通过聚焦于对话式商业,Crowd Media表现优于预期

Crowd Media outperforms expectations ASX CM8 2020 financial
通过与Amazon和Teadora等公司的早期分销协议,Crowd Media新成立的Crowd Direct部门创造了35万澳元的收入。

全球媒体和营销公司Crowd Media (ASX: CM8)周五公布了全年业绩,业绩好坏参半。作为“运营转型”的一部分,该公司继续进行大规模变革,在过去九个月里扭转了命运。

在一份市场声明中,Crowd Media告称,上一财年的营收接近1650万澳元,未计利息、税项、折旧及摊销前利润(EBITDA)为14万澳元,较前一年增加280万澳元。在削减了800万澳元的运营成本后,Crowd Media报告称公司整体净亏损190万澳元。

此外,为了使收入渠道多样化,并将重心转向更可扩展的商业模式,众传媒成立了一个面向消费者的新部门——Crowd Direct,这是一个分销业务,将各种消费品定向于在线客户。

该公司表示,在与Amazon、KINN-Living、Teadora、London Labs、Vital & I am Kamu等公司达成早期合作协议的基础上,新部门“起步”就创造了35万澳元的收入。

根据Crowd Media的说法,开拓新视野背后的理由是“销售欧洲千禧一代生活中不可或缺的模范产品”,这家媒体和营销公司渴望利用其数字存在向欧盟各地的客户分销优质品牌。

据Crowd Media董事长Steven Schapera介绍,该公司目前正在测试和调整各种设置,以“充分利用秘方”,以销售独特的差异化产品。

此外,该公司解释说,疫情的影响让它别无选择,只能专注于家庭用品、卫生和保健产品,因此在2020年6月与Vital Group达成了协议。

聊天会话商务

作为问答平台持续发展的一部分,为了在提高可扩展性的同时降低成本,Crowd Media透露,客户提出的超过60%的问题都是由人工智能(AI)自动处理的。这一点意义重大,因为完全的人工智能能力将大幅削减成本,并提高可扩展性。

Crowd Media将2020年称为“过渡年”,并引用了“一些监管阻力”和短信使用的减少,称2021年将略微强劲,因为该公司将继续其战略重组。

Crowd Media内部改组的范围很广;从移动服务转向公司所称的“对话式商务”,以及驱动这一技术利基市场的技术基础设施。

会话商务指的是技术的一个特定主线,包括通过语音和使用语音和说话人识别、自然语言处理和人工智能等技术完成的电子商务。

该公司表示,其转型除了建立新的联盟外,还利用了整个业务的协同效应,其最终目标是在高增长的利基市场中定位众媒体。

该公司表示:“当交易完成后,公司将有效地从一个衰落领域的以产品为中心的企业,转变为一个基于技术、垂直整合的社交商务企业,在一个不断增长的领域销售模范产品和服务。”

新视野号

Crowd Media在去年年底的年度股东大会上向股东提出了‘Three Horizon’增长战略,该公司正在实施这一战略,并宣布将寻求从2020年的消费者关注转向2021年通过旅游保险和金融科技领域的合作销售数字产品。

Schapera表示,他希望到2022年底,通过获得追随者和影响力者之间的对话商务能力,并通过数字视觉体验增强这种关系,“找到影响力者营销的圣杯”。

更具体地说,Crowd Media表示,它打算将现有的Q/A聊天机器人与第三方数字特效引擎连接起来,这样客户就可以通过他们的设备,对名人、不可玩角色甚至著名历史人物的数字表示进行视频通话。

“影响者市场是一个高度竞争和动态的市场。与几乎所有市场一样,它有利于现任企业,但我们有充分理由相信,我们能够挤入市场。

在对近期市场发展和表现非常坦率和乐观的评估中,他补充道:“我们挑选了多种产品,以确定和测试机会的领域。我们真正感兴趣的是,当技术从构造上将市场转变为对话式商业时,我们能够坐在桌旁。到那时,我们将成为现任者,并拥有真正可持续的竞争优势。”

此外,在另一封致股东的信中,Schapera进一步详述了Crowd Media重新激活的业务,以及过去12个月里寻求帮助转向语音识别的做法。

“在FY20期间,我们精简了业务的每一个方面,并发展成为由企业家而不是企业经理运营的灵活、精简和灵活的业务。”

Schapera表示:“我们确定并排除了机会,定义了与时间挂钩的可衡量目标,制定了实现这些目标的战略和战略联盟,并以速度和专业的方式执行。”

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts

Crowd Media outperforms expectations via pivot towards conversational commerce

Crowd Media outperforms expectations ASX CM8 2020 financial
Crowd Media’s new Crowd Direct division generated $350,000 from early distribution deals with the likes of Amazon and Teadora.

