黄金分割的市场,专业公司下滑和新公司崛起

Gold divided market sliding majors rising juniors ASX stocks 2021
在当前的黄金环境下,几家小型金矿勘探公司正享受着较高的价格。

随着金价难以重回去年的历史高位,澳大利亚金矿行业的大多数大公司最近都经历了艰难的历程。但在小范围内,情况就不同了,勘探成功是股价走势的关键。

生产公司和探索公司之间的区别是一个有趣的例子,这句老话说的是“旅行比到达更好”。

红利和收益已成为一些大型黄金生产商的主要吸引力,鉴于任何形式的开采都存在高风险,而且其地位将在下一个利率上升周期中受到挑战,这是一个新情况。

尽管向股东派发丰厚的奖金是一项令人钦佩的管理政策,但存在这样一种风险:将金矿“工业化”的尝试,将抑制发现对所有矿工都至关重要的东西的努力,因为人们不可避免地需要替换开采出来的东西。

在我跟踪采矿业的职业生涯中,我不记得有哪个淘金者把自己推销成一个高产企业,原因很简单:他们中很少有人能活到足够长的时间来分红,而那些确实忘记了如何探索、发现和发展。

新的黄金景观还是同样的旧景观?

这一次,我们被告知,它是不同的——这是一个著名的建议,听起来很傻,因为它从来没有不同,只是一个没完没了的主题的变化,供给过剩和供给不足决定了价格。

就黄金而言,其复杂性更高,因为作为一种储备货币,中央银行仍然是黄金的买家(和持有者)这一事实证明了黄金的作用。

但真正推动金价上涨的是各种压力的混合物,其中包括投资者的恐惧(黄金是困难时期的避风港)和贪婪(竞争对手的资产类别是否有更好的回报?)

对黄金而言,与之竞争的最终资产是美国10年期国债(或30年期国债),这些金融工具决定着全球利率,当利率下跌时,黄金上涨,当利率上升时,黄金下跌。

事情从来没有这么简单,但值得考虑的是,去年8月6日,在10年期国债触及234年(历史)低点0.5%的两天之后,黄金价格又创下了每盎司2067美元的历史新高。

金价自创纪录以来一直在努力收复失地

自黄金见顶以来,尽管政府推出了大量刺激支出(并创造了人造纸币),但金价一直在努力上涨。现在,超低利率时代即将结束,甚至出现了一轮负利率。

顶级黄金生产商如Newcrest Mining (ASX: NCM)、Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN)和Northern Star Resources (ASX: NST)随着金价下跌,利率开始攀升,三巨头在过去6个月里都节节失利,证明了这一点。

对于谨慎的投资者来说,持有一家大型黄金生产商的股份可能会让他们相信,投资组合的一部分是投资于黄金的安全港(有红利的安慰),但下跌的股价会很快吞噬任何收益。

盛产黄金的Kimberley

风险偏好较高的投资者将在黄金板块的小板块中获得更大的回报,在这个板块中,勘探和发现新闻主导着股价,其中包括:

Calidus Resources (ASX: CAI)是重新发现西澳Pilbara地区金矿的公司之一。Pilbara地区的铁矿石更为人所知,但早在19世纪80年代Kimberley淘金热后,勘探者向南迁移时,该地区就曾一度出现过财富的迹象。

Pilbara金矿早期可能会发生更多的情况,但随着19世纪90年代Kalgoorlie金矿的发现,勘探者们继续向南开采,把最好的发现留到了最后几年,包括De Grey Mining (ASX: DEG)的富有的Hemi金矿。

新的Warawoona Calidus矿第一黄金的主要兴趣是由于明年年初的目标产量每年90000盎司和初始八年我的生命在一个总成本1290美元/盎司,这是当前金价澳元大约一半。

该项目的一个亮点是,新收购的附近Blue Spec矿将增加高品位矿石。Blue Spec矿是澳大利亚最富有的黄金项目之一,以1905年墨尔本杯冠军得主的名字命名。

由于Warawoona仍在建设中,Calidus是一只高风险股票,但以0.51澳元的价格,该公司的估值仅为2.03亿澳元,有充足的上行空间。

Kalgoorlie金矿仍有被发现的潜力

Lefroy Exploration (ASX: LEX)是在一个生产澳大利亚最好的金矿的地方的一个小玩家。

Lefroy是最新一位试图解开卡尔古利南部盐湖之谜的探险家,该盐湖掩盖了高品位的矿藏,比如南非金矿公司正在开采的高产的St Ives营地。

在Burns看来,Lefroy的最新发现正在塑造一个公司制造者的形象。这一发现引起了人们极大的兴趣,因为第一个钻入该建筑的钻孔,每吨钻出7.6克黄金,外加0.6%的铜。

