如何评估Afterpay的股票?

Afterpay Paypal value shares ASX APT

这是一个有趣但又非常难回答的问题,因为支付巨头贝宝(PayPal)在美国推出了一款名为“分4支付”(pay in 4)的分期付款产品,该公司的股票因此被抛售。

Afterpay(ASX:APT)无缘无故地将自己安装在澳大利亚排名前20位的公司之后,这也是一个非常重要的问题。

当你突然有一个股价波动Afterpay可以移动整个澳大利亚市场——发生在PayPal宣布了Afterpay股票下跌8%,投资者需要关注,而不仅仅是那些千禧一代够聪明,早已经跳上了Afterpay潮流。

也是一个生活问题对澳大利亚股份经纪社区,这似乎在这个阶段分为两大阵营——那些在买方自动升级他们的价格预测介于当前股价保持领先的游戏或那些高度怀疑Afterpay的估值,未来的增长预测和炒作。

同样,澳大利亚机构也不是Afterpay的早期大投资者,尽管指数基金会在该股飙升时成为大买家。

这种情况现在应该改变,因为至少PayPal干预将带来一头争论背后的耐久性和剩余增长Afterpay及其船员上市”所以“现在购买,支付后等公司Sezzle (ASX: SZL), Zip (ASX: Z1P)Splitit (ASX: SPT)

Afterpay提高了ASX 200的价格

自今年年初以来,Afterpay单凭自己的力量就使S&P/ASX 200指数上涨了惊人的44点,在该指数下跌数百点的情况下,这实际上是逆潮流而行。

持怀疑态度的人认为,PayPal的出现削弱了Afterpay在美国的无限增长潜力,因为PayPal已经拥有庞大的客户基础,大约2600万商家和3.24亿用户。

如果PayPal的防御性“分4支付”(pay in 4)产品获得成功,那么大量现有客户和数据将成为一个可怕的障碍,因为Afterpay需要扩大客户和商家基础,以支撑其目前的估值。

这也可能意味着Afterpay的商户费将面临压力——这种情况目前还没有发生,因为急于销售的零售商很乐意为获得Afterpay的年轻客户群而付费。

Afterpay不畏惧新的竞争对手

Afterpay首席执行官Anthony Eisen坚称,这两个平台非常不同,PayPal提供的是“交易解决方案”,而Afterpay提供的是客户喜欢使用的更加定制化和专用的平台。

他说:“来自传统企业和新兴企业的竞争贯穿了我们的整个发展历程,我们预计这种竞争将继续下去,但这不会改变我们的战略,也不会减少我们的全球机会。”

他的观点是,自成立以来,Afterpay克服了许多质疑者,样成长起来,年轻用户喜欢这种随时间分期付款的简单想法,抛弃了他们认为贪婪、高息的信用卡。

Afterpay的财务业绩也令人鼓舞,预计全年净交易亏损(NTL)将有所下降,而税前利润将大幅上升。

Afterpay目前预计,其20财年净交易亏损(NTL)——占潜在销售额的比例——将在2020财年达到0.38%,比之前的指引提高17个基点。

很简单,Afterpay主要的年轻用户喜欢系统的灵活性,愿意做任何事情来保持访问它——这就是为什么坏账如此之低,而那些谈论信用风险的批评人士到目前为止被证明是错误的。

错过一次付款,用户就不能再使用Afterpay,因此会有强烈的动力按时付款。

Afterpay说明了为什么购买股票如此重要

在更广泛的意义上,Afterpay到目前为止的成功表明了利用澳大利亚股市作为一种创造财富手段的重要性。

只成立于2015年由Anthony Eisen和Nicholas Molnar和在澳交所上市的2016年4月,Afterpay最初提供的2500万股每股1澳元的总市值1.65亿澳元上市后不久,筹集的资金被用于金融公司的高速增长。

即使在被PayPal踩压后,Afterpay的股价在周四仍以83.79澳元交易,市值达233.9亿澳元——这是一个惊人的增长率,用旧的说法就是83个大包袱。

今年,两位创始人分别从他们在Afterpay的股份中获得了10亿澳元的收益——年仅30岁的Nicholas Molnar成为了澳大利亚最年轻的白手起家的亿万富翁。

根据目前的减持计划,他们将各自获得约1.35亿澳元的股份,但他们在该公司的剩余股份价值仍超过15亿澳元。

对于最初参与上市的投资者来说,1万澳元的股份现在价值83.79万澳元,涨幅惊人。

那么这些财富是怎么突然出现的呢?

