2020年联邦预算:商业是澳大利亚经济复苏的关键

Budget 2020 Australia economy Scott Morrison Josh Frydenberg

澳大利亚财长弗莱登伯格(Josh Frydenberg)非常相信,澳大利亚私营企业是创造就业机会和实现经济增长、实现显著复苏的关键。

他还通过980亿澳元的个人和企业减税、减记、资产立即减记和慷慨补贴来雇佣更多的工人,特别是年轻和女性工人,为企业投资和增长提供了巨大的动力。

如果预算计划得以实施,澳大利亚将在短短一年时间内从目前的经济衰退转变为4.75%的经济增长,这将是有史以来最快、最雄心勃勃的经济转型之一。

考虑到造成这次衰退的独特环境,这也是完全可以实现的。这次全球大流行病导致了经济中大量部门的蓄意经济关闭,随后是不完整和不确定的复苏道路,随时都有可能出现更严重的封锁。

疫情假设是一个大问题

本预算中最大的假设之一是,冠状病毒大流行正越来越接近尾声——疫苗即将问世,我们将能够在当前预算期间像往常一样恢复商务和旅行。

每一项预算都有弱点,单是这项预算就有可能被证明是大错特错的,即使是科学家和流行病学家的最佳预测,在面对狡猾的病毒对手时,也会受到巨大的影响。

成本将是巨大的,但可以使用

预算的另一个弱点当然是成本,正如预计的那样,成本是巨大的,今年的赤字达到2136亿澳元,而且在可预见的未来,预算仍将处于赤字状态。

同样,债务也将继续膨胀,政府总债务毫不费力地加速突破万亿澳元大关,而净债务则达到7030亿澳元的峰值。

弗莱登伯格表示,净债务将在2023-24年达到GDP的44%的峰值,而总债务将在2023-24年达到GDP的51.6%,然后在中期稳定在GDP的55%左右。

令人欣慰的是,如果你打算背负如此空前的债务,现在是最好的时机。

维修成本在当前利率意味着,即使这惨不忍睹的债务是非常可行的,实际上需要一个比小得多的债务占GDP的比例降低到服务狂欢在1990年代,但是否明智是我们事后才知道好。

要么努力,要么回家

实际上,除了为经济增长做好准备并刺激私营部门之外,别无选择,因为具有讽刺意味的是,只有快速增长才能开始修正基本的预算数字,并开始让它们看起来更体面。

一个更大的蛋糕可以治愈很多疾病,弗莱登伯格先生将很大的赌注押在澳大利亚经济的持续和可持续复苏上,这不仅会让更多的澳大利亚人就业和商业繁荣,还会导致税收的恢复。

另一种选择是通过严格控制支出和赤字水平来缩小规模,这样做肯定会延长衰退的时间,可能还会加剧衰退,因此,传统的保守主义对预算和赤字的承担只能被抛弃。

在眼睛能看到的范围内的亏损

考虑到10年的赤字计划,预算底线肯定会显得有些不稳,但如果澳大利亚的整体增长预期保持不变,那么以实际价值计算,未来几年的赤字可能会开始显得很小。

也许在这个预算中大量的刺激措施最鼓舞人心的一点是,他们不再依赖政府部门通过受监管的项目缓慢地、官僚主义地决定支出措施。

这些资金将直接流入工人、退休人员和企业主的口袋,而随着临时工和求职者人数的不断减少,私营部门将担负起促进经济增长和为失业者提供就业机会的责任。

大多数工作都在私营部门

这是应该考虑到的大部分工作是由私营部门和预算的大小可能增长经济的百分比,我们联想到像第二次世界大战的事件,实际支出的现金将由个人和企业。

如果企业尽管有大量的激励措施,但仍不愿投资新的工厂、设备和就业岗位,那么政府将不会花钱,但企业很可能会张开双臂抓住激励措施,并希望比任何官僚政府计划都更明智地使用这些资金。

现在轮到参议院和疫苗制造商了

与此同时,还有一些任务需要完成——所得税削减必须在参议院获得通过,希望在世界各地的实验室工作的许多科学家很快就能研制出一种可行、有效的疫苗。

据估计,没有疫苗的成本每年增长1%,但它还没有到位,但实际数字可能更高,因此,澳大利亚乃至全球未来十年的预算命运将牢牢地取决于一些试管的内容。

无论是现在还是将来,科学创新在确保经济安全方面都很少扮演如此重要的角色。

联邦财政部长Josh Frydenberg的2020年预算演讲

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Federal Budget 2020: business is key to Australia’s economic recovery

Budget 2020 Australia economy Scott Morrison Josh Frydenberg

Treasurer Josh Frydenberg has put an enormous amount of faith in Australia’s private business sector as the key to producing jobs and economic growth to enable a remarkable recovery.