最近的钻探扩大了发现的范围,分析结果将于本月晚些时候公布。

Gold Fields持有Lefroy 18%的股份,是Lefroy的主要支持者,而且不需要太多想象力就能看到双方关系的发展,就像Gold Road邀请这位南非大公司参与其Gruyere项目时那样。

自从今年2月关于Burns的第一份报告发布以来,勒弗罗伊的股价已经从0.21澳元飙升至1.23澳元,尽管按照最新价格计算,它的市值仍然很低,只有1.47亿澳元。

Tulla Resources (ASX: TUL)是一家人脉广泛但低调的黄金公司。

该公司拥有澳大利亚Kalgoorlie南部Norseman金矿50%的股份,Pantoro持有另一半股份。

理论上,Norseman应该是一个巨大的黄金生产商,但其复杂的地质条件使得大规模开采变得困难。

该公司为控制Norseman的产量而做出的最新努力包括一项计划,即从明年开始,每年生产10.8万盎司的铁矿石,成本维持在每盎司1292澳元。

Canaccord Genuity对Tulla的股价有望达到1澳元的消息很感兴趣,这几乎是其上次0.51澳元销售额的两倍。

东海岸黄金潜力

微型黄金股Torrens Mining (ASX: TRN)市值仅为1900万澳元。托伦斯是一条小鱼,与巨鲸一起游动。他在南澳大利亚Coda Minerals (ASX: COD)引人注目的Emmie Bluff铜矿和金矿的发现中拥有30%的股份,还在维多利亚Kirkland Lake (ASX: KLA)富矿Fosterville东南30公里处的Mt Piper勘探项目中拥有30%的股份。

这两个项目都有可能使Torrens从本月早些时候的0.14澳元大幅升值至0.29澳元的最新价格。

其他值得关注的黄金股票

其他值得关注的黄金股包括:

Emerald Resources (ASX: EMR)刚刚开始在其位于柬埔寨的Okvau金矿处理矿石。

拥有一支高素质、雄心勃勃的管理团队,这座煤矿可能只是更大项目的开始。从去年这个时候的低点0.46澳元到现在的0.98澳元,该公司的估值为5.02亿澳元。

Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM)花了数年时间,才将偏远的低品位Karlawinda黄金项目从勘探阶段推进到生产边缘。但试运行正在进行中,第一块金牌很快就会到来。

预计年产量将在11万至12.5万盎司之间,总成本为每盎司1140澳元。这家即将成立的初创公司的股价在过去一周上涨了几澳分,达到1.96澳元,这意味着Capricorn的价值约为6.86亿澳元。

与此同时,对于准备在这里做自己的作业的读者,还有几个名字吸引了我的注意,也可能会吸引你的注意:Bardoc Gold (ASX: BDC)、Red 5 (ASX: Red)和BMG Resources (ASX: BMG)。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Gold’s divided market, sliding majors and rising juniors

Gold divided market sliding majors rising juniors ASX stocks 2021
Several small cap gold explorers are enjoying higher prices in the current gold climate.

Most of the big names in Australian gold mining have had a rough ride recently as the gold price has struggled to reclaim last year’s all-time high, but it’s a different story at the small end of the game where exploration success is the key to share price movement.

The difference between producers and explorers is an interesting example of the old saying about it being better to travel than to arrive.

Dividends and yield have become the primary appeal of some big gold producers, a novel situation given the high risks associated with any form of mining and a position which will be challenged in the next interest-rate rising cycle.

While rewarding shareholders with generous payouts is an admirable management policy there is a risk that attempts to “industrialise” gold mining will inhibit the all-important drive to discover which is essential for all miners because of the unavoidable need to replace what’s extracted.

In my career of following the mining industry I can’t remember a time when a gold miner promoted itself as a yield play for the simple reason that few of them survived long enough to ever pay dividends, and those which did forgot how to explore, discover and develop.

New gold landscape or same-old?

This time, we are told, it’s different – a famous piece of advice which is as silly as it sounds because it never is different, just a variation on a never-ending theme of over-and-under supply which dictates price (school economics 101).

In the case of gold there is greater level of complexity because of its role as a form of reserve currency demonstrated by the fact that central banks are still buyers (and holders) of the metal.

But what really drives the gold price is a cocktail of pressures that include investor fear (gold is a safe haven in troubled times) and greed (is there a better return on a rival asset class?).

For gold, the ultimate rival asset is the US 10-year Treasury note (or its 30-year cousin), the financial instruments which set global interest rates and when they’re falling gold rises and when they’re rising gold falls.

It’s never quite as simple as that, but it’s worth considering how gold hit an all-time high of US$2,067 an ounce on 6 August last year, two days after the 10-year bond touched a 234-year (all-time) low of 0.5%.

Gold struggles to regain ground since record

Since gold peaked, it has struggled to gain ground despite a flood of government stimulus spending (and artificial paper money creation) and is now within sight of an end to the era of ultra-low interest rates that even saw a burst of negative rates.

Top gold produces such as Newcrest Mining (ASX: NCM), Evolution Mining (ASX: EVN) and Northern Star Resources (ASX: NST) are more exposed to the global interest rate cycle than small fry explorers – a point demonstrated by the big three all losing ground over the last six-months as the gold price has drifted lower and interest rates have started to creep higher.

For cautious investors, a stake in a big gold producer might provide comfort in the belief that part of the portfolio is exposed to the safe haven which is gold (with a dividend comforter), but a declining share price can quickly eat any gain.

Gold-rich Kimberley

Investors with a greater risk appetite will get more bang for their buck at the small end of the gold sector where exploration and discovery news dominate the share price with examples that include:

Calidus Resources (ASX: CAI) is one of the players in the rediscovered goldfields of the Pilbara region of WA, which is better known for its iron ore but showed flashes of riches as far back as the 1880s when prospectors moved south from the Kimberley gold rush.

Much more could have happened in the early days of Pilbara gold but the call of the Kalgoorlie discoveries in the 1890s saw the prospectors continue heading south leaving the best discoveries to the last few years, including De Grey Mining’s (ASX: DEG) rich Hemi deposit.

The new Warawoona mine is the primary interest of Calidus with first gold due early next year at a targeted production rate of 90,000 ounces a year over and initial eight-year life at an all-in life of mine cost of A$1290/oz, which is roughly half the current Australian dollar gold price.

A sweetener to the project is expected to be the addition of high-grade ore from the recently acquired and nearby Blue Spec mine, one of Australia’s the richest gold projects with the distinction of being named after the 1905 Melbourne Cup winner.

Because Warawoona is still being built, Calidus is a high-risk stock but at a price of $0.51 the company is valued at a modest $203 million with abundant upside.

Kalgoorlie goldfields still has discovery potential

Lefroy Exploration (ASX: LEX) is a small player in a location which has produced some of Australia’s best goldmines.

Lefroy is the latest explorer trying to unlock the riddle of the salt lakes which lie south of Kalgoorlie, masking high grade deposits such as the prolific St Ives camp being mined by South African based Gold Fields.

Burns, the latest Lefroy discovery is shaping as a company-maker. The discovery attracted keen interest when the first drill hole into the structure yielded 38 metres at 7.6 grams of gold per tonne, plus 0.6% copper.

More recent drilling has expanded the footprint of the discovery with assays due later this month.

Perhaps significantly Gold Fields is a key supporter of Lefroy with an 18% stake in the stock and it doesn’t require too much imagination to see the relationship growing as it did when Gold Road invited the big South African to its Gruyere project.

Since the first report about Burns was released in February, Lefroy has rocketed up from $0.21 to $1.23 though even at that latest price it retains a lowly market value of $147 million.

Tulla Resources (ASX: TUL) is a well-connected albeit low key gold player.

The company has a 50% stake in one of Australia’s great gold deposits at Norseman, south of Kalgoorlie, with Pantoro (ASX: PNR) holding the other half.

In theory, Norseman should be a prodigious gold producer, but its complex geology has made large scale mining difficult.

This latest attempt to tame Norseman includes a plan to be producing at a rate of 108,000oz a year from next year at an all-in sustaining cost of A$1292/oz.

Canaccord Genuity is keen on the Tulla story tipping it as a stock heading for the share price of $1, roughly double last sales at $0.51.

East coast gold potential

Micro cap gold stock Torrens Mining (ASX: TRN) has a market value of just $19 million. Torrens is a minnow swimming with the big fish via a 30% stake in the eye-catching Emmie Bluff copper and gold discovery of Coda Minerals (ASX: COD) in South Australia and the Mt Piper exploration project 30km southeast of Kirkland Lake’s (ASX: KLA) rich Fosterville mine in Victoria.

Work on both projects has the potential to significantly re-rate Torrens which was trading at $0.14 earlier this month to its latest price of $0.29.

Other gold stocks to keep an eye on

Other gold stocks worth keeping an eye on though strictly not small caps are:

Emerald Resources (ASX: EMR), which has just started processing ore at its Okvau gold mine in Cambodia.

With a high quality and ambitious management team the mine could be just the start of something much bigger. From a low of $0.46 this time last year Emerald is now trading at $0.98, valuing the company at $502 million.

It has taken years for Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM) to advance the remote and low-grade Karlawinda gold project from exploration to the brink of production. But commissioning is underway and first gold is due soon.

Annual output is expected to be between 110,000oz-and-125,000oz at an all-in cost of A$1,140/oz. The imminent start-up has seen the stock rise a few cents over the past week to $1.96 – a price which values Capricorn around $686 million.

Meanwhile, for readers prepared to do their own homework here are few more names which caught my eye and might catch yours: Bardoc Gold (ASX: BDC), Red 5 (ASX: RED), and BMG Resources (ASX: BMG).

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.