答案是将相对简单的理念、引人注目的本地和国际增长、以及在艰难时期保持专注的良好管理结合起来。

朴素而生的财富

Afterpay背后的理念本身就很简单——它是一个古老的“先买后付”的概念,这个概念在零售业已经存在很长时间了。

年纪足够大的人可能还记得Waltons,一个有争议的零售商,通过一系列闲置付款方式向较贫穷的顾客销售了很多产品。

不过,Afterpay并没有将这一概念与一家商店或连锁商店挂钩,而是采用了无利息分期付款的模式,并将其应用于任何加入其网络的在线或实体商店。

客户只有在错过付款时才需要支付费用。

零售商和顾客都很高兴

商家喜欢这个想法,因为在零售业举步维艰的时候,它提升了销售额。与信用卡和其他购买方式相比,消费者——尤其是千禧一代——也喜欢购买力的提高,以及Afterpay的简便性和内在规律。

Afterpay从使用其服务的零售商那里收取商户和交易费用,但许多零售商认为这些费用是提高销售额的合理成本。

模仿者和批评者比比皆是

关于Afterpay的报道一直有很多批评声音——一些人认为它实际上是在不经过信用审查的情况下发放贷款,另一些人呼吁更严格的监管,使Afterpay与银行和其他信用卡发卡机构保持一致。

当然,有大量公司复制了Afterpay模式——其中许多也非常成功,尽管Afterpay在美国和英国继续享有先发优势,并在国际上快速增长。

疫情为购买Afterpay股票提供了很好的机会

Afterpay最艰难的时刻是今年冠状病毒大流行的早期阶段,当时股价出现了暴跌,不过那段时间也为投资者提供了第二次登上Afterpay增长列车的绝佳机会。

在失业率迅速上升的经济衰退时期,人们对这种未经考验的分期付款模式是否能奏效表示怀疑,因为人们主要关注的是Afterpay的千禧一代客户群。3月20日,Afterpay的股价迅速下跌68%,跌至12.44澳元,一天之内一度下跌33%。

这使得Afterpay创始人Nick Molnar和Anthony Eisen各自持有的股票价值跌至2.61亿澳元,远远低于他们在几个月后的15.4亿澳元市值和随后的减持。

不过,随着在美国的扩张以及与中国巨头Tencent达成的一笔重大交易,Afterpay的股价飙升至目前的高位,这种低迷持续了很短时间。

Afterpay回击了批评者

Afterpay也一直在反击对其分期付款系统的批评,称其是一种预算管理工具,并指出只有一次逾期付款的客户不能继续使用该服务。

该集团超过90%的月度基本销售额来自回头客,约75%的销售额来自网络渠道。

Afterpay股价从这里仍然是一个悬而未决的问题,但商业模式,由客户和零售商接受,重要的海外扩张的余地,因疫情而驱动的网上销售增长并有资金来源通过股票上市,持续增长的主要障碍似乎是监管和竞争力。

迄今为止,Afterpay已成功让监管机构相信,它并未提供不受监管的信贷,但仍容易受到不利监管结果的影响,这些结果可能会降低其业务模式的吸引力。

像PayPal这样拥有成熟客户基础的大型公司进入“先买后付”的领域无疑是一个挑战,但Afterpay自成立以来就成功地击败了更大的竞争对手,如沼泽银行。

估值问题仍未得到解答

所有这些都留下了一个问题,即如何评估像Afterpay这样的公司。

有各种各样的模型可以使用,但最终,将是股票市场上的买家和卖家之间的斗争,以确定该公司的价值。

这意味着Afterpay的股价将继续波动——与与它一起进入ASX 20的大型银行、矿商和CSL相比,这是肯定的。

这种波动性可能会将其一路推高至这20家公司的前几名,或进一步推低至20家公司以外的指数。

我们只能等着看市场的未来——以及在支付的国际增长之后——会做出什么决定。

然而,只有勇敢的投资者才会把Afterpay的机会一股而空,也只有勇敢的投资者才会在这样的价格下买入股票,迎接动荡的行情。

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

How to value Afterpay shares?

