通货膨胀以螺旋式上升的成本殃及资源行业

Inflation resources sector mining costs profits commodity prices 2022
更高的成本正在侵蚀矿工从商品价格上涨中获得的任何利润。

在通胀上升之际,大宗商品无疑是投资者的好去处,但推高矿产和金属价格的同样力量也可能导致致命的成本增长。

Dacian Gold (ASX: DCN) 是通胀导致其采矿业务不经济的最新例子。

Dacian 在其位于西澳的 Mt Morgans 黄金项目中作为开采矿石储备的加工商和勘探商仍在经营业务,其股价在过去 10 周内下跌 70% 至0.081 澳元的历史新低。

Dacian 的教训是,即使黄金价格超过每盎司 1,800 美元,也无法挽救因承包商装载和运输费率上涨 68%、柴油价格上涨 42% 和 40天然气价格上涨 %,今年晚些时候仅天然气费用就会上涨 9%。

Dacian并不孤单

Dacian 对投资者的重要性在于认识到该公司并不孤单。

其他尚未报告自己的成本恐怖故事的公司将处于类似的“无利可图繁荣”状态,因为高商品价格带来了现金,甚至更高的成本将其带走。

今年早些时候Small Caps 报道的焦点是采矿业成本正在发生的变化,该报道关注了两个案例研究:Geopacific Resources (ASX: GPR) 和 Bardoc Gold。

由于大雨增加了开发成本,Geopacific 被迫暂停了其在巴布亚新几内亚有前景的 Woodlark 黄金项目的工作。

Bardoc 在其位于西澳的同名黄金项目也面临着类似的成本挑战,但他迅速采取行动,与财力更雄厚的邻居 St Barbara (ASX: SBM) 进行合并谈判,后者也存在自身的发展问题。

一个警示故事

这三个高成本的例子是一个警告,即在接近资源部门时需要采取比平常更多的护理,自今年年初以来,资源部门的表现优于大盘。

根据金属和矿业指数 (XMM) 衡量,澳大利亚矿业公司的平均下跌 2.45% 远好于整体市场,根据全普通指数 (XAO) 衡量,整体市场下跌 15.3%。

成本因素只是投资者关注的一个问题,因为昨天的热门产品正在消退,新的领导者正在涌现,资源行业正在发生翻天覆地的变化。

铁矿石撞墙

例如,铁矿石似乎终于遇到了全球供应过剩和中国需求放缓的问题,中国无疑是最大的钢铁市场。

也可以说,关于铁矿石消亡的报道与Mark Twain的报道相媲美,他在回答媒体关于他去世的故事时说:“关于我死亡的报道被大大夸大了”——但即使是Twain(真名Samuel Clemens)最终也死了。

在过去的三周里,高品位铁矿石的价格下跌了每吨 30 美元 (20%) 至 117 美元/吨——这也伴随着 Fortescue (ASX: FMG) 等铁矿石矿商的股价,下跌 12%,Champion Iron (ASX: CIA) 下跌 27%。

大多数铁矿石开采商在最新价格下仍保持盈利,但有少数公司,尤其是规模较小的公司,将感受到压力,一些公司锁定对冲以防止价格进一步下跌——这是该业务收入方面的明智举措,但不保护成本方面。

通胀和利率上升的背景

正是在央行急于遏制破坏性的通货膨胀爆发的利率上升的背景下,ANZ Bank发布了其最新的Commodity Tracker报告,该报告是对可能趋势的大图的有用指南,其中包括对大宗商品的中性排名(如铁矿石和煤)以及工业金属(如铜、锌和铝)。

贵金属(如黄金、白银和铂金)也呈中性走势,但前景趋于强劲,而能源(石油、天然气和煤炭)的评级很高,因为政府、工业和家庭正在与过早尝试拥抱可再生能源作斗争以忽略部分由乌克兰战争和对俄罗斯制裁造成的传统化石燃料短缺为代价

虽然不是作为投资指南,但ANZ对大宗商品行业的看法是有用的,因为它反映了世界工作方式的重大变化,随着欧洲和美国出现衰退迹象,对基本工业材料的需求放缓,而中国放缓了经济与永无止境的COVID封锁。

中国放缓引起关注

ANZ将中国列为工业金属的主要关注点,因为消费者信心在经济显着放缓之前下降,银行的Global Leading Indicator回落反映了工业活动“减速”。

在俄罗斯与乌克兰的战争对汽车生产和销售增长造成压力之后,即使是电池金属也显示出紧张迹象。

贵金属的表现预计将优于工业大宗商品,但随着美国利率上升以及通常购买黄金作为避风港的投资者的兴趣有限,贵金属也面临着自身的压力。

但ANZ认为,黯淡的经济背景最终将增加黄金的吸引力。

能源是当前投资环境中的大赢家,随着经济在 COVID 关闭和供应因制裁以及缺乏对新石油、天然气和煤炭领域的投资而中断后重新开放,需求强劲。

“流动性指标正在接近大流行前的水平,”ANZ表示,这是油价持续承压的早期迹象,这反过来又会推高天然气和煤炭的价格。

好消息是能源生产商的价格上涨,它们可能是其他所有人的成本蛋糕上的糖霜,因为更高的电价流经更广泛的经济体,而矿工是卡车柴油和加工电力的主要用户。

刚刚袭击 Dacian 的成本飙升与袭击 Bardoc 和 Geopacific 的成本相同。

随着通货膨胀蔓延到企业的每一个角落,更多的问题正在酝酿之中。

投资者应该像关注商品价格一样密切关注成本,因为一个人做的不仅仅是抵消另一个人。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Inflation bites resources sector with spiralling costs

Inflation resources sector mining costs profits commodity prices 2022
Higher costs are eroding any profits miners gain from increased commodity prices.

