Emerald Resources在寻找收购机会时,避开了黄金疲软的趋势

Emerald Resources ASX EMR gold Okvau acquisition Cambodia Sprott
Emerald Resources拥有经验丰富的董事会,并得到加拿大融资机构Sprott Private Resource Lending的支持。

如果Emerald Resources (ASX: EMR)在柬埔寨以外的任何国家生产黄金,它将会吸引更多的投资者关注,因为它的低成本、高级管理以及一个准备为收购活动提供资金的专业黄金基金的支持。

然而,柬埔寨是Emerald第一个金矿的所在地,这一评论的关键可以从这个词中首先找到,因为该公司有一个通过收购实现增长的计划,几乎可以肯定,该公司将得到加拿大黄金行业领军企业Sprott Private Resource Lending的资金支持。

Emerald逆流而行

Emerald在Okvau金矿实现了名牌产量,从该公司股价在过去一个月的表现好于澳大利亚证券交易所(ASX)整体黄金板块的表现,就可以看出该公司的未来。

虽然ASX黄金指数自8月底以来下跌了10%,金价走软,但Emerald的股价却上涨了17%,从0.83澳元上涨到0.97澳元。

Emerald价格上涨,而其他黄金库存下跌,也表明一些投资者准备不理会与柬埔寨有关的风险。在奥克沃7月份首次推出黄金之前,柬埔寨几乎没有采矿经验,也没有商业黄金生产。

Okvau的目标是每年至少生产10万盎司黄金,该公司的利润有望保持强劲,因为成本较低,初步迹象显示,该矿每季度的黄金产量将在2.5万至3万盎司之间,现金成本为每盎司720至780美元。

从理论上讲,鉴于金价一直保持在每盎司1736美元左右,Emerald的税前及其他费用的年度毛利润将在1亿美元(合1.4亿澳元)左右,这对价值4.97亿澳元的股票来说很方便。

Emerald背后的人

但对Emerald来说,真正的关键不是在柬埔寨的启动项目,而是公司背后的人,他们的业绩记录,以及斯普罗特作为高质量的财务支持者的存在,与一揽子矿业交易有联系

Emerald的董事长Simon Lee可能不为年轻投资者所熟知,但对于30多年前跟随他进入最后一个淘金阶段的人来说,他有着令人羡慕的丰厚利润记录,引领了Great Victoria Gold、Samantha Gold和Equigold等成功案例。

Lee在Emerald组建了一个高级管理团队,招募了许多高管,他们曾与澳大利亚最大的金矿公司Regis Resources (ASX: RRL)关系密切。

Regis和Equigold的前首席运营官摩根·哈特是Emerald的首席执行官,也是其最大的股东之一,持有8.13%的股份。瑞吉斯前首席开发官Mick Evans是Emerald的执行董事,而Emerald的运营经理Bernie Cleary曾是Rosemount和Garden Well矿山的总经理。

在某种程度上,Emerald拥有一个资历过高的董事会和管理团队,你通常会联想到规模更大的公司,比如价值15亿澳元的Regis,这可能是Emerald内部酝酿的扩张计划的另一个线索,该计划可能几乎被称为Regis Lite。

并购战略

增长通过兼并和收购(并购)以来一直在Emerald业务目标李和哈特公司控制了诱人的Sprott加入共产党,但只有在加拿大金融家进行缓慢的尽职调查,仔细观察了风险在柬埔寨,做生意一个缺乏矿业文化的国家。

到2019年年中,Sprott准备向Okvau提供6000万美元的项目开发贷款,同时提供1亿美元的“收购和开发设施”,旨在帮助“交付资产管道,利用Emerald经验丰富的开发团队”。

大约在同一时间,斯普洛特以金融家的身份与Emerald签约,他早期的扩张行动是试图收购另一家新兴金矿商Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM),但失败了。

Okvau有达到充分生产,工厂操作过程在其确定的可行性目标高出10%, Emerald的时间是越来越近了使其下一步行动,特别是当它是经济走强而剩下的黄金行业削弱这应该意味着目标价格正在下降。

Hart在上周的一份声明中表示,他宣布Okvau已达到全部产量,他期待现金流为正,“提供通过勘探和收购实现公司增长的机会”。

Lee在上周发给股东的公司年度报告中写道:“我们的目标是成为一家多资产黄金生产商,我们将继续评估与奥克沃金矿一起可行的全球黄金项目。”

柬埔寨可能是一个没有淘金历史的国家,Okvau 可能是它的第一个矿场,但 Okvau 的盈利潜力是毋庸置疑的,Emerald 的增长雄心和由 Sprott 人脉广泛的金融朋友支持的高素质管理团队也是如此 .