Afterpay Paypal value shares ASX APT

How much is buy now, pay later stock Afterpay worth?

It is an intriguing question but a very difficult one to answer after the stock was sold off after payments giant PayPal entered the field with a “pay in 4” instalment product released in the United States.

It is also a very important question to answer after Afterpay (ASX: APT) literally came from nowhere to install itself in the top 20 companies in Australia.

When you suddenly have a share price as volatile as Afterpay’s which is capable of moving the entire Australian market down – which happened with the PayPal announcement which saw Afterpay shares fall 8% – all investors need to pay attention and not just those millennials clever enough to have jumped on the Afterpay bandwagon early.

It is also a live question for Australia’s sharebroking community, which at this stage seem to be split into two main camps – those on the buy side that automatically upgrade their price forecasts to somewhere above the current share price to stay ahead of the game or those who are highly sceptical about Afterpay’s valuations, future growth projections and hype.

Similarly, Australian institutions have not been big early investors in Afterpay, although index funds would have been big buyers as the stock soared up the charts.

Afterpay chart 2020 ASX APT
Afterpay share price chart.

That situation should now change, given that at the very least the PayPal intervention will bring to a head the arguments over the durability and remaining growth behind Afterpay and its crew of listed “mini-me’’ buy now, pay later companies such as Sezzle (ASX: SZL), Zip (ASX: Z1P) and Splitit (ASX: SPT).

Afterpay has boosted the ASX 200

Since the start of the year, Afterpay has on its own added an amazing 44 points to the S&P/ASX 200 Index, effectively going against the tide as the index lost hundreds of points.

According to the sceptics, the arrival of PayPal takes away the unlimited growth potential for Afterpay in the US, given that PayPal already has a massive customer base or around 26 million merchants and 324 million users.

If PayPal finds success with its defensive “pay in 4’’ product, that mass of existing customers and data will become a formidable obstacle given that Afterpay needs to grow its base of customers and merchants to support its current valuations.

It could also mean that Afterpay’s merchant fees will come under pressure – something that hasn’t happened so far because retailers desperate for sales are happy to pay for access to Afterpay’s younger customer base.

Afterpay not concerned about new competitors

Afterpay chief executive Anthony Eisen insists that the two platforms are very different, with PayPal offering a “transaction solution’’ while Afterpay offers a much more customised and dedicated platform that its customers love to use.

“Competition from traditional and newer players has been present throughout our journey – we expect this to continue but it will not change our strategy or diminish our global opportunity,” he said.

He has a point given that since its inception, Afterpay has overcome the many doubters and grown like topsy, with younger users loving the simple idea of paying by instalments over time and ditching what they see as rapacious, high interest credit cards.

Afterpay’s financial results were also encouraging, with expected net transaction losses (NTL) to come in lower for the full-year, while pre-tax earnings were expected to come in significantly higher.

Afterpay now expects its FY20 Net Transaction Losses (NTL) – represented as a percentage of underlying sales – to hit 0.38% for fiscal 2020, representing an improvement of 17 basis points on prior guidance.

Quite simply, Afterpay’s predominantly younger users love the flexibility of the system and would do anything to keep access to it – which is why bad debts are so low and critics who talked about credit risk have so far been proved wrong.

By missing a payment, users can no longer use Afterpay so there is a strong incentive to pay up on time.

Afterpay shows why buying shares is so important

In a broader sense, Afterpay’s success so far shows the importance of using the Australian share market as a means to generate wealth.

Only founded in 2015 by Anthony Eisen and Nicholas Molnar and listed on the ASX in April 2016, Afterpay originally offered 25 million shares at $1 each for a total market capitalisation of $165 million soon after listing, with the money raised being used to finance the company’s stellar growth.

Even after being crunched by PayPal, Afterpay shares were trading at $83.79 on Thursday for a market capitalisation of $23.39 billion – a stunning growth rate which in the old parlance would be an 83 bagger.

