GameStop:华尔街与商业街之间的战争升温

GameStop Robinhood Hedge Funds Wall Street stocks shares short selling
在WallStreetBets论坛上的Reddit用户能够在GameStop中强行做空,但帝国发起了反击。

在包括Robinhood和Interactive Brokers在内的几家美国交易平台禁止买入视频游戏零售商GameStop的股票后,GameStop (NYSE: GME) 的股价突然出现逆转。此外,在reddit的sub论坛WallStreetBets中,许多其他股票被推高。

实际上,这一举措让许多因社交媒体而买入GameStop股票的小投资者失去了机会,这些小投资者在GameStop股价上涨1700%的同时,也让大量做空GameStop的对冲基金有机会以更合理的价格买入GameStop的股票。

对冲基金和小人物之间的争斗远未结束

可以预见的是,价格下跌了,但这一交易还没有结束,因为有这么多小交易员参与其中,他们会回来的,即使他们需要与替代经纪商签约。

重要的是要注意什么是发生在GameStop股票,这不再是一场斗争在合适的估值基础但华尔街对冲基金之间的全面战争已经发现卖空股票太辛苦和面临巨额损失小天交易员和散户投资者利用对冲基金的极端脆弱性通过发送GameStop股票进入平流层

如果美国股市运营商停止了这些股票的交易(由于极度波动,这种情况已经发生过很多次了),那是一回事,但如果平台突然向有利于华尔街的方向倾斜,那就是另一回事了。

或许有一些正当的理由让这些平台停止这种交易,尽管对小投资者来说,这发出了一个可怕的信息:大公司仍然掌控着市场,如果你赚了太多钱,它们随时准备碾碎你。

Robinhood的“艰难”决定停止购买13股

Robinhood在一份声明中称,停止13只WallStreetBets股票交易的决定“很艰难”,称“作为一家经纪公司,我们有很多财务要求,包括SEC的净资本义务和清算所存款。”

然而,对于一家以“全民金融民主化”为傲的公司来说,这看起来更像是从穷人那里偷钱给富人,而不是对市场波动的合理回应。

让情况更加复杂的是,Robinhood与对冲基金梅尔文资本管理公司(Melvin Capital Management)之间普遍存在财务关系,后者曾参与做空GameStop股票,并在交易中损失了大量资金。

交易员可以自由出售GameStop股票,却不能购买,这也是一个谜——这种交易方向似乎是专门为帮助卖空对冲基金而设计的。

基本面估值在很久以前就消失了

GameStop股票的基本价值确实消失了的本质是很久以前的事了,但一个轧空,股票被对冲基金迫切追求太过鲁莽了空头头寸和一群渴望的小投资者想要传达一个信息,他们将把股票价格相反的方向给他们一个数十亿美元的教训。

Reddit的交易员有更好的信息

在股票市场交易中,有两种真正珍贵的商品——货币和信息。

这些Reddit交易员得到的是更好的信息——关于GameStop的前景和对冲基金持有的空头头寸。

单独来说,他们没有多少钱,但作为一个400万的团队,他们有足够的钱来做出巨大的改变,并创造了令人难忘的轧空。

在某种程度上,他们更好的信息和资源受到了网络平台的阻碍,这是一种令人遗憾的情况,它发出了一个可怕的信号,尤其是对年轻投资者而言。

他们可能需要几天的时间才能在竞争对手的平台上建立起自己的平台,到那时他们的信息优势就会消失。

电子书呆子的报复将有利于股票市场

然而,总的来说,我认为GameStop对AMC、黑莓、美国航空和许多其他公司的卖空行为对股市和金融系统来说都是好消息。

当然,这些小投资者中的一些人会赚到数百万美元,而另一些人会因投资时间的不同而损失惨重,但在这个过程中,他们会学到一些关于波动性、何时获利了结、如何识别交易以及如何发现和跟踪市场趋势的真正有价值的经验。

