative view of Fortescue relates to its push into renewable energy, which is proving hard to value.

Smaller miners have also responded to the stronger-than-expected iron ore price which is up 56% from US$92 a tonne in November to latest sales at US$144/t.

Champion Iron (ASX: CIA) has risen by 18% over the past six months to $6.35.

Grange Resources (ASX: GRR) is up 75% at $0.95 and Akora Resources (ASX: AKO) is up 63% at $0.36. GWR Group (ASX: GWR) is steady at $0.15 and Fenix (ASX: FEX) is down 25% over the last six months, but up $0.01 at $0.24 over the past two weeks and Genmin (ASX: GEN) is up 41% to $0.19.

Price contraction on the cards?

All stocks exposed to iron ore are benefiting from the prolonged buoyant conditions, a surprise as there have been repeated forecasts over the past two years of a price contraction back to US$80/t, and lower.

How long this latest extension, of what has effectively been a 20-year boom, can continue is a question which will dominate the world’s top iron ore conference being held in Perth at the end of the month.

The Global Iron Ore & Steel Forecast Conference was a big event in the iron ore industry for two decades, before Covid and WA’s own version of an “iron curtain” kept visitors out and the locals locked in.

Normality has started to return in a state, which is the world’s biggest producer of iron ore and a key to Australia’s trade relationship with China, which is why the most important speaker at the two-day event will be Li Xinchuang, the man from the China Iron & Steel Association (CISA).

CISA is an organisation known for its militant leaders which have repeatedly called for an end to the iron ore duopoly of Australia and Brazil that has been able to extract high iron ore prices from Chinese steel mills.

Unfortunately for CISA its calls for a new pricing mechanism have always fallen flat thanks to repeated supply shocks, ranging from floods in Brazil to cyclones off the WA coast, followed by the worldwide Covid slowdown.

Developing Simandou

Simandou was seen by CISA as the project to break the stranglehold of Australian and Brazilian iron ore producers, but it’s proving to be much harder to develop than might reasonably have been expected.

Difficult geography means that iron ore mines deep inside Guinea require long railways through harsh country, though the biggest obstacle in the country has been government corruption which has led to painful corporate problems at two of the world’s biggest iron ore miners, Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO), and Brazil’s Vale.

The latest news about Simandou points to a Guinean Government corruption encore, with the latest of an endless cycle of military coups forcing a change at the top last September, followed by an order for Rio Tinto to stop work on its portion of the Simandou orebody.

According to media reports from Guinea a new country boss, Colonel Doumbouya (why is it always a colonel who heads a coup in Africa?) called a halt on the project pending “clarification of the operational mode by which the interests of Guinea will be preserved.”

That comment, like much of what’s been said in the past, is open to interpretation, but the importance from an investment perspective is that Simandou looks like being delayed again as Guinea lives up its embarrassing reputation as the most corrupt country in Africa, which is quite an achievement given the high level of competition.

Iron ore price predictions

With Ukrainian iron ore stuck in the Black Sea, and Russian iron ore effectively blackballed – the price of the mineral appears likely to stay higher for longer, with the latest setback in Guinea adding to a long-running supply squeeze which deeply annoys China’s steel mills.

Investment banks, which have been forecasting an iron ore fall, continue to push that argument though they no longer see a sudden fall.

Macquarie Bank last week upgraded its outlook for the commodity and the share prices of Australian iron ore miners with a supply squeeze likely to bump into a burst of fresh Chinese infrastructure spending to offset an economic slowdown, which is behind a 5.5% annual economic growth forecast – the lowest in 10-years.

From its current level of US$144/t iron ore is tipped to decline to US$130/t in the September quarter but still be trading at US$120/t by the end of the year.

Citi, another bank, sees an average iron ore price this year of US$136/t before declining to US$80/t – though that lower price has been a feature of most forecasts for the past few years and has never actually been reached thanks to repeated supply shocks.

If history is a guide, iron ore could stay higher for a lot longer than experts expect, especially if Ukrainian exports remain blocked, either through war damage or because the country slips behind Russia’s iron curtain.

Meanwhile, the Pilbara Killing Simandou project remains tied up in Guinea’s corruption ridden government.

A lot happens in iron ore, but not a lot changes.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.