小型黄金勘探公司全副武装,骑在镇上最热门的采矿游戏上

Gold juniors mining game May 2020 ASX
投资者目前越来越难以获得实物黄金。

最近,亿万富翁资源投资者Rick Rule描述了市场上行中的黄金周期是如何运作的——表明我们正进入目前“托起所有船只”现象的最后阶段。

“在黄金领域,实物金属价格将首先上涨,然后是大型矿商,然后是中端生产商,然后是初级生产商,最后是勘探行业,”他在上月的一次在线圆桌会议上表示。

Rule是总部位于多伦多的知名资源投资公司Sprott US Holdings的首席执行官。他被称为“有史以来最成功的自然资源投资经纪人”。

Small Caps最近注意到,随着初级黄金探索者充实自己的银行账户,出现了一波融资潮

随后出现了更多配售和购股计划,但我们还可以看到初级部门的另外两项发展,它们证实了淘金热已经蔓延到了勘探部门:初级部门报道了不错的勘探消息,而初级部门则在增持土地。

我们正面临着黄金实物的饥荒吗?

目前很难得到实物黄金(或实物白银)。

去 Perth Mint网站,试着买一个1盎司的金条,你会被告知“缺货”;对于其他尺寸的金条,它要么是“缺货”或“产品不可用”。同样地,当你想买一个特别的银条。

试着打个电话,你就会收到一条录音信息,警告你等候的时间异常长,并得到建议说,在一个“需求空前”的时期,有些产品“暂时不可用”。

因此,很明显,人们对实物金属趋之若鹜。

我们似乎正在重新汲取大萧条的教训。

1931年,美国大通曼哈顿银行(Chase Manhattan Bank)经济学家Benjamin M Anderson Jr.在一次对华尔街听众的演讲中提出了这一点:“黄金只是流动性最强的资产”。(这似乎再次证明了这一点。)

上世纪30年代的报纸头条都在谈论对黄金“饥荒”的恐惧。诚然,在大萧条初期,金本位制仍然存在,黄金是货币体系的一部分,这一直是一个令人担忧的问题。

部分是由于人们想到了黄金短缺,部分是由于许多人失业,北美的黄金勘探活动大幅增加。Christian Science Monitor报道称,安大略到处都是挖掘机,“黄金饥荒”已导致勘探者在美国各地散开,“从达科他到沙漠”。

就连南澳大利亚政府在1933年也提供了一架飞机,让探矿者飞到塔库拉,开始在附近的老矿址上进行挑选。

在目前的市场,谁打算卖掉他们的黄金?

央行不太可能出售任何实质性的资产;近来,它们已成为净买家,净买家的数量大幅增加。

那些曾是黄金囤积者的高净值投资者也会同样希望将金条存放在自己的安全地点。

中国私人投资者可能已因冠状病毒危机而停止买入,但没有迹象表明他们希望从现有持股中获利。

澳大利亚对普通投资者想要在黄金市场占有一席之地,是有限的选择:坚持等待珀斯造币厂,购买一个既定上市生产国,或者开始梳理初级黄金股寻找一些有前景的名单仍低于雷达。

血液流入初级股

去年这个时候,笔者对初级金矿勘探股进行了随机抽样。

但这并不能让人安心:仍有大量的垃圾股。市值如此之低的公司很难让人放心;其中一家公司的市值仅为113万澳元。

事实上,如果你问自己是否还有什么东西可以为1c公司买到,为数不多的答案之一就是澳大利亚一家初级黄金勘探公司的股票。

然而,现在,小型黄金公司市场每天都在发生变化。

本周,我们看到了很多这样的行动。

小公司竞相在未来的土地上占有一席之地

企业正在进行收购,这无疑是信心的体现。

First Au (ASX: FAU)已经申请了一套新的采矿约,以扩大其在Kalgoorlie附近的项目面积;Red 5 (ASX: Red)对距离其Darlot金矿10公里处的两个金矿行使了选择权,称这是一次“补强”收购;Volt Resources (ASX: VRC)将在赞比亚的一个项目中持有85%的股份,因为该公司正在建设一个新的黄金业务,同时也在推进其在坦桑尼亚的石墨项目。

另外,以前的热岩地热Petratherm (ASX: PTR)在西巴拉瑞特金矿区(West Ballarat goldfield)占据了一个很大的地面位置,尽管它位于以前的矿区附近,但是只进行了浅层勘探,没有钻透基底。

Silver Mines (ASX: SVL)已经将其在新南威尔士州南部的Tuena金矿项目从174平方公里扩大到747平方公里。地上散落着从19世纪50年代到20世纪初开采的旧金矿。

人们以不同程度的热情宣布勘探成功。

在热情评级中排名最高的是DiscovEx Resources (ASX: DCX),其座右铭是:“将勘探重新投入勘探”。该公司报告称,在西澳大利亚Laverton地区发现了一处重大的新金矿,并在钻孔中发现了可见的黄金。

董事总经理Bradley Drabsch在该公司的ASX公告中表示:“在锅里看到黄金的感觉无与伦比,太棒了。”

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Gold juniors in top gear as they race to ride the hottest mining game in town

Gold juniors mining game May 2020 ASX
It is becoming increasingly difficult for investors to get their hands on physical gold at present.

