印象医疗制定了FDA对大麻类药物候选药物IHL-42X的审批策略

Impression Healthcare FDA cannabinoid drug candidate IHL-42X Camargo Pharmaceuticals ASX IHL
印象医疗计划于2022年向美国食品及药物管理局提交一份新药申请,用于治疗阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停。

医用大麻公司印象医疗(ASX: IHL)透露,它已经从美国的Camargo制药公司收到了一份独立的战略评估报告,内容是关于美国食品和药物管理局对大麻素IHL- 42x的审批途径。

在过去的17年里,Camargo已经为超过250个FDA的成功申请提供了建议,印象医疗宣称,IHL-42可能在大约2.5年内获得FDA的新药批准——与批准新的分子实体通常需要的12年相比,这是一个相当大的进步。

在其指示性时间表中,印象将在2020年第二季度晚些时候开始其2b阶段的试验,而第二阶段的“阶乘”阶段将在今年第三和/或第四季度进行。

明年,IHL-42X有望进入第三阶段的最后一轮临床试验,并有可能在2022年向FDA提交新药申请。

重要的是,在开始2b期试验之前,不需要完成临床前和一期临床试验,因为现有大量关于IHL-42X主要成分的临床信息,包括安全数据。

印象医疗表示,由于临床试验至少要到明年才能进行,因此他们打算在可能向FDA注册之前,就开始销售未注册的IHL-42X,以保持收入的流动。该公司表示,一个可行的销售渠道是通过澳大利亚的特别准入计划,以及美国和加拿大的药房。

印象说,注册将促进所有医生的处方,医生营销和访问公共报销机构,如澳大利亚的PBS。

加快发展

在昨天的市场报告中,印象医疗解释说,IHL-42X通过治疗阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停来满足未被满足的医疗需求。阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停是一种严重且常常危及生命的疾病,它会增加许多健康并发症的风险,仅在美国就有大约4000万人受到影响。

然而,根据研究,据信只有10%的患者最终寻求治疗,而大多数患者没有得到诊断,从而增加了心血管疾病的风险。

CPAP装置目前被用于治疗,但其他研究表明,由于鼻环的笨重、配偶的不适和难以忍受,患者使用CPAP的情况非常少。

目前,在任何司法管辖区都没有批准用于阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停的药物治疗,这意味着IHL-42X是几个FDA快速审查项目的候选项目,包括突破指定、加速批准、优先审查和快速跟踪批准。

如果成功获得FDA的批准,印象公司将在全球阻塞性睡眠呼吸暂停治疗和检测的直接市场中商业化其药物,每年的价值接近100亿美元,而且还在不断增长。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Impression Healthcare sets out FDA approval strategy for cannabinoid drug candidate IHL-42X

Impression Healthcare FDA cannabinoid drug candidate IHL-42X Camargo Pharmaceuticals ASX IHL
Impression plans to submit its FDA new drug application for cannabinoid IHL-42X for obstructive sleep apnoea in 2022.

Medical cannabis company Impression Healthcare (ASX: IHL) has revealed it has received an independent strategic assessment report on the FDA approval pathway for cannabinoid IHL-42X from US-based Camargo Pharmaceuticals.

Camargo has advised on over 250 successful FDA applications in the past 17 years with Impression declaring that IHL-42 could potentially obtain FDA new drug approval in around 2.5 years – a considerable improvement over the 12 years it typically takes to approve new molecular entities.

In its indicative timeline, Impression will commence its Phase 2b trials late in the second quarter of 2020 with a Phase 2 “factorial” stage in the third and/or fourth quarter of this year.

Next year, IHL-42X is forecast to move into the final Phase 3 round of trials with a possible new drug application given to the FDA in 2022.

Importantly, Impression is not required to complete pre-clinical and Phase 1 clinical trials prior to commencing Phase 2b trials, given the extensive amount of existing clinical information, including safety data, on the primary constituents of IHL-42X.

With clinical trials on the horizon for the next year at a minimum, Impression said it intends to generate unregistered sales of IHL-42X to keep revenues flowing even before possible registration with the FDA. One plausible sales channel is via Australia’s special access scheme and through dispensaries in the US and Canada, the company said.

Impression said that registration will facilitate prescription by all doctors, physician marketing and access of public reimbursement bodies such as PBS in Australia.

Expediting development

In yesterday’s presentation to the market, Impression explained that IHL-42X addresses an unmet medical need by treating obstructive sleep apnoea – a serious and often life-threatening condition that increases the risk of numerous health complications and affects around 40 million people in the USA alone.

However, according to research, it is believed that only about 10% of people with the condition end up seeking treatment leaving most sufferers undiagnosed and raising the risk of cardiovascular morbidity.

Impression Healthcare CPAP mask cannabinoid obstructive sleep apnoea
Impression Healthcare is working on a product for sufferers of obstructive sleep apnoea to replace the CPAP device.

The CPAP Device is currently used as treatment but other research has suggested that patient use of their CPAP is very low due to the cumbersome nature of nosepiece, discomfort and intolerability by spouses.

Currently, there is no pharmaceutical drug treatment approved for obstructive sleep apnoea in any jurisdiction which means IHL-42X is a candidate for several FDA expedited review programs including breakthrough designation, accelerated approval, priority review and fast-tracking approval.

If successful in its attempt to obtain FDA approval, Impression will commercialise its drug within a direct global annual market for obstructive sleep apnoea treatment and detection, valued at close to US$10 billion per annum and growing.