这些都是未来的重要经验教训,看到许多年轻投资者热衷于在股票市场上创造投资利润,只会是件好事。

他们的力量也比许多人想象的更大,瑞士联合银行声称,去年在线交易包代表了高达20%的股票订单。

希望那些损失了数十亿澳元的大型对冲基金也能从中吸取教训——你不能通过做空股票来制造现金,而不考虑投资者醒来并暴露做空风险的风险。

轻松做空的日子似乎即将结束,这是个好消息,因为允许做空交易的全部理由是为了促进良好的价格发现。

如果一家公司因为估值过高或预期利润较低而被卖空,那是一回事,但如果只是因为它很脆弱而被锁定目标,管理层会发现难以应对,那就是另一回事了。

对冲基金卖空时需要更加小心

如果相关公司和小投资者决定反击,不再抨击该公司,而是大谈其前景,那么很难为那些从股价下跌中获利的对冲基金感到遗憾。

同样值得记住的是,收购好公司并长期持有它们,总比选择亏损的股票并做空它们更能赚钱。

这是因为长期投资实际上可以通过实际增长创造价值,而期权和期货交易只能导致现金从一方转移到另一方。

做空存在严重风险,这一点已被证明。做多可以使你的原始投资成倍增长——尽管远不及GameStop做多所允许的速度。

市场需要公开、透明和公平,不管参与者的规模有多大,希望澳大利亚和世界上最大的股票市场美国能继续保持这种情况。

拜登总统也卷入了这场争斗

此次交易动荡也引发了巨大的政治反应,美国总统拜登(Joe Biden)的经济团队表示,他们正在“关注形势”。美国财政部长珍妮特·耶伦(Janet Yellen)上任后第一天就开始工作。

马萨诸塞州监管机构William Galvin呼吁纽交所将GameStop的交易暂停30天,以便有一段冷静期——此举极有可能对对冲基金有所帮助。

让监管部门的反应更加复杂的是,美联储(FED)目前奉行的超宽松货币政策支撑起的僵尸公司,可以说比华尔街赌博(WallStreetBets)那群人希望实现的任何目标都要多。

民主党和共和党终于团结起来了?

进步民主党众议员Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez批评了Robinhood和其他平台实施的交易限制,他表示,对飙升股票的限制需要美国监管机构和国会进行更密切的审查。

身为众议院金融服务委员会(House Financial Services Committee)成员的纽约州民主党人特朗普在一系列推文中表示,她赞成就影响电子游戏零售商GameStop等股票的限制举行听证会。在首次实施限制后,GameStop股价下跌了68%。

“这是不可接受的,”奥卡西奥-科尔特斯在推特上说。

“我们现在需要了解更多关于@RobinhoodApp决定阻止散户投资者购买股票,而对冲基金可以自由交易他们认为合适的股票。”

她的言论得到了参议院共和党人Ted Cruz的支持,他在几分钟后转发了她的推特,并表示“完全同意”。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

GameStop: the war between Wall Street vs Main Street heats up

GameStop Robinhood Hedge Funds Wall Street stocks shares short selling
Reddit users on the WallStreetBets forum were able to force a short squeeze in GameStop, however the empire struck back.

GameStop (NYSE: GME) shares suddenly hit reverse after several US trading platforms including Robinhood and Interactive Brokers banned buying shares in the video game retailer and a host of other shares being pushed on the subreddit forum WallStreetBets.

Effectively, that action removed many of the social media driven small investors who had taken GameStop shares up on a 1700% rally while allowing the hedge funds that had heavily shorted GameStop a much-needed chance to buy shares at a more reasonable price.

Battle between hedge funds and the little guys is far from over

Predictably, the price tanked but this trade is not over yet because so many small traders are involved and they will return, even if they need to sign up with alternative brokers.

It is important to note about what is happening with GameStop shares that this is no longer a battle being fought on proper valuation grounds but an all-out war between Wall Street hedge funds who have been caught out shorting shares too hard and face massive losses as small day traders and retail investors exploit the hedge fund’s extreme vulnerability by sending GameStop shares into the stratosphere.

If the US share market operator had stopped trade in these shares – which has happened numerous times due to extreme volatility – that is one thing, but if platforms suddenly tilt the table to advantage Wall Street, that is quite another.

There are probably some justifiable reasons for the platforms to stop this trade, although for small investors it sends a terrible message that the big guys are still in charge and stand ready to crush you if you make too much money.

Robinhood’s “tough” decision to stop buying for 13 shares

RobinHood in a statement described the decision to stop trades in 13 WallStreetBets stocks as “tough”, claiming that “as a brokerage firm, we have many financial requirements, including SEC net capital obligations and clearinghouse deposits.’’

However, for a firm that prides itself on “democratising finance for all’’, it looks more like stealing from the poor to give to the rich than a reasonable response to volatility.