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Emerald Resources bucks weakening gold trend as it eyes acquisition opportunities

Emerald Resources ASX EMR gold Okvau acquisition Cambodia Sprott
Emerald Resources has an experienced board and the backing of Canadian financier Sprott Private Resource Lending.

If Emerald Resources (ASX: EMR) was producing gold in any country other than Cambodia it would be attracting much greater investor attention thanks to its low costs, high-class management and the backing of a specialist gold fund ready to finance takeover activity.

Cambodia, however, is the home of Emerald’s first mine and the key to that comment can be found in the word first because the company has a plan to grow via acquisition, almost certainly with the financial support of Canada’s gold leader, Sprott Private Resource Lending.

Emerald swims against the tide

A glimpse of Emerald’s future, now that it has achieved nameplate output at its Okvau mine, is evident in the way its shares have outperformed the broader gold sector of the ASX over the past month.

While the ASX gold index has fallen by 10% since late August with a weakening gold price, Emerald’s shares have risen by 17% from A$0.83 to A$0.97.

Emerald going up while other gold stocks are going down also shows that some investors are prepared to shrug off the risks associate with Cambodia, a country with little experience of mining and no commercial gold production until Okvau poured its first gold in July.

Profits from Okvau, which is on target to yield at least 100,000 ounces of gold a year, promise to be strong because costs are low with early indications that the mine will deliver between 25,000-and-30,000oz a quarter at a cash cost between US$720-and-US$780/oz.

In theory, given that gold is hanging on to a price around US$1736/oz Emerald’s annual gross profit before tax and other charges will be around US$100 million (A$140 million), handy for a stock valued at A$497 million.

The people behind Emerald

But the real key to Emerald is not a starter project in Cambodia, it’s the people behind the company, their track record, and the presence of Sprott as a high-quality financial backer with the connections to package mining deals

Emerald’s chairman, Simon Lee, is probably not well known to younger investors but he has an enviable track record of making fat profits for anyone who followed him into his last goldmining phase more than 30 years ago, leading success stories such as Great Victoria Gold, Samantha Gold and Equigold.

Lee has assembled a high-class management team at Emerald recruiting a number of executives who once had close connections to one of Australia’s bigger goldminers, Regis Resources (ASX: RRL).

Morgan Hart, a former chief operating officer of Regis and Equigold is chief executive officer of Emerald and one of its biggest shareholders with an 8.13% stake. Mick Evans, a former chief development officer at Regis, is an executive director of Emerald, while Bernie Cleary, Emerald’s operations manager is a former general manager of the Rosemount and Garden Well mines of Regis.

In a way, Emerald has an over-qualified board and management team of the sort you would normally associate with a bigger business such as the A$1.5 billion Regis, and that might be another clue to the expansion plans brewing inside Emerald which might almost be called Regis Lite.

Merger and acquisition strategy

Growth via mergers and acquisitions (M&A) has been high on Emerald’s business objectives since Lee and Hart took control of the company, enticing Sprott to join the party, but only after the Canadian financier had conducted a painfully slow due diligence inquiry which looked closely at the risks associated with doing business in Cambodia, a country lacking a mining culture.

By mid-2019, Sprott was ready to help fund Okvau with a US$60 million project development loan, accompanied by a US$100 million “acquisition and development facility” designed to help “deliver a pipeline of assets to utilise Emerald’s experienced development team”.

Around the same time Sprott signed up as a financier to Emerald an early but failed expansion move was made with an attempt to acquire another emerging goldminer, Capricorn Metals (ASX: CMM).

With Okvau having reached full production and the process plant operating at 10% above its definitive feasibility target, the time is getting closer for Emerald to make its next move, especially as it is getting stronger financially while the rest of the gold sector weakens which should mean that target prices are falling.

Hart said in a statement last week in which he announced Okvau had reached full production that he looked forward to positive cash flows “providing the opportunity to grow the company through exploration and acquisition”.

Lee followed in his chairman’s letter in the company’s annual report sent to shareholders last week in which he said: “Our goal is to become a multi-asset gold producer and we continue to assess viable global gold projects to accompany the Okvau gold mine.”

Cambodia might be a country without a history of goldmining and Okvau might be its first mine, but the profit potential of Okvau is undoubted as are the growth ambitions of Emerald and its over-qualified management team supported by a well-connected financial friend in Sprott.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.