The two founders this year passed $1 billion each from their stakes in Afterpay – Nick Molnar at the tender age of 30, making him the youngest self-made billionaire in Australia.

Under a current plan to sell down their stakes they will each collect around $135 million but their remaining stakes in the company are still worth north of $1.5 billion.

For investors who took part in that original float, a $10,000 stake would now be worth $837,900 – a staggeringly fast rise.

So how did all of this wealth suddenly appear?

The answer is a combination of a relatively simple idea, spectacular local and international growth and good management that stayed focussed through some very tough times.

Wealth born out of simplicity

The idea behind Afterpay is simplicity itself – it is the old “buy now, pay later’’ concept that has been around in retailing for a very long time indeed.

Those who are old enough might even remember Waltons, a retailer that controversially sold a lot of their products to poorer customers using a series of lay-by payments.

However, rather than link that concept to a single store or chain of stores, Afterpay took the model of paying by instalments without interest and applied it to any online or physical store that joined their network.

Customers only pay fees when they miss a payment.

Retailers and customers all happy

Merchants loved the idea because it lifted sales at a time when retailing was struggling and shoppers – particularly but not only millennials – also loved the increase to their purchasing power and the simplicity and built in discipline of Afterpay compared to credit cards and other means of purchase.

Afterpay gets paid merchant and transaction fees by retailers that use its service but many of them view these fees as a reasonable cost to get higher sales.

Copycats and critics galore

There have been plenty of critics all the way through the Afterpay story – some thought it was effectively lending without credit checks and others called for much stricter regulation to bring Afterpay into line with banks and other credit card issuers.

And of course, there have been a plethora of companies copying the Afterpay model – many of which have also been highly successful, although Afterpay continues to enjoy a first mover advantage and rapid international growth in the US and UK.

COVID-19 provided great opportunity to buy Afterpay shares

The toughest time for Afterpay was when the share price crunched during the earlier stages of the COVID-19 pandemic this year, although that period also offered investors a great second chance to jump on board the Afterpay growth train.

Amid doubts about how the untested instalment payment model would work in a recession when unemployment rose rapidly and was concentrated on Afterpay’s millennial customer base, Afterpay shares quickly sank by 68% to just $12.44 on March 20 – at one stage falling 33% on one day.

That slashed the value of shares owned by Afterpay’s founders, Nick Molnar and Anthony Eisen, to just $261 million each – a far cry from their current worth of $1.54 billion just a few months and a share sell down later.

That downturn was short lived though, with US expansion and a major deal with Chinese giant Tencent, turbocharging Afterpay’s shares into their current lofty heights.

Afterpay hits back at critics

Afterpay has been countering critics of its instalment payment system too, describing it as a budget management tool and pointing out that the service can’t continue to be used by customers with just one overdue payment.

More than 90% of the group’s monthly underlying sales are generated by repeat customers and around 75% of its sales are through online channels.

Where the Afterpay share price goes from here is an open question but with a business model that is embraced by customers and retailers alike, significant room for offshore expansion, pandemic-driven growth in online sales and ready access to capital through its share market listing, the main impediments to continued growth would appear to be regulatory and competitive.

So far, Afterpay has managed to convince regulators that it is not offering unregulated credit but it remains susceptible to unfavourable regulatory outcomes that could reduce the attractiveness of its business model.

The entry into the buy now, pay later space of massive companies with established customer bases like PayPal is certainly a challenge but Afterpay has been successfully staring down much bigger rivals such as the bog banks since its inception.

Valuation question remains unanswered

All of which leaves the question of how to value a company like Afterpay.

There are all sorts of models that could be used but, in the end, it will be the fight between buyers and sellers on the share market that arrives at what the company is worth.

That means the share price for Afterpay will continue to be volatile – certainly compared to the big banks, miners and CSL that accompany it in the ASX 20.

That volatility could propel it all the way to the top of those 20 companies or much further down the index outside the top 20.

We’ll just have to wait and see which future the market – and Afterpay’s international growth – decides on.

However, it would be a brave investor who wrote off Afterpay’s chances – and a brave investor who bought in at these prices for a volatile ride.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts