新旧能源是2022年的重要投资

Energy stocks investment 2022 lithium oil gas coal
锂的价格去年上涨了500%,而煤炭价格上涨了115%。

能源是2022年的关键投资,无论是来自旧能源还是新能源,这可能都不重要,因为来自电气化世界的需求已经超过了供应,这对价格的影响是可以预见的。

作为“新能源”金属的领先者,锂的价格去年在中国上涨了500%,但煤炭价格上涨了115%,这也让那些准备无视其糟糕环境记录的投资者得到了回报。

这些炙手可热的大宗商品价格上涨推动当地锂股创下历史新高,Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS)股价上涨274%,Liontown (ASX: LTR)股价上涨305%。

尽管今年很难重现这种趋势,但过去几周,这种上升趋势没有显示出任何缓和的迹象。

小型锂矿勘探公司和项目开发商也开始利用能源热潮,股价上涨,如Lake Resources (ASX: LKE)和Galan Resources (ASX: GLN)的股价在过去一个月上涨了37%。

煤炭、石油和天然气价格也在上涨

煤炭,由于供应新鲜压榨的印尼禁止出口,本周表现超过锂,增长了14%的股票价格相应增加煤矿工人如Whitehaven (ASX: WHC)交易的3个月高点2.76美元,Stanmore,上涨17%,至1.21美元。

新老能源市场上发生的事情是需求上升和供应受限效应的一个完美例子,这引发了一种强有力的价格反应,这种反应今年不太可能消退,或许还会在未来10年持续下去。

石油和天然气也骑的能量波,随着越来越多的国家难以满足日益飙升的需求,而在欧洲天然气短缺标题制造商,还有其他能源紧缺国家被迫限制巴基斯坦关闭等工业活动重要的纺织厂,因为有限的天然气供应。

对澳大利亚的天然气出口行业来说,目前正在发生的是一种近乎繁荣的状况的延续。去年,中国发现自己低估了能源需求,迫使自己大幅增加天然气进口,甚至包括从澳大利亚等中国认为不友好的国家进口天然气。

全球海运贸易煤炭和天然气的短缺,正开始产生反常的结果。参加上月在格拉斯哥举行的备受瞩目的COP26气候变化大会的代表们没有预料到这一点。在这次大会上,化石燃料经常被描绘成注定要消失的能源。

英国曾是北海油田的主要天然气生产国,如今已成为天然气进口大国,以提供基本能源,而封存的煤矿已无法提供,风力发电场也供应不足。

尽管这看起来很了不起,但澳大利亚的天然气可能很快就会被运往英国和邻近的欧洲市场,除非亚洲客户把所有可用的天然气都消化掉。

从任何角度来看,能源行业要么是一团糟,要么是政府和激进分子的压力创造了一个极好的投资机会,他们要求限制化石燃料的供应,而没有解决等式的另一边——需求。

增加对能源股的投资

通常与铁矿石有关的澳大利亚最富有的矿商,正迅速进入能源行业。

Gina Rinehart最近商谈了对石油和天然气生产商Senex Energy (ASX: SXY) 49%的投资。

与此同时,Fortescue Metals Group (ASX: FMG)创始人兼董事长Andrew Forrest正在推动氢作为一种未来能源,而Mineral Resources (ASX: MIN)老板Chris Ellison正在投资天然气勘探。

最富有的澳大利亚人看到的是一个机会,他们可以扩大自己在能源行业的敞口,这个行业几乎肯定会享受到各种形式能源的强劲交易条件。

供需情况

除了追随富人之外,投资者最需要考虑的问题或许是,世界将如何满足对锂等新能源金属的需求?与此同时,维权人士反对开发新矿——就像他们反对开发煤矿和油田一样。

这个关键问题的唯一答案非常困难,那就是创造一个完美的环境,让所有能源材料(包括新金属和旧燃料(包括铀、煤和石油))价格上涨。

对于投资者来说,有两个能源问题需要考虑。

首先,看看所有形式的能源(快速上涨)的价格,并将其趋势与供应(没有上涨那么快)进行比较。

其次,考虑最近两个例子,尽管需求一直在上升,但新能源金属仍面临供应压力。

在塞尔维亚,Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO)价值24亿美元的Jadar锂项目:在智利,新当选的总统加布里埃尔·博里奇(Gabriel Boric),已承诺彻底改革该国在全球具有重要意义的锂行业,以提高税收,并创建国有锂企业——国有企业总是伴随着效率低下的问题。

压缩锂供应将继续推高价格,镍、铜、钴、石墨甚至铝等其他能源金属的价格也将如此。

在这个等式的另一面,有证据表明,电池制造商的新金属需求正在飙升,它们正努力赶上电动汽车的销量,如下所示:

  • 特斯拉去年的销量达到创纪录的93.6万辆,比2020年增加了50万辆。
  • Mercedes – Benz推出了一款EQXX概念车,这款车的电动性能堪比特斯拉,每次充电可行驶1000公里。
  • 在挪威这个拥有丰富廉价电力的国家,电动车的销量占到2021年所有汽车销量的66%,随着汽油和柴油汽车逐步淘汰,这一情况将在其他地方重演。

关于新能源革命的报道太多了,以至于投资者很难意识到这不是一个理论,而是真的在发生。

但革命要想成功,就需要大量增加新开采的电池金属供应。早期迹象表明,供应难以赶上需求,这只能意味着一件事,即价格将持续上涨更长时间。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Energy from old and new sources is the essential investment for 2022

Energy stocks investment 2022 lithium oil gas coal
Lithium’s price rose 500% last year, while coal prices increased 115%.

