火爆的股票市场吸引了年轻人群

Hot share market young people investors ASX
在小型投资应用CommSec Pocket中,80%的用户年龄在40岁以下。

目前股市很火爆——不仅仅是指ASX200指数的水平和个股价格。

也许是由于大流行的封锁,或者只是因为在利率如此低的情况下,人们更多地关注于获得投资,而不是现金,但现在出现的情况是,在股市交易和投资的人数出现了惊人的上升。

Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA)的盈利结果中包含了支持热门市场观察的更有趣的证据,该报告还概述了其在线经纪机构CommSec的活动。

CommSec签下了23万名新投资者

事实上,CommSec是该公司上半年48.7亿澳元利润的重要组成部分之一,在交易热潮的推动下,仅过去六个月就有23万新用户加入该公司。

这在现阶段可能是一种传闻,但这些新用户似乎大多是年轻的投资者,70%的新用户通过普通应用或微投资应用CommSec Pocket进行交易。

自推出以来,仅CommSec pocket应用就吸引了17万名用户,投资超过3.6亿澳元,其中80%的用户年龄在40岁以下。

加上现有客户和去年下半年惊人的市场复苏,CommSec的交易量一直在飙升,在7月至12月间交易量达到1100亿澳元。

随着交易活动的增加,交易量翻了一番

这一数字是去年同期的两倍,看看其他大银行控股的大券商在业绩公布时,是否也经历了类似的用户和交易量增长,将是一件有趣的事情。

CommSec交易活动的增长是如此之大,以至于该银行雇佣了更多的呼叫中心员工,整个银行的员工人数在半年里稳步增长了9%。

CommSec的收入也有所增加,报告收入从2020年上半年的1.34亿澳元增加到2021年上半年的2.56亿澳元,去年报告收入略低于5亿澳元。

另一个可能推高成交量的因素是美国股市的一系列行动,尤其是华尔街押注Reddit WallStreetBets对做空国际电子游戏零售连锁GameStop的对冲基金进行了极其成功的空头挤压。

GameStop促使澳大利亚人交易美国市场

同样,这些证据大多是坊间传闻,但澳大利亚投资者热衷于交易美国股票,也在澳大利亚市场上模仿美国的策略。

尽管有争议的Robinhood交易平台停止接受GameStop的新订单,但在澳大利亚并没有运营,有一些澳大利亚平台允许当地人交易美国股票,包括eToro、IG、CMC Markets、Saxo Capital Markets、股权和SelfWealth。

据信,所有这些公司都在吸引新的投资者,这些投资者不介意错过一段时间,在美国市场交易,因为美国市场的价格波动可能更大,投资选择范围也大得多,尤其是在科技领域。

此外,新的经纪公司在当地也出现了一些繁荣,Afterpay (ASX: APT)Zip (ASX: Z1P)的创始人在明年Superhero最终上市前筹集了资金。

截至一月底,Superhero已经吸引了3.5万名顾客。

另一家已上市的经纪商SelfWealth (ASX: SWF)迅速建立了6.7万名活跃交易员的客户基础,过去一年的客户数量增加了两倍多。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Hot share market attracts a younger crowd

Hot share market young people investors ASX
Around 80% of microinvestment app CommSec Pocket’s users are under 40 years old.

The share market is hot at the moment – and not just in terms of the levels of the ASX 200 and individual share prices.

Perhaps it was the pandemic lockdown or there has simply been more of a focus on getting investments other than cash with interest rates so low, but the picture emerging is that there has been an amazing uptick in people trading and investing on the share market.

One of the more interesting pieces of evidence supporting the hot market observation was contained in the Commonwealth Bank (ASX: CBA) profit result, which also outlined the activities of its online broking arm CommSec.

CommSec signs on 230,000 new investors

Indeed, CommSec was one of the really big features of the $4.87 billion first-half profit, with 230,000 new users joining just in the last six months on the back of a trading boom.

It may be anecdotal at this stage, but the majority of these new accounts seem to be younger investors, with 70% of the new users trading via the normal app or the micro investment app CommSec Pocket.

The CommSec pocket app alone had attracted 170,000 customers that have invested over $360 million since its launch, with 80% of those users under 40 years old.

Together with existing customers and the stunning market recovery in the second half of last year, trading volumes for CommSec have been soaring, with $110 billion moved between July and December.

Trading volumes double as activity increases

That is double the figure for the same period last year and it will be interesting to see if other big brokers owned by the major banks have experienced a similar rise in users and volumes when their results are released.

The pick-up in CommSec’s trading activity was so great that the bank hired more call centre staff, with staff numbers across the bank up by a solid 9% over the half year.

CommSec is also making more money with a rise in reported income from $134 million in the first half of 2020 to $256 million in the first half of 2021, with reported income just under $500 million for the last year.

Another factor that could be driving up trading volumes is the flurry of US share market action – particularly the WallStreetBets Reddit forum’s highly successful short squeeze on hedge funds that had shorted international electronic games retail chain GameStop.

GameStop drives Australians to trade US market

Again, the evidence is largely anecdotal but there has been a lot of activity from Australian investors keen to trade in US shares and also copying US strategies on the Australian market.

While the controversial Robinhood trading platform that stopped taking new orders for GameStop doesn’t operate in Australia, there are a number of Australian platforms that allow locals to trade US stocks, including eToro, IG, CMC Markets, Saxo Capital Markets, Stake and SelfWealth.

All are thought to have been signing up new investors who don’t mind missing out on some sleep to trade the US market and its arguably greater price volatility and much bigger range of investment options, particularly in technology.

There has also been a bit of a local boom in new broking players with the founders of Afterpay (ASX: APT) and Zip (ASX: Z1P) raising money before an eventual float of Superhero in the coming year.

Superhero had attracted 35,000 customers at the end of January.

Another already listed broker, SelfWealth (ASX: SWF), has quickly built up a customer base of 67,000 active traders – more than tripling customers in the past year.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.