Recently, billionaire resources investor Rick Rule described how the gold cycle in a market upturn works — showing that we are moving into the final phase of the present “lifting all boats” phenomenon.

“In the gold space, the physical metal price will move first, then large cap miners, then mid-tier producers, then junior producers, and lastly the exploration sector,” he told an online round table discussion last month.

Mr Rule is chief executive officer of Toronto-based Sprott US Holdings, the high-profile resources investing house. He has been described as “the most successful broker of natural resource investments ever”.

Small Caps recently noted the wave of capital raisings as junior gold explorers replenished their bank accounts.

More placements and share purchase plans have followed, but we can also see two other developments in the junior sector that confirm that the gold fever has reached the exploration sector: juniors reporting good exploration news, and juniors expanding their land holdings.

Are we facing a physical gold famine?

It is hard at present to get your hands on physical gold (or silver for that matter).

Go to the Perth Mint website and try and buy a 1 ounce gold bar and you are told “out of stock”; for other bar sizes it’s either “out of stock” or “product not available”. Likewise, when you try buy a particular silver bar.

Try and telephone and you get a recorded message warning of unusually long wait times and advice that in a time of “unprecedented demand” some products are “temporarily unavailable”.

So, it is clear that there has been a rush on physical metal.

We seem to be relearning the lessons of the Great Depression.

In 1931, in a speech to the Wall Street crowd, Benjamin M Anderson Jr, the economist at Chase Manhattan Bank made this point: “Gold is merely the most liquid asset”. (It seems to be proving that once again.)

Newspaper headlines in the 1930s talked of fears of a gold “famine”. True, with the gold standard still in place at the beginning of the Great Depression and gold part of the money system, that was always a concern.

Partly due to the thought of gold shortages and partly because so many people found themselves unemployed, gold prospecting soared in North America. Ontario was crawling with diggers, the Christian Science Monitor reported that the “famine in gold” has caused prospectors to fan out across the US “from the Dakotas to the deserts”.

Even the South Australian government in 1933 provided an aircraft to fly prospectors to Tarcoola to begin picking over the old mine sites around there.

Who is going to sell their gold in present climate?

It is highly unlikely that central banks will sell anything substantial; of late they have been net buyers by a large margin.

High net worth investors who have been gold hoarders will similarly want to keep their bullion in their own safe places.

Private Chinese investors may have stopped buying due to the COVID-19 crisis but there is no indication they want to cash in on existing holdings.

For the average Australian investor wanting to get a seat at the gold table, the choices are limited: persevere with waiting on the Perth Mint, buy into an established listed producer, or begin combing through the lists of junior gold stocks looking for some promising one that is still below the radar.

Lifeblood flowing into junior stocks

This time last year this writer did a random sampling of junior gold exploration stocks.

It was not all that reassuring: there were still plenty in the penny dreadful category. It was difficult to be reassured by companies with such low market capitalisations; one company was worth just $1.13 million.

In fact, if you asked yourself if there was still anything in the world you could buy for 1c, one of the few answers would be a share in an Australian junior gold explorer.

Now, however, there is daily action on the junior gold scene.

This week we have seen a good deal of that action.

Juniors race to get hands on prospective ground

Companies are acquiring, a sure sign of confidence.

First Au (ASX: FAU) has applied for a new tenement to enlarge its project area near Kalgoorlie; Red 5 (ASX: RED) has exercised an option over two gold deposits 10km from its Darlot gold mine in what it describes as a “bolt-on” acquisition; and Volt Resources (ASX: VRC) is to take up an 85% interest in a project in Zambia as it builds a new gold business while progressing its graphite project in Tanzania.

And former hot rock geothermal play Petratherm (ASX: PTR) has picked up a large ground position in the West Ballarat goldfield that, in spite of being located near former mines, has been subject to only superficial exploration and no drilling through basement.

Treading through more well worked-over ground is Silver Mines (ASX: SVL) which has expanded its Tuena gold project south of Orange NSW from 174sq km to 747sq km. The ground is littered with old gold mines worked between the 1850s to the early 1900s.

Exploration successes are being announced with varying levels of enthusiasm.

At the top of the enthusiasm ratings is DiscovEx Resources (ASX: DCX) — motto: “Putting the Explore back into Exploration” — which reported it has a major new gold discovery in the Laverton district of Western Australia and visible gold in drill holes.

“The feeling of seeing gold in the pan is like nothing else, it’s fantastic,” said managing director Bradley Drabsch in the company’s ASX announcement.