He is also providing an incredible amount of fuel to business to invest and go for growth with a $98 billion raft of personal and business tax cuts and write backs, instant asset write-downs and generous subsidies to employ more workers – particularly young and female workers.

If the Budget plan holds, Australia will transform from the current recession to 4.75% economic growth in just a year, which is one of the fastest and most ambitious turnarounds ever envisaged.

It is also quite achievable given the unique circumstances which caused this recession – a global pandemic which caused a deliberate economic shutdown of large slices of the economy followed by a patchy and uncertain path to recovery with the overhanging potential for more crippling lockdowns at any time.

COVID-19 assumption is a big one

One of the greatest assumptions in this Budget is that the COVID-19 pandemic is getting much closer to an end game – that a vaccine is around the corner and that we will be able to return to business and travel as usual during the current Budget period.

Every Budget has a weak point and this one alone has the potential to turn out to be massively wrong, with even the best predictions of scientists and epidemiologists subject to a massive asterisk when confronting a wily viral opponent.

Cost will be massive but serviceable

The other weak point of the Budget is of course the cost which, as predicted, is enormous with the deficit reaching $213.6 billion this year and the Budget staying in deficit for the foreseeable future.

Similarly, debt is set to continue ballooning, with gross government debt effortlessly accelerating through the trillion-dollar mark and well beyond while net debt reaches a peak of $703 billion.

Mr Frydenberg said net debt would peak at 44% of GDP in 2023-24, while gross debt would reach 51.6% of GDP in 2023-24 then stabilise at around 55% of GDP in the medium term.

The comforting thing about this is that if you are going to run such an unprecedented level of debt, there has never been a better time to do it.

Servicing costs at current interest rates mean that even this eye-watering amount of debt is eminently doable and actually requires a lower percentage of GDP to service than much smaller debt binges in the 1990’s but whether it is wise is something that we won’t know until well after the fact.

Go hard or go home

Realistically, there was little choice but to prime the pumps for growth and stimulate the heck out of the private sector because, ironically, it is only rapid growth that will begin to repair the underlying Budget numbers and start to make them look more respectable.

A bigger cake cures a lot of ills and Mr Frydenberg is betting very big on a sustained and sustainable economic recovery here that will not only leave many more Australians employed and businesses thriving but also lead to a recovery in the tax take.

The alternative of trying to shrink your way to greatness by keeping tight control over spending and deficit levels would certainly prolong and probably worsen the recession and so the traditional conservative take on budgets and deficits simply had to be jettisoned.

Deficits as far as the eye can see

The Budget bottom line is certainly going to look a bit wonky with deficits planned for a decade but in real terms the deficits in those later years could begin to look small if the overall Australian growth projections hold up.

Perhaps the most encouraging thing about the extensive raft of stimulus measures in this Budget is that they don’t rely on the government sector slowly and bureaucratically deciding on spending measures through regulated programs.

The cash will be put directly in the pockets of workers, pensioners and business owners and with JobKeeper and JobSeeker continuing to wind down, it will be the private sector that is charged with growing the economy and also with giving jobs to the unemployed.

Most jobs are in the private sector

That is as it should be given that the vast bulk of jobs are produced by the private sector and while the size of the Budget may have grown to the sort of percentages of the economy that we associate with events like World War 2, the actual expenditure of that cash will be up to individuals and businesses.

If businesses still won’t invest in new plant and equipment and jobs despite massive incentives then the Government won’t be spending the money but the chances are that business will grab the incentives with open arms and hopefully spend them more wisely than any bureaucratic government program ever could.

Now for the Senate – and vaccine makers

There are some tasks to be achieved in the meantime – the income tax cuts must be steered through the Senate and hopefully, the many boffins working away in labs around the world will come up with a workable and effective COVID-19 vaccine very soon.

The cost of no vaccine is estimated at 1% growth for every year it is not in place but the real number could be even higher so the fate of the next decade of Australian – and global – Budgets is tied firmly to the contents of some test tubes.

Rarely has scientific innovation played such a central role in securing the economy both now and well into the future.

Federal treasurer Josh Frydenberg’s 2020 Budget speech

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts