Harry Dent预测全球债务去杠杆化和澳大利亚房地产泡沫破裂

畅销书作者、直言不讳的经济分析人士和资深经济学家Harry Dent坚信,世界经济正处于具有历史意义的再平衡边缘,堪比大萧条和2007-09年的全球金融危机。

在对影响程度进行预测后,Dent对Small Caps表示,他预计发达国家的股市将下跌至多80%,而房地产价值可能下跌40-50%。房地产价值的错位程度要大得多,而且与地区有关。

当批评人士质疑他对股票和房地产市场80%以上暴跌的预测时,Dent先生解释说,随着今年早些时候未来石油价格转为负值,最近几个月大多数商品价格已经暴跌了70%以上。

这位自称“人口统计学家”的人解释说,通过评估人口和宏观趋势,投资者可以更好地预测未来事件。

根据Dent的分析,过去30年所有发达国家的超宽松货币政策,已播下了一场即将到来的金融灾难的种子,这场金融灾难令之前的所有灾难都相形见绌。

在谈到长期的人口结构变化时,Dent表示,一些国家面临严重的通缩冲击,经济状况不断恶化,包括总需求下降、失业率上升和通缩——所有这些都是在企业和个人更多破产的背景下发生的。

澳大利亚人口结构强劲,但房地产估值过高

澳大利亚的前景喜忧参半,尽管该国的人口结构与其他国家相比相对强劲,且政府债务水平为发达国家中最低。

积极的方面包括人口和地理因素。然而,目前澳大利亚人的净财富中房地产所占的比例约为65%,相比之下,美国的这一比例较为保守,为29%,而中国的这一比例更是高得令人咂舌的75%。

高房地产风险敞口可能使澳大利亚银行面临严重压力,如果房价下跌20%,可能导致银行破产。

Dent解释说,澳大利亚可能不像中国那样一文不名,但它面临着几个挑战,包括对消费者支出的高度依赖。澳大利亚最大的问题是房地产价格过高、消费者债务过多,以及房地产风险敞口较高的银行业超重。

Dent表示,通过观察支出周期和出生率等人口统计学方面的警告,就有可能判断出30-50年后这些人口统计学主题最终发挥作用时,经济体的表现将如何。

Dent表示,作为经过人口统计验证的投资地,澳大利亚、新西兰、以色列、瑞典和挪威等五个人口趋势强劲的较小发达国家之一。

相反,几个欧盟国家、日本、台湾、中国大陆和韩国预计将在未来10年艰难应对国内生产总值(GDP)增长,部分原因是COVID-19大流行,但更重要的是,较弱的人口结构限制了支出和迫切需要的新投资。

日本的经济衰退

上世纪80年代末,随着婴儿潮一代的老龄化和储蓄率飙升,日本的经济活动达到顶峰,而更年轻、更活跃、具有更高消费偏好的市场参与者数量有所下降。

“上世纪90年代初,日本股市和房地产泡沫的破裂比我们任何人都早。上世纪90年代,日本经济崩溃,而其它所有国家都经历了历史上最大的繁荣,”登特表示。

“婴儿潮的规模,受影响的国家和时间——这些都是可预测的因素,但经济学家并不研究人口统计学。”

发达经济体面临的一个更为紧迫的问题是鸽派的货币政策,这在短期内可以安抚市场参与者,但长期来看最终会导致通胀和货币贬值。

Dent解释说,美国等主要发达国家实际上已成为“毒品经济”,通过低利率购买债务是首选的毒品。

债务增长速度超过GDP最终会导致资产泡沫,而“泡沫总是会破裂得很厉害”。

“历史上的每一次重大泡沫都是由过度债务增长、购买资产和印钞所驱动的,这就像一种金融药物——你现在得到了一些东西,但你必须在以后为之付出代价。”

全球债务泡沫即将破裂

Dent表示,一些经济体别无选择,只能以债务去杠杆化的形式“排毒”。上一次大规模出现这种情况是在1929-32年华尔街崩盘之后,但这一次,由于涉及的市盈率更高,情况可能要糟糕得多。

Dent表示:“泡沫越大,破裂的痛苦就越大。”

有趣的是,Dent声称,一些知名经济学家和投资者低估了空前债务增长的影响,高估了央行减轻金融刺激措施后果的能力。

债务可以被可持续地使用,或者用来掩盖潜在问题,同时推高资产价格。

“最终,央行将无法控制债务螺旋,因为债务增长在某个点上变成指数级增长。我认为我们已经到了那个地步,”Dent先生说。

冠状病毒因素

近几个月来,疫情已成为影响所有经济活动的最具影响力的因素。然而,病毒本身并不是一个重要的因素。

Dent解释说:“冠状病毒是债务引发金融危机的完美导火索,这场危机已持续多年。”

病毒是一种理想的催化剂,加速了债务收购,同时减少了消费者支出。

Dent表示,冠状病毒危机将推动大多数经济体从第二季度到至少第三季度,甚至2020年第四季度进入短期衰退。

“有时候,你必须经历一场经济衰退才能把事情清理干净。这就是现在的情况,没有其他办法摆脱这个困境。”

“这种病毒是短期的,但它是一个完美的冲击,因为它确实会让大多数经济体陷入短期萧条。到2020年第二季度,很多国家的失业率可能会达到10%、15%、20%。”

为了显示他的自信或古怪,Dent先生说:“我们将在明年戒毒。如果我们在未来两年内没有看到一场超过GFC的重大危机,我就会辞职,搬到黄金海岸去开豪华轿车。”

Harry Dent forecasts global debt deleveraging and Australia’s property bubble bursting

Best-selling author, outspoken economic analyst and permabear Harry Dent is adamant the world economy is on the precipice of a historically significant rebalancing that rivals the Great Depression and the Global Financial Crisis of 2007-09.

Forecasting how deep the impact will be, Mr Dent told Small Caps that he expects to see stock market declines by as much as 80% in the developed world while real-estate values, far more dislocated and region-specific are likely to fall 40-50%.

In response to critics that doubt his 80%-plus plunge in stocks and property forecast, Mr Dent explained that most commodities have already crashed by more than 70% in recent months with future oil prices turning negative earlier this year.

The self-proclaimed “demographer” explained that by assessing demographic and macro trends, investors can better forecast future events.

According to Mr Dent’s analysis, ultra-loose monetary policy in all developed countries over the past 30 years has sown the seeds of an impending financial catastrophe that eclipses all those previous.

Referring to long-term demographic changes, Mr Dent says several countries are exposed to a severe deflationary shock and worsening economic conditions including lower aggregate demand, higher unemployment, deflation – all set against a backdrop of more bankruptcies for both companies and individuals.

Australia has strong demographics but property overvalued

The outlook for Australia is mixed despite the country’s relatively strong demographic profile compared to its peers and the lowest government debt tally in the developed world.

Positive aspects include demographics and geography. However, the proportion of Australians’ net wealth derived from real estate is currently around 65%, compared to a more conservative 29% in the US and an eye-watering 75% in China.

High real-estate exposure could put Australian banks under severe strain and potentially lead to bankruptcies if house prices declined by 20%.

Mr Dent explained that Australia may not be the basket case that China is, but it has several challenges including a high reliance on consumer spending. The biggest problems in Australia are overpriced real-estate values, excessive consumer debt and an overweight banking sector with high real-estate exposure.

According to Mr Dent, by looking at spending cycles and demographic caveats such as birth rates, it is possible to gauge how economies will perform 30-50 years later when those demographic themes eventually play out.

As demographics-validated investment locations, Mr Dent said cited Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Sweden and Norway as one of the five smaller developed countries with strong demographic trends.

On the contrary, several EU states, Japan, Taiwan, China and South Korea are expected to struggle with GDP growth in the coming decade, partially due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but more importantly, because weaker demographics keep a lid of spending and sorely-needed new investment.

Japan’s economic decline

At the end of the 1980s, Japan’s economic activity had peaked with its baby-boomers ageing and savings rates skyrocketing, while the number of younger, more active market participants with higher spending preferences declined.

“Japan’s stock and property bubble burst in the early 1990s before any of us. Japan crashed in the 90s while everyone else had their greatest booms in history,” said Mr Dent.

“The size of the baby boom, which countries are affected and when – these are all predictable factors and yet economists don’t study demographics.”

One of the more pressing problems for developed economies is dovish monetary policy, which can assuage market participants in the short-term, but eventually leads to inflation and currency devaluation in the long-term.

Mr Dent explained that major developed nations such as the US have effectively become “drug-induced economies” with the drug of choice being debt, acquired via low-interest rates.

Growing debt faster than GDP eventually leads to asset bubbles and “bubbles always burst badly”.

“Every major bubble in history has been driven by excessive debt growth, asset purchases and money printing which, which is like a financial drug – you get something now, but you have to pay for it later.”

Global debt bubble to burst

Mr Dent said that several economies have no choice but to undergo a detox in the form of debt deleveraging. The last time this happened on a large scale was in 1929-32 after the Wall Street crash, but this time around is likely to be far worse due to the larger multiples involved.

“The larger the bubble, the more painful the burst,” said Mr Dent.

Interestingly, Mr Dent claims that several prominent economists and investors are underestimating the impact of unprecedented debt growth and overestimating central banks’ capacity to mitigate the consequences of financial stimulants.

Debt can be used sustainably or to conceal the underlying problems while boosting asset prices.

“Eventually, central banks will not be able to control the debt spiral because at one-point debt growth becomes exponential. I think we’re already at that point,” said Mr Dent.

COVID-19 factor

COVID-19 has emerged as the most influential factor affecting all economic activity in recent months. However, the virus is not a significant factor in and of itself.

“Coronavirus is the perfect trigger for a debt-fuelled financial crisis that’s been building for years,” Mr Dent explained.

The virus has served as an ideal catalyst by accelerating debt acquisition and reducing consumer spending simultaneously.

Mr Dent said the coronavirus crisis will push most economies into a short-term recession spanning from Q2 to at least Q3 and possibly Q4 2020.

“Sometimes you have to have a recession to clean things out. This is what this is, and there’s no other way to get out of this.”

“This virus is a short-term thing, but it is the perfect shock because it is going to literally throw most economies into a short-term depression. We could see 10, 15, 20% unemployment in Q2 2020 in a lot of countries.”

Either as a sign of his confidence or his eccentricity, Mr Dent said: “We’re going into detox next year. If we do not see a major crisis that exceeds the GFC in the next two years, I’m going to quit my profession and move to Gold Coast to be a limo driver.”