创建完美的关键金属投资组合——首先购买石油

oil gas critical metals portfolio battery metals investing
私人投资者可以将资金投入石油和天然气股票,并将利润再投资于关键矿物和电池矿物。

驾驭作为资源行业标志的繁荣到萧条周期绝非易事,但上周,世界领先的研究机构之一提出了一个想法,该想法可以帮助对采矿和石油有兴趣的投资者创建完美的投资组合以应对变化次。

简而言之,这个概念是收购今天的石油和天然气公司,以分享他们从接近创纪录的每桶 123 美元的油价中获得的意外利润,并将股息再投资于接触关键金属和电池金属的公司。

为一些世界上最大的自然资源公司提供咨询服务的英国咨询公司 Wood Mackenzie 并未在其报告中直接提出这一战略,但它所说的内容仅对个人投资者的这种解释持开放态度。

将创纪录的石油利润投资于关键金属

Wood Mackenzie 高级副总裁 Julian Kettle 撰写的一份报告中包含了石油转化为关键金属的概念,供那些面临着采取更多措施解决污染问题的压力的大型石油公司考虑。

他的想法是,石油公司可能会利用他们的部分过剩现金直接投资于关键金属项目,可能是通过与矿商合作开发新的开发项目,或者通过收购一家接触锂、镍、钴和铜等金属的矿业公司。

简而言之,这个想法很有意义,因为石油公司正在创造巨额利润,以至于它们已成为政府征收超级税的目标(就像英国刚刚所做的那样),而关键的矿产部门却在尖叫着获得石油。需要数十亿美元来开发基本项目以满足能源转型的需求。

过去的挑战

石油现金与矿产项目的结合如何运作将需要更多的细节和参与的每个人都愿意忘记历史教训,这些教训表明过去的石油开采合并已经失败。

包括壳牌、英国石油和埃克森美孚在内的大多数石油巨头都曾尝试开发采矿项目但没有成功,最终由于企业文化的冲突以及资本要求和投资回报的巨大差异而退出。

矿工们也尝试过石油并退出。BHP (ASX: BHP) 是最后一家出售石油业务的公司。

Kettle 在其题为“大型能源和矿工能否联手实现更快的(能源)转型”的报告中估计,石油项目通常基于 15% 的内部收益率,而矿山则处于 10% 到 – 12% 范围。

可再生能源项目再次处于不同的联盟,提供 5% 至 6% 的投资回报。

这些资本回报表明,为什么可再生能源支持者很难筹集到建设太阳能农场和风力涡轮机所需的资金,以实现从煤炭、石油和天然气等化石燃料的过渡。

但金融因素的背后是政府对市场的干预,要求减少化石燃料的使用,可再生能源成为电力系统的支柱,以及通过向电动汽车转变的交通运输。

呼吁私人投资者

虽然行业层面对 Wood Mackenzie 理论的反应平淡无奇,但它可能会吸引私人投资者,创造一种机制,在不断变化的能源图景中发挥双方的作用。

今天对Woodside Energy Group (ASX: WDS)、Santos (ASX: STO) 和Beach (ASX: BPT) 等利润丰厚的石油和天然气公司进行投资,将使投资者接触到因俄罗斯石油制裁而引发的炙手可热的行业和天然气,并担心即使在俄罗斯回归后,对新石油项目的持续投资也将不足,这意味着价格可能会在更长时间内保持较高水平。

但策略的转折是应用 Wood Mackenzie 的想法,并利用石油和天然气生产商产生的红利购买电池和关键金属矿商,如 Allkem (ASX: AKE)、Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS) 和 IGO (ASX:IGO)。

应用 Wood Mackenzie 的石油矿产组合的有趣之处在于,它为私人投资者提供服务的机会大于石油公司试图在受能源转型影响的金属方面做大的机会。

要清除的障碍

Kettle 确定了他的“关键金属加速”概念需要清除的两个主要障碍。

他写道:“由于投资者不愿以牺牲股息、项目交付周期长和地上风险上升为代价来批准更快的增长,矿商受到限制。”

“政策制定者(政府)发出了错误的信号,声称他们正在营业,然后限制了能够提供所需金属的采矿项目的发展。他们还没有完全满足大规模扩大初级开采的需求。”

这些障碍都不能阻止个人投资者遵循该计划,该计划本质上是将资本从化石燃料转向可再生能源生产和关键金属开采。

有趣的是,Kettle 承认国家石油公司 (National Oil Companies; NOC) 和主权财富基金可以“潜入(关键金属)供应链而不会受到资本市场的惩罚”。

“无论是综合性石油和天然气巨头、NOCs还是中型股引领金属供应,可以肯定的是,投资者将受益于进入具有爆炸性增长的开采商品市场,”他写道。

“还有一个额外的好处是,这将为实现脱碳承诺做出重大贡献。”

Kettle 没有说,但私人投资者可以考虑的是,虽然公司面临着复杂性和尝试混合石油和金属失败的历史的挑战,但没有什么能阻止私人投资者应用这一想法。

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.