Global media and marketing company Crowd Media (ASX: CM8) reported a mixed bag of full-year results on Friday, as it continues to conduct wholesale changes as part of an “operational transition” that has seen its fortunes turned around over the past nine months.

In a statement to the market, Crowd Media reported revenues of almost $16.5 million in the past financial year and a marginally positive earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation (EBITDA) of $140,000 – an improvement of $2.8 million compared to the previous year. Overall, Crowd Media reported a net loss of $1.9 million after slashing over $8 million in operational costs.

Moreover, in a bid to diversify its revenue channels and pivot towards a more scalable business model, Crowd Media has set up a new consumer-facing division, Crowd Direct, a distribution business that directs various consumer goods to online customers.

The company said the new unit generated $350,000 from a “standing start” on the back of early partnership deals with the likes of Amazon, KINN-Living, Teadora, London Labs, Vital & I am Kamu.

According to Crowd Media, the rationale behind exploring new horizons is to “sell exemplary products integral to the lives of European-based millennials” with the media and marketing company keen to leverage its digital presence to distribute premium brands to customers across the European Union.

The company is now testing and tweaking various settings to “home in on the secret sauce” required to sell uniquely differentiated products, according to Crowd Media chairman Steven Schapera.

Furthermore, the company explained the impact of COVID-19 had left it with little choice but to focus on homecare, hygiene and health products, hence the deal struck with Vital Group in June 2020.

Talking conversational commerce

As part of the continued development of its question and answer (Q/A) platform and to reduce costs while boosting scalability, Crowd Media revealed more than 60% of all questions being asked by customers were now being handled automatically by artificial intelligence (AI). This is significant because a full AI capacity would slash costs and raise scalability.

Citing a “number of regulatory headwinds” and a drop-off in use of SMS messaging, Crowd Media referred to 2020 as a “transitional year” with 2021 projected to be marginally stronger as the company continues its strategic reshuffle.

The extent of Crowd Media’s internal shakeup has been extensive; pivoting its active focus away from mobile services towards what the company called “conversational commerce” and the technology infrastructure that is driving this tech niche.

Conversational commerce refers to a specific thread of the tech tapestry that includes e-commerce done via speech and using technology such as speech and speaker recognition, natural language processing and AI.

The company said its transition was leveraging synergies across the entire business, in addition to forging new alliances, with the ultimate goal of positioning Crowd Media in high growth market niches.

“When complete, the company will have effectively transitioned from being a product-centric business in a declining space to a tech-based, vertically-integrated social commerce business selling exemplary products and services in a growing space,” said it stated.

New horizons

Carrying out the ‘Three Horizon’ growth strategy it presented to shareholders at its annual general meeting late last year, Crowd Media declared it is seeking to move from a consumer focus in 2020 to selling digital products via collaborations in the travel insurance and fintech spaces in 2021.

By the end of 2022, Mr Schapera said he expects to “find the holy grail of influencer marketing” by obtaining the ability to enable conversational commerce between follower and influencer, and by augmenting this relationship with a digital visual experience.

More specifically, Crowd Media said it intends to link its existing Q/A chatbot with third-party digital effects engines that will allow customers to conduct video calls with digital representations of famous celebrities, non-playable characters and even famous historical figures via their devices.

“The influencer market is a highly competitive and dynamic one. As with almost any market, it favours the incumbent, but we have good reason to believe we can squeeze our way in,” Mr Schapera said.

In a very candid and optimistic assessment of near-term market evolution and performance, he added: “We have picked a diverse assortment of products to identify and test the area of opportunity. Our real interest is to be at the table when technology shifts the market tectonically to conversational commerce. Then, we will be the incumbent, and hold a truly sustainable competitive advantage.”

Moreover, in a separate letter to shareholders, Mr Schapera went into further detail regarding Crowd Media’s re-galvanised operations and horizon-seeking shift towards speech-recognition over the past 12 months.

“We have streamlined every single aspect of the business during FY20 and evolved into a lithe, lean, and nimble business run by entrepreneurs, not corporate managers.”

“We have identified and flushed out opportunities, defined measurable objectives that are coupled to timelines, developed the strategies and strategic alliances to meet these objectives, and executed with speed and professionalism,” Mr Schapera said.

Join Small Caps News

Get notified of the latest news, events and stock alerts