一场关于澳大利亚药房未来发展方向的大战正在酝酿之中

Pharmacies in Australia ASX Australian Pharmaceutical Industries Priceline Sigma Amcal Guardian ASX API SIG
Wesfarmers、Sigma和Woolworths都对运营Priceline的澳大利亚制药工业公司进行了投标。

在COVID-19大流行期间,去药店成为许多封城期间允许的少数购物亮点之一。

然而,注意到药店在零售业中所扮演的核心角色的不仅仅是购物者,还有拥有我们现有零售连锁店大量股份的大公司。

Wesfarmers (ASX: WES)出售了Coles的大部分股份,但仍拥有Bunnings、Kmart、Target和Officeworks连锁店。该公司7月份对Priceline运营商Australian Pharmaceutical Industries (ASX: API).发出收购要约,显示了对该行业的兴趣。

从那以后,这470家Priceline门店也吸引了Amcal和Guardian连锁药店老板和药品批发商Sigma (ASX: SIG)的投标,最近还有超市巨头Woolworths (ASX: WOW)。

本月早些时候,Woolworths提出8.72亿澳元的收购报价,目前正在进行尽职调查,此前API董事会表示,该报价对股东而言具有“令人信服的价值”,且优于此前推荐的Wesfarmers方案。

三个抢手的竞标者亮出了他们的现金

这是一个相当热门的三家竞拍公司,包括澳大利亚两家最大的零售商和一家现有的药店,所以很明显,除了想要拥有可以在封锁期间交易的药店外,还有更多的打算。

整个健康和养生区——维他命、化妆品和满是医疗用具的过道,在你等待处方配药时,你需要仔细阅读——是一个非常热门的类别,大型零售商想要更多地接触它。

Coles和Woolworths之前都表示有兴趣在他们的超市里开药店,这将使他们能够极大地扩展他们的药物,但这一次Woolworths表示,它对这样做不感兴趣,只是有兴趣扩大其在健康和健康部门的敞口,并将支持当前的社区药房模式。

制药行业内部一直在议论,为什么一家直到最近还在经营扑克机、销售烟酒的零售商会觉得自己有资格进入提供健康建议的行业,但这确实有点让人分心。

毕竟,那些五颜六色的糖豆和许多其他做作的、未经验证的非处方药,从药店出来,几乎不是关于健康或健康生活的最新说法。

当地拥有的和监管较少的连锁店

这场斗争的真正意义在于,让澳大利亚的药店按照当地拥有的模式运营,这种模式受到高度监管,不像海外市场上的药店由零售连锁店拥有和经营。

相反,澳大利亚的药店由数千名注册药剂师拥有,没有批准甚至不能搬迁到新的地点。

新药店不能在距离另一家药店1.5公里的范围内开业,新老板必须得到批准,尽管许多药店已经加入了购买连锁,以集中营销和范围。

药剂师是强大的游说团体

据澳大利亚药公会和许多药房老板说,这样的保护是为了确保病人护理的质量——这一点在消费者调查中显示,药剂师在最受信任的澳大利亚人中名列前茅。

然而,药店游说团体的力量是极端的——这就是为什么你需要每个月回到药店收集许多处方的原因——当联邦政府试图通过计划大包装来削减成本时发现了这一点。

最后,澳大利亚卫生部长格雷格·亨特(Greg Hunt)被迫放弃了他的计划,即开两个月的处方,向澳大利亚人提供更便宜的药物,将一次去药店可以分发的药片数量增加一倍。

这将使药剂师在多种药品上的配药费用减半,并导致了药公会迅速而非常成功的游说活动。

现行法规使药品成本居高不下

甚至澳大利亚医学协会(Australian Medical Association)也认为,目前的制药规则是反竞争的,应该放松,指出海外处方价格更低。

目前的药房模式已经面临很多压力,目前松散的连锁品牌越来越多地与来自Chemist Warehouse的廉价产品竞争。

再加上一家零售巨头,肯定会带来更多压力,随着健康产品市场的持续增长,其中一些压力可能是不可避免的,而目前在配药时提出建议和警告的模式将面临更多压力。

无论哪种方式,这场收购战都有望成为记录簿上的一场收购战,因为两个强大而有影响力的机构——大型零售商和药房协会——不可避免地卷入了一场争夺未来药店运营控制权的高风险战斗。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Huge battle brewing over the future direction of pharmacies in Australia

Pharmacies in Australia ASX Australian Pharmaceutical Industries Priceline Sigma Amcal Guardian ASX API SIG
Wesfarmers, Sigma and Woolworths have all made bids for Australian Pharmaceutical Industries which operates Priceline.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, a trip to the pharmacy became one of the few shopping highlights that was allowed during the many lockdowns.

