将Fenix Resources视为摇钱树或有增长潜力的小盘矿商

Fenix Resources ASX FEX small cap miner growth potential Iron Ridge ore
尽管铁矿石预测价格有所下降,但Fenix Resources旗下Iron Ridge矿的成本仍远高于可行性研究的成本估算。

自5月份以来,铁矿石价格急剧下跌,削弱了这种炼钢矿物对大多数投资者的吸引力,但在价格暴跌50%留下的尘埃中,仍能找到有价值的金块,比如超大型的Fenix Resources (ASX: FEX)。

在一个由巨头主导的行业,Fenix属于“一眨眼你就会错过它”的类别,但它也是一家在两个指标上得分很高的企业:资源的质量和管理层用慷慨的股息回报股东的意愿。

高质量的矿石和丰厚的红利并不能掩盖菲尼克斯必须仔细观察其成本的现实,因为像所有的铁矿石矿山一样,成功的关键不在于地质条件,而最终在于散装材料的运输经济。

在6年前随着Atlas Iron等中型铁矿石生产商的倒闭而结束的上一次铁矿石繁荣中,利润受到挤压的原因是,企业开采的铁矿石品位相对较低,同时依赖高成本的公路运输,而不是更廉价的铁路运输。

Iron Ridge矿

Fenix的启动项目Iron Ridge矿位于历史悠久的西澳大利亚黄金开采中心库伊(Cue)附近,有一个缺点,需要485公里的公路才能到达杰拉尔顿(Geraldton)港口,但它没有第二个问题,因为它拥有高质量的矿石,铁品位为64.4%。

在采矿业,有句老话说品位为王,64.4%似乎并不比BHP (ASX: BHP) 和 Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)的平均储量61%高多少,或者Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG)平均储量57.4%高多少。但这与准备支付高价购买杂质含量较低的优质铁矿石的钢铁制造商截然不同。

Iron Ridge的质量,给了Fenix人生的开始,伴随着的好运,小项目能够赶上最后射线最新的铁矿石繁荣这意味着公司已经发现自己充裕的现金。

多少现金在年报中披露时典型的小型股公司股票的市值1.1亿澳元净利为4900万澳元,并宣布的股息为每股0.0525澳元,这意味着2480万澳元返还给股东的股利分配率50%。

在某些方面,Fenix看起来就像一个童话,好得令人难以置信。当关键问题泡沫表面的投资者,特别是运营成本的问题一次物价上涨的柴油用于运输铁矿石从线索杰拉尔顿,铁脊平均寿命6.5岁,刚刚开始使用其中的一个,和铁矿石价格的前景。

铁矿石价格下跌预测

反过来说,铁矿石价格极有可能回到今年早些时候每吨200美元(272澳元)以上的黄金时代,至少在未来10年内不会。

多数投资银行认为,近期金价上涨至约117.50美元/吨(160澳元/吨)只是短期波动,之后将回落至100美元/吨(136澳元/吨)以下。

Morgan Stanley在本周发给客户的铁矿石最新数据中预测,圣诞节前铁矿石价格将跌至85美元/吨(合115澳元/吨),明年将小幅回升至90美元/吨(合122澳元/吨)。

该行表示:“我们仍看空铁矿石,在6个月的时间内,铁矿石仍是我们最不看好的大宗商品。”

因此,如果在Iron Ridge短暂的生命周期内,铁矿石不会再次繁荣,那么随着柴油价格和运输成本的上涨,成本会发生什么呢?

答案是,即使在铁矿石价格大幅下跌之后,Iron Ridge的成本仍远高于不到两年前可行性研究报告中的成本估算。

当时,62%的铁矿石(行业基准)价格为85美元/吨(115澳元/吨),足以让Fenix继续建设这个非常简单的矿山,传统的挖掘和运输方式是把山顶搬下来,然后用卡车运到港口。

可行性的财务基础包括每年生产125万吨矿石,成本为C1(直接)现金每吨53.80美元(76.86澳元每吨),估计税前内部收益率为58.9%,年未计利息收入。税收和其他费用为1640万澳元,远远高于该项目1190万澳元的初始资本成本。

在最新铁矿石基准价格为117.50美元/吨(160澳元/吨)的情况下,Fenix的资金非常充裕,远远超出了其可行性估计。

如果有一个问题引起关注的寿命,这是当两个其他问题进入方程,因为要么Fenix擦伤铁矿石每一公斤的铁脊和回报股东的利润(可能由于最近50%的利润支付)在接下来的六年里,或增长机会是追求。

这些计划可能包括在西南5公里的Iron Ridge Extended勘探区和/或尤利西斯勘探区进行钻探,这两处勘探区都在Scorpion Minerals持有的一套公寓内,但包括在一家合资企业中,以资助勘探为条件,Fenix将获得70%的股份。

如果未来的钻探和分析能够证明该资源的存在,天蝎合资公司覆盖的铁矿石可能为Fenix提供继续开采和出口高品位铁矿石的扩张机会。

对于投资者来说,Fenix可以归结为一只小盘股,它能产生可观的现金流,在未来5到6年将提供丰厚的股息,这在超低利率时期非常方便。

或者,它是一家小型企业,拥有开发小型但高品位铁矿石项目的良好记录,而且有可能再次开发此类项目。

但在0.25澳元的股价和1.1亿澳元的市值下,无论是作为派发股息的摇钱树,还是作为具有增长潜力的小型矿商,该公司看起来都是赢家。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Fenix Resources as a cash cow or small cap miner with growth potential

Fenix Resources ASX FEX small cap miner growth potential Iron Ridge ore
Fenix Resources’ Iron Ridge mine remains comfortably above the cost estimates of its feasibility study even as the forecast price for iron ore dips.