Creating the perfect critical metals portfolio – buy oil first

oil gas critical metals portfolio battery metals investing
Private investors could put their money into oil and gas stocks and reinvest the profits into critical and battery minerals.

Navigating boom-to-bust cycles, which are the hallmark of the resources sector, is never easy but last week one of the world’s leading research houses floated an idea which could help investors with a taste for mining and oil create the perfect portfolio for changing times.

In a nutshell, the concept is to buy oil and gas companies today to share in their windfall profits from a near-record oil price of US$123 a barrel, with dividends reinvested in companies exposed to critical and battery metals.

Wood Mackenzie, a British-based consultancy, which advises some of the world’s biggest natural resource companies, did not directly suggest that strategy in its report but what it did say is open to just that interpretation by individual investors.

Invest record oil profits in critical metals

The oil into critical metals concept is contained in a report written by Wood Mackenzie senior vice president Julian Kettle and meant for consideration by big oil companies which are under pressure to do more about their pollution problem.

His idea is that oil companies might use some of their excess cash to invest directly in critical metal projects, perhaps by partnering with a miner in new developments, or through buying a mining company exposed to metals such as lithium, nickel, cobalt and copper.

At its simplest, the idea makes a lot of sense because oil companies are generating such enormous profits that they have become targets for governments to levy super-taxes (as the UK just did), while the critical mineral sector is screaming for access to the billions of dollars needed to develop essential projects to meet the demands of energy transition.

Past challenges

How a marriage of oil cash with mineral projects might work will require a lot more detail and a willingness of everyone involved to forget the lessons of history which show that past oil-mining mergers have failed.

Most of the oil majors, including Shell, BP and ExxonMobil, have tried to develop mining projects without success, eventually quitting thanks to a clash of corporate cultures and dramatically different capital requirements and investment returns.

The miners too have tried oil and quit. BHP (ASX: BHP) is the last to offload its oil business.

Kettle estimates, in his report titled “Could big energy and miners join forces to deliver a faster (energy) transition”, that oil projects are typically based on a 15% internal rate of return, whereas mines are in the 10%-to-12% range.

Renewable energy projects are in a different league again, offering investment returns in the 5%-to-6% range.

Those capital returns show why it can be tough for renewable energy proponents to raise the capital required to build the solar farms and wind turbines needed to achieve transition from fossil fuels such as coal, oil, and gas.

But behind the financial factors is government intervention in the market with increasingly forceful demands that fossil fuel use be reduced, and renewables become the backbone of the power system as well as transport via a shift to electric vehicles.

Appeal to private investors

While the reaction at an industry level to the Wood Mackenzie theory has been muted it is one which might appeal to private investors creating a mechanism to play both sides in an evolving energy picture.

Investment today in handsomely profitable oil and gas companies such as Woodside Energy Group (ASX: WDS), Santos (ASX: STO) and Beach (ASX: BPT), will expose an investor to the red-hot sector powered by sanctions on Russian oil and gas and concern that even after Russia returns there will be insufficient ongoing investment in new oil projects, meaning prices could stay higher for longer.

But the twist in the strategy is to apply Wood Mackenzie’s idea and use dividends generated by the oil and gas producers to buy battery and critical metal miners such as Allkem (ASX: AKE), Pilbara Minerals (ASX: PLS) and IGO (ASX: IGO).

What’s interesting about applying Wood Mackenzie’s oil-minerals mix is that there is a greater chance of it working for private investors than for oil companies trying to get bigger in metals exposed to energy transition.

Hurdles to clear

Kettle identified two major hurdles to be cleared by his “critical metals acceleration” concept.

“Miners are constrained by investor reticence to sanction faster growth at the expense of dividend, long project lead times, and rising above-ground risk,” he wrote.

“Policy makers (government) are sending the wrong signals, claiming they are open for business and then constraining the development of mining projects that would deliver the metals required. They’re not fully on board to meet the need for a massive expansion of primary extraction.”

Neither of those obstacles can prevent an individual investor from following the plan which is essentially about redirecting capital away from fossil fuels into renewable energy production and critical metal mining.

Interestingly, Kettle acknowledges that National Oil Companies (NOCs) and sovereign wealth funds can “dive into the (critical metals) supply chain without being punished by capital markets”.

“Whether it’s the integrated oil and gas majors, NOCs or mid-caps that lead the charge into metal supply, the one certainty is that investors would benefit from access to mined commodity markets with explosive growth,” he wrote.

“There is the added benefit that this would make a significant contribution to delivering decarbonisation commitments.”

Unsaid by Kettle, but open for private investors to consider is that while companies are challenged by the complexity and a history of failure in trying to mix oil and metals there is nothing stopping a private investor from applying this idea.

    Join Small Caps News

    Get notified of the latest news, interviews and stock alerts.