Energy is the key investment for 2022, and it probably doesn’t matter whether it comes from old or new sources because demand from an electrifying world is already overpowering supply with the predictable effect on price.

Lithium, leader of the “new energy” metals is showing the way with last year’s 500% rise in the Chinese price of the metal, but coal also rewarded investors prepared to look past its poor environmental record with a 115% rise for thermal grade material used in power generation.

Those red-hot commodity price rises have propelled local lithium stocks to record highs, such as the 274% share-price increase by Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS), and Liontown’s (ASX: LTR) 305% rise.

While hard to repeat this year, the upward trend has shown no sign of easing over the past few weeks.

Smaller lithium exposed exploration companies and project developers have also started to ride the energy wave with upward share price moves such as 37% rises by both Lake Resources (ASX: LKE) and Galan Resources (ASX: GLN) over the past month.

Coal, oil and gas also on the rise

Coal, thanks to a fresh squeeze on supply courtesy of an Indonesian ban on exports, has outperformed lithium this week, rising by 14% with a corresponding increase in the share prices of coal miners such as Whitehaven (ASX: WHC) which has traded up to a three-month high of $2.76 and Stanmore, up 17% to $1.21.

What’s happening in markets for old and new energy is a perfect example of the effect of rising demand and curbed supply, which has triggered a powerful price reaction that is unlikely to fade this year, and perhaps continue for the rest of the decade.

Oil and gas are also riding the energy wave as an increasing number of countries struggle to meet surging demand and while a gas shortage in Europe is the headline maker, there are other energy-deficient countries forced to limit industrial activity such as Pakistan shutting its all-important textile mills because of limited gas supply.

For Australia’s gas export sector what’s happening is a continuation of near-boom conditions, which started to develop last year when China found that it had under-estimated energy demand forcing it to significantly increase gas imports, even from countries it regards as unfriendly, including Australia.

The global shortage of seaborne traded coal and gas is starting to produce perverse results, which were not anticipated by delegates to last month’s high-profile COP26 climate change conference in Glasgow where fossil fuels were routinely portrayed as energy sources destined to disappear.

Britain, once a major gas producer from its North Sea fields, has become a big gas importer to provide essential energy no longer available from mothballed coal mines and in insufficient supply from wind farms.

Remarkable as it might seem, but Australian gas could soon be shipped to Britain and the adjacent European market, unless Asian customers soak up all available production.

Looked at from any angle and the energy sector appears to either be a mess, or a fantastic investment opportunity created by government and activist pressure to limit the supply of fossil fuels without addressing the other side of the equation, demand.

Increased investment in energy stocks

Australia’s richest miners, people usually associated with iron ore, are moving rapidly into the energy sector.

Gina Rinehart recently negotiated a 49% investment in oil and gas producer, Senex Energy (ASX: SXY).

Meanwhile, Fortescue Metals Group’s (ASX: FMG) founder and chairman Andrew Forrest is promoting hydrogen as a future energy source, and Chris Ellison, boss of Mineral Resources (ASX: MIN), is investing in gas exploration.

What the richest Australians see is an opportunity to expand their exposure to a market sector almost certain to enjoy strong trading conditions from energy in every form.

Supply and demand situation

Perhaps the most relevant question for investors to consider, apart from following the rich, is how the world will meet demand for new energy metals such as lithium, while activists oppose the development of new mines – much as they oppose the development of coal mines and oilfields?

The only answer to that critical question is with great difficulty, creating a perfect climate for higher prices of all energy material, including new metals, and old fuels (a list which incorporates uranium as well and coal and oil).

For investors there are two energy issues to consider.

Firstly, look at the prices for all forms of energy (rising rapidly) and compare that trend with supply (not rising as fast).

Secondly, consider two recent examples of supply pressure on new-energy metals even as demand has been rising.

In Serbia, the $2.4 billion Jadar lithium project of Rio Tinto (ASX: RIO) faces delays because of local activist (anti-mining) opposition, while in Chile a newly-elected President, Gabriel Boric, has promised to overhaul that country’s globally significant lithium industry to extract higher taxes as well as creating state-owned lithium company – with all the inefficiencies which always accompany a nationalised business.

Squeezing lithium supply will continue to drive the price higher, as it will for other energy metals such as nickel, copper, cobalt, graphite and even aluminium.

On the flipside of the equation where is evidence of surging new-metal demand from battery makers struggling to keep up with sales of electric vehicles as shown in:

  • Record Tesla sales last year of 936,000 vehicles, up 500,000 on 2020.
  • Mercedes Benz unveiling a concept of its Tesla-crushing all electric EQXX, which promises a range of 1,000 kilometres per battery charge.
  • Sales of EVs in Norway, a country with abundant cheap electricity, accounted for 66% of all vehicles sold in 2021, an event which will be replicated elsewhere as petrol and diesel cars are phased out.

So much has been written about the new energy revolution that it can be hard for investors to appreciate that it is not a theory, it really is happening.

But for the revolution to succeed it will require a massive increase in newly mined supplies of battery metals with early signs indicating that it will not be easy for supply to catch up with demand and that can only mean one thing, higher prices for longer.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.