Complicating that picture is the widespread claim of financial relationships between Robinhood and hedge fund Melvin Capital Management which was involved in shorting GameStop shares and lost plenty in that trade.

It is also mysterious that traders were free to sell GameStop shares but not to buy them – a trade direction that looks like it is specifically designed to help out short selling hedge funds.

Fundamental valuation disappeared a long time ago

It is true that the fundamental value of GameStop shares disappeared a long time ago but that is the nature of a short squeeze where the shares are being desperately pursued by hedge funds that went overboard on their short positions and an eager bunch of small investors who want to send a message that they will send the stock price in the opposite direction to teach them a multi-billion dollar lesson.

Reddit traders had better information

In share market trading there are two really precious commodities – money and information.

What these Reddit traders had was better information – in this case about both the prospects for GameStop and the short positions held by the hedge funds.

Individually, they didn’t have much money but together as a group of four million they had more than enough money to make a big difference and set up a memorable short squeeze.

To the extent that their better information and resources have been stymied by online platforms is a regrettable situation that sends a terrible signal, particularly to younger investors.

It might take them days to set up on rival platforms, by which time their information advantage will be over.

Revenge of the nerds will be good for share markets

However, as a whole, I think the GameStop short squeeze and associated moves on AMC, Blackberry, American Airlines and many other companies is fantastic news for the share market and the financial system in general.

Granted, some of these small investors will make millions and others will lose their shirts depending on when they invested but in the process they will have learned some really valuable lessons about volatility, when to take profits, how to identify trades and how to spot and follow market trends.

These are all essential lessons for the future and it can only be good to see many young investors keen to try to create investment profits on the share market.

They are also a bigger force than many imagine with Swiss bank UBS claiming that online trading packs represented up to 20% of share orders last year.

Hopefully the big hedge funds that are down billions of dollars have also learned a lesson – that you can’t go around manufacturing cash by shorting shares without accounting for the risk of investors waking up and exposing the risk of going short.

It seems likely that the days of easy shorts are coming to an end, which is good news, given that the whole rationale for allowing short trading is to promote good price discovery.

If a company is shorted because it is overvalued or set for lower profits, that is one thing but if it is targeted simply because it is vulnerable and management will find it difficult to respond, that is quite another.

Hedge funds need to be more careful short selling

It is hard to feel sorry for hedge funds that profit from share prices falling if the companies involved and small investors decide to fight back and instead of trashing the company talk up its prospects.

It is also worth remembering that there is always more money to be made in buying good companies and holding on to them for the long term than there is in picking losing stocks and shorting them.

That is because long term investing can actually create value through actual growth while options and futures trading only results in the transfer of cash from one party to another.

There are severe risks in shorting as this squeeze has proved and there is much to be said for going long which can see you multiply your original investment – albeit, nowhere near as fast as the GameStop squeeze allowed.

Markets need to be open, transparent and fair no matter the size of the participant and hopefully that will continue to be the case here in Australia and also in the world’s largest share market, the US.

President Biden being drawn into the fight

The trading turmoil has also created a big political reaction with President Joe Biden’s economic team – including Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen on her first full day on the job – saying they are “monitoring the situation”.

Massachusetts state regulator William Galvin called on NYSE to suspend trading in GameStop for 30 days to allow a cooling-off period – an action that would most likely help the hedge funds.

Complicating the regulatory response is the fact that the ultra-loose monetary policy being pursued by the Federal Reserve is arguably propping up many more zombie companies than anything the WallStreetBets crowd could ever hope to achieve.

Democrats and Republicans finally unite?

Progressive Democrat Representative Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez criticised the trading curbs imposed by Robinhood and other platforms, saying the restrictions on high-flying stocks demands closer scrutiny from US regulators and Congress.

The New York Democrat, a member of the House Financial Services Committee, said in a series of tweets that she would favour holding hearings on restrictions affecting stocks such as the video-game retailer GameStop, which fell as much as 68% after the curbs were first imposed.

“This is unacceptable,” Ocasio-Cortez said in a tweet.

“We now need to know more about @RobinhoodApp’s decision to block retail investors from purchasing stock while hedge funds are freely able to trade the stock as they see fit.”

Her comments were backed by Senate Republican Ted Cruz, who retweeted her post minutes later, adding “Fully agree.”

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, events, and stock alerts.