Commodities are unquestionably a good place for investors at a time of rising inflation, but the same force driving up the price of minerals and metals can also produce killer cost increases.

Dacian Gold (ASX: DCN) is the latest example of inflation rendering its mining operations uneconomic.

While still in business as a processor of a mined stockpile of ore at its Mt Morgans gold project in WA, and as an explorer, Dacian has been sharply marked down on the market with its share price falling 70% over the past 10 weeks to an all-time low of $0.081.

The lesson of Dacian is that even a gold price of more than US$1,800 an ounce cannot save a mining business hit by a 68% hike in contractor load-and-haul rates, a 42% increase in the price of diesel fuel and a 40% rise in the price of natural gas, with another 9% to come later this year on the gas bill alone.

Dacian isn’t alone

The importance of Dacian for investors is to recognise that the company is not alone.

Other companies yet to report their own cost horror stories will be in a similar state of “profitless prosperity” as high commodity prices deliver cash and even higher costs take it away.

A warning of what’s happening with costs in the mining industry was the focus of a Small Caps story earlier this year, which looked at two case studies: Geopacific Resources (ASX: GPR) and Bardoc Gold.

Geopacific was forced to suspend work on its promising Woodlark gold project in Papua New Guinea when heavy rain added to development costs.

Bardoc faced a similar cost challenge at its namesake gold project in WA, but moved swiftly to negotiate a merger with a financially stronger neighbour, St Barbara (ASX: SBM), which is also having its own development problems.

A cautionary tale

Those three high-cost examples are a warning that greater than normal care needs to be taken when approaching the resources sector, which has outperformed the broader market since the start of the year.

While down an average of 2.45% as measured by the metals and mining index (XMM) Australia’s mining companies have done much better than the overall market, which is 15.3% lower, as measured by the all-ordinaries index (XAO).

The cost factor is just one issue for investors to watch as a sea-change washes over the resources sector with yesterday’s favourites fading and new leaders emerging.

Iron ore hits a wall

Iron ore, for example, appears to have finally hit a wall of global over-supply and slowing demand in China, easily the biggest market for steel.

It might also be said that reports of iron ore’s demise rival that of Mark Twain who famously replied to media stories of his passing that: “the reports of my death are greatly exaggerated” – but even Twain (real name Samuel Clemens) eventually died.

Over the past three weeks, the price of high-grade iron ore has fallen by US$30 a tonne (20%) to US$117/t – taking with it the share prices of iron ore miners such as Fortescue (ASX: FMG), which is down 12% and Champion Iron (ASX: CIA), which has dropped 27%.

Most iron ore miners remain profitable at the latest price, but there are a handful, especially smaller companies, which will be feeling the heat, with some locking in hedging to protect against further price falls – a sensible move on the revenue side of the business, but one which does not protect the costs side.

Background of increasing inflation and interest rates

It’s against this background of rising interest rates as central banks rush to crush a damaging outbreak of inflation that ANZ Bank published its latest Commodity Tracker report, which is a useful guide to the big picture of likely trends that, include a neutral ranking for bulks (such as iron ore and coal) as well as industrial metals (such as copper, zinc and aluminium).

Precious metals (such as gold, silver and platinum) were also neutral, but trending up towards a strong outlook, while energy (oil, gas and coal) scored a strong rating as governments, industry and households, battle a premature attempt to embrace renewables at the cost of ignoring shortages of traditional fossil fuels caused in part by the war in Ukraine and sanctions on Russia

While not intended as an investment guide, the ANZ view of the commodities sector is useful because it reflects significant changes in the way the world works with demand for basic industrial material slowing as signs of recession emerge in Europe and the US, while China slows its economy with never-ending COVID lockdowns.

Slowing China causes concern

ANZ singled out China as the primary concern for industrial metals as consumer confidence falls ahead of what could be a significant economic slowdown with “decelerating” industrial activity reflected in the banks retreating Global Leading Indicator.

Even battery metals are showing signs of strain after a stellar run with Russia’s war in Ukraine weighing on auto production and sales growth.

Precious metals, which are expected to outperform industrial commodities, face their own pressures which come with a rise in US interest rates and limited interest from investors who customarily buy gold as a safe haven.

But ANZ believes the gloomy economic backdrop will eventually add to gold’s appeal.

Energy is the big winner in the current investment climate with demand strong as economies re-open after COVID shutdowns and supply disrupted by sanctions and a lack of investment in new oil, gas, and coal fields.

“Mobility indicators are approaching pre-pandemic levels,” ANZ said – an early sign of continued pressure on the oil price which will, in turn, boost prices for gas and coal.

Good news as the higher prices are for energy producers, they are likely to be the icing on the costs cake for everyone else, because higher power prices flow across the broader economy and miners are major users of diesel for trucks, and electricity for processing.

The cost spike, which has just hit Dacian, is the same one which hit Bardoc and Geopacific.

More problems are brewing as inflation worms its way into every corner of a business.

Investors should be keeping as close an eye on costs as they are on commodity prices because one is doing more than counteracting the other.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.