The sharp fall in the price of iron ore since May has dampened the appeal of the steel-making mineral for most investors but in the dust left by the 50% price plunge nuggets of value can still be found, such as the ultra-small Fenix Resources (ASX: FEX).

In an industry dominated by giants, Fenix is in a category called “blink and you’ll miss it” but it is also a business which scores well on two measures: the quality of its resource and the willingness of management to reward shareholders with generous dividends.

High-grade ore and fat dividends do not mask the reality of Fenix having to watch its costs carefully because, like all iron ore mines, the key to success does not lie in the geology, it ultimately lies in the transport economics of a bulk material.

In the last iron ore boom, which ended six years ago with the collapse of mid-tier producers such as Atlas Iron, the pincer squeeze on profits was a result of companies mining relatively low-grade ore, while relying on high-cost road transport rather than having access to cheaper rail haulage.

Iron Ridge mine

Fenix’s starter project, the Iron Ridge mine near the historic Western Australian gold mining centre of Cue, has one of those drawbacks, a 485-kilometre road trip to the port of Geraldton but it does not have the second problem thanks to a high-quality orebody grading 64.4% iron.

In mining there’s an old saying about grade being king and 64.4% might not seem to be that much higher than the 61% average for ore mined by BHP (ASX: BHP) and Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO), or the 57.4% average of reserves held by Fortescue Metals (ASX: FMG), but there is a world of difference to steel makers who are prepared to pay a premium price for high-grade ore with low impurities.

It’s the quality of the Iron Ridge orebody which has given Fenix a kick start in life, along with a touch of good luck in that the small project was able to catch the last rays of the latest iron ore boom which meant the company has found itself awash in cash.

Just how much cash was revealed in the annual report when the classic small cap miner with a stock market value of $110 million reported a net profit of $49 million and declared a maiden dividend of $0.0525 a share, meaning $24.8 million was returned to shareholders given the 50% dividend payout ratio.

In some ways, Fenix looks to be is a fairytale, almost too good to be true. That’s when critical issues bubble to the surface for a discerning investor, especially the question of operating costs at a time of rising prices for the diesel used to haul ore from Cue to Geraldton, the life expectancy of Iron Ridge which started at 6.5 years and has just used one of those, and the outlook for the price of iron ore.

Dipping prices forecast for iron ore

In reverse order, the iron ore price is highly unlikely to revisit the golden era of earlier this year when it was above US$200 a tonne (A$272/t), at least not in the next decade.

Most investment banks see the recent uptick in the price to around US$117.50/t (A$160/t) a short-term blip which will give way to slide back below US$100/t (A$136/t).

Morgan Stanley in an iron ore update sent to clients this week tipped a decline to US$85/t (A$115/t) in the lead up to Christmas, followed by a modest recovery to US$90/t (A$122/t) next year.

“We are still iron ore bears and it remains our least preferred commodity on a six-month horizon,” the bank said.

So, if iron ore isn’t going to boom again during Iron Ridge’s short life, what’s happening with costs as the price of diesel rises along with shipping costs?

The answer is that even after the big iron ore price fall, Iron Ridge is still comfortably above the cost estimates in its feasibility study of less than two years ago.

Back then, the price of 62% iron ore (the industry benchmark) was US$85/t (A$115/t), good enough for Fenix to proceed with construction of what is a remarkably simple mine, classic dig and deliver by taking the top off a hill and trucking it to port.

The financial fundamentals in the feasibility included annual production of 1.25 million tonnes of ore produced at a C1 (direct) cash cost of US$53.80/t (A$76.86/t) for an estimated pre-tax internal rate of return of 58.9% and annual earnings before interest, tax and other charges of $16.4 million — handsomely higher than the project’s initial capital cost of A$11.9 million.

At the latest benchmark iron ore price of US$117.50/t (A$160/t) Fenix is very much in the money and running well ahead of its feasibility estimates.

If there is an issue to cause concern it is life expectancy, and that’s when two other issues enter the equation because either Fenix scrapes every last kilogram of iron ore out of Iron Ridge and returns the profits to shareholders (a possibility given the recent 50% profit payout) over the next six years, or growth opportunities are pursued.

These could include a plan to drill out the Iron Ridge Extended prospect about 5km south-west, and/or the Ulysses prospect with both inside a tenement held by Scorpion Minerals but included in a joint venture which entitles Fenix to a 70% stake in exchange for funding exploration.

Potentially, the iron ore covered by the Scorpion joint venture could provide Fenix with an expansion opportunity to continue mining and exporting high grade ore, if a resource can be proved by future drilling and analysis.

For investors, Fenix boils down to a small cap stock generating handsome cash flow which should support a generous dividend for the next five-to-six years, which is handy at a time of ultra-low interest rates.

Or it’s a small cap with a proven track record of developing a small but high-grade iron ore project, with the potential to do it again.

But, at a share price of $0.25 and a stock market value of $110 million it looks a winner either as a dividend-paying cash cow, or a small miner with growth potential.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.