However, it wasn’t just shoppers who were taking notice of the central role pharmacies play in retailing but also the big companies that own massive chunks of our existing retail chains.

Wesfarmers (ASX: WES) – which sold off most of Coles but still owns the Bunnings, Kmart, Target and Officeworks chains – showed its interest in the sector with a July takeover bid for Priceline operator Australian Pharmaceutical Industries (ASX: API).

Since then, the 470 Priceline stores have also attracted bids from Amcal and Guardian chemist chain owner and drug wholesaler Sigma (ASX: SIG) and most recently from supermarket giant Woolworths (ASX: WOW).

Earlier this month, Woolworths lobbed an $872 million bid and is doing due diligence after the API board said the offer represented “compelling value” for shareholders and was superior to the previously recommended Wesfarmers’ scheme of arrangement.

A hot trio of bidders flashing cash

That is a fairly hot trio of bidders including Australia’s two biggest retailers and an existing pharmacy player so it is fairly clear that there is more afoot than merely wanting to own outlets that can trade during lockdowns.

The entire health and wellness area – the vitamins, cosmetics and aisles full of medical paraphernalia you helpfully need to peruse while you are waiting for a prescription to be filled – is one very hot category that the big retailers want to get more exposure to.

Both Coles and Woolworths have previously shown interest in opening pharmacies in their supermarkets – something that would allow them to greatly expand their medicinal, health and wellness offerings – but this time Woolworths has said it is not interested in doing that and is just interested in growing its exposure to the health and wellness sector and will support the current community pharmacy model.

There have been rumblings from within the pharmacy sector about why a retailer that until recently ran poker machines and sold alcohol and tobacco would feel that it was qualified to enter the business of supplying health advice but that is really a bit of a distraction.

After all, those colourful jelly beans and a multitude of other hokey and unproven over the counter remedies that come out of pharmacies are hardly the latest word on wellness or healthy living.

Locally owned versus less regulated chains

What this fight is really about is keeping Australia’s pharmacies running along a locally owned model which is highly regulated – unlike offshore markets which have seen pharmacies become owned and run by retail chains.

Australian pharmacies are instead owned by thousands of registered pharmacists and can’t even move to new locations without approval.

A new pharmacy can’t open up within 1.5 kilometres of another outlet and new owners must be approved, although many pharmacies have joined buying chains to centralise marketing and range.

Pharmacists are powerful lobby

According to the Pharmacy Guild of Australia and many pharmacy owners, such protections are designed to ensure the quality of patient care – something which shows up in consumer surveys which put pharmacists right near the top of the most trusted Australians.

However, the power of the pharmacy lobby is extreme – it is the reason why you need to go back to the pharmacy every month to collect many prescriptions – something the Federal Government found out when it tried to cut costs by planning for larger packet sizes.

In the end, Health Minister Greg Hunt was forced to back down on his plan to issue two-month prescriptions to deliver cheaper medicines to Australians by doubling the number of tablets that can be dispensed in a single trip to the pharmacy.

That would have halved dispensing fees for pharmacists for a wide range of drugs and led to a quick and very successful lobbying campaign by the Pharmacy Guild.

Current rules keeping drug costs high

Even the Australian Medical Association has argued that the current pharmacy rules are anti-competitive and should be relaxed, pointing to lower prescription prices offshore.

There are already plenty of pressures in the current pharmacy model, with the current loosely aligned chain brands increasingly competing with budget offerings from Chemist Warehouse.

Adding a retail giant into the mix is sure to open up even more pressures, some of which might be inevitable over time as the market for health and wellness products continues to grow and the current model of giving advice and warnings while dispensing medicines comes under more strain.

Either way it goes, this takeover battle promises to be one for the record books as two powerful and influential bodies – the big retailers and the Pharmacy Guild – are inevitably drawn into a high stakes battle for future control of how